College Lecturer - How to become a College Lecturer?

Lecturer jobs are one of the most chosen careers in India.  The duty of a lecturer is to train students in every aspect of becoming a successful person in their career. No one can progress far without a guide. A lecturer is that guide who leads the students to their success. He/she imparts knowledge to students.

A Lecturer should have in-depth familiarity with their selected subject. They can choose any subjects to specialize in subjects like PCM, Biology, Engineering subjects or any other topic according to their preference. There are many colleges in India and abroad where lecturers are offered jobs.  The details on how to become a college lecturer are given below:

Qualifying Exam

Those who wish to become a college lecturer should have cleared the UGC-National Entrance Test (NET) test. Candidates who have successfully completed this are entitled to submit an application for the post of lecturer.

Who is eligible to apply?

Candidates should be Indian citizens. They must be experienced in the field of teaching and should have acquired a Master’s degree in the subject. In order to teach at a university, candidates require a PhD. To apply in Govt colleges, they need to appear in the State Level Eligibility Test and should obtain at least 50% marks. There will be an interview or a written test conducted at the time of selection of the candidates. Those who pass this will be selected for the job.

How to prepare for exam and interview?

Lecturers must be well prepared in the topic which they specialize. They must be confident in the work they do. Now days, lecturers can be employed in colleges and universities as Lecturer, reader, assistant professor, professor, head of the department and with the required qualifications and experience, one can also become a vice chancellor of the university. The aspirants should make sure that they choose the best colleges available.

65 Responses to “College Lecturer - How to become a College Lecturer?”

1. 65
    shreerani:

How to be eligible to become a lecturer in government based institution?

2. 64
    Sonakshi Gupta:

Respected Sir/ Mam,
    Now I am the MCA student i just want to know this should i required to do B.ed to be a lecturer?

3. 63
    pranitha:

i am B.E(computer science) in final year.how can i apply for lecture post in government job.when will be the exams.

4. 62
    sucheta sharma:

Sir I am persing ma history nd want to be a lecturer. But how co can b? I don’t no Plz suggest me??

5. 61
    kshipra:

i am bba student. i want to become a college lecturer. but i dont want to do mba so which exams i have to give to become a lecturer?

6. 60

I have completed my CA course along with B.COM .Am I eligible to give NET exam,and if yes then wat are the requirements and tenure that i have to fulfill to become a lecturer

7. 59
    SHYAM LAL K V:

I am a B.Com student. I wish to become a college lecturer in a govt. College. If there is any ‘PSC’ exams(excluding ‘NET’) included in this feild ? I wish to know a complete information about which are the degrees and exams I want to complete.

8. 58
    vicky yadav:

how can i become a lectrure ?
    which types of syllabus i will have to prepare?
    what are the qualification for a lectrure?

9. 57
    k.sangeetha:

I completed pg profesonal degree. I am in priority list in my employement exchange. If I have get any posting in govt clg without NET exam?

10. 56
    anjali:

I got 48.8% marks in mathematics. my aggregate % is 64%. i want to do m.sc with mathematics. so pz tell me how i became a lecturer?

11. 55
    manish:

i want a lecturer job in a govt. college in india i have passed M.Ed and cleared NET(Education) Dec. 2012

12. 54
    Dr Vijoy Vihari:

My son has a first class degree in electronics and elct.engg anad also an mba from ICFAI from Ahmedabad and presentlty working in a leading pvt bank as manager sales.WE would like to know if he is elligible for a lecturers job in a management Inst,without completing the ugc net exam? is it essentialfor him to pass the net exam to become a lecturer,he is interested in teaching job.Please advise.Thanks.

13. 53
    abc:

is without qualifing NET exam not possible to become college lecturer?

14. 52
    sakshi jain:

I have completed mine graduation.I have completed till B2.2 from max mueller bhavan for german language.it means that i m eligible for become a lectrer.It is important that i must have a degree of master.plz guide me

15. 51
    kalaiselvi:

Am I eligible for lecturer in computer science for polytechnic college,my qualification is B.E(CSE).

16. 50
    Nutan:

presently i am doing B.COM. in future i am looking career for a lectureship in accounting in a goverment collage so i need to know what courses i should i do after completing my B.COM. and which educational qualification is need for become collage lecturer? i waiting for your reply….

17. 49
    menaka:

iam completed ug ba economics and also completed pg MBA HR in correspondence .How to become a mba hr lecturer can u tell me education process for lecturer.

