17th September 2015, 07:34 PM
Unregistered

In which entrance exam should I appear among SAT and ACT to study B.Tech in US? Difference between them?

Sir,
I want to do my further education in USA. I am a 11th Science student and I want to pursue my B.Tech in US. For this I know that I have to give SAT. Because SAT is specific exam for US universities. But I have heard that ACT is the exam which also provides admission in USA. I want to know the differences of both exams. And which one I should appear?

27th July 2023, 01:18 AM
SidhuMoosewala

Default Re: In which entrance exam should I appear among SAT and ACT to study B.Tech in US? Difference between them?

Both the SAT and ACT are standardized tests that are used for college admissions in the United States. However, there are some key differences between the two exams.

The SAT is a 3-hour, 45-minute exam that is divided into three sections: Reading, Writing and Language, and Math. The ACT is a 2-hour, 55-minute exam that is divided into four sections: English, Math, Reading, and Science.

The SAT focuses more on reading comprehension and writing skills, while the ACT focuses more on math and science. The SAT also has a more traditional multiple-choice format, while the ACT has a more innovative format that includes fill-in-the-blank questions and other types of questions.

In terms of difficulty, the SAT is generally considered to be more difficult than the ACT. However, the difficulty of the two exams can vary depending on your strengths and weaknesses.

Ultimately, the best way to decide which exam to take is to try both of them and see which one you prefer. You can also talk to your guidance counselor or a college admissions advisor to get their opinion.

SAT
  • Length: 3 hours, 45 minutes
  • Number of sections: 3
  • Focus: Reading comprehension, writing skills, math
  • Format: Traditional multiple-choice
  • Difficulty: Generally considered to be more difficult
ACT
  • Length: 2 hours, 55 minutes