22nd December 2010, 04:55 PM
chitra pandey

Can I become an IAS after B.Tech?

i am persuing b.tech from cs branch ....can I do IAS after B.Tech?

23rd December 2010, 01:53 PM
rajasekar jegatha

Default Re: Can I become an IAS after B.Tech?

ya sure .. you can participate in ias exam

here i m giving some steps details about ias exam

to becoming IAS/IPS officer, the way to enter this competitive job is through giving UPSC entrance exams

Before going for IAS/IPS, you should prepare hard enough to get well-versed with the paper pattern so that you can perform well.

Application forms for IAS/IPS can be obtained from Head Post Offices or any recognized post office. These forms can be sent to the following address:

IAS/IPS examinations consists of two steps-first one is prelims and the second one is mains.

Paper pattern for prelims:

1. Optional Subjects (300 marks):

2. General Studies (150 marks):

In mains, one has to appear for 9 papers

23rd December 2010, 06:44 PM
maddusajj

yes
any graduate in India is elegible to write ias exam provided he is below 30 years of age.
for complete details of the exam please log on to www.upsc.gov.in
24th December 2010, 02:42 PM
bikenindia

You can surely write civil service exam after Btech because You need to be graduate to write civil service. prepare well

24th December 2010, 07:45 PM
sdeepika.b

Originally Posted by chitra pandey View Post
Yes, After the completion of B.Tech U can attempt for civils exam
which consist of prelims & mains
From 2011 examination the pattern of question paper has changed
that tests u on current affairs , social studies, Aptitude is also a main subject

for full details refer

http://www.civilservice.in/

or
http://upsc.gov.in/questionpaper/csp...r_Website1.pdf

and

http://www.civilservice.in/upsc/indi...s/Default.aspx
2nd January 2011, 04:59 PM

how much percentage do we need to secure to be eligible to write the exam?
7th January 2011, 11:02 AM

yes you can go for the IAS examination,before going read carefully different eligibility condition for the ias exam.
The Civil Services Examination is conducted by UPSC (Union Public Service Commission) every year.
The examination has three stages i.e.,
(1) Civil Services Preliminary Examinations (CSP) - normally conducted during the second half of May.
(2) Civil Services (Main) Examinations conducted during the month of October/November. Here, those who are selected in the preliminary examination only are eligible to appear.
(3) Those who are selected in the main examination will be eligible to appear before the Interview Board at New Delhi.

CSP consists of two papers Which is common for all candidates from 2011

i.e., No optional paper is there in CSP form 2011.

This is the first stage of Civil Services Examination.

This is an Objective type examination consisting of Two Papers that is common to all
candidates from 2011 having special emphasis on testing their “aptitude for civil
services” as well as on “ethical and moral dimension of decision making”.

Normally, there are about 3 lakh applications for the preliminary examination.

From this, the UPSC selects 10 to 12 folds of vacancies for the main examinations.

This is only for the selection and not to be taken into consideration in the main ranking.
14th January 2011, 04:01 PM

can i become an ias after b.tech(biotech
14th January 2011, 11:46 PM
kumarpravir007

hello friend.....
the minimum percentage of marks required to be eligible for the civil services exam is 60% in the graduation or the b tech and also in the 10th and 12th ..................
14th January 2011, 11:48 PM
kumarpravir007

hello friend ........

ya of course you can give the IAS exam after the b tech but the minimum percentage to five the exam is 60% throughout the career......
15th January 2011, 09:07 PM
dreksha chaudhary

Dear friend ,

There is no doubt you can became IAS after completing B.Tech degree.

The qualification required for IAS is any graduate degree by recognised university.

You can very well try.

15th January 2011, 10:05 PM
hunk7009

friend any graduate from india are eligible to become an ias officer but make sure you are not less than 21 years and not crossed 30 years of age..all the best!
15th January 2011, 10:27 PM
vikul

Thumbs up Re: Can I become an IAS after B.Tech?

check out the following links

http://www.thisismyindia.com/education/civil-services-eligibility.html

http://www.onestopias.com/eligibility-criteria.asp

GOOD LUCK
16th January 2011, 08:01 PM
RAKESH KUMAR.N

Hi Friend

Yes you are Eligible if your are doing Final year in B.Tech or Complected your Degree

*Valid degree from Recognized University is Important for Indian Administrative Service

*For Clearing the Exam General Knowledge and Current Affair is Most important

All the Best Friend
16th January 2011, 10:49 PM
Harshita21

yes
sure you are eligible for IAS after your B.Tech
As eligibility criteria is graduation 7 you become graduate
after completing your B.Tech.

so Best of luck for the IAS start preparing it from now as it become a tuff exam
17th January 2011, 12:10 PM

iam pursooing btech(IT)so i can eligable for ips
17th January 2011, 12:22 PM
rks_estate

IAS exam conducted by UPSC and minimum eligibility for UPSC exam is graduation with at least first division marks from a regonised university.

B.E. or B.Tech. is a graduation level course, so you can apply for UPSC IAS exam.......you are eligible.

