Pay Scale for Stenographer in Government jobs

Normally, the work of a stenographer is to take dictation of reports, correspondence and other matters in shorthand and transcribing the dictated material into a document with the help of a typewriter or a computer. In addition to this, the stenographer will also have to perform some other clerical duties pertaining to the organization.

Normally, the pay scale for the position of Stenographer in government organizations in India is 5200-20200 plus a grade pay of Rs. 2400 and the position is coming under pay brand 1. In the case of stenographers coming under pay brand 2, the pay scale is Rs. 9300-34800 + grade pay of Rs. 4200.

Recent notifications by Government organizations for the position of Stenographer:

Normally, most of the government organizations look for stenographers for preparing the letters and other correspondence as per the dictation given by the senior authorities. The list of government organizations that recruited candidates for the position of stenographer is given below:

Film and Television Institute of India

Ministry of Finance, Government of India

Indian Council of Historical Research

Central Institute of Arid Horticulture

National Centre for Agricultural Economics and Policy Research

National Informatics Centre

Employees’ State Insurance Corporation, Kerala

Employees’ State Insurance Corporation, Punjab

Indian Railway

Punjab Education Development Board

High Court of Madhya Pradesh

Indian Institute of Management

Government Medical College & Hospital, Chandigarh

Indian Institute of Natural Resins & Gums, Ranchi

Educational Qualification:

For applying to the post of stenographer in government organizations, candidates must be graduates in any discipline with thorough knowledge of computer applications. In addition, candidates must have completed their lower grade stenography in English and should have completed their typewriting course in English.

Required Experience:

Normally for the position of stenographer coming under pay brand 1, government organizations do not require any experience from the candidates. However, in the case of Stenographer coming under pay brand 2, candidates must have worked for seven years in the pay brand 1 (i.e.) 5200-20200 in any government/private organizations or private or government educational institutions.

Age limit:

For the position of stenographer coming under pay brand 1, candidates must be between 18 and 27 years of age and for pay brand 2 stenographers, the lower and upper age limit differs according to the organization.

Scope of the position of stenographer:

Candidates being recruited for the position of lower grade stenographers can be promoted to the second pay grade and can further get promotion and higher pay scale. Therefore, there is a wide scope for this position in government organizations.

10 Responses to “Pay Scale for Stenographer in Government jobs”

1. 10
    Shaik Majid:

this is majid i have completed my Graduation in B.com Computers from the Osmania University Hyderabad. Now i am doing diploma in Stenography (1 year course ) from the Industrial Training Institute (ITI). Is this course will help ful to me to get the job in government sector?

plz convey your suggestions to my email id.

thank you,

Majid Shaik
    Nizamabad.

2. 9
    K K JOSEN:

Sir, I am working as postal assistant and my grade pay is Rs.2800/-. No I a posted as officiating stenographer to superintendent of post offices. Please say me whether I am eligible for the higher grade pay of stenographer. What is the minimum grade pay of stenograper.

3. 8
    JAYASHREE JOHN:

post for stenographer

4. 7
    K.S.AJIT KUMAR:

Dear Sir / Madam,

My name is K.S. Ajit Kumar, I have completed B.Com from Gulbarga University, My Key Skill is Passed English Shorthand Senior, English & Kannada Typewriting Senior & Diploma in Computer Application respectively. If there is any requirement as per my qualification, so please contact my E-mail ID
    ID: [email protected]
    Mob: 9900642607
    Add:KHB Colony, Gandhinagar, Bellary (Karnataka State)

5. 6
    Pooja:

what is stenojob in government sector for fresher

6. 5
    P.FLORENCE ESTHER:

My name is P. Florence Esther, I have completed my M.A. and english shorthand higer i.e.120words per minute, Tamil typewriting I class and English typewriting Higher grade. Technical Teachers’ certificate - I class My age is 52. I am a widow and having two daughters. present working as P.A cum stenographer to Vice Chairman, NEPC India private Ltd. Having more than 25 years of experience in HR, Administration, Stenographer, Secretarial, teaching and other fileds. Is there any chance to get Government job. now. Please consider this request and answer me through my mail. Florence

7. 4
    K S Mitra:

Pay Scales for Sr. Stenographer.
    Openings for Sr. Stenographer above 50 years of age.

8. 3
    stenographer:

Dear Sir/Madam

My name is Geetika saini. I have completed B.A(prog.) from Delhi University and I have done two year Diploma in Modern secretarial Practice Course and my keyskills (shorthand in Eng. 80 wpm, computer typing 40 wpm and knowledge of computers).
    I need a job. If there is any requirment as per my qualifications so please contact my e-mail id..

9. 2
    neetu:

sir what iz d last date for submission d form?

10. 1
    babu:

In the year 2011, what is the total gross salary of stenographer grade d in central government???