Courses in Biology after 12th other than MBBS

Unlike a common perception, there are a lot of course options other than MBBS for students after passing 12th standard (Physics, Chemistry and Biology). In addition to B.Sc courses, they can also do various diploma courses and certification courses in Bioinformatics and Biotechnology. The article discusses some of these course options relevant to Biology stream which can be pursued after 12th other than MBBS.

List of Course options in Biology after 12th other than MBBS

Under Graduate Courses

• Bachelor of Science in Biology
  • Bachelor of Science in Biological Science
  • Bachelor of Science in Biological Science (Honors)
  • Bachelor of Science in Respiratory Therapy
  • Bachelor of Science in Biomedical Science
  • Bachelor of Science in Biomedical Sciences (Honors)
  • Bachelor of Science in Biosciences (Honors)
  • Bachelor of Science in Bioinformatics
  • Bachelor of Science in Bioinformatics (Integrated)
  • Bachelor of Science in Bioinformatics (Honors)
  • Bachelor of Science in Biochemistry
  • Bachelor of Science in Biochemistry and Agricultural Chemistry
  • Bachelor of Science in Biochemistry (Honors)
  • Bachelor of Science in Medical Biochemistry
  • Bachelor of Science in Advanced Zoology and Biotechnology
  • Bachelor of Science in Aquaculture and Fishery Microbiology
  • Bachelor of Science in Zoology
  • Bachelor of Science in Zoology (Honors)
  • Bachelor of Science in Zoology and Animal Biotechnology
  • Bachelor of Science in Molecular Biology
  • Bachelor of Science in Molecular Biology (Honors)
  • Bachelor of Science in Botany
  • Bachelor of Science in Botany (Honors)
  • Bachelor of Science in Biostatistics
  • Bachelor of Science in Environmental Science
  • Bachelor of Science in Environmental Science (Honors)
  • Bachelor of Science in Environmental Science and Water Management
  • Bachelor of Science in Environmental Management
  • Bachelor of Science in Home Science
  • Bachelor of Science in Home Science & Nutrition
  • Bachelor of Science in Genetics
  • Bachelor of Science in Genetics (Honors)
  • Bachelor of Veterinary Science in Animal Genetics and Breeding
  • Bachelor of Veterinary Science in Animal Nutrition
  • Bachelor of Veterinary Science in Animal Production and Management
  • Bachelor of Veterinary Science in Veterinary Anatomy and Histology
  • Bachelor of Veterinary Science in Veterinary Microbiology
  • Bachelor of Veterinary Medicine
  • Bachelor of Technology in Bioengineering
  • Bachelor of Technology in Bioinformatics
  • Bachelor of Technology in Biotechnology
  • Bachelor of Ayurvedic Medicine and Surgery
  • Bachelor of Dental Surgery
  • Bachelor of Pharmacy
  • Bachelor of Science in Nursing

Diploma Courses

• Diploma in Bioinformatics
  • Diploma in Applied Botany
  • Diploma in Environment Education
  • Diploma in Food Technology
  • Diploma in Pharmacy
  • Diploma in Biotechnology
  • Diploma in Human Biology
  • Diploma in Molecular Biology
  • Diploma in Molecular Biotechnology

Certificate Courses

• Certificate Course in Bioinformatics
  • Certificate in Elementary Bioinformatics
  • Certificate Course in Biotechnology

Career Opportunities after doing courses in Biology other than MBBS

Aspirants who have pursued their higher studies after 12th Biology have several job opportunities in various sectors in the field of Biology and its allied fields.

Various areas of work for these people include:

• Botanical Gardens
  • Horticulture
  • Lumber and Paper Companies
  • Cosmetic Companies
  • Medical Laboratories
  • Medical research
  • Hospitals
  • Colleges
  • Pharmaceuticals

The job profiles available for these people include:

• Forester
  • Mycologist
  • Plant Biochemist
  • Weed Scientist
  • Molecular Biologist
  • Plant Explorer
  • Conservationist
  • Ecologist
  • Florist
  • Botanist
  • Geneticist
  • Forest Ranger
  • Farming Consultant
  • Biological Technician
  • Horticulturist
  • Agricultural Scientist, etc

The remuneration will depend on the job profiles and also on the nature of work. However graduates in the field of science will get an initial salary of around Rs.10000- 15000 per month in reputed firms.

35 Responses to “Courses in Biology after 12th other than MBBS”

1. 35
    hony:

if I do not have good rank in 12yh class due to some reason then what I do for mbbs

2. 34
    Pranaya Reddy:

Which one is better between horticulture and bachelor of ayurvedic medicine

3. 33
    Harit wagh:

In bio field which field has more than 50000 salary

4. 32
    Amol:

which is better B.Sc. biotechnology or B.tech biotechnology?

