Difference Between B.Tech. and B.E.

Shivam asked: What is the difference between B.Tech. and B.E.

B.Tech. = Bachelor of Technology

B.E. = Bachelor of Engineering

I had the same question when I was a 12th class student. I know most of you don’t know the difference and never ever really cared to search it on net. Ok so here goes the difference:

B.Tech. is more of a practical based program while B.E. emphasizes on theoretical details. In India no one really cares whether you are B.Tech. or B.E. - because in either case you are equally unaware of what you are doing (practicals) or studying (theory). Well that was a joke or was it really? ;)

101 Responses to “Difference Between B.Tech. and B.E.”

1. 101
    ATUL TANDON:

1. Main Difference between B. Tech/B.E. (Diploma) and B. Tech/B.E. (Degree)
    2. Diploma Holder could go for Civil Services examination? If Yes, then What about CA after Inter? Do they go for civil service examination?

2. 100
    saha:

btech degree through dce.of swami Vivekananda institute ofinformation technology is recognised for gOVT.JOB or MNC?

3. 99
    Shivar kumar:

i m doing b-tech from uptu college from I.T branch.i want to do m-tech from IIT college so that i can get better placement with good salary,i know it is not so much easy, a lots of hard work requires.
    plz suggest me how to make planning to get it ?

4. 98
    Arvind Tamboli:

Difference between BCA and BCS

5. 97
    preethi:

what is the job oppurtunities for btech agri

6. 96
    jaspal:

Hollo…
    I’m student of bsc(hons) biotech
    what i can do after it or what is the scope of biotech

7. 95
    pragati dohare:

can i give jee advanced ? if i am droper of 2012 .

8. 94
    shankar:

i can’t understand plz tell me clearly

9. 93
    Amrit:

Difference between M.E and M.Tech.
    opportunities after M.E.

10. 92
    anurag:

Would it be good to appear for CA course after completing bcom (plane) from Delhi University? I am in 12th.i am supposed to get (93+) % in class 12th.
    please reply fast

11. 91
    VIKESH KUMAR:

WHICH COLLEGES FOR M.TECH(CS) SHOULD I APPLY IF MY GATE 2013 SCORE IS JUST ABOVE GATE CUTOFF(EXPECTED AROUND 30)

12. 90
    Chandranshu:

Well my problem is some what different ….i was in NDA as a air force cadet but i resigned due to some problem…..now i m interested in doing mechanical engineering or IT. But i m little bit confused…. I go 65% for ME and 35% for IT……..which one to choose….plz guide on this….

13. 89
    what is difference between B.E of nepali student and B.E of an indian student:

difference between engineer of nepal and india

14. 88
    mohamed mirza:

Hai,i had completed my 12th(mat,phy,che) with 76%o of marks.
    and i want to know about,what are the integrated and dual degree courses are available in TAMILNADU.
    plz guide me… a waiting a positive response soon.

15. 87
    shelvin:

job option aftr complting ec,eee,computer eng diploma?salary?

16. 86
    Isaiah:

Am a graduate of chemistry (2.1) and i cherished the field of petroluem engineering so much that i desired to go back to undergraduate level. My question is that is the field difficult? Iam an average mathematics student, will i find this area difficult?if i get p eng degree, whats the advantage when i combine it with my chemistry degree? Pls i need an answer ugently from a professiona in the field. And if there is other things you feel i should know pls do well to inform me because it’l be fully appreciated.

17. 85
    anita ghera:

my son appeared in 12th{science} exams pl guide what to do after 12th he is a average student .

18. 84
    smriti:

carreer opportunities after CA in 2012

19. 83
    kailas:

hai, sir or mam, any boudy can tell me what is the really diferent in B.E . and B.TECH PLS, I have B.COM passed student but i am not interesting in comerce this year i am doing engineiring so pls give infor. about this and any university is thking me directly B.E OR B.TECH COURS

20. 82
    Deepak Sharma:

if the b.tech from distance mode is not approved by aicte but the university has approved by ugc then the B.Tech degree of open university is valid for public or private sector ?

