Government Colleges for B. Arch

Bachelor of Architecture or B. Arch is a course offered at the under graduation level designed for fulfilling the education component of professional accreditation bodies.  The field of architecture deals with structure, planning and design of a building and this vast field comprises of craft and technical aspects.

An architect is responsible for the supervision, designing and planning of construction works keeping in mind the utility, stability and beauty of a building structure and planning for the construction. With the increasing demand for architectural personnel in government as well as private sector, the Bachelor of Architecture course is offered in a number of colleges in India. However, the number of government colleges offering this course when compared to any other courses is lesser.

The list of government colleges offering this course in India is given below:

Government colleges offering B. Arch course:

Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur

Indian Institute of Technology, Roorkee

Government Engineering College, Trichur (School of Architecture)

Government College of Architecture & Sculpture, Mamallapuram

College of Engineering, Andhra Pradesh

Dehradun Institute of Technology

Government College of Architecture, Lucknow

College of Engineering & Technology, Bhubaneswar

National Institute of Technology, Tiruchirappalli

National Institute of Technology, Raipur

School of Architecture & Planning, Department of Architecture, New Delhi

Malaviya National Institute of Technology, Jaipur

Educational qualification required for joining B. Arch:

Bachelor of Architecture course extends to a period of five years and candidates who have completed their higher secondary examination with physics, mathematics and chemistry can apply for this course. Some of the colleges require that candidates must have obtained not less than 60% of marks in the qualifying examination and this percentage requirement differs from one Government College to another. In addition to this, candidates should also get through the entrance examination.

Entrance Examination for B. Arch:

The Central Board of Secondary Education conducts an entrance examination at All India level and this examination is known as AIEEE for selecting candidates to the B. Arch course in different government and private colleges. This test includes drawing test, aptitude test and mathematics test.

Another examination called as National Aptitude Test in Architecture or NATA is an online test meant for admission to the Bachelor of Architecture course and the National Institute of Advanced Studies and Architecture organize this examination in association with the Council of Architecture.

In the case of Indian Institute of Technology in Roorkee and Kharagpur, admission to the B. Arch course is on the basis of the marks secured by the students in the IIT JEE.

Higher Studies after B. Arch:

On successful completion of B. Arch course, candidates can opt for Master of Architecture course, which is normally of two to three semester duration. In the M. Arch programme, candidates can take up any of the following specializations:

Building Engineering & Management

Landscape Designing

Naval Architecture

Interior Design

Town planning

Construction Management

Career prospects after B. Arch:

B. Arch course offers a wide range of employment opportunities in different government and private organizations in the sectors of construction, interior designing, urban planning, public works departments, urban development corporations, etc…

38 Responses to “Government Colleges for B. Arch”

1. 38
    tanu:

what is the minimum mark require in jee and nit for general to get admission on top ten NIT b arch college in india?PLS REPLY.i m waitting for your answer.

2. 37
    ANJALI:

SIR,I GOT 1,08,469 AIR & 68,559 CATEGORY RANK IN JEE MAIN B.ARCH.SIR CAN I GET A GOOD COLLEGE???IF YES,PLEASE NAME THEM.
    WAITING FOR UR REPLY

3. 36
    shahajad alam:

i got overall rank 129887,catagory rank33732 in jee main paper 2 ,can i get gov. b.arch collece

4. 35
    RAKTIM:

SIR,I GOT 25,000 RANK IN JEE MAIN B.ARCH.SIR CAN I GET A GOOD COLLEGE???IF YES,PLEASE NAME THEM.
    WAITING FOR UR RPLY

5. 34
    navu:

I am from Haryana and belong to obc. My air is 128354 in paper 2 and state rank is 4888. Can I get addmission in any nit or govt. Collage. Plzzzzzzzzzzzzzz reply.

6. 33
    rashu:

I have got 139 marks in jee mains paper2 b.arch. But i have got compart in class 12 exam in maths. Can i get admision this year. If yes then which type of collage can i expect.

7. 32
    Naveen Shakya:

sir i have got 159 without 12th marks marks in jee mains paper2. can i got a nit or any govt college.

8. 31
    karan sharma:

my rank in jee mains gen 13899 overall and in state 1022 so can i got any nit or any goverment college………………….