18. 48
    malarvizhi:

sir ineed details about NET exam and how to prepear for net exam

19. 47
    abha:

i want to be a lecturer in future so what will be best pursuing m.com distance or regular?

20. 46
    manisha:

presently i am doing B.COM…in future i am looking for a career in lectureship in english in a government college. i wished to know what courses should i do after completing B.COM so that i become educationally qualified for the post of an english lecturer. do say me the course names, their durations and the benefit they are going to provide me indivisually. also suggest, will a government job be suitable or a private one.
    i’ll be grateful to you..
    waiting for your reply..
    manisha

21. 45
    Arushi sharma:

Give complete detail of what to do after 12th pcm science to becone a lecturer

22. 44
    Nakul:

Im preparing for Net exam.
    I wanna be a lecturer. plz guid me How to become a govt. lecturer.
    Thanks & regards

23. 43
    uttam:

is NET/ SET is mandatory for wb college service commission for lectureship in zoology ?

24. 42
    Renuka Devi.S:

sir, i hv done all my B.A, M.A. B.Ed in English through open university system. I am working as an English teacher in a school for the past 17 yrs. i hv also completed my diploma in DPTT. am I eligible to work in a collage. can i do the Net exam pls send me reply

25. 41
    HARISH:

Rules of lecturer

26. 40
    jst:

any body is 55% in pg &having net but45% in gration &50% in inter .can he be consider for degree college lecturer

27. 39
    rimi das:

after completing b.a i want to persue m.a through distance education.if i cmplt m.a in distance,is it possible to appear in NET,SLET OR PHD.?and what percentage is required in b.a or m.a to appear in net or slet or phd?

28. 38
    kavitha . D.:

i have completed my U.G. Degree in B.Com what must be the next master degree to become a lecturer for me.

29. 37
    chandan garnayak:

I have completed my graduation in com. with 59.05% and distniction.
    what is the procedure for Govt. lecture job in comm. And also required qualification ?

30. 36
    Anil pandey:

Genral categary main
    ma main 53% marks wala student UGC ja exam de skta hai

31. 35
    reena yadav:

sir i m m.sc ,b,ed but net exam not cleared .can i become lecturer in college then

32. 34
    PRIYANKA:

I am a b.a. student, i want to be a lecturer. but how can be i don’t know. please help me…

33. 33
    rammai:

wathe is rotar laked

34. 32
    rekha dua:

Sir,I am b.com graduate now I m pursuing M.C.A now in 5th sem.What should I do to become college lecturer?

35. 31
    Emmanuel Ngulube:

I am an IT graduate and recently been invited for an interview as a College Lecture in Harare, Zimbabwe.Please help me with tips and maybe some questions and answers of some of most commonly asked question in this particular field.
    Kind Regards

36. 30
    divya:

i completed my bca degree..i want to become college lecture.for that i want to do my mca degree.i want to know wheater it is mandatory to complete mca regularly for attempting NET exam or i can do it like distant education??

37. 29
    kamaljeet kumar:

Can i give my UGC-NET exam during the MCA or After completion of MCA ??????????

38. 28
    Mansi:

I m b.com graduate..nw m doing icwai..can u pls tel me whether i can appear for NET exam after completng external MBA/M.COM?

39. 27
    nitin:

sir i am a private student of m.com final can i apply for post graduate vacancy 2012

40. 26
    Amrit Tiwari.:

Respected Sir/Madam,

How to look for Phd guides as most of the Phd students are being guided by there own mentors during there academic carrers, what about the individual like me who had not being in touch with any professor/mentor during my academic career. Right now m facing a problem. and can you please express your views on Phd , what is the procedure to apply for Phd. degree and can we apply in other or any universities for Phd.

41. 25
    prashant singh:

sir kya 10th, 12th, b.com or M.com me Ist division nahi ho aur IIed division above 55% ho SET or NET JRF awarded hone par bhi kya RPSC me selection nahi ho sakta he kya ?

42. 24
    kirti:

sir i am pass,10th54%,12th59%b.com59%,m.com[abst]59% net[jrf] set,m.fill, sir interviow me jrf k number hote hi,or kya me collage lecture ben sakta hu ya nahi

43. 23
    GB singh:

pls inform me about entrance dates for phd in various universities …

44. 22
    Aaqib javed:

Sir, iam currently studying B.A Eco,final year at j.n.r.m (port blair) and wanted to be a lecturer. Plz… Guide me that after B.A, can i do my M.A economics and further studies till my phd from IGNOU(port blair) or i have to study through regular university. When to appear for UGC-NET exam? Plz… Reply me.

