Space Scientist - How to become a Space Scientist?

Space science is that branch of science that deals with the study of the Universe. Initially, the only science that dealt with space was Astronomy. Now there are various fields like Astrophysics, Galactic Science, Stellar Science, Space Colonization and Space Defense. Other important areas are GIS, Satellite Meteorology and Global Climate, Atmospheric Sciences, Satellite communication. The job of a space scientist is of challenging and exploratory nature. Astronauts, rocket scientists, meteorologists are all considered to be space scientists.

Prepare for exams

Students who want to become Space Scientist must develop an aptitude towards Physics and Mathematics subjects. He/ She must have a positive approach towards continuous learning and should expand his knowledge into branches like Optics, Magnetism and Electronics. There are many institutes that provide courses for Space Science and they often take up candidate only after entrance exam.

A space scientist aspirant must have studied Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics as a core subjects and must have secured excellent score in the board exam. Most of the reputed colleges offering engineering courses conducts entrance exams like IIST, JEE, AIEEE and BITSAT. The choice of aerospace or aeronautic engineering depends up on the rank secured by the candidate. A student can also take up M.Sc program from IISER (Indian Institutes of Science Education and Research). This is a 5 year course which will also help to build up a career as a Space Scientist.

Institutions offering Space Science Courses

Indian Institute of Space Science and Technology, situated in Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala is managed by the ISRO. It offers under graduate and post graduate engineering courses and doctoral course in space science and aerospace engineering. It conducts an entrance exam to select its students. Other institutes that offer post graduate and doctoral courses in space science related courses like astro-physics and astronomy are IISC and IIAP, both situated in Bangalore. There are quite a few universities and institutions that offer courses for astronomy.

Some of them are:-

• BAMU University, Aurangabad.
  • Madras University, Chennai.
  • Birla Planetarium, Kolkata
  • Raman Research Institute Bangalore.
  • Inter University for Astronomy and Astrophysics Pune
  • National Center for Radio Astronomy Pune.

Recruitment as a Scientist

Space scientists are usually hired by VSSC, ISRO and DRDO. These institutions recruit scientists at different grades. Fresh and bright engineers with a solid academic performance and high score in entrance exams are taken in at a trainee or lower grade level. Experienced graduates, post graduates and doctorates are hired at higher scientist grade levels. Space scientists have become popular ever since India launched our own space excavation programs and initiatives like Chandrayan, Agni and so on. A space scientist even became the President of India, which has inspired many bright young Indians to pursue a career as a space scientist.

73 Responses to “Space Scientist - How to become a Space Scientist?”

1. 73
    Namitha sree:

Actually i am studying in 8th grade and i am very interested in the subjects physics and math but I scored good marks in physics.even though I am not good in math a bit I am still trying to get success in it .i wanted to know can I achieve my gaol.I can support u that I can .but still I wanted to know please.

2. 72
    Santanu Sarkar:

I want to be a space scientist………..What should i do…..?????….how much marks % should I get in my board exams…& which course should I complete after +2……?????

3. 71
    KARTAVYA:

I STUDY IN CLASS 11 AND I WANT TO BECOME AN SPACE RESEARCH SCIENTIST.I AM VERY CONFUSED HELP ME TO SORT OUT THIS.

4. 70
    akshay:

I would like to become a scientist in ISRO or NASA. now i am studying +2 after +2 what should I do…? I intrusted to study physics & maths. But today i am very confusion about my future.

5. 69
    astha jain:

I want to become a great scientist. I am studying in 11th class and I decide to choose science maths.My best subject is physics and maths and I always get good marks in physics but in maths I want to get full marks but everytime something is wrong with me .I mean sometimes paper is too tough…….so I really want to ask a question that for me its good to become a great scientist?

