How to become an Aeronautical Engineer?

The branch of aerospace engineering that deals with the study, design and construction of aircrafts. To become an aeronautical engineer on should have passed in BE/ B.tech aeronautical, Diploma in Aeronautical Engineering. There are many colleges in the country that offer degree and diploma courses in aeronautical engineering. The ASI (Aeronautical Society of India) approved by the DGCA (Directorate General of Civil Aviation) conducts entrance exam called Associate Member ship exam twice a year for diploma courses, which is equivalent to a bachelor’s degree in aeronautical engineering.

Qualifying Exam

There are different colleges offering courses in Aeronautical engineering for which the candidate needs to secure a good score in the entrance exam. Some of the entrance exams are:

All India Engineering Entrance Examination (AIEEE)
Associate Member of Institution of Engineers (AMIE)
Graduate Aptitude Test in Engineering
ISAT Admission Test (IIST, Thiruvananthapuram)
Joint Entrance Examination (JEE)
National Aptitude Test in Architecture
SLIET Entrance Test (SET)
State wise Entrance Examinations

A student should have clear knowledge about the basic concepts of the syllabus of entrance exam. Mostly it contains questions from physics, chemistry and mathematics from the course of class 11th and class 12th. Try to solve as many Model question papers cyclically to improve speed and knowledge. Aeronautical engineering aspirant should also develop good problem-solving skills. He/she must have excellent mathematical precision, design skills, computer skills, and communication skills. An aeronautical engineering aspirant must be physically fit and have a normal color vision.

The candidate must have studied Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics at class 12th level with at least 60 % of marks. Physical fitness and good eye sight is also mandatory.

Courses

Students interested in a career in aeronautical engineering need to take the entrance exam specified by the institute. Some institutes accept scores of common entrance exams whereas there are others that conduct their own entrance tests.

B Tech/B E Aeronautical Engineering

There are many institutes across the country that offers this course. The IITs are some the best to do so. In order to join the IITs, the candidate must attend the IIT JEE exam. Other institutes that offer this course are Indian Institute of Aeronautical Engineering Dehradun, Hindustan Institute of Science and Technology Tamil Nadu, Institute of Information Technology and Management Pune, Nehru College of Aeronautics & Applied Science Coimbatore, School of Aviation Science and Technology New Delhi, Indian Institute of Aeronautics Patna, Institute of Aviation Technology Haryana, Madras Institute of Technology, etc. Most of these colleges do not have any entrance exams. But they do say that those who are interested need to apply well in advance as the demand for seats to this course is large. The candidate’s aggregate is taken into consideration during admission.

Diploma in Aeronautical Engineering

There are institutes that offer a diploma in aeronautical engineering. Some of them are International Council for Management Studies Chennai, Acharya Polytechnic Bangalore, Nehru College of Aeronautics & Applied Science Coimbatore, etc.

AME

The ASI (Aeronautical Society of India) conducts an exam called Associate Member ship Exam twice a year which is equivalent to a bachelor’s degree in aeronautical engineering from any Indian University. There are many AME training institutes that have been approved by the DGCA (Directorate General of Civil Aviation). Some of these institutes are Aeronautical Training Institute Lucknow, Center for Civil Aviation Training New Delhi, Indraprastha Institute of Aeronautics Gurgaon, Indian Institute of Aeronautical Science Kolkata, Academy of Aviation Engineering Bangalore, etc.

Job Opportunities

On completion of the course the candidates can secure a job in the airline industry. Other options available are like ISRO, DRDO, HAL, etc. The armed force is also a good option for them. There is also a huge demand for aeronautical engineers abroad.

93 Responses to “How to become an Aeronautical Engineer?”

1. 93
    PYLA NAGESH:

how I enter in to the aeronautical engineering college after completed B.E in ELECTONICS AND COMUNICATIO if have any exams? what is the exams names ? please give me about my doubts thank you sir

2. 92
    anusha.k.s:

for doing this aeronautical engineering what should be ours minimum height

3. 91
    utkarsh:

Does our percentage in tenth also affect our entry in aeronautical engineering collage.???

4. 90
    sai kumar reddy:

how many percent did require for aeronautical engeneering ?

5. 89
    sai kumar reddy:

where the entrance exams will be doing?

6. 88
    maurya98:

hey, i have a doubt. i got glasses when i was in 6th, right now i am in 10th and i have got -1.25 and -1.75 in right eye and left eye respectively. i want to become an aeronautical engineer when i grow up. is it possible? pls help! :(

7. 87
    maurya:

hey, i have a doubt. i got glasses when i was in 6th, right now i am in 10th and i have got -1.25 and -1.75 in right eye and left eye respectively. i want to become an aeronautical engineer when i grow up. is it possible? pls help! :(

8. 86
    BHATRI NARAYANAN.G.J:

If there is an chance to join in aeronautical enjineering by completing +2 in private.

