PhD in Philosophy

PhD in Philosophy relates to the study and interpretation of several general based in addition to fundamental problems that usually concerns different matters that includes knowledge, existence, reason, values, language as well as minds. The subject deals in answering related queries in a more scientific light along with a systematic approach. The course also covers different aspects that put stress on the reliance on several rational arguments. The totality of the subject is the stress on thesis and the wisdom involved that includes several factors.

The candidates have to earn their bachelor as well as master’s degree, either in general or honors form graduation from a reputed Institute in the following subject. The precise cut-off marks for the following course is not mentioned but is usually 50% in the master level as well as 55% in the bachelor level, in most of the Institutes.

Course Outlook:

The overall course duration is four to five years. However the exact duration cannot be specifically mentioned as it depends upon the subject of the thesis as well as Institute from which the individual candidate is undertaking his or her PhD based degrees.

Job Prospects:

The candidates that have undertaken the course are most likely to accept the role of lecturer or professor in any of the Institute teaching the same subject. Furthermore, research based areas also offer potential career opportunities to these candidates. Overall career opportunities in different philosophical based Institutes can also be explored.

Best Places to Pursue:

Tata Institute of Fundamental Research Doctor of Philosophy
International Institute of Population Sciences

2 Responses to “PhD in Philosophy”

1. 2
    ved prakash chaurasia:

i have completed my MA in philosophy with 67%. but i have completed my graduation in BSc. PCM. Am I eligible for PhD in Philophy.
    i m a little doubt about that please guide … thanking you

2. 1
    geo:

i want to do the phd in philosophy in pondichery universuty. and i had completed mphil in kerala university. si what iam supposed to say is i need a subject matter to do the research. so kindly help me in this