INAT 2012 IUCAA - NCRA

IUCAA stands for the Inter University centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics, located in Pune with a lively and exotic campus with praise worthy facilities for computation as well as a big library with a large collection of useful reference sources. NCRA stands for National Centre for Radio Astrophysics managed by Tata Institute of Fundamental Research located in a neighboring campus near that of IUCAA in Pune. NCRA possesses almost the same well equipped and hi-tech facilities like the IUCAA.

They collaborate and hold an entrance examination called INAT with an objective to find suitable candidates and offering them an opportunity to do a PhD degree in either IUCAA or NCRA with a research scholarship.

A PhD from either of the Institutes is a dream come true for a number of aspirants who knows that their knowledge on Astronomy will be unquestionably great and impeccable thereafter. So obviously to confirm this fact, a large number of applications to attend the INAT is being received each year and is increasing in number annually. As a PhD from IUCAA or NCRA in Astrophysics would mark a future so fulfilling and satisfying to the candidates, they are going all out to compete and earn that trophy.

Structure and Syllabus of INAT

The 2 hour long INAT will have a 3 part question paper for physics, advanced physics and Electronics, each having 15 MCQ questions. Candidates who will be able to attend atleast 30 questions or more are much preferred. A correct answer will score 3 marks for the candidates and a wrong answer will cost them 1 mark. A few of the candidates who showcased top of the class performance for the INAT will be selected for an interview and the scores for the exam and the interview would determine their future in the IUCAA or the NCRA.

The INAT requires the candidates to be adept in their knowledge from their respective graduate and post graduate degrees namely BE/B.Tech/ME/M.Tech or B.Sc/M.Sc. The questions will follow syllabuses from the graduate and post graduate degrees with respect to those disciplines required to satisfy the eligibility criteria.

The applicants must be well qualified in Master of Science degrees in the following disciplines, namely Astronomy, Applied Mathematics, Electronics or Physics. Candidates who earned BE/B.Tech or ME/M.Tech degrees are also considered to be eligible and can apply to attend the INAT. Final year graduate degree students can also apply if their final results are sure to be published by August on the year of INAT examination.

How to Apply?

Forms can be taken from the website - http://www.iucaa.ernet.in/~inat or purchase directly from the IUCAA, Pune. It may also be delivered by post on the candidates’ requests with a self addressed form, with Rs 15/- postage stamp sticked to it, as an accompaniment along with the payment.

Downloaded forms are to be neatly filled up. A confidential assessment form will be present in the acknowledge email as an attachment. 2 print outs are to be taken of this form. The forms should be filled up completely without leaving any fields vacant and should be submitted to 2 referees who will then send the form to the concerned authorities, most likely the Administrative Officer of the IUCAA. It is to reach the authorities in time or early (before the announced last date of submission).

How to fill the Form?

The candidates are advised not to underestimate the relevance of the details they are to enter in the form. Fields of entry are not supposed to be left unfilled. The forms should be handled with care and not to be folded to smaller sizes. Make sure that each entry is accurate and the full residential address is provided without mistakes. Recheck significant details like if the photographs are attested, full legal postal address with correct pin codes and city codes of their test centers etc. It’s recommended to keep a Xerox copy of the application in case any sophistication arises.

Important Dates (Tentative)

The candidates should be attentive to the announcements of the dates or any modifications in them if any.

Last date for availability of application forms by post: 3rd week of September, 2011/2012

Last date for the submission of application forms: 2nd week to mid of October, 2011/2012

Date of examination & Interviews: 3rd week of December, 2011/2012

The dates are subject to change.