9. 30
    prasad:

when we are expecting barch entrance results

10. 29
    pallab:

is it compulsory for a student to attend the NATA exam for studying b.arch

11. 28
    narendra kumar:

i have passed 12 th 70% and NATA 84/200 missing AIEEE b arch tell me barch college

12. 27
    yogesh barak:

Are you tell me that result of jee main paper 2 which day will be declayer.

13. 26
    nidhi:

i have passed 12 class with 68% marks and 79 marks in jeemain with obc category and passed nata with 104 marks and i want good govt. b arch colleges with low fees in delhi or ncr area what should i do?

14. 25
    Vatsal:

I want to do B.Arch but i have not appeared for AIEEE & UPTU exam and appeared for NATA. What should i do now for college and to save my year.

15. 24
    akash kumar:

i have appeared in jee main paper 2,2013 and my marks would be around 143.my percentage in 12th cbse exam is72.please tell me the expected cutt off marks and my chances of selection

16. 23
    Rajat Verma:

sir, i have got 5791 general rank and 1583 obc rank in uptu,,,sir can i take admission in any of the government college from uptu……

17. 22
    gayathri:

sir,can I enter college for b.arch without writing entrance exam for b.arch .wheather there is any other opportunity to write entrance exam here after.

18. 21
    bhrikuti:

i want to know the the full details of fee structure for chandigarh college in b.arch?
    excluding mess and hostel of any other exter fees….
    just include semester fee structure

19. 20
    hemanth:

sir can we do civil engineer in b.arch colleges

20. 19
    akshay jain:

can i do b.arch through commerce-mathematics?????

21. 18
    richa:

any coaching for b.arch

22. 17
    Pramod Kumar Shukla:

Sir I Pramod kumar recently passed intermediate from Uttarakhand board of education.Sir I have participated in AIEEE exam,and i have been ranked at all India level with 51647 and category rank 32648.While that my state level rank is 847 and catg rank is 662.Sir i want to ask u which is the government institute can be allot to me?

23. 16
    sabby mittra:

my air59130 cat 36577 state rank 4183 cat 2610 may i get college at mp ?Is their any quota of aieee in privet colleges?

24. 15
    vikas:

sir, I GOT 64023 IN AIEEE AND 489 IN CATEGORY .I WANT TO KNOW WHICH NIT COLLEGE I GOT THROUGH THIS, CAN I GOT HAMIPUR NIT COLLEGE

25. 14
    chaitanya:

sir my aieee air is 20000 nd category rank is 14000 state rank 1500 and category rank1098 my uptu rank is 2569 con i get a govt college in this rank ?and i want to know the list of govt colleges in india.

26. 13
    MALVIKA SINGHAL:

I want to do BArch from Govt. college. My AIEEE rank 7123 overall/ 5365 category, State U.P. rank 459/ 352.

UPTU GN1473 / GL 484.

Pls help to select Govt. college.

27. 12
    Medhavi Sharma:

Hello, Im expecting about 230 marks in B.arch 2012. Can i get a good college with this score?

28. 11
    gajpal:

I would like to know the list of govt B arch college

29. 10
    charul:

what is fee ofB.arch govt .college and privata college becouse mere father privata me nahi kraiage mene uptu ka test diya hai

30. 9
    radha:

please let me know test centres for giving nata entrance exams

31. 8
    Varsha galande:

Plz send the detail information about architecture engineering

32. 7
    tanu:

fee structure of all the govt. colleges of architecture in india.

33. 6
    harmeet`:

what is the fee of b.tech/b.arch in private colleges

34. 5
    manojkumar:

what are the govt. b.arch colleges in hyderabad&india

35. 4
    vijay:

my AIR in b.arch in aieee is 21744 catagory rank is 5100 and state rank(bihar) is 530 catagory rank is 250. suggest me college to get admission

36. 3
    Himanshu yadav:

Sir my air is 7264 and obc rank is 1500 . Kya mujhe govt. College mil sakta hai. Plz mujhe mai kar dijiye

37. 2
    swapnil:

sir please send aieee b.arch2011 code z answer key to my email address sir its urgent sir plzzz………..

38. 1
    hemant:

names of govt. colledges of b.arch