Difference between BCA (Bachelor of Computer Application) and B.Sc (Computer Science)

BCA (Bachelor of Computer Application) is a three year undergraduate program for those who want to excel in the field of Computer Application. This course gives an excellent academic base with which student can achieve advanced career in computer application.

B.Sc Computer Science is also a three year undergraduate course which mainly focus on theoretical aspects rather than teaching specific technologies which may become outdated in future. The main objective of this course is to prepare students for higher education.

BCA gives a diversified knowledge about applications like C++, financial accounting and management, operation management which is basically designed according to the need of IT industry whereas B.Sc computer science is basically about the mathematical and theoretical foundations of computing.

BCA has greater job opportunities as they are introduced to wide range of computing like financial accounting and management, database designing, software engineering network and information system etc. B. Sc degree holders generally prefer to pursue higher education however they can seek for job in IT companies as software testers and software developers.

BCA is more of a professional course. Students seeking for admission in this course are required to successfully clear the entrance exam conducted by the college or universities, addition to this they must pass their HSC or equivalent with science and mathematics. B.Sc on the other hand is more an academic course. Students who want to get admitted in this course do not have to clear any entrance exam but admissions are according to your performance at the HSC level. Physics, Chemistry and Mathematics are the essential subjects at the HSC level for getting involved in this program.

Students having B.Sc degree can pursue for higher degree courses like M.Sc and MCA. They can also seek for M. Tech degree only after completion of their M. Sc or MCA. Students with BCA degree can also go for MCA or M. Tech course.

27 Responses to “Difference between BCA (Bachelor of Computer Application) and B.Sc (Computer Science)”

1. 27
    subin George:

I am plus two commerce student
    I want to study bsc computer science
    is that possible
    I have no subject based on mathematics
    one of the qualification of bsc is mathematics
    I want know that am I able to apply bsc computer science. …….

2. 26
    reema:

which one is better bca and bsc

3. 25
    SHASHIKANT YADAV:

sir i am doing BSc-IT.how san i be a good software engineer

4. 24
    ALICE:

WHICH ONE HAS A BETTER SCOPE BCA OR BCS? IF I WANT TO JOIN DEFENCE AS AN OFFICER AFTER GRADUATION THEN WHAT SHOULD BE MY BETTER CHOICE??SINCE ITS THE ADMISSION TIME…SO KINDLY REPLY AS SOON AS POSSIBLE…

5. 23
    Ashu:

Can i do BCA after 12th science without maths in pune? Plzz help?

6. 22
    Binoy:

Bca or bsc electronics,which course have more job opportunities in india

7. 21
    aditya kataria:

is neet marks required for bca

8. 20
    ajay:

kay bca ko graduation me ya proffesional qulification me likna hai jo up part time computer instructor ki jo vaccenices nikli hai.

9. 19
    Ajay:

i want to know that computer instructor job by up govt ke liye Bca graduation me aayega ya proffesional yogta.

10. 18
    pradeep:

Will the course of BCA will teach from the begining

11. 17
    emmanuel mbimunyui:

i have teaching diploma in computer science (a three year course at the Advance Technical Teachers Training college of the university of bamenda cameroon). I want to go further, should I do Bsc or BCA. and I want to it as distance study. which is preferable and how can I start. (I am a computer science teacher in Full Gospel Comprehensive High School Cameroom)

12. 16
    AMIER:

i have pass my10+2 i want bachelor programtell me better program bsc or bca ?

13. 15
    kani:

I want more information about difference between bca and bsc|(cs).

14. 14
    sabirul:

which one is better b.sc in computer science or bca?

15. 13
    jignesh:

what are the different options available for further study after 12th science A group in Gujarat other than engineering ?

16. 12
    prince:

i have completed b.sc comp.sci. i want job in banks .what is better for me to do m.sc comp.sci. or mca or somthing else. please tell me . thankyou

17. 11
    Ashish goyal:

I order to BCA (computer applications) after 12th H.S.C which stream should i chose in 12 th

18. 10
    sganguly:

Can I read BCA without mathematics and with computer application as a compulsory subject in 10+2? Is entrance exam must?

19. 9
    Sudhanshu:

Yes,Is bca(batular in computer application) available in jnu,if yes then what’s its requrment & fee, [email protected]

20. 8
    anuj:

dear sir iam studant bsc cs and my aim ias offser plz guide me

21. 7
    arjan kumar das:

which one is better for future and good income,BCA or BSC IT or BSC in computer science???plz tell me

22. 6
    mohd saleem:

b.c.a.available in jmu.

23. 5
    Amit:

Is BCA available in jnu ?

Detail about entrest exam and fee.

24. 4
    Nandhu Raj S:

What are the job opportunities after Bsc Computer Application? Did i want to go for Higher Studies and what are the higher studies?

25. 3
    govind:

plz tell me……….. Is BSc. computer science is Equivalent to doeacc O level certificate cource. or it is better from this. .

26. 2
    Ratnesh Banerjee:

I m a h.s pass in arts am i able for bca course?

27. 1
    suganya:

difference between bca and bsc cs