6. 68
    deepthy:

si how could i get an admission in the govt collages in india offering btech in avionics o amament technology with out writting jee

7. 67
    Rohon:

Science? prety good name me to i wnt to b them who has invent the things created the thngs, changes the world , people says he ro she will be come the next albert enstine ro thomas alpa adison ro some body els ,bt my question y we wan to become lyk them , the person who has all created his own name yy

8. 66
    jason:

Can you work with someone as a space scientist

9. 65
    Akhil Chauhan:

what should i do for a spce research scientist after doing B.sc with physics,maths and chemistry

10. 64

i am studying 3rd year electrical can i become a rocket scientist??

11. 63
    NATESAN:

i am 32 years old, i have finished BCA. am i eligible for Space Scientist?

12. 62
    pranay:

sir,i completed my 12th class.i want to become a great space scientist. to become that scientist what branch will choose in Btech?and after btech what will i do?

13. 61
    manju:

i am doing BE EEE 3rd yr……would i get job in this field relating to my field???????? is there any exam for that……….

14. 60
    Mayank:

Sir/mam ,
    i am studying in 11th standard in gujarat board i m intrested in astro physics plz guide me which xams i need to pass after 12th …..

15. 59
    smita:

i am B.Sc final yr student with 85 % avg. In future i have decided to continue with physics, will you please suggest me the ways to become a good scientist?…which all competitive exams i can attend?, which is the best college?

16. 58
    Kumar Akshay:

What is the procedure to take admission in NASA space research after 11th,plzzzzzzzzzzzz reply as soon as possible.

17. 57
    siddhi:

what is the procedure to take admission in nasa space research after 12th. plzzzzzzz reply as soon as possible.

18. 56
    Vinod:

my self Vinod I’m studying B-TECH 3Rd year E.E.E. I want to become a space scientist. Is there any way my dream become real . Please reply to me.

19. 55
    Tanya:

Sir, I m a 2nd year student of B.tech(instrumentation and control). I m intersted in Space science. What post graduate courses are available for me????

20. 54
    yashwanth:

i am from A.P i am studing 11th standard i want to become a space scientist i dont know what books to read please say what exams i have to attend? What group i should take in b.tech? After b.tech what i have to do?i entrance i have to attend after 12th?

21. 53
    brijesh:

At present i am studying in standard 9 and i got 81% in 1st semester.I want to become a space scientist from very long time.I hve many questions to ask you that which books should i learn ?which exams should i give now?which exam should i give after finishing 12th standard?what is the salary when anyone became a spce scientist?so please gave me answers of these questions.

22. 52
    hardik:

presently i am in standard 9 studying in baroda of gujarat state
    and from childhood i have a dream to go in space or become a scientist in space field but now i don’t know that which exams i should give now which books to learn?so please tell me about this questions and also about that which degrees and exam shold i take after 12th standard?also please tell me that how much salary i will get when i became a scientist in this field.

23. 51
    Josabantajani:

Why the maximum bodies in the universe speherical in size ?

24. 50
    anurag chaurasia:

sir or mam i want to become a space scientist
    i m intrested in astrobiology plz help me and enlighten my path so that i may get my goal
    i will be glad for ur help

25. 49
    Kajal:

Respected Sir/Madam,
    Will you please tell me how many marks should i get in 10th boards to opt for astrobiology or you can say astronomy fields in future?

26. 48
    shailendra:

i am Bsc part=1student with maths phy.&astronomy.i want to mack career as a space scientist. plz tell me how.

27. 47
    Kavitha:

Sir/Madam:
    I want become space scientist.I am studying in AP IIIT,BASAR ,CHEMICAL ENGINEERING (B-TECH-II YEAR).Please tell me what can i do now. Please suggest me.Give suggestions to me.Please reply to my mail

28. 46
    Kavitha:

Sir/Madam:

29. 45
    archana:

i’m interested in exploring the universe, i want to become a space scientist but some people say that its not gud for girls ,is it true?

30. 44
    Rinold:

sir/mam,
    i am rinold .
    i am studying +12.(Salem)
    what cutoff should i get to join in a best space sci. collage
    & i like 2 become an Astronaut
    could U help me PLZ….
    plz reply vie of email.
    thank U.