Good Luck
17th January 2011, 06:29 PM
abhimanyu2688

the only requirement to write the exam is that you should be a graduate from any recognised university and you should be below 30 years of age at the time of filling up the form.
17th January 2011, 07:03 PM
kvrob139

You need to be graduated only. No criteria of percentage. But you need to be in between 21-30 without if not seeking any relaxation.
17th January 2011, 09:03 PM
J.SHEELA

yes .The candidate must hold a degree of any of Universities.for more detalis please visit www.upscguide.com
18th January 2011, 03:30 PM
edgeineervinay

they only ask for graduation
and if had done btech then it is pretty good u can join it.
18th January 2011, 07:28 PM
G-rocks

Dear Friend

yes you Can become an IAS after B.Tech but for this you have to qualify the IAS exam.
To become an IAS/IPS officer, the competitive exam like UPSC entrance exams are carried out for this purpose.

Best of luck...
18th January 2011, 08:47 PM
lvnareshsunrise

After the completion of B.Tech you are eligible to appear for the IAS exam.

The exam procedure will be in 3 stages
1). CSAT - Civil Services Aptitude Test. (commencing from this year onwards, previously civil services preliminary examination)

It consists of 2 papers. Each paper is for 200 marks and the duration for each paper is 2 hours.
One paper regarding to general knowledge or general awareness with questions on several national events, international events.
Second paper regarding the English knowledge.

2) Main examination

3) Interview.

Hard work and dedication should be essential to succeed in IAS.
18th January 2011, 10:28 PM
sherleytwain

Yes all you have to do is give an entrance exam conducted by upsc
30th January 2011, 10:40 PM

i am persuing b.tech from i.t branch,what are asking from i.t branch in upse exam?
30th January 2011, 11:59 PM
khan2003

Dear friend you have to follow the following requirements for IAS Entrance Examination.

Age limit- 21-30years, relaxation for SC, ST and OBC.

EDUCATION QUALIFICATION- Must have completed graduation form a recognized institution.

Maximum Attempts- Four, and seven for OBO and limit for SC/ST.

31st January 2011, 12:37 AM
er.varunchawla

yes I.A.S. is the right field to choose after b.tech so go for it .......

31st January 2011, 01:16 AM
yashwar sharma S.G.

yes definitely you can go for this exam as the eligibility is graduate from any branch from recognised university.

So prepare well and all the best for your exam!!!

regards..
31st January 2011, 09:37 AM
diego

yes you can appear for civil service exam .. all the graduates are eligible also students in final year are eligible for applying . provided they get proof of passing before the mains exam.
keep in mind the age limit for upsc cse is 21 to 30 years.
visit www.upsc.org.in for more info and category relaxations.
31st January 2011, 10:27 AM
prashantmeghalia

yes you can do IAS after b.tech. for ias exam, the minimum eligibility qualification is that the student must have done graduation in any field with atleast 60% marks. also his age must be in between 21 to 30 years. the notification of the exam will come in the employment news. for more details regarding the exam, you must visit their official website
www.upsc.gov.in
31st January 2011, 11:25 AM
mychandru024

Yes, you can very much do it.... Take the IAS exam after your B.tech course.
31st January 2011, 08:39 PM
surendergora

Yes, you can , for this you have to clear civil service exam conducted by UPSC and choose IAS cadre.
31st January 2011, 09:05 PM
mishra245

yes you can give the exam of the IES.
the eligibility for this exam is graduation in the engineering in the any stream.
so you can give the exam of the IES after the B.tech exam in computer science.
6th March 2011, 11:42 PM
kapila Chaudhary

IAS (Indian Administrative Service)

Yes dear you can become IAS after b. tech.....
You have to give civil services exam conducted by UPSC.

IAS Exam Eligibility:

Age Eligibility:
You need to be between 21 years to 30 years on the 1st August, 2011.
Age relaxations exist as per Govt. rules.

Academic Eligibility:
You must be a graduate in Engineering from a recognized university.

• Apply online by using the website http://www.upsconline.nic.in
  • Apply offline by purchasing the application form from designated post offices throughout the country.
For complete details go to http://www.upsc.gov.in

18th March 2011, 02:12 AM
mukul0094

Indian Administrative Service (IAS) exam is conducted by UPSC in every year.
You are eligible for IAS exam because the minimum eligibility criteria for IAS exam is graduation and the age must be between 21 to 30 years. You can apply for the IAS exam in the final year of B.Tech or after completing B.Tech program. For any more details please see the official website of UPSC.
http://www.upsc.gov.in
30th April 2011, 05:25 PM
strange_rahul

Smile Re: Can I become an IAS after B.Tech?

Yes of course why not.....your graduation is complete now you can look for IAS...
30th April 2011, 11:22 PM
arvind_singh

Yes you can become an IAS officer .

Eligibility Criteria for IAS :

Age limits :
21-30 years for general students
35 years for SC/ST
33 for OBC .

Education qualification:
Bachelor’s degree of a recognised university.

