Steps to become Airport Customs Officer

Airport Customs Officer falls under ‘Group A’ or ‘Class 1’ Officers in Indian Administrative Service. Selection of eligible candidates to this post is carried out through Civil Services Examination (CSAT). Graduation in any stream from a recognized educational institution is the basic qualification required to attend the exam. Those who pass CSAT can get in to the role of Customs Officer under Indian Customs and Central Excise Service (IC&CES).

Eligibility Requirement to become Airport Customs Officer

Aspirants who have completed their bachelor degree from a recognized institute are eligible to apply for the post. The qualifying degree must be obtained in any stream with minimum 55% marks. Those who have completed 21 years of age are only eligible to apply for the post of Customs Officer. Upper age limit of the applicant is 30 years. Candidates belonging to backward category can expect relaxation in age.

Selection Procedure of Airport Customs Officer

Selection of ‘Group A’ Officers in Customs department is carried out through CSAT exam. The exam is carried out by UPSC. Applications for the exam can be forwarded through the official website of UPSC through online mode. One must pay a fee of Rs. 50/-. Women candidates and those belonging to SC/ST category need not pay the fees.

Candidate should mention their preferred area (like IAS, Revenue Service, etc) under Civil service at the time of application submission itself. There will be separate column for the same in the application form. Therefore, those who wish to become Customs Officer must mention Indian Customs and Central Excise Service (IC&CES), as the most preferred choice.

CSAT Exam is conducted in two stages, preliminary and mains. There will be two compulsory papers for preliminary exam. Time allotted for answering each paper is 2 hours.  Paper I may cover questions on general knowledge and day to day affairs across the globe. Paper II comprises questions on reasoning, mental ability, quantitative aptitude and English Language. Aspirants who pass this preliminary level exam can appear for mains exam.

In mains exam there will be a written exam and interview. There will be 9 papers for the written test, out of which 2 are of qualifying nature. The candidates who get through the written exam will be short-listed for interview round. Those who clear the interview round can get short listed for training in Central Excise cadre. Once training is completed successfully, they can join as Customs Officer in international airports. Upon completing probation as ‘Customs Officer’ they will be promoted to the next level i.e ‘Assistant Commissioner of Customs’.

34 Responses to “Steps to become Airport Customs Officer”

1. 34
    Raj kiran:

Em very much interested to apply n thrive! Kindly let me know the syllabus so tat I can prepare myself accordingly!!
    Yours sincerely,

2. 33
    GOKUL PRADEEP:

can a arts group student become a navy officer?
    what are the steps to be followed?
    the eligibility criteria to become a navy officer?

3. 32
    sajid basha.A:

hai i am sajid basha and i am doing aeronautical engineering final year ,.. And i want to be an custom officer in any airport. so i am waiting for the exam dates for upcoming exams … Please you got any information about the exam forward the dates and details to my mail….. [email protected]

thanking you….

4. 31
    mathan:

when the exam starts in customs at 2014?

5. 30
    DAGUDU RAMU:

dear sir…
    my parlce is came 28-11-2013,
    in hero honda company sir…
    this is right or wrong.
    came to mr.martin white.
    call to this number take custom dept +918860699716,+918375082254.miss rebeka state bank of india acc:30943953902.she is tell to 355000 britesh ponds, and one laptop,one t-shirt,and documoment. certificate came. in new delhi airpot.
    ———————–
    my cell number is +918464802710,+919666158589
    kindly quick responce me sir…

6. 29
    s.yuvaraj:

how to apply for the airport customs officer exam?

7. 28
    Miss Douza:

Could you help me with the dates of upsc exam for airport customs officer

8. 27
    r.g.vignesh:

how to join customs after finishing BE. i need information about the examination

9. 26
    Thaseen Ahmed:

Sir I am studing 11th I want to know many about how to get an job in customs service. In future I will sure write the exam to be an customs officer to do my service to India sir
    …… Please help me sir.

10. 25
    enayathulla:

Good morning sir,am from pondicherry now pursuing M.Com 2nd year in pondicheery university. At the same time i am also applied ICWAI exam in pondcherry Chapter. But i did not cleared any one group. i have 65% mark in UG and PG also
    i want become Customs officer in PORT or AIRPORT.
    so give me further step to take become reach my dreams as well as best and better. Am waiting…………….

11. 24
    nagaraju:

Sir i am now b.tech 4 year sir iam interested to become a custom officer when we get notification for the next year 2014

12. 23
    sindhoora.v:

Respected sir/mam When CSAT exam is going to be conducted…n what is the procedure required to apply to the customs officer

13. 22
    uday abhi:

hi sir/madam
    i interested in this job customs officer. what i can do? i have finished diploma. how i apply this job please help me.

14. 21
    s.azarudeen:

Hello sir/mam
    i have finished my B.E Mechanical engineer i have one arrer in this time so shall i apply for customs please tell me

15. 20
    vijayaraghavan:

i have completed my 12th with 82%,but now my age is 21 can i writh 12th category exams..

16. 19
    Uroosa:

When will UPSC conduct exams for airport custom officer for the year 2013 and how to apply for the exams…???

17. 18
    Praveen:

Sir, I am doing my bbm final year, I want to join the customs should I write ssc or upsc ? Please help me with this

18. 17
    SAPNA:

Steps to become Airport Customs Officer”

19. 16
    Charles:

Respected Sir/Madam,
    I am a graduate of Bsc Electronics with an aggregate of 64.67.
    I wanted to be in airforce line but the power of my eyesight reduced
    and I am not able to see farer objects and I am wearing my glasses.
    I didn’t even try for IAF, now my keen interest is to become a Customs
    Officer at airport. My concerns are, will I be eligible for thr post of
    Customs Officer due to low eyesight ??

You’re kind response would be so grateful.
    Charles

20. 15
    gokul krishnan:

i finished 12th and i planed to study b.tech civil or instrumental.. can i apply for customs after my graguation???

21. 14
    manu rao:

i m doing b.com from du nd i have to appear in 3rd year exam in may 2013, SO can i apply for custom department before the announcement of result

22. 13
    Dixita:

I do not knw which exam shuld be give for custom officer? in whch month exam will conducted? sylbus of exam ?

23. 12
    janet:

when will UPSC conduct exams for airport customs officer for the year 2013.And how to apply for it.

24. 11
    roshan kundalkar:

date of exam or months ?

25. 10
    DHANU NAYAGAM:

dear sir/mam
    i m DHANU i have completed regular BSC i m intrested in airport costumer officer.. where are the available form..?you have give me the particuler site of airport costumer officer..you will be the full information send me.

26. 9
    G.K.Swamy:

M complited my degree with 40% can i apply for customs officer exam plz tel me sir

27. 8
    sazzad hussain:

my name is a sazzad hussain i am 12th pass 58.62% plz customs officer detal

28. 7
    shiv:

respected sir/mam
    when is the next csat entrance exam,plz wat are the study material required

29. 6
    Arunprakash.B:

I want aplication form for exam.

30. 5
    Hashmi:

I have completed my hospitality diploma in frankfinn is i’m eligible for customs?

31. 4
    bibindevassy:

i want application form

32. 3
    mohsin qureshi:

hi, this mohsin want to know when are the csat exams are going to held. and what are the study material required to prepare for the exams.

33. 2
    ankit gupta:

dear sir/mam
    i m ankit i have completed regular bca i m intrested in airport costumer officer.. where are the available form..?you have give me the particuler site of airport costumer officer..you will be the full information send me..

34. 1
    Indhumathi:

when will UPSC conducts exams for Airport Customs Officer?