List of INAT centers

Inter University centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics Pune University Campus

Contact Address for the INAT

• Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics (IUCAA), Pune University Campus, Post Bag 4, Ganeshkhind, Pune 411 007, Maharashtra
  • Phone: (020) 25604100, 25691414, Fax: (020) 25604699
  • E-mail: [email protected]
  • National Centre for Radio Astrophysics (NCRA), Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR). Pune University Campus, Post Bag 3, Ganeshkhind, Pune 411 007, Maharashtra
  • Phone: (020) 25719000, 25719111, Fax: (020) 25692149
  • E-mail: [email protected]

Colleges Accepting the INAT score

• National Centre for Radio Astrophysics (NCRA), Maharashtra.
  • Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics, Maharashtra

Reference Books for INAT

A few reference books that will serve its purpose:

• Principals of Quantum Mechanics by R. Shankar
  • Electricity and Magnetism by D. Griffiths
  • Thermo/statmech by C. Kittel & H. Kroemer
  • Particle Physics by D. Griffiths
  • Statistics by G. Cowan
  • Classical Mechanics by S. Thornton & J. Marion
  • A Dictionary of Astronomy by By Mark Mortimer
  • Applied mathematics by L. Bostock and Suzanne Chandler
  • Pure mathematics by Linda Bostock and  Suzanne Chandler
  • Mathematics - Mechanics and Probability by L. Bostock and Suzanne Chandler
  • Mechanics by Martin Adams, June Haighton and Jeff Trim
  • Electronic Sensor Circuits & Projects by Forrest M
  • Digital and Computer Projects by Robert Davis
  • Pirate Radio and Video: Experimental Transmitter Projects by Newton C. Braga

Coaching Centers for INAT

• Elite Academy
  • Arya Vidya Mandir Institute of Education
  • Lisas I.A.S
  • T.I.M.E
  • Acme zone
  • Bright College
  • Gyan Bindu Academy
  • Pathfinder Academy
  • Trump and Gates
  • National Institute of Competitive Studies.

Study Plan

Study plans should be made and executed so that there would be a lot of time to revise after covering all topics for the exam. Mock tests, coaching centre etc will aid the candidates’ training. But only constant hard work and practice can yield desired results.

How and Where To Get the Results?

The website below will let the candidates know their results:http://www.iucaa.ernet.in

Score Validity

Scores of the INAT will be of no value after a year.

40 Responses to “INAT 2012 IUCAA - NCRA”

1. 40
    prakash chandra pathak:

what is the fee structure for iucaa exam for m.sc. physics????

2. 39
    RAVIRAJ:

iam raviraj and i wanna be astrophysicist ….plz help me i dont know where to apply and i am a 9th standard student

3. 38
    sukhada gavali:

hi here its myself sukhada gavali. i’m from maharashtra i wanna ask u a question that now i’m studying in engg and as per to yours information on this website you suggest to 2nd and 3rd years student also can qualify to give JEST exam held by IUCAA then can we applyu for this now? please send me ypur answer as fast as u can i hav a lot of interest in it so please suggest any idea for making a career in astronomy after completing b.e.
    thanks yours faithfullers.

4. 37
    sarthak:

what is the minimum percent requered to attened ncrainat entrance?

5. 36
    vidhya:

i am doing my final year B.sc physics what are all the books to learn for entrance exam

6. 35
    [email protected]:

i am science student i want to be an astrophysist iam 2nd puc now how to join bsc in iucca

7. 34
    sambhaji kakade:

I am teacher of jr. college. I am interested to reaserch

8. 33
    vaibhav:

i am elex engg am i applicable sir

9. 32
    archana:

BSc final year students can write INAT exam?

10. 31
    NISHANT kumar:

i am a student in 10th. i want to be astrophysicist.please tell me about how to join iucaa in bsc.

11. 30
    vinay sharma:

i m in +1.how i join nasa. whats the entrance test.

12. 29
    Hetal Mehta:

I am B.tech. (EC)student of IInd Year. Is there any chance for astrophysics? what i have to do? pl. gude me.

13. 28
    priyanka bhatt:

wat is the procedure & elligibility to get into summer training project work for student of m.sc(physics)1st year.how can i send application for that.can they provide hospitality over there along with summer training

14. 27
    senthil kumar .p:

can you tell me syllabus of written test and type question ask. my mail address is:[email protected]

15. 26
    Soumya:

What entrance exam I have to give to join in B.sc in astrophysics course

16. 25
    VIRENDRA SINGH:

can you tell me syllabus of written test and type question ask. my mail address is:[email protected]

17. 24
    neha rathod:

can we visit iucaa? we r now in 2nd year of engg. in elx and comp branch. do we have any chance to get more information about astronomy and to get some experiance to work there at this stage? and what r the opportunities in future to give entrance of isro and nasa?