Date of Examination ::12.06.2011
click here www.upsc.gov.in for more details.
18th May 2011, 12:16 PM
pratham kasyap

i m persuing b.tech from electrical engg., what is the best subject choose for me to ias preparation?
15th June 2011, 11:39 AM

which subjects i have to read and which standard books i have choose for IAS exam?
17th June 2011, 02:29 PM
sachin6

Ya you are eligible. You have graduation only. Age limit is 21 to 30.
19th June 2011, 12:41 PM
sachin6

Ya you are eligible to write ias exam. The eligibility is degree graduation and age limit is 21 to 30years. You write upsc exam in every year.for further details www.upsc.gov.in
19th July 2011, 10:20 AM
vishal jaybhaye

yes for sure after the completion of the graduation you will be allowed to attempt for the IAS exam.
also you can attempt this exam in the final year of the graduation .
age limit for this exam is 21 to 30 years.
general category student can attempt this exam for the 4 times while OBC category candidates can attempt for the for 7 times and there is no restriction on the attempta for the sc / st category students.

for more detailed info about the upsc exams and its services kindly visit the website www.upsc.gov.in
16th January 2012, 11:11 PM

can i become IAS after B.E in electronics & communication engineering?
and in ias exam any help comes from my b.e filed ?
20th January 2012, 11:39 PM
rkexam

Yes you can do IAS after B.tech,

because For IAS the Eligibility required is-

1. Graduate degree from a recognized university or equivalent

2 Age- For IAS The age must be between 21 to 30 years at the time of appearing of this exam.
Also there is Age Relaxation For Reservation category Candidates :-

PH candidates :- 10 years
SC/ST candidates :- 5 years
OBC candidates :- 3 years
Ex-service man :- 5 years

But Registration for IAS exam in not started but it will be available soon.

For the availability Of online application you can simply go to

http://upsc.gov.in/

for For any other exam Related queries you can simply go to

http://upsc.gov.in/general/faq.htm#PageTop

With Regards
RK
25th January 2012, 11:30 AM
sheshadev senapati

ya sure .. you can participate in ias exam

here i m giving some steps details about ias exam

to becoming IAS/IPS officer, the way to enter this competitive job is through giving UPSC entrance exams

Before going for IAS/IPS, you should prepare hard enough to get well-versed with the paper pattern so that you can perform well.

Application forms for IAS/IPS can be obtained from Head Post Offices or any recognized post office. These forms can be sent to the following address:

IAS/IPS examinations consists of two steps-first one is prelims and the second one is mains.

Paper pattern for prelims:

1. Optional Subjects (300 marks):

2. General Studies (150 marks):

In mains, one has to appear for 9 papers

all the best..
15th August 2012, 06:16 PM
aryan5107241

Yes definitely, you can become an IAS Officer if you crack the Civil Services Examination conducted by the Union Public Service Commission every year.

But before this you have to set yourself eligible for the civil services examination.

The Basic Requirements for the exam are :

* You must have completed your Graduation from any recognized college/university.

* Your age should lie in between 21-30 years.

* There is also a relaxation in upper age of 3 years for OBC category Students and 5 years for SC/ST Category students.

* You must be an Indian Citizen.

* Maximum Number Of Attempts Allowed -

For General Category - 4

For OBC Category - 7

For SC/ST Category - No Limit

This is the information i have to the best of my knowledge regarding your query. Hope the information will help you to the extent you want.
23rd October 2012, 11:26 AM
Aria40

Yes, definitely you are eligible to appear in the IAS examination after completing the B.Tech course. Indian Administrative Services (IAS) is consider as the one of the best job of India. IAS examination is conducted by the UPSC once in every year. To appear in the IAS exam you need the following eligibility criteria :

Eligibility Criteria for IAS Examination :
--> Pass graduation degree in any discipline from a recognize University. Final year graduation candidates can also appear in this examination.
--> The age must be between 21 to 30 years at the time of examination. The age relaxation is also applicable for reservation category.

These are the basic eligibility criteria for the IAS examination. If you satisfy the above eligibility criteria then you are eligible to apply for the IAS examination.

As per your above mention question if you completed the B.Tech course then you are eligible to appear in the IAS examination. Do preparation well for the upcoming IAS entrance examination. For any more and complete information regarding the IAS examination please visit the official website of UPSC :~ http://www.upsc.gov.in
23rd October 2012, 03:15 PM
gamble007

You want to serve the nation, by applying for then civil service examination, through which one can apply for the INDIAN ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES (IAS), & INDIAN POLICE SERVICES (IPS),.
This civil service exam is conducted by the UNION PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION (UPSC) every year..
In order to become a IAS, you must have to clear this civil service examination, which has three stages--

1. CSAT (CIVIL SERVICE APTITUDE TEST)
2. MAINS
3. INTERVIEW..

The educational requirements--

A candidate must possess atleast a graduation degree in any stream, but from a recognized college.there is not any minimum percentage requirement criteria is applicable for any candidates, You just have to pass in graduation.

Age limit for this civil service examination is --

21-30 years for the GENERAL candidates,
21-33 years for the OBC Candidates,
21-35 years for the SC\ST candidates,

IAS \IPS EXAM PATTERN--

CSAT EXAM PATTERN--

No. of attempts--

FOUR for the GENERAL candidates
SEVEN for the OBC candidates,
NO such restriction for the SC\ST candidates.,

thank you!
gamble