21. 81
    Snehal:

How r d negatve markng schemes can ny 1 help me

22. 80
    ashish kumar prajapati:

I am doing b tech from a private university which is ugc approved (2f) but not aicte .can i apply for govt. Jobs or there is any value of such degree.

23. 79
    manish dewangan:

annual payment of an IES officer

24. 78
    Varunkumar Kulkarni:

Now i m doing diploma in mechtronics engineering.after compleeting my diploma,shall i choose B.E in mechtronics engineering? or mechanical engineering? which is the better for job opportunaties?

25. 77
    ~Dev:

Incomplete answer….
    BTech is officially not graduation, where as BE is officially graduation.
    BTech is considered at PAR to BE/graduated Engineer

26. 76
    shahbaz:

im in 12 std and i want to do b.tech but im confused whatis the difference b/w BE and B.tech?please tell. which of these is having better job opputunities.?

27. 75
    RAHUL:

i am studing msbte computer engineering .i whish to take admissiion b.tech after compleat msbte.can i applied for b.tech? what whould be procedure?

28. 74
    ranjana baghel:

i m be graduate student i done engg in electronics and telecommunication.may i applied for banking specialist post and for bank po. i m in st category. can u give me reply on my email id pls thanks

29. 73
    JITHIN RAJ.V:

I got 4226 rank in KEAM Engg 2011 entrance exam. My residental place is at malappuram.
    Also I’m in a Back ward hindu category.
    Will i get admission at GEC Thrissur and RIT Kottayam for EEE?

30. 72
    Chetan Sahu:

Hi, I am studying 12th with Science Subjects (Phy, Chem, Matb). I wish to go for Management Study after 12th. Is it possible ? How can I face management enterance exam etc. Please guide.

31. 71
    vikas:

tell me the subjects in b-tech it 4th year(7th & 8th semester)

32. 70
    Rupam das:

what is the difference between bsc hons and b.tech ?

33. 69
    Amol:

Colleges in pune university for b tech

34. 68
    Anmol Gedam:

To pursue MTech degree after BTech, we require to appear for GATE exam,
    then for dual degree course, is it required to appear for GATE exam?

35. 67
    maria:

I’m a biology student finished 12th can study btech.information technology..wat’s the scope of studying. IT,whether i’l get a good job in future pls guide me

36. 66
    Mubs:

What is the difference between M.Tech(biotech) and M.Sc (Biotech)

37. 65
    aishwarya:

What are the prospects of doing chemical engineering?

38. 64
    Deepika:

I am a diploma holder, I am confused in chosing my further studies. so please can you tell me B.E or B-tec which course will be helpful to me? or is there any other course?

39. 63
    om prakash:

I want to know about dual degree mscit+mtech. If it is available please give me detail via email. I completed bscIT. thanks.

40. 62
    Dr. Mehul Shukla:

I am Ayurveda Practitioner (BAMS)
    I want to join course of Medical Cosmetology.
    Please provide me detail of course on my email id: [email protected]

41. 61
    rajni:

which is best? B.tech. Or be and which is best college of btech in punjab…….

42. 60
    Deepak S:

I am doing b.tech mechanical engineering now…is m.tech is neccessary to study???….if it is neccessary ,please tell me the good institutions to learn..

43. 59
    victor:

what is better between BE I.T. & B.TECH I.T.?

44. 58
    yogesh:

i am in 12th n i want to make my carrier in mass communication(journalism) so plz give me details about best colleges that offer bachelor’s degree????…government as well as private…….plzzz help me sir i am very much confused……..

45. 57
    Jyotirmoy:

Now I am a B.E.(Mech) 1st year student. and I wanna complete M.TECH after this. what kind of spacial job i may get for the m.tech. will it be profitable?

46. 56
    saicharan:

what is the difference between btech and mtech.any useful for doing mtech than btech.give me clarification.