45. 21
    Kaleeswari.E:

Kaleeswari.E, December18th,2011
    I am Kaleeswari , did my finished M.Sc,M.Pile Mlcrobiology at Madurai Kamarajar university.
    My ambition is l want become a Lecturer.
    I want to be a Lecturer in any college, Iam a good Lecturer in
    future
    Please help me sir, Thank U

46. 20
    Biraj Sarkar:

I am a B.Sc final year student of microbiology at Burdwan University.
    I want to be a lecturer in any govt.college…
    Can I get the job immediately after my M.sc?
    Can I appear NET simply aftr my M.sc?
    How should I proceed? What are the criterias?

47. 19
    bhawna:

m doing mcom nd gve november attempt of ca final .. ..
    when m eligible for net

48. 18
    RISHI CHAWLA:

SIR ,
    I AM a M.COM FIRST STUDENT (ENGLISH MEDIUM)
    SIR I AM VERY MUCH INTRESTED TO BECOME A COLLEGE TEACHER. PLZ GIVE PROPER GUIDELINE ABOUT IT.SO THAT
    I COULD BECAME A FUTURE COLLEGE TEACHER.
    PLZ HELP SIR
    THANKING YOU

RISHI CHAWLA

49. 17
    gulam farid ansari:

sir me m.a final ka exam de chuka hu..kya net apply kar sakta hu?

50. 16
    bhawna gupta:

i have done my Post graduation in marketing from scdl pune through distance learning (58 %) . In my graduation i have not score as good . plz tell me that i am eligible for NET and i have experience of 1 and half yr of teaching in computers as i am working with an NGO as a computer teacher is it count as an experience in teaching.plz let me know .

51. 15
    shivani:

sir mein M.B.A. final year m hu ,kya m UGC NET ke exam ko attempat kr skti hu kya?meri age 21 hai and mujhe koi teaching ka experiance b nhi hai.sir plz tell me.

52. 14
    vivek mishra:

i have done M.Sc(65%) in mathe.but in B.Sc i got 49.85%.
    i am NET qualified.
    can i apply for assistance professor

53. 13
    vidya:

My name is Vidya S.Hegde.My age is 40 years. I wanted to become lecturer in commerce. Now i’m waiting for the result of M.com 1st year. Is it possible for me to become a lecturer in a college after finishing M.com.

Pls. suggest me.

54. 12
    xavier:

sir, i finished M.A history with 53% ,i did m.pill,now doing p.hd, iam general catagory. after doing p.hd can i eligible for lecturer in colleges.

55. 11
    shalini:

I understand that there is no minimum age for giving the exam for lecturership under UGC guidelines. But the maximum age for lecturer for govt job is 35 years.
    Can i apply for the job of a lecturer under UGC scale if i am past 35 years??

56. 10
    hemanth:

why is it important to become a lecturer?

57. 9
    rachna:

for preparing net exam for english lecturer in college from where we want to know institute which help me to give net exam

58. 8

i wants to know about the eligibility for the lecturer in degree colleges and university.

59. 7
    Ambika:

I have completed BBA and MBA - HR through distance education. I have almost 7 years experience in HR field. Now I would like to change my career to lecturer field. Iam preparing for NET exam and I have also decided to do Mphil - Management regular batch through Prist university. Kindly guide me whether Mphil through deemed university is eligible to apply for govt colleges. Also pls update me with more details to build my career.

60. 6
    How can you become a lecturer in banking&finance as chosen carrier after ur H.N.D Programe:

How can u become a lecturer after ur H.N.D Programe

61. 5
    S.R.Rathore:

After NET exam. pass we are direct entitle for lecture in University. Already M.Sc(Botany),B.Ed. and teaching Experience

62. 4
    diksha:

hii, i m pursing my b.com final year …can u suggest me the best carrier … what i can do 4 that??
    thanku

63. 3
    vetri:

I m pursuing M.E DESIGN.can i appear for TRB? i want to knw the eligibility criteria.how to get the syllabus?should i hv to prepare from the basics of my U.G degree?

64. 2
    Vijaya rekha:

I have completed MCA i want the eligibility criteria for polytechnic lecturers.

65. 1
    brindha:

I m pursuing M.Tech VLSI DESIGN.can i appear for CSIR? i want to knw the eligibility criteria.how to get the syllabus?should i hv to prepare from the basics of my U.G degree?