Application of B.Sc. in Botany in space researches

Bachelor of Science in Botany deals with the study of plants life. The course is related to their reproduction, diseases, structure, development, metabolism, etc. It is one of the oldest branches of science. The subject focuses on the ageing, evolution, death and decaying of plant life. The studies related to Botany plays an important role in sustaining ecological balance. Botanical studies have aided in the manufacturing of many medicines and active drugs that are extracted from plants. The study of Botany helps in the manufacturing of raw materials like paper, cotton, vegetable oils, rubber, silk, etc.

Institutes in India offering B.Sc in Botany

The candidates who want to pursue B.Sc in Botany must have completed their 12th with biology, chemistry, and physics. The applicants are required to score a minimum of 55%-60% marks in the qualifying exam.

There are many institutes or colleges in India that offers B.Sc in Botany. Some of them are listed below-

• Government Arts College
  • Deva Matha College
  • Kakatiya Institute of Management Studies
  • Lady Brabourne College
  • Magadh Mahila College
  • Mahatma Gandhi Memorial College
  • North Gauhati College
  • Mrinalini Dutta Mahavidyapith
  • Presidency University
  • Queen Mary’s College
  • Panjab University

Applications of Botany

Botany encompasses a wide range of biological disciplines like plants, algae, and fungi. This branch of science is also known by the name phytology or plant sciences. The field of Botanical studies have also evolved over time and undergone total structural changes as well. B.Sc in Botany is a graduate level program which involves three years of studies regarding plants and their growth.  Those candidates who successfully complete this course can get in to the position of amateur botanists. They can also go on to complete their masters in the same discipline before starting their career as researchers or scientists who study plants. Students in this field can also opt to become space biologists. Botany has huge impact in the field of research and space studies. Space biologists study how different species of living beings behave and change in the space environment. They also perform and carry out various types of experiments as necessary.

The study of botany is required in those cases where scientists research on plants’ behavior and response to the space environment. Botany provides answers related to the mysteries of space and thus strengthens the whole process.

Career Prospects

The botany graduates can work as a biological technician. In addition to this, the graduates can work as ecologists, plant explorers, horticulturist, genetics, taxonomist, environment consultants, nursery manager, conservationists, plant pathologist, molecular biologist, farming consultant, etc. A few employment areas for these candidates other than space research are Oil Industry, Biological Supply Houses, Biotechnology Firms, Arboretum, National Parks, Seed and Nursery Companies, Food Companies, Educational Institutions, Land Management Agencies, etc.

3 Responses to “Application of B.Sc. in Botany in space researches”

1. 3
    AKSHU:

namashkar sir
    i want to know now i have passed my 12th with medical my self not cleared pmt entrance where i can get admit in mbbs or bams with afordable fee structure my father is not so rich that he can afford 15-20 lacs kindly tell me i shall be thank ful to you

akshu

2. 2
    saleem:

i m doing
    ph.d in forestry, can i apply for biologist jobs in isro

3. 1
    vijay:

why didn’t you posted the website through which i can know the colleges offered this course(i.e, B.Sc in botany in space researchers)?