47. 55
    BHISMADEV SAHU:

Sir i complete my diploma (mechanical) from “Rvd university Rajasthan” in distance course.
    now i want to join B.tech through distance course please give me some advice.

48. 54
    SANKSHEP DWIVEDI:

I am a student of M.Pharma(Ceutics). Please inform what opportunities are opened for me after doing this course and what should I do for the best.

Sankshep Dwivedi

49. 53
    Harish:

After btech in mechanical engineering how can i enter in isro

50. 52
    Nitish:

Respected sir,I am a student of diploma engg. second year from electronics engg. branch.
    I took admission in diploma after passing my intermediate examination.I want to do B.Tech from NIT.
    Can I do my B.Tech from NIT after doing my diploma,when I am 12th passed?

51. 51
    dhanaji:

i am BE student in 7 semester . can u provide list of colleges or university having better M.Tech in computer science in maharastra and andhrapradesh.

52. 50
    Atul Lohar:

I completed B.E. in production. I want to do M.Tech as well as MBA. Which one is best?
    2nd question: If i choose MBA then which trade is beneficial to me to do work? which are the best colleges in Pune & Mumbai for MBA?

53. 49
    vinay raj:

out of these two courses mtech and mba In which course we will get more salary.

54. 48
    Rahul patel:

Hello sir;
    i am in B.tech 5 semester in mechatronics engineering.
    In industry
    i am not a perfectly mechanical & perfectly electronics.
    I want to know in industry where we use. . .where we get job. . . .?

55. 47
    Ahsan Saroosh:

Respected Sir, You are doing really great for the young generation. My qualification is B.Tech (Mechanical) Pass. Now I want to get admission in M.Tech. Is it possible for me I mean after B.Tech?
    My 2nd question is as under:
    Which colleges or universities are getting lowest fee and much better for M.Tech in London.
    I hope that you,ll reply me as soon as possible.

56. 46
    mahesh:

i am a student of class 12. i come under obc category how wil this be useful in my selection in iit.

57. 45
    faizan:

I completed BCA in 2007, i was into business from 2007 but now i want to continue my studies in distance learning… so plz suggest me..

58. 44
    ranjeet singh:

sir,i m not qualified any exam of aieee .iit jee ! So i m confused what i have to do ! Either i take admission in any private sector college or drop for one year and take coaching classes plz guide me !

59. 43
    nandini:

which has more weightage BE or BTECH

60. 42
    prasad sutar:

what is diff. between b.tch &b.e

61. 41
    Pratiksha v. Bhagat:

I m Bsc-IT graduate. I want to take admision for B.E or B.tech part time. Please tell me is it possible for me? What is the proccedure? Rply me fast.

62. 40
    udayveer singh:

which one is better b.e. or b.tech?

63. 39
    srajan:

wats the difference b/w b.tech IT n b.tech CSE?
    wat is taught in both of these courses?

64. 38
    aditya:

i want to take admission for b.tech programme on the basis of aieee score card..

Provide me the list of engineering colleges which can take me on the basis of score card. well!.. my aieee rank is-80207….Plz provide it soon..

65. 37
    Amim:

Which course is best to get job soon B.E or B.tech

66. 36
    Heeresgh:

i passed my 12 with pcm i get admission in b tech

67. 35
    RACHITA:

which subjects are required for b.tech in food technology? give me list of few colleges within maharashtra offering the above course? i got 99 marks in mht-cet. can get admission easily in any college?
    my 12th marks in PCM were 189.

68. 34
    neeraj:

which one is better b.e or b.tech

69. 33
    NEHA:

i got 111 marks in 2010 aieee.my rank is……….
    AIR….overall-58968………..category-43776
    STATE RANK……..overall-3811………category-3002
    i come in open category……will i get addmission in any of the nits?????if yes,which one???????which branch??????
    plzzzzz reply soon…..in my mail……..
    i got 83.5 % in 12th…….