5. 31
    vijay:

How i can do b. Pharma after 12th

6. 30
    Yogendra singh:

Im compeleting 12th in science .and become a doctor with M.B.B.S

7. 29
    AYUSHI:

what is the procedure to prepare for AIIMS exam and in which month its form are released?.please give me suggestion.

8. 28
    shivam kesarwani:

what is the scope of b.pharma and what is the main subject of b.pharma in 1st year and fee structure of b.pharma in utter pradesh???

9. 27
    latika kamtekar:

I want to do career in medical field. i attempt neet entrance exam also. but i was confuse that what i do after 12th? please guide me.

10. 26
    Mayuri:

Hello sir,m confuse to my career.please help me which field r good in biology.hw can i selected…

11. 25
    shushmitha:

i have finished my sslc n 2013,with 98% and i’m confused about taking my group in hsc.i want to do engineering as my career,but many are suggesting to take bio group,since it has many choices than computer science group.So,kindly suggest me a right decision.

12. 24
    anamika:

Sir,i had done 12th from pcb and i got 72%. Which field should i choose for my bright future other than mbbs. Plz reply soon..

13. 23
    pavithrasai:

hello sir,i had completed 12th and hadgot 84.4 percent .can i get a seat for biotecnology or bioinformatics.How can i get seat?

14. 22
    shital:

I want to make my career in biology expect doctor. please suggest me.

15. 21
    Onindita sanyal:

Gd morning sir…
    !i hv passed my 12th xam with 83% ( ISC board) from pcb. now im confused should i go for coaching for mbbs for a year, or do bsc in pcb n further research work…which would be better.plz help!!!

16. 20
    Priyanka Debnath:

Sir i want to ask that i had passed my 12th class w id67.2% n i am interstad only in biology so i want to know all tje courses except phy. N chem.????

17. 19
    deepak joshi:

tell me a good course by biology steam in a iow cost

18. 18
    joshi girish:

what is diff between biotechnology and bioinformatics . which subject is best for making career .

19. 17
    nivetha:

sir, i need details about optometry.Is that right to choose this course and what’s the values of this course

20. 16
    Arunima:

sir, i want to know about courses of biotechnology and hotel management.which has more scope? In hotel management what we study? There were any college in kerala that offered biotechnology courses ?

21. 15
    Deepesh lall:

I want the best and high package job in under {PCB} just after 12th,and and whole the information aboute that cource,accept mbbs ,
    and is there BBA what type of cources are held please sent with whole info aboute BBA and another HIGH package job info under PCB,,,,,,,

22. 14
    Komal:

What are the job fields after passing 12 with (PCB)

23. 13
    C.r. choudhary:

H¡¡¡¡¡¡Gd mrng sir!!!!!!i m c.r. choudhary nd i m going to pass 12 bio in 2013 nd i m medium student nd i can’t take coaching of mbbs or expensive courses,,,so i can study in b.sc but plz u tell me that wha are the chances to getting the best jobs in bio field or what are the courses expect b.sc????

24. 12
    akshaya ravi:

good morning sir…….

what are the courses offered for a student after 12 with group biology,physics,chemistry, english and informatics practices?
    i wish to know the courses mainly focusing on biology and informatics practices too,colleges in kerala,tamil nadu, job opportunities and remuneration.
    waiting for your reply…….
    thanking you…….
    akshaya.

25. 11
    nikhitha:

what are the courses offered for a student after +2 ,with group;bio,chemistry,physics and maths

26. 10
    ramyatharani:

shall i do opthamology after completing 12th std

27. 9
    harpreet:

Hello Sir
    I took science in 12th with Bio and scored 95%. I would like to know which course is more beneficial for me Biotechnology or B.Pharma. Which of the two will get me a brighter & secure future with more paying job.

Thanks you

28. 8
    shailendra joshi:

what i do after 12th with subject phyics, biology and physical education…..plz help he..

29. 7
    zee ali:

career oppurtunities after doing chemistry honors and microbiology honors??

30. 6
    shweta maurya:

hello sir i m a 11th clas student i choosed the stream biology,chemistry and physics + physical education. I wanna knw dat which coures will be quit good for me bcuz i m a average student…. I want 2 secure my future after 12th exams… Reciment me the course that will not so hard for me and job must also be easily secured after that.
    Thankuuuu

31. 5
    yashwanth sai:

what are the courses available for the students after completing the 12th having the group biology,maths.chemistry and physics

32. 4
    Rannvijay:

I’m sc student and i want in mbbs what my percent of 12th sience …?

33. 3
    y.ketheeswaran:

how will get i application for this course

34. 2
    datta:

I want exam date for msc integrated course after 12th

35. 1
    ruhi:

minority reservation in amu m.b.b.s. course