31. 43
    ruben:

sir/mam,
    My sister is pursuing 11th std.she want to become a space scientist.could u suggest some way to guide her in a right path.i want to know whether a girl will suit for this field and wat are all the problem that she have to face.Kindly reply

32. 42
    krunal:

I discover flying machine
    but, some thing i do not solve Help me.

33. 41
    krunal:

I discover flying machine
    but, some thing i do not solve.

34. 40
    rajat:

how i can become a sciencetist after study of inter?

35. 39
    sai:

sir/madam i am studying 12 std.i want to become a space scientist.so please tell me which group i should take in B-TECH

36. 38
    dhiraj:

pls give the list of schools /colleges offering space sciences education started from class 11TH

37. 37
    soubhagya singh:

sir/madam. i am doing bca 2 nd yr. can i go to in space field.in 12th standrad my sub. were phy. chem. math.n scored 56% plz suggest me?

38. 36
    parmeet bhatia:

I m doing M.tech(nanotechnology). Can I become a space scientist? Is there is any job in ISRO or DRDO for nanotechnology students???

39. 35
    bhavani shankar naik:

sir/madam i am studying 12 std.i want to become a space scientist.so please tell me which group i should take in B-TECH SO that i should be in Sathish dhrawn space station at Sriharikota nellore

40. 34
    hitesh:

sir i am in my 12(pcm+bio) i got

9 in 10 can u plz tell me what should i do furthur to become a space scientist & what xam should i write????????????

41. 33
    Amarnath Reddy:

sir, present i am studying b.tech. 2nd year .

my ambition is space scientist , so how to become space

scientist

10th class - 75.6 %

intermediate - 79.3 %

b.tech first year results not released

42. 32
    Rajeswar Panja:

Sir/Mam,
    At present I am a student of M.Sc.course (2nd year)under Vidyasagar University. I am interested in space science. How could I join with this field? Please tel me in details.

43. 31
    sunidhi:

sir/mam, i have pased +2 with med stream(physics,chem,bio). i m interested in this field…..should i m eligible for this field ….please tel me in details

44. 30
    MOHD PARVEZ AHMED:

which group should i take in engineering,for becoming space scientist?

45. 29
    guddu adhana:

dear sir/madam ,
    how can i become a space scientist ? now i am in class 11th with (9) grade in 10th class .

46. 28
    m.sreekanth:

sir i got 971 out of 1000 in +2 so i neglected my competitive exams but i want to become a scientist . i have joined in ssncollege whose rank is 50 in top 100 indias engineering .at present i am doing all books regarding to science like hc verma etc .but my ultimate dream is to become a space scientist so i request you to guide me and inform me weather any exams are there regarding to it.

47. 27
    m.sreekanth:

sir i got 970 out of 1000 in +2 so i have not concentrated on my competitive exams i joined in SSNcollege whose rank is 50 in indias top 100 engineering colleges . in that college there is no aero space but my ultimate dream is to become a space scientist . at present i am reading all books regarding to science please tell me is there any way to achive my dream or any exams to become scientist or to join in good aero space college

48. 26
    virendra sheoran:

sir i have qualified jee with rank 8563 and i have not joined iit and i want to become scientist in isro please guide me the steps to follow to become same as above

49. 25
    bhimashankar:

Kindly let me know how to enter in space research
    field being an engineering student.

50. 24
    sujatha:

Dear sir/madam, i am doing my engineering. Science is a subject which is my most favorite especially its branch called space science is very fascinating one.Merely taking part in academics is not so interesting. I want to begin the journey of space resarch as soon as I can, so as to attain the required efficiency in such a challenging field. So, I want to know weather there are any chances of taking part space resarch being a student? If there are any please let me know them.

51. 23
    Farheen:

i will be completing my b.tech in ece by 2013. i want to become a space scientist. please tell me the details for my qualification as a space scientist. please reply it to my mail.

