Bachelor of Social Work: BSW Course Details

Social work loosely translated refers to the various services that are especially designed to provide help for the poor and aged and look after their welfare. The Bachelor of Social Work (BSW) is an undergraduate level degree that is awarded to individuals who complete their 3 years in the field of social work. This degree is otherwise known as the Bachelor of Arts in Social Work (B.A.SW). More details about this course are given in detail below.

Advantages or Benefits of Bachelor of Social Work Degree

• The Bachelor of Social Work (BSW) degree provides individuals with the qualification needed to get employed with numerous Human Service Providing Agencies.
  • Upon the completion of the BSW course, individuals can go for advanced studies, namely the Masters Degree in Social Work program (MSW).

Eligibility Criteria for BSW

The B.A. (Hons) Social Work is a graduate level academic program that is based on the many theories of social work. The basic qualification needed by a person to join the Bachelors degree in Social Work (BSW) is a pass in class 10+2. Those students who have taken psychology, sociology, social work or any or related fields shall be granted preference. Aspirants of the BSW course will need to appear for an admission test that is carried by the concerned university/institute (some institutions tae in students on the basis of the marks got in the class 12 qualifying exam). Individuals will also need to appear for a Personal Interview.

Numerous colleges in our nation offer students courses in the BSW course. Students also have the option to pursue this course by the distance education method. One amongst the leading institutions in our country that offer the BSW course by this method is the prestigious Indira Gandhi National Open University (IGNOU).

Admission Procedure for BSW

Admission forms for the BSW course can be procured from the institute concerned or by post. Forms can also be downloaded from the official website of the institution. Some forms can also be filled online by the students. But before they proceed to submit the form by this procedure, they are to take a DD of the amount required. The admission form is to be accompanied by all the vital papers needed.

BSW Entrance exams in India

The admittance to the Bachelors degree in Social Work (BSW) is done as per the marks scored by applicants in the admission test.

How to fill in BSW Entrance Application form?

A few things students’ ought to note whilst filling the form are:

While they are filling in the form, students must make sure that they give in all details correctly without fail. Any discrepancy noted shall lead to rejection of the students’ candidature.

Applicants must ensure that they send the application to the correct address as mentioned in the prospectus. It is also their responsibility to furnish their correct details in the admission form.

The admission form is not to be torn or damaged by any means. If this is the case, the form shall be rejected automatically.

BSW Entrance Exam Pattern

The total mark the entrance exam shall carry is 100 marks. Besides this, another 100 marks is to be secures by the students as part of the admission procedure. The details are furnished below:

• Academic Record etc (10 marks)
  • Group Discussion (40 marks)
  • Personal Interview (50 marks)

To get selected for admission, students of the reserved categories ought to score above 35 percent marks. Others must have a score of above 45 percent.

Reference Books for BSW Entrance Exam

• Everything You Need To Pass the Social Work Licensing Exam
  • Readings in Evidence-Based Social Work by Michael G Vaughn
  • School Social Work: Practice, Policy, and Research by Carol Rippey Massat
  • The Complete Guide to Social Work – A Study Guide for the ASWB Bachelors Exam
  • The School Counseling and School Social Work Treatment Planner by Sarah Edison Knapp and Arthur E. Jongsma Junior

Top BSW Colleges in India

• Alvas College of Social Work, Moodbidri
  • Anand Institute of Social Work, Anand
  • Bhagini Mandal-College of social work, Jalgaon
  • Bharathidasan University
  • Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Administrative Premises
  • College of Social Work, Mumbai
  • Dr. A.V. Baliga Institute of Social Science and Rural Management, Karnataka
  • Institute of Language Studies and Applied Social Sciences (ILSASS), Gujarat
  • Jamia Millia Islamia: Faculty of Social Sciences, New Delhi
  • K.M.M. College of Arts and Science, Thrikkakara
  • Little Flower Institute of Social Sciences and Health (L.I.S.S.A.H.), Kozhikode
  • Madras School of Social Work, Chennai
  • Madurai Institute of Social Sciences, Madurai
  • Mahatma Phule College of Social Work, Nandurbar
  • Matru Sewa Sangha (M.S.S.) Institute of Social Work, Nagpur
  • National Institute of Social Work and Social Sciences (N.I.S.W.A.S.S.), Bhubaneshwar
  • National Institute of Social Work, Nagpur
  • Osmania University, Hyderabad
  • Our Ladys Educational Society, Satara
  • Patna University, Patna
  • Rajagiri School of Social Work and Rajagiri School of Computer Science
  • Rashtrasant Tukadoji Maharaj Nagpur University, Nagpur (Maharashtra)
  • Roda Mistry College of Social Work and Research Centre, Hyderabad
  • School of Social Work, Mangalore
  • Stella Maris College
  • Tata Institute of Social Sciences
  • University of Mumbai, Mumbai (Maharashtra)
  • Vishwa Bharati University
  • Vivekananda Institute of Social Work and Social Sciences (V.I.S.W.A.S.S.), Bhubaneshwar (Orissa)

