Details on Sitram Jindal Scholarship


Sitram Jindal Scholarship is mainly awarded for students in three categories, Category A - BPL Students, Category B - ITI Students, and Category C - General Students. Graduate or Post Graduates are generally considered for scholarships. Those candidates who have completed part time courses cannot avail the benefits of scholarships.

Eligibility Criteria for Sitram Jindal Scholarship

Sitram Jindal Scholarships are awarded mainly to three categories of students and the eligibility for the same are listed below –

Category A - BPL Students

Only those students who come under BPL families are eligible to avail this scholarship category. Girls students who are currently studying in any of the classes from IX – XII in government or government aided schools can apply for this scholarship category. Apart from this, graduate or Post graduate students (both girls and boys) in specific categories can also apply for this scholarship.

Category B - ITI Students

Those students pursuing either a one year or two year ITI courses in any trades from any of the government or Private ITI institutes are eligible. It is compulsory for students to score at least 50% marks in the previous examination.  An additional amount will be paid to those students staying in hostel apart from the scholarship fees.

Category C - General Students

Only those students who scored the following percentage of marks in final qualifying examination (including X and XII) from any schools in Karnataka and West Bengal are eligible for this scholarship -

  • 70% marks or above for Girls students
  • 75% marks or above for Boys students

On the other hand, those students studied in schools other than the state of Karnataka and West Bengal are also eligible provided they score the following percentage of marks in their last qualifying examination (including X and XII) –

  • 60% marks for Girls students
  • 70% marks for Boys students

The scholarship will be awarded to only those students whose annual family income is less than 2.0 lakhs. It is compulsory for students to do a full time course in any reputed UGC recognized institutes. The higher age limit to avail this category of scholarship is 30 years.

Students who have done part time courses are not eligible for any category of scholarships. Generally graduates or post graduates in the following streams are considered for scholarships –


  • Bachelor of Arts
  • Bachelor of Business Administration
  • Bachelor of Business Management
  • Bachelor of Commerce
  • Bachelor of Computer Applications
  • Bachelor of Engineering /Technology
  • Bachelor of Fine Arts
  • Bachelor of Pharmacy
  • Bachelor of Science
  • Bachelor of Veterinary Science

Post Graduation

  • Master of Veterinary Science
  • Master of Science
  • Master of Philosophy
  • Master of Pharmacy
  • Master of Engineering /Technology
  • Master of Commerce
  • Master of Business Administration
  • Master of Arts

Apart from this, those meritorious students who have obtained 85% marks or above marks in qualifying examination are eligible to avail an additional amount for graduation and post graduation courses.



Do you have any question? Please ask:

Questions will be answered on our Forum section