52. 22
    SUBRAHMANYAM:

HOW MANY MARKS ABOVE I SHOULD GET MARKS IN 10 CLASS?

53. 21
    vinay:

i am having biology as a subject in my 11th class but i am greatly intrested in physics especially in exploring the universe. i want to be a scientist but i am poor in maths. but i am very 2 good in physics i am greatly influenced by string theory,genelal relativity and i want to give my explanations to them i can solve maths but icannot give exam of maths because i hve maths phobia. can u pls healp me i will promice to work hard . is there any way to becoming ascientist in NASA/ISRO with bio. in 11th if yes pls pleaseeeeeeeeee healp me please. and how what to do after 12th.

54. 20
    vinay:

i am having biology as a subject in my 11th class but i am greatly intrested in physics especially in exploring the universe. i want to be a scientist but i am poor in maths. but i am very 2 good in physics i am greatly influenced by string theory,genelal relativity and i want to give my explanations to them i can solve maths but icannot give exam of maths because i hve maths phobia. can u pls healp me i will promice to work hard . is there any way to becoming ascientist in NASA/ISRO with bio. in 11th if yes pls pleaseeeeeeeeee healp me please.

55. 19
    ashokkumar:

i am a engineering student now.what i have to do to become a scientists.

56. 18
    pragya:

How do i apply for IIST after class 12 ?

57. 17
    jayashree pattanayak:

i am a B.Sc 1st year student with physics honours.What steps i have to take to become a space scientist?

58. 16
    Amit Mishra:

how can i go to moon and make record like sunita villiams.

59. 15
    kanchan:

sir, I’m in b.e (electronics and telecommunication.) . is there any exam to get entered ..plz tell me what is d criteria .one thing is my acadamic is not that much good but maths is really good…so am i able for this …plz tell me…

60. 14
    suvedha naik:

Sir.. I’m in confusion. plz tell me what should I do in order to become space sceintist? What are the qualification did i need? i have a alot of interest in UFO studying.. Please guide me Sir…

61. 13
    preeti:

i am pursuing B.tech in electronics and communication.
    and want to see myself as an space scientist.. kindly suggest what is best for me in this regard…
    waiting for the reply…

62. 12
    anu:

iam doing my second year btech,mechanical.
    iam interested in space sciences.
    i want to become a space scientist so pls give me some suggestions to enter into that sector

63. 11
    vasu:

Hello sir.
    iam doing my btech 2nd year(cse), but my ambition is to become space scientist.. plz give me best suggestions to me.

64. 10
    barbara:

how can i get into nasa

65. 9
    Dr.S V Ramana:

My son is in Intermediate of Andhra Pradesh board with 97% in 10th class and in first year intermediate.
    his ambition is to become a space scientist.
    pl.give the guide lines

66. 8
    kiran:

when will be the entrance exam for IIST.what is the last date for applying for the exam.please let me send the details to my e-mail.

67. 7
    mayank:

i am a student of XII n.m. . what step should i take so that i can become a space scientist and what r the scope in space scientist means astronomy how much we can earn in a month…

68. 6
    ayame:

how to become a space scientist or astro physicist after doing BSc physics hons. ?

69. 5
    Shahid:

this year i have passed out 12th in medical stream (physics,chemistry& biology) with approx.66% .what should i do now? should continue with medical stream (if yes than what) or change to the IT
    (BCA/BBA) etc.

70. 4
    nagalakshmi:

when will be the entrance exam for IIST and what is the last date for applying for the exam please let me send the details to my e-mail

71. 3
    Shashikant:

Where are the preparatory institutes located in India for entrance test of ISAT ?

72. 2
    deepakgahlawat:

what r the scope in space scientist means astronomy how much we can earn in a month

73. 1
    Rashmi:

i m a BCA graduate but have interest in d field of space science… i was nt allowed to take up science for 11th n 12th coz of financial issues.. even then my interest in astronomy space science has nt gone.. is there any way u can help me out . is there any astronomy couse which i can take up n build ma career in this field..?