70. 32
    NEHA:

i got 111 marks in 2010 aieee.my rank is……….
    AIR….overall-58968………..category-43776
    STATE RANK……..overall-3811………category-3002
    i come in open category……will i get addmission in any of the nits?????if yes,which one???????which branch??????
    plzzzzz reply soon…..in my mail……..

71. 31
    subhra:

eligiable criteria for b.tech admission in WB colleges for Aieee rank holders.

72. 30
    Akash:

What is the difference between B.E and B.Tech?

73. 29
    love uniyal:

i wanted to ask that how much marks required in aieee to get admission in any governertment college ?

74. 28
    Akash:

Please tell me the difference between B.E and B.Tech

75. 27
    Akash:

What is the difference between B.E and B.Tech

76. 26
    souvick:

can i do btech with 40% in higher secondary exam?

77. 25
    lalit:

difference b/w m.tech & b.tech

78. 24
    daman:

why most of the people do mba after btech?
    is there any benefit of doing so?

79. 23
    Gajanand:

i am a student of diploma engg. second year mechanical branch second year i want take admission in nit afterdiploma. please guide me.

80. 22
    Gajanand:

I am astudent of diploma engg. mechanical branch second year iwant take admission in NIT after final year please guide me

81. 21
    Rohit kamble:

In India ,IN which universeties B.tech in instrumentation syllabus is available?

82. 20
    sourav:

What is the Minimum marks inAIEEE to get addmission in NIT.

83. 19
    Adil Siddique:

three years of technical education and 4 years of b.tech with practical experience how a be will equal of b.tech this is there monoply

84. 18
    madhu:

Suppose if i get thru’ NIT, which’s the best option to take, either BE or B.Tech? Which’ll have gud openings once i finish my course? Do respond as i am very much confused.

85. 17
    Mathew:

Could u tell me some good management institutes in South India(esp. in Kerala)

86. 16
    mahendra:

i completed my B.TECH in INFORMAION TECHNOLOGY now i want to join in MBA. which branch is suiable for me in MBA.

87. 15
    abhinan:

SIR PLS TELL MEABOUT LIFE AT MERCHANT NAVY IS SWIMMING COMPULSARY?

88. 14
    Bharat mishra:

Which branch in m.b.a will suitable for me i am a b.tech student with computer science.What are the main entrance exam in india for admission in m.b.a.

89. 13
    Vinod:

I am a electrical engi freshers, is their any company or industry which gives training in power plant ?

90. 12
    Ritika Bains:

what is the scope of B. Tech (computer science) in coming 2 & 3 years after so called recession in word industry?

91. 11
    sunder:

what is tha difference between engg & tech?

92. 10
    Vinod dapat:

Am completed diploma in computer engineering in tilak maharashtra university its a deemed university can i take admission in direct second year in mumbai or pune board for graduation?

93. 9
    vishnu:

R/Sir,
    My BITSAT 2009 Score is 197 . what are my Chanses of Selection

94. 8
    Rohit Roy:

What is the last and first rank of aieee 2008 B.arch who got seats in various NIT?

95. 7
    sonu kumar:

What is the difference between “BIODATA,RESUME & CV”?

96. 6
    Mashal:

Could you please provide some information about Punjab Engineering College (PEC). Can you also please try to provide me with the admission details as their website provides no specific information. Are the admission forms out yet ??

97. 5
    Pratik:

does it make any difference whether u r a B.Tech or a B.E. degree holder??????

98. 4
    yogesh:

could you provide some information regarding the MAHARASHTRA ENGINEERING TEST….the application,the criteria,etc…..??????

99. 3
    pradeep shahri:

what is the criteria of domicile.is it the residence of the parents or the place of the institution where the student is studying.And if this domicile criteria is same for all the exams held by different states.

100. 2
    ashima:

can u pleas post me all the information and details related to narsee mongee mba tech course(mumbai) for 2009?????

101. 1
    sunita:

where to get application form for bitsat,maharashtra engineering test and bit mesra 2009.