Other Reputed Colleges/ Universities offering BSW program

• Alva’s College
  • Alva’s College of Social Work
  • Amity Institute of NGO Management
  • Amity University
  • Arihant Charitable Minority BSW College
  • Athavale College of Social Work
  • Bharathidasan University
  • C.S.I. Bishop Appasamy College of Arts and Science
  • Cauvery College for Women
  • College Of Social Work
  • Dr. A.V. Baliga Institute of Social Sciences and Rural Management
  • Government First Grade College
  • Hind College of Management & Information Science
  • Indira Gandhi National Open University
  • J.R.N. Rajasthan Vidyapeeth University
  • K.K.S. BSW College
  • K.M.M. College of Arts and Science
  • Kachchh University
  • Kannur University
  • Kasturba College for Women
  • Kirloskar B.S.W. College
  • Kodaikanal Christian College
  • Little Flower Institute of Social Sciences and Health (LISSAH)
  • Madras Christian College
  • Mahatma Phule College of Social Studies and Social Works
  • Manavlok Social Work College
  • Matru Sewa Sangh Institute of Social Work
  • N.I.I.S. Institute of Information Science & Management
  • Nehru Gram Bharati University
  • Nehru Memorial College
  • North Maharashtra University
  • Osmania University
  • Paryaya B.S.W. Degree College
  • Punjabi University
  • Rajagiri College of Social Sciences (RCSS)
  • Rashtrasant Tukadoji Maharaj Nagpur University
  • Rural Development Society’s Bachelor Of Social Work College(R.D.S)
  • S.J.G.V.V.C.S’s BSW College
  • Sri Krishnadevaraya University
  • Sri Ramakrishna College
  • St. Aloysius Day College
  • St. Edmund’s College
  • St. Joseph’s BSW College
  • St. Joseph’s College
  • St. Philomena’ s College
  • Stella Maris College
  • Swami Ramanand Teerth Marathwada University
  • Tamil Nadu Open University
  • University of Lucknow
  • University of Mumbai
  • Urumu Dhanalakshmi College
  • Vasantraodada Patil Institute of Management Studies & Research
  • Visva Bharati University
  • Viswass College of Social Work
  • W.W.S.B.S.W. College

BSW course curriculum

I SEMESTER

• English
  • Field work
  • In social work
  • Integrated social work practice
  • Introduction to field work practices
  • Introduction to social work
  • Sociology for social workers

II SEMESTER

• Field work
  • Human growth and behavior
  • Indian Social problems
  • Introduction to local self Government
  • Population Education
  • Social case work

III SEMESTER

• Economy and co-operation
  • English
  • Field work
  • Introduction to social work research
  • Legislation in India
  • Social group work

IV SEMESTER

• Field work
  • Fields of social work
  • Introduction to tribal life in India
  • Introduction to women studies
  • Social reform movement in India
  • Social work with community

V SEMESTER

• English
  • Field – Work
  • Introduction to Indian Constitution
  • Management of welfare organization
  • Participatory approaches in social work
  • Social welfare Agencies

VI SEMESTER

• Communication for development
  • Community health and personal hygiene
  • Counseling in social work
  • Field work
  • Research dissertation
  • Social action – Method of social work
  • Social policies in India
  • Viva-voce (Internal and External)

BSW Dissertation

Students who are in their V semester are needed to choose an appropriate theme for their search dissertation and complete the same in the VI semester. The dissertation ought to be submitted before the start of the VI semester examination. This must also be signed by the research guide concerned and the Principal of the College.

Viva Voce (external and internal) will be carried out at the end of the VI semester on Research dissertation.

BSW Course Evaluation

The evaluation of the course is done on basis of the semester wise examinations carried by the universities concerned. Besides this, assignments, field work and dissertations will be there as well. Viva – Voce will also be carried out to evaluate the students.

BSW Text Books

• Field in Social Work Education a Perspective for Human service profession: Singh R.R. (1985) Co. New Delhi
  • Field Work- An Introduction to the social science- Buford H Junkar, University of Chicago,
  • Field work in social work perspective- Raj Bhanti- Himanshu publication, Udaipur-1995
  • Field work practice in social work, -T.K. Nayyar, Madras school of social work, Chennai
  • Field Work Training in Social Work- I.S. Subhedar, Rawat Publication, Jaipur-2001
  • Introduction to social work: D. Paul Chaudhary
  • Proceeding of the seminar on “FIELD WORK PRACTICE IN SOCIAL WORK” Complied By Dr. R.R. Sing, Delhi school of social work, Delhi University, New Delhi
  • Social reform movement in India   : Diwali V.D. (1991), Popular publication, Mumbai.
  • Social work and integrated approaches: Sanjay Bhattacharya, Deep publication, Jaipur
  • Social work and the training – H. Walkar
  • Social work and the Training – Sydner H. Walkar
  • Social work education – L.S.W. Series edited by Eileen Younghusband
  • Social Work Education and  Field  Instructions- Dr. B.T. Lawani
  • Social work education- M.S. Gore
  • Social work practice – Jaffary Garper

What to do after BSW?