9. 85
    meghnath dey:

I am studying in mumbai in ssc board and i am interested in aeronautical engineering so what should i appear for jee main or jee advanced or mh-cet and what is the difference between in jee main and aieee. please reply.

10. 84
    ravi:

iam ravi in karimmagar andhra pradesh and i’m 12th standard student i want to become aero nautical engineer what course should be taken in degree if i not get seat in eamcet examination for btech. Please give me answers.

11. 83
    mridulkanti dutta:

I want to know after completing diploma in aeronautic engineering whether one can seek admission in BE or BTech in aeronautic engineering. how many years course duration would be…

12. 82
    Riyaz Mohamed Rinaz:

I will definitely be an Aeronoutical Engineer,Almighty Allah will help me.

13. 81
    Abhishek N:

what is the min payment for this job.

14. 80
    bhanupradeep:

my hand factured then i will eligible for aeronotical engg

15. 79
    ryan:

hey i like planes

16. 78
    anurag mankar:

i am had given12th exam this year .i want to know what to do after 12th to become aerontical engineer?

17. 77
    Asmita Dey:

Hi! I’m Asmita.I have just given my 10th board.I want to become an astronaut.So plz tell me the whole procedure & also all the good institutes in Odisha which could make me perfect in line.plz anwser me before the declaration of the results.

18. 76
    varjith:

Are AIEEE and JEE mains are same

19. 75
    shiyab.R:

complete the diploma in mechanical engineering after join the aerospace engineering

20. 74
    kumar ganesh:

i have eye sight can i eligible

21. 73
    ganesh:

i have a eye sight of 1.0 will i eligble

22. 72
    paritosh:

i ‘m the student of 12′th and i quallified the the auro space engeineering compition of iit schould i take the opputunity of this exam

23. 71
    mustak:

my daughter is reading in +2 2nd year she want to do engineering in aerounatics whether this field will be good for her or not???

24. 70
    Narava nanda kishore:

Iam nanda kishore Sir please help me to complete aero space engineering. i completed my diploma in electrical and electronics engineering in visakhapatnam with nearly 71% marks now i wish to study aero space engineering please tell how join this course

25. 69
    megha:

I’m studying in class 12th should i have to write cet for aeronotical engg

26. 68
    purushottam buddhadaskhandare:

tell me ability of aeronotical en it cource may appliy electrical poly

27. 67
    akash mishra:

will they say the topic on which we have to prepare on it

28. 66
    N.Ajay:

i m ajay from pondicherry, i m graduated B.Tech [ECE], currently i m playing as a Hardware Design Engineer nearly 1 and half year experience in pondicherry,. i need a clarification, is there any opportunity for aeronautical engineer or airline industry. if there means please reply to above mail id.thank u.

29. 65
    Santhose:

Iam sc so how much % i want to score

30. 64
    pratik v jain:

what is the procedure of becoming an aeronautical engineer?
    i have clear my 10th with 87% in 2012.

31. 63
    srinivas:

after competing bsc (m.e.c) in degree can i join in aeronautical engineering

32. 62
    ravina:

my eyes not perfact so i can do aronotical branch

33. 61
    saran:

after completing diploma in EEE .can i join in aerospace engineering

34. 60
    AKASH GUPTA:

dis is akash.i just wanted to know whether taking up computer science as an additional subject is necessary in +2 to persue my career in aeronautical engineering?

35. 59
    Himanshu shekhar:

What we have to do in clas 10, and 11 ,12

36. 58
    S.SUNIL KUMAR:

Hai sir, i want to study aeronautical engeenering for that do i hav to write cet if yes what is the ranking i have to get in cet.. What r the courses in aeronautical eng. And what r the institutions.

37. 57
    Sarathchandran:

Gud morning sir,i am studing in 12.i want to become a pilot .How much mark need for govnment seat and also i need fee structure

38. 56
    nishant matte:

i am study in 10 standard and iwant to become an aeronautical engineer. what would i do or what types of book i read to know about what is really an aeronautics do. plz name of any book that is a base of aeronautics
    thanx

39. 55
    shinemeshram:

sir, i am preparing for iit jee very hardly & i am very much intrested in aeronautical enginerring please tell me about other aeronautical engineering entrance examinations & about how much percent i have to score in the exams so as to get admission in best government college of aeronautical engineering.

