M.Sc. Computer Science Vs. MCA-Which course is better?

Although both these courses are post graduate options, going for any of these course will depend on career aspirations and the technical competence of prospective students.

M.Sc. Computer Science

M.Sc. Computer Science is a post graduation course that can be done after B.Sc. Computer science or Computer Technology. This is a two year programme. The course is mainly focused on software development and application. These can be applied to various fields of technology, business, education and science. Various universities and institutions in the country offer this branch of study. There are many career opportunities also after this course. A person who has pursued this post graduation can perform in different areas like teaching, software development, testing, networking, etc.

MCA

Master of Computer Applications is also a post graduation course of three year duration. This can be done after graduation in any stream of study related to computer field. MCA covers various topics related to programming and designing. The main aim of this course is on the development of applicable software and not only the designing of computer hardware and system software. There are numerous colleges in India that offers this particular branch of study. The admission to this course is based on the entrance exam carried out by the respective institutions or universities or the State. The career opportunities for these postgraduate candidates are very huge. One can perform in various roles like software developer, Software consultant, software engineer, systems analyst, etc.

Key Difference between M.Sc. Computer Science and MCA

Even though the two post graduation courses are at same level there are some differences between them. MCA is a 3 year programme where as M.Sc. computer science is a 2year programme. MCA covers the software and its application related field. M.Sc. computer science covers the both hardware and software field. A person with strong background in computational and scientific field is only able to opt for this course. Those who have pursued a graduation in computer science or computer technology alone can opt for M.Sc. computer Science, while MCA can be done by any science graduates.

Which course is better?

The career opportunities for both these graduates are many. But most MNCs prefer MCA graduates to M.Sc. graduates. This is because the MCA graduates are well aware of the software applications. But for developing new software, M.Sc. graduates are preferred. MCA’s are most suitable for the working purposes in various companies. While considering a bright career, MCA course will be better than M.Sc. computer science.

28 Responses to “M.Sc. Computer Science Vs. MCA-Which course is better?”

1. 28
    Vipin:

Sir. mene BCA regular ke bad MCA corespondance se PTU se kiya ha me PHD kase kar sakta hu kirpiya bataye mera MCA 2saal ka ha litrel entry se

2. 27
    Prakash P. Joshi:

In respect of University of MUMBAI

Which is better
    1. M.Sc. (Comp. Science)
    OR
    2. M.Sc. (IT) ?

3. 26
    kavitha:

I have finished 12th and joined in s r m university at Chennai for m.sc computer science and tech[integrated course]. is my decision is right? can I get job opportunities? I have got 72% in my board exam

4. 25
    xyz:

iam persuimg my bsc 2nd year and iam confused between computer and physics so please help me in opting a better course for my msc course

5. 24
    sona:

if any person have no job after completion mca then what should they do?

6. 23
    Saroj Shrestha:

Which one is better cource BCA or B.tech in computer science?

7. 22
    shantanu:

Except Mca or Mcs what are possible courses after bsc(comp sci)

8. 21
    Poongavanam.P:

This Poongavanam.P from tamil nadu..
    I hav one doubt abt choosing my pg degree.

I came from B.SC Computer science stream.

Now i want 2 do my pg degree, which course i can select MCA or M.SC CS..

I think MCA is better, compared 2 M.SC CS.
    Even though my family economic backround is very poor.

So i’m not able 2 do MCA, becoz its duration 3 years and fee strut is also high.
    Compared 2 this M.SC is 2 years, and this fees struct is low.
    So could u plz suggest me, which is suitable for my career and my family backround.

9. 20
    @PAWAN KUMAR SHARMA:

I have clear BCA & i want my bright creer for me & my family.
    so plz… give me suggetion for me. wht i can do job? or now
    we can stady to contune?

10. 19
    ashwini:

can i do msc.comp after bcs?

11. 18
    tushar:

i had done my BCS from reputed college,
    i can do my best in programming.

but i wish to do business not job…..
    so can any one guide how can i make it???

12. 17
    khalid:

I have complete the B.Sc.(computer science) and I am just looking for my next graduation corce,please give me suggetion for which corce is better i.e. MCA is better or M.Sc.(computer science) is better.

13. 16
    p.mounika:

i am mounika, i had complated my bsc computer sience and also seleceted in a campus interive so i want to complate my pg in a distince mode, so which is apptable for me (msc computer sicence r mca)

14. 15
    D.RAMAMOORTHY:

whether a MCA graduate can pursue P.hd.Ifso the ways and means may be informed.I am in Tamilnadu State and do the P.hd in Tamilnadu alone.

15. 14
    D.Venkat reddy:

My name is venkat reddy i cpmplete
    Bsc copmputer scince, i worked h/w@ networking job, so iam intresting pg bettar then mca or msc pls tellme sir.

16. 13
    balaji:

sir i am finished m.sc .,bed computer science.i am eligible in TET exam .please reply my mail id.

17. 12
    Ajinkya Chavan:

I have completed Bsc[Computer Science] with Distinction ,what
    should I do MCS or MCA….I want to complete it fast…
    I want to do carrier in software development….
    Please reply…..

18. 11
    reema:

Can I do a full time MCA with a part time MSc in C.S. from Mumbai University ?(In Short I just want to ask whether the above two courses can be done at the same time? )

19. 10
    TVISHA:

Whoes placement is better MCA or MSc computer science from delhi university after doing BSC(H) computer science from delhi university?

20. 9
    Dhan Singh:

Dear Sirs,
    I have completed BCA and right now i am pursuing CCNA .
    Sirs now i want to pursue masters in networking. So could please suggest me in this regard. And also let me from where can i pursue this course.

21. 8
    praveen:

what in the difference between Bca and B.sc computer sicence?
    then which one is best to study for jobs?

22. 7
    ridhi sharma:

hello every one my question is :
    kya msc computer science karne ke baad hum mca kar sakte hai correspondence jo ki fir 1 yr ki ho jayegi nd something right opinion about this??????????????? i have done bca also

23. 6
    ritika:

please tell me both courses fee record for M.Sc. comp. sci. and MCA

24. 5
    ritika:

please tell me both courses fee record

25. 4
    Anas:

I am BSc botany graduate and want to pursue career in Computers.

I have not taken maths in 12th.

Please let me know:
    1. which courses are better for me? MCA, MSc in IT, MSc in computer science or any other?
    2. Whether software engineer courses offered by private institute like Aptech & Niit are equivalent to above mentioned courses?
    3. Whether correspondence and distant educational certificate is equivalent to the above mentioned courses?

26. 3
    Anas:

I am BSc botany graduate and want to pursue career in Computers.

I have not taken maths in 12th.

Please let me know:
    1. which courses are better for me? MCA, MSc in IT, MSc in computer science or any other?
    2. Whether software engineer courses offered by private institute like Aptech & Niit are equivalent to above mentioned courses?
    3. Whether correspondence and distant educational certificate is equivalent to the above mentioned courses?

27. 2
    jyoti:

provides colleges of bhopal with fee structure who able to course M.sc (computer science)

28. 1
    rohan:

Give answer without considering the apploication areas.
    que:-
    which course is better MSc(c.s.) OR MCA.