11th October 2011, 06:25 PM
Halai sarfaraz I.

Eligibility criteria for SET and NET exam? What is the syllabus of it?

I Complete My CA IPCC(inter) And M.Com With 53.75% in M.Com Exam Agregate.I Want to Appear for SET & NET Exam So, What

1] Elegibility
2] If elegible What Procedure
3] What The Portion
4] And When It Will Be Held.

12th October 2011, 03:24 PM

Default Re: Eligibility criteria for SET and NET exam? What is the syllabus of it?

Originally Posted by Halai sarfaraz I. View Post
I Complete My CA IPCC(inter) And M.Com With 53.75% in M.Com Exam Agregate.I Want to Appear for SET & NET Exam So, What

1] Elegibility
3] What The Portion
Sorry, To informed you that, you are Not eligible to apply for NET/SET Examination because to apply for Both these examination, you need to complete your Master degree course with minimum 55% marks (If you are Belong to general Category).

NET : National Eligiblity Test
SET : State Eligiblity Test.

NET Examination was conducted by UPSC Every year Two times, the examination was held in June and December Every year. The June 2011 NET Examination was already over and the Notification of December NET Examination was already updated in the UGC Official website.

The registration process was already started and the last date of apply for this examination was 25/Oct/2011.

So, You have scored only 53% marks in your Post graduation, so you are Not eligible for NET/SET examination.

If you are Belong to Other reserved category then you have to scored minimum 50% marks in your Post graduation. Final year Post graduate candidates are also eligible for NET Examination.

Those who are eligible May fill the application form Online By visit the UGC Website. You have to choose the subjects in NET as per your Post graduate subjects.

And If you are Belong to General Category, then you are not eligible for NET Examination and for More Information check the official website -

http://ugcnetonline.in
12th October 2011, 05:33 PM
tejesh_09

Default Re: Eligibility criteria for SET and NET exam? What is the syllabus of it?

NET stands for NATIONAL ELIGIBILITY TEST

AND

SET stands for STATE ELIGIBILITY TEST

But sorry you are not eligible for either of these because to appear for NET and SET exam one has a Master degree with minimum 55% marks for general candidate and 50% marks for reserve category candidate.

Both the exams are conducted by Public Service Commission and generally held twice a year i.e. June and December.

Now registration process for December exam is going on and the last date for applying for the examination is 25/10/2011.
12th October 2011, 06:18 PM

The minimum qualification required to take State Eligibility Test as well as National; Eligibility Test fro lectureship is a masters degree with a minimum of 55% marks.
Candidate who qualifies SET are eligible to get appointed as lecturer in a particular state and candidates who qualifies NET are eligible to get appointed as lecturer anywhere in India