40. 54
    anu:

iwanna to be a pilot but my vision is not good
    so, now what to do?

41. 53
    sarthak joshi:

Hii myself Sarthak joshi.my aim is to become an astronaut n I am the topper of my school..I want to know which all institutes in south delhi which prepares to clear the exams of aeronautical sciences during 11th n 12th…pls help…
    Thanks alot..

42. 52
    rajeev verma:

i passed 12 class in rajasthan board last year.i am intrested in aeronautical eng.what will i do B.Tech or BE.guide me please.or which college is suitable for me.please suggest me name of college also sir.

43. 51
    Ram:

i am student of polytechnic Electronics & Telec. 3rd year
    can i get admission in aeronautical engg ? please guide me

44. 50
    Ram:

i am student of polytechnic Electronics & Telec. 3rd year
    can i get admission in aeronautical engg ? please tell me the process

45. 49
    Ram:

can i get admission for degree in aeronautical engineer after completing Polytechnic in electronics and telecommunication?

please guide me

46. 48
    Aamir:

Guyz I’m a student of X cllas and I want to become a Aeronautical Engineer. Can anybody suggest me best colleges for intermediate? and for engineering?

47. 47
    kartik rohit shetty:

can i get admission for degree in aeronautical engineer after completing diploma in electronics and telecommunication?

48. 46
    PRANEETH:

can we gain seat by EAMSET?

49. 45
    Prashant:

I want to become a misile man like Dr. A.P.J.Abdul kalam through aeronautical engineer is it possible?

50. 44
    Arvind gupt:

This is arvind i have in juniuor coll by commerce (maths) i am elligible for aeronautical eng or automobile eng

51. 43
    chanderkant:

How to become an aerospace engineer?

52. 42
    Chougle Zuzer:

Is MHT-CET required for becoming an Aeronautical Engineer?
    If yes , how many marks i have to score?
    If no , is there any college for Aeronautical Engineering in Mumbai?
    And now I am in 11th Std. and I have taken Computer Science. Is this eligible?

53. 41
    yunus:

Hi my friend has did his diploma in civil aviation whether he can do aeronautical engineering?

54. 40
    sathwik b.s:

this is sathwik i did not clear the maths paper in 12th boards .so iam rewritin the the exams . so my question is whether this will effect to get in to aeronautical course……….

55. 39
    suraj bera:

what percent of marks we need to secure in our 12th,cet or aieee exams and please suggest me some graded colleges in mumbai?

56. 38
    kavya:

after completing diploma in EEE .can i join in aeronautical engginering

57. 37
    NIZAM:

hai,my name is nizam.i have completed higher secondary.i fetched a+ in maths,chemistry and physics.i want to become an aeronautical engineer.will you please tell that what i want to do next.

58. 36
    arvind:

what percentage we needs in 12th to become an aeronautical engineer

59. 35
    vamsi:

hello,my name is vamsi i am now studying second inter i have secured 286 in first inter every one is saying that i cant succeed in the aeronautical engineering my dream is to become an aeronautical engineer can you help me in securing a seat in aeronautical engineering i have long sight can i apply for the courses in the aviation?please help me.

60. 34
    NIVETHITHA:

WHICH SUBJECT WE SHULD STUDY

61. 33
    Krishna kaller:

My son is studying in diploma in electrical engineering. He has taken admission after passed his 10th exam. How if can appeared for entrance exams for make himself eligible for aeronautical engineering, whether he will be eligible for degree in aeronautical engineering after diploma in electrical engineering?

62. 32
    firdous:

i have passed 12th with 45%. but i want to be an astronaut. i am so intrested in astronaut field.i have 71%in 10th. then what i do to become an astronaut? & which enterance exam i have to write? i have already write MH-CET & AIEEE exams. plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz as soon as reply this answer.

63. 31
    Sainul Abith:

cost of aeronautical engineering in india

64. 30
    dinesh jamadar:

after 12th can i apply for aeronautical engineering after completing mht-cet entrance exam?how many fees required for courses of aeronautical engineering?

65. 29
    j.santhosh:

How to enter the aeronautical field after complition of polytechnic in deee?

66. 28
    deepak:

sir im intresting for aeronautical engg but i have secured 52.67percent in 12th & 41percetage in pcm so what is the way to become a.engg

67. 27
    Brenda:

can i be a good aeronautical engineer in future if i got a B in physics,a B in mathematics and an A in chemistry in my o level Tanzanian education(class 10) and i am now studying physics,chemistry and mathematics in my A level education?

