8th January 2011, 11:06 PM
Unregistered

Which books to refer for preparation for IAS prelims and Mains exam?

sir,
I am a student of b.tech. third year and i am willing to prepare for IAS examination,so can you please help me out by telling me about the study material(books and other sources) for IAS pre and mains individually.

9th January 2011, 12:17 AM
saswata06

Default Re: Which books to refer for preparation for IAS prelims and Mains exam?

For prelims read some books based upon aptitude and reasoning like R.S.Agarwal.
For mains read the text books of your optional subjects thoroughly.Also read daily newspaper and magazines.
9th January 2011, 08:55 AM
bikenindia

Default Re: Which books to refer for preparation for IAS prelims and Mains exam?

Hello friend,

Its very good aim in life to become IAS.
To become IAS, you need to crack an exam called Civil service exam conducted by UPSC.
There are various study material based on the subjects you choose.
Civil service consist of
prelims
Mains
Interview.

If you clear the prelims only, you will be eligible for mains and interview.

For prelims, The best study material for GS would be
The Hindu Newspaper
Civil service chronicles
Competitive Success Review( CSR Magazine)

For main subject, that you have to mention your core paper and you can take up coaching in some good coaching which will help you and provide the best study material.

Prepare well.

All the best.
Thank you.
9th January 2011, 11:17 AM
maddusajj
Senior Member+++++

hi....
as for ad prelims are concerned,there are many books available in the market for the preparation of prelims exam
some of them are pearson addition book for csat
you cam also the books of upkar publishers
all the best
9th January 2011, 01:17 PM
surendergora
Senior Member++++

I m providing you a link of a very good website for IAS preparation ...here u will get all required information .
http://www.onestopias.com/ias-preparation.asp
9th January 2011, 04:23 PM
Ajay kumar verma