List of Postgraduate Courses in Fishery Science

Fishery Science is a subject which involves various areas like biology, oceanography, ecology, management and economics. All these areas are joined together in an attempt to control and comprehend the functioning of fisheries. Various environmental aspects concerning fishing are also brought under the area of influence of this subject. Factors such as the accessibility of fishes, the impact of fishing on the environment and on the balance of the ecology are topics of study under this subject. Though there are many challenges in this field, it is a very interesting line of work. Some of the popular courses are given below.

List of Postgraduate Course

• M.Sc. Industrial Fisheries
  • Master of Fishery Science
  • Ph.D. Fishery Science
  • Aquaculture Fishery Biology and Resource Management
  • Fishery Pathology and Microbiology
  • Fisheries Environment
  • Fish Processing Technology
  • Fishery Engineering
  • Fishery Economics & Statistics
  • Fishery Extension
  • PhD in Inland Fisheries Administration

Candidates who have a Master’s Degree in the subject of science and have completed their bachelor’s degree program in either fishery sciences or zoology are eligible to apply. For the admission into these programmes, the Indian Council for Agricultural Research conducts an All India Entrance exam annually.

Career Prospects

After the completion of the course in fishery science, freshers can work as hatchery managers, farm managers and manager of stock processing or as fisheries inspector. The graduates of fishery science can find employment in aquaculture technology or in industries based on fishing. They can also go for research and teaching jobs in this sector. There are also professional jobs available for aspirants abroad. They can work as environmental project managers, information technology specialist, eco-toxicologist, aquatic ecologist or as marine-fisheries interviewers. Those who are employed in the field of Fishery Science can expect a respectable remuneration. Beginners can look forward to a salary in between Rs. 10000-Rs15000 per month. The salary depends on the designation of the aspirant and his skills. Depending on the skills and qualification of the candidate, he can earn more.

2 Responses to “List of Postgraduate Courses in Fishery Science”

1. 2
    Anup sharma:

i have done my postgraduation from chemistry could i do p.hd. in fishries

2. 1
    gagandeep kour:

hello, I am M.F.Sc with 80% marks. Now, I want to pursue PhD in fisheries. Tell me is there entrance for PhD or what’s the exact procedure for entering into this research programe through this institution .AS well tell me the dates for entrance if any or issuing of application forms for the session 2012- 2013. Kindly, revert back.