2nd October 2012, 01:12 AM
Unregistered

Is it possible to become an IAS? I am a student of 3rd year B.Tech

i am a student from 3rd b-tech electrical.suggest me all possible ways to become an I.A.S,& also how can i manage my studies in parallel

2nd October 2012, 06:12 AM
sherleytwain
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: Is it possible to become an IAS? I am a student of 3rd year B.Tech

Yes it is possible for you to take up Indian Administrative Service. To do that you will have to appear for the Civil Service Examination. You can appear for the exam after completing graduation but can start preparing for it earlier.

There is two ways to prepare for IAS exam. You can either join a coaching center or you can start preparing on your own. In case you choose coaching center, then they will balance things out for you so that there is no affect on your B.Tech studies. This is a big reason why I always recommend people to go for coaching centers.

However other way is to prepare on your own. In this case you have two options. Either you start preparing as soon as possible. By doing so you will be putting less strain on yourself. The other option is to start preparing after you have completed graduation.

You can start off by doing simple things. For example read the newspaper, watch news and read political managzines. All this to prepare for the General studies papers which would be both preliminary and main exams. General Knowledge questions will be part of General studies therefore it is important that you keep an eye on all the big developments around the world.

Another thing you can do is preparing for the English language paper. Now if you English is good then this won't be a issue but otherwise you will have to work from now on to improve your English.