11th October 2015, 08:44 PM
Unregistered

Need information about career options in Journalism after 12th?

I am a student of class 12th PCM. I have a passion for writing and so i decided upon journalism as the best career for me. So i need complete information about career options in Journalism field. Please help.

12th October 2015, 11:46 AM
Prashantwin
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: Need information about career options in Journalism after 12th?

First of all you have to pursue bachelor degree in Journalism.
Candidate must have secured more than 55% marks in 12th class in order to get admission in bachelor degree course in journalism.

Candidate can opt for following courses :
B.Sc in Sports Journalism
B.A in Professional Journalism
B.A in Investigative Journalism
B.Sc in Trade Journalism
B.Sc in Fashion Journalism

List of career profiles you can opt after graduation :

News Journalist
TV Correspondent
Producer
Sound Mixer and Sound Recordist
Sports Journalist
Fashion Journalist
Special Correspondent
12th October 2015, 07:32 PM
joyshreenath
Senior Member++

Journalism as a career is very flourishing if you go to states like Mumbai or Chennai or Hyderabad etc. If you can manage to write in international column then, you can make a great career of journalism in abroad. But let me tell you only writing skills will not help in journalism. You need to have specificity in writing. Journalists are not story tellers. They throw light upon facts and sometimes mark their overall opinion on the entire incident. So you need precision while you write. Sometimes journalists not only write columns in blogs or newspapers, but they also do field reporting. So that is completely different from report writing. You need training on this. I suggest you get admitted in mass communication and journalism honors course right after you pass 12th standard. There you will learn every aspect of journalism.