18. 23
    uttam patel:

sir i had applied for written test of NCRA.can you tell me syllabus of written test and type question ask. my mail address is:[email protected]

19. 22
    Hemant Gupta:

I want to know about INAT - 2010 Exam. Please send me details about it at my mail.

20. 21
    Vijay Naik:

Hii..

My daughter is studying in first year of degree in Engineering - Information Technology at Ahmedabad. She is very keen to make her careers in Astophysics or Space Science. I heard one of the Baroda Student have ranked 4th in the Astophysics Exam conducted by NASA this year. I have no idea about this exams and after lot of search on inrenet I am still not able to found any details for this exam.
    So I request you if you can help me where to get all the details for exam to start careers as Astraunots or space in NASA.

Thank you..

21. 20
    romin:

hi i am a student, how to give nasa examinations for astrophysics & where it is next time now, plz reply me

22. 19
    Hemant:

I am a student of M.sc. instru. in pune uni. I am interested to work with IUCAA or TIFR. How can i join? Plz reply.

23. 18
    rohit prakash sahu:

i am b.e. (ec) -09 batch student,i want sample papers of previous INAT exams.

24. 17
    nitin:

i have not found my admit card till now? do anybody have idea about what the reason behind it? or it may take some more time to come.

25. 16
    siji das:

did i get the syllabus or previous year question papers of inatexam

26. 15
    sivakrishna.k:

i want details of about entrance exams

27. 14
    anonymous:

where can i get previous yr papers of INAT?

28. 13
    Prachi Malwade:

Where can i get the detailed syllabus for inat exam 2009?

29. 12
    rahul rupwate:

i am studying msc instrumentation in pune uni, can i apply for the entrance of inat

30. 11
    Rohit:

I’ve applied for IUCAA-NCRA for Phd (Aug ‘10). What is the role of Instrumentation in TIFR. IS it having seperate block/department to deal with Instrumentation Systems…….. What’s the cut-off they will set to call for Admission test.. What’s the expected date of receiving admit card if so..

Thanx..

31. 10
    sapana gharat:

informations and syllabus about MSc entrance test

32. 9
    Manoj kumar Thakur:

what is selection procedure for phd in IUCCA for nepalese student?

33. 8
    Aditya P. Jagtap:

i am an engg. student and wish to join this field of astronomy and astrophysics,what wil be the fee standard?what degree or certificate will be alloted after completion of this course? what is the duration of this course?and what will be the criteria of selecton?

34. 7
    sujay:

what,s the model of exam objective or subjective?

35. 6
    sunil bhardwaj:

hey mohini the syllabus of INAT is same as of GATE physics. you can get it easily on net, however the no of question may be different but the course is same.
    for any help feel free

36. 5
    mayuresh:

How I become an astrophysics ?
    Which way is eassy for astrophysics (1) By going through 11,12.
    (2) By going through poly.

37. 4
    SHIVNARAYAN SAH:

I AM A STUDENT OF M.SC.(PHYSICS) & LOT OF INTERESTED IN ASTRONOMICAL STUDIES. I WANT TO GIVE THE EXAM IUCAA-NCRA 2009. WHATS THE SYLLABUS? WHATS THE PROCEDURE AFTER EXAM QUALIFIED?

38. 3
    Nirendra karn:

what is the procedure to attain winter school in IUCAA and when does it start?

39. 2
    JAIWARDHAN:

this is jaiwardhan. i m studying in class 12th. i have a huge interest in astrophysics and in astronomy. i want to join the iucaa…… frankly speaking i wanna join the NASA. right now i m prepairing for the JEE-2010. but my interest in this feild has attracted me to do something different, which both my heart and mind wants.. seeing my self in this feild as a good workman i always hav the dezire to see myself at the best of mind work some day.. pls guide and help me to know more about to how can i enter this feild, and how can i join iucaa.

40. 1
    Mohini:

I AM AN ENGINEERING STUDENT STUDYING IN LAST YEAR & LOT OF INTERESTED IN ASTRONOMICAL STUDIES. I WANT TO GIVE THE EXAM IUCAA-NCRA 2009. WHATS THE SYLLABUS? WHATS THE PROCEURE AFTER EXAM QUALIFIED?