Government Jobs in Shipping Sector

Companies in shipping sector offer thousands of employment opportunities to the people of India and shipping jobs are known for the unique lifestyle, income and charm of work. Several young job aspirants are looking forward to build a career in shipping industry.

In addition, Government jobs are looked with great respect in India and therefore, aspirants look for shipping jobs in public sector companies. The list of government companies in shipping sector that recently called for application from eligible candidates with the position for which the notification was issued is given below:

Recent government job notification in shipping sector:

Ministry of Shipping, Government of India – Executive Officer

Ports Wing of Ministry of Shipping – Chairman

Cochin Shipyard Limited – Ship Draftsman Trainees

Cochin Shipyard Limited – Project Officers

Cochin Shipyard Limited – Project Assistants

Kolkata Port Trust – Grade I Junior Engineer

Hindustan Shipyard Limited – Mechanical/Marine Engineers

Eligibility for entering into Government shipping companies:

For entering into government shipping industry, candidates must preferably be graduates with subjects like mathematics and physics. For core shipping positions, candidates must be nautical science graduates. However, the eligibility depends on the position for which these companies call for application. For some positions, government companies might look for PG holders in specific positions, while some companies might look for UG degree holders in a particular discipline. The educational qualification required for some of the positions are given below:

In the case of the position of supervisory officer in shipping industry, candidates must have sufficient knowledge of loading and unloading of products and they should have the ability to manage labor force.

In the case of the position of load worker, candidates need not actually possess any educational qualification, but they should be physically strong to load and unload consignments.

For higher-level jobs in logistics sector of shipping industry, candidates with diploma or degree in logistics management will be preferred.

For administrative positions, government shipping companies look for candidates with experience in administrative sector and at least a graduation.

In the case of traffic clerk jobs, candidates who have knowledge in record keeping and accounting will be preferred.

Career Prospects:

Normally, shipping jobs in India are one among the highly paid jobs and candidates will sure be able to get a lucrative career in this industry. Apart from the recent job openings offered by the aforesaid government companies in shipping sector, several other government companies mentioned below offer employment opportunities to appropriate candidates:

Mumbai Port Trust

Kolkata Port Trust

Paradip Port Trust

11 Responses to “Government Jobs in Shipping Sector”

1. 11
    srinivas vanum:

I(srinivas) completed MCA (2010-2013) , if any chance to get the job in govt shipping.

2. 10
    Arun:

Hi sir, I m presently working as a second officer onboard, have completed OOW from United Kingdom, pl advice me what is requirement for MBA in port management , scope of the course and salary.

3. 9
    prasanjit sahoo:

Sir I passed +2 with pcm with 74% can I apply any jobs in shipping

4. 8
    Ramesh:

Kindly answar ,Best job details for M.Tech in Occean Engineer.

5. 7
    Kanpariya ajay:

after complete my mba shipping and logestics management,then how much getting starting selary in pvt.Ltd/government company in india / foreigns

6. 6
    parameswararao:

i am studying now B.Tech 2nd year in mechanical
    after compleate my course how could i get merine offiecer training course

7. 5
    chandrakant tandel:

Dear,sir/madam
    I myself chandrakant tandel from gujarat. I am post graduate in mathematics with frist class.
    Is there any job oppurunites in shipping sector for me ?

8. 4
    Sagar:

i am a graduate in BSc nautical science , and also hold a 2nd mates FG COC. Can you please guide me how can i get a job in government shipping sector and on which post?

9. 3
    Praveen:

Hello sir ,
    I m working as second officer in merchant navy. completed mate course in London. have sailing experience around 7 years. Is there any opportunity to get job in Govt shipping sector .

10. 2
    shyam kumar:

I have complted MCA in 2011. And in my graduation i was with B.Sc(M.P.Cs) studied.But i like to do the job in Master level . I like to do the job in Shipping sector. Am i eligible for any jobs in the shipping sector. if so, how can i approach them. please give information about the jobs regarding my qualification.

11. 1
    ashok ku parida:

Dear Sir/ Mam
    ear sir,

I m ashok kumar parida completed MBA in 2011 in Marketing & Finance . I also done Diploma in Logistics & supply chain mang. Sir, Can I get job In paradeep port?If have any job plz inform me in my [email protected] or call me-9938162341, 7205756941.

With regards
    Ashok ku parida

ThanksI m Ashok ku parida