Social work is best suited for a person who likes to take care of others and shoulder responsibilities against the cruelty shown towards animals or people. A career in the field of social work will provide individuals with an opportunity to help people who have troubles of many kinds. This will include social, educational, domestic or other factors.

When one completes the Bachelors level course in Social Work, they can apply for jobs immediately or go for higher education. As a result of competition between jobs, it will be of great help for individuals if they have a Masters degree in Social Work.

Social workers can be generally as per as the work they do each day. They can be broadly categorized into three types. They comprise of:

• Child, Family And School Social Workers
  • Medical And Public Health Workers (This Includes Animals And Property)
  • Mental Health And Substance Abuse Social Workers
  • Other types of social workers consist of people, who are involved in planning and policy making, administration etc.

Job and Career options for BSW

Employment opportunities are available for social workers within firms of the private as well as public sectors. Some job areas that social workers can choose comprise of counselors in:

• Adoption
  • Community Policing
  • Environmental Protection
  • Healthcare
  • Employment Areas
  • Clinics
  • Correction Cells
  • Counseling Centers
  • Disaster Management Department
  • Education Sector
  • Gender Issues Associations or Groups
  • Health Industry
  • Hospitals
  • HR Department of Industries
  • Human Rights Agencies
  • M.N.C’s
  • Mental Hospitals
  • Natural Resources Management Companies
  • NGO’s
  • Old Age Homes
  • Prisons

Job Types

• Counselors
  • Criminology Specialists
  • Executive Officer
  • Labor Welfare Specialists
  • Probation Officer
  • Researcher
  • Social Security Officer
  • Social Worker
  • Teacher
  • Trainee Officer

Remuneration after BSW

It can be said that the salaries of people who are involved in social service are traditionally low. This is because of the aim to make it beneficial for the society and not to get profit. Conversely the remuneration has been on the rise due to the corporate – social incorporation initiatives between firms that benefit both the corporate and communities together. The minimum salary of a social worker will be as much as Rs. 8.000/- to Rs. 8000/-. This will vary on the base of the firm that takes in individuals in addition to the sector they are involved.

18 Responses to “Bachelor of Social Work: BSW Course Details”

1. 18
    chetna:

Hello sir/mem,
    i finished my diploma in electrical engg after 10th….
    now i a m interested for B.S.W. and i want to doing further study in this field.
    so my question is may i get admission or not?
    one more thing mere paas samkax ka certificate hai jo diploma ke base pe gandhinagar se mene liya hai.
    so please give me reply as soon as possible…
    thanking you……

2. 17
    bhavani:

sir,iam a student for BSW(english med first year student of women’s college plz guidence from feild work reports

3. 16
    jeevan:

Good evening sir
    This is jeevan.i fnshd bcom.can i possible to studing bsw r msw

4. 15

sir i am a student of bsw (hindi med)final year student of nagpur uni.sir i wanted to know which authors books are most imp for my cover whole syllabus which are hindi version?

5. 14
    deepak sharma:

sir,mam

i have b.a. can i msw? plz guidence from detail for me.
    i m working in ngo.in accordence you are humbly request to help me for
    detail & contact number.

deepak sharma

6. 13
    sanjay:

i need to known where in kolkata i can give my admission.

7. 12
    mahesh:

plz tell me,
    i am first sem will be complite then what add to anther collage

8. 11
    ashok:

meine B.A. pass kiya hai to BSW mein direct admmision 3rd year mein milega kya ya nahi to 1St year se chalu karna padega?

9. 10
    manjula:

please i sem deatils

10. 9
    deepika:

Tell me about the Human society

11. 8
    pf neli:

I wanted to become an ias officer, can I applied upsc exam by taking bsw.

12. 7
    udita saikia:

suggest me some good colleges to study bachelor of social work in delhi..
    thankyou

13. 6
    sudipta chowdhury:

how can i addmission for bsw courses???

14. 5
    Rama Zore:

pls tell me bsw course fees & admissin date ;nearest center for satara.can i available in course ianguage in marathi

15. 4
    ramdass:

pls tell me bsw course fees & admission date with distance from ignou . Pls tell me contact no. To related this . My cell no. 9468040778

16. 3
    Sarala Tiwari:

I am interested to pursue BSW. I am a Nepali student living in Pune, completed my high school from Nepal. What should I do to get addmission for Jan session 2012?

Kind Regards,
    Sarala Tiwari.

17. 2
    mani:

philosophy of family family welfair

18. 1

sir, i want admision in punjab university course in Bsw please give me information when is Enterance test and foarm last date