68. 26
    Sahil Malode:

I am in Xth now & wanna be an aeronautical engineer .Do I hav to start any courses from now onwards. How long it will take for me to bcome a professional one? I am a little lazy lump but aeronautical engineering sounds fascinating and I am interested in it too. should I look forward to it?

69. 25
    PRATIK:

WHAT R THE CUT OFFS TO BECOME ENGINEER

70. 24
    shahbaj:

iam passed 12 exam but i cant qullifie iitjee exam but iwant to became aeronotical eng.

71. 23
    Rini:

I’ve completed my 12th in 2010 & also appeared for MHTCET.I wasn’t qualified.This year I’m again appearing for both engineering as well as for medical,but I’m interested in aeronautical engineering.I couldn’t appear for AIEEE because there was another exam on the same date.please tell me that can one get admission in aeronautical engineering college if he/she has appeared only for MHTCET & not AIEEE?Reply soon!!!

72. 22
    lalit R.P ojha:

are there any other options besides aieee for aerospace engineering?

73. 21
    k.Ashok:

I have finished 12th. am interested in aeronautical engg. pl tell me the colleges in Tamilnadu. howmuch i have to pay for it?

74. 20
    salmon:

in polytechnic could i go for aeronautical engineer and how

75. 19
    taha:

kia mai aeronautical engenier ban sakta hu

76. 18
    bujji:

iam studying 12th class. I want to become aeronautical engineer. which exams i have to write? when will entrance exams start? what is the syllabus for that. please send me.

77. 17
    Kate:

Please i would like to know if i can do an undergraduate course in bachelor of architecture and later divert to aeronautical science?

78. 16
    ritesh:

i have given 10th this year march 2011 please give me full detail on what to do next to become aeronautical engineer?
    also tell me that can i do anythying in the 3 months vacation after my ssc?

79. 15
    virajDC:

I m the student of 10+2 studied PCM How can i appear for aeronautical engineering? my cast was ST, so tell me how much percentage appear for aeronautical engineering? and how much score in AIEEE exam for addimation in aeronautical engineering?

80. 14
    girish kr:

i have completed diploma in e&c what are the ability to join the aeronautical engineering and how much is course fees

81. 13
    shambhavi A. P.:

i, m in final sem of diploma in E&TC
    i want to do BE in aeronautical engineering, can i get direct admission to 2nd year for aeronautical , please tell me the admission process for it in brief & also colleges where i get admission in aeronautics.

82. 12
    raghavendra:

good evening sir.I am studying diploma EEE 2 year 4 sem i am intrested 2 do aeronautics.is it possible 2 continue from 2year in aeronautical engg.After completion of my diploma.By my knowledge i came 2 know that we have 2 do b.tech from starting(1 year) if we had changed our branch from EEE 2 AERONAUTICS .Does other states provide this oppurtunity for continueing from 2year.which collages provide this.plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.reply me sir.

83. 11
    sunitha:

im studing +2,and i would like to appear for entrance exams for aeronatical eng. would u give information related 2 dat

84. 10
    Shesabhare M Y:

Iam Msc physics i want to do Mtech in aeronautical engg external

85. 9
    Manojkumar:

Now iam studing DME final year.after i finish this course,i will join the Aeronautical Engineering?

86. 8
    saddam:

when the aesi entrance examnation of 10pass student for diploma . how many time taken this course. any diploma course that take 5 yers

87. 7
    Sanjani Ranjan:

I m the student of +2 studied PCM How can i appear for aeronautical engineering in abroad

88. 6
    ayushi chaurasia:

i m studying in class12 th with science stream taking maths, physics and chemistry as my main subjects .so plz tel me dat how can i appear for the entrance exams and make myself eligible?

89. 5
    gaurav shrivastava:

hey
    i m pursuing diploma from institute of mechanical engineers {india} mumbai

finnal sem . my dip will be completed in june
    can i get admitted in aerounautical engineering
    is lateral entry scene applicable for this branch also

is IME recognised

90. 4
    kanchan:

My son is studying in diploma in electrical engineering. He has taken admission after passing 10th exam. how he can appear for entrance exams for make himself elligible for aeronuatical enginnering. wether he will be elligible for degree in aeronuatical engg after passing diploma in electrical engg?

91. 3
    shahzad:

could u plz tell me a good aeronautical college in pune which starts its session from january onwards

92. 2

i want to take admission in BE engineering after B.Sc.

93. 1
    yunus shaikh:

My son is studying in diploma in electrical engineering. He has taken admission after passing 10th exam. how he can appear for entrance exams for make himself elligible for aeronuatical enginnering. wether he will be elligible for degree in aeronuatical engg after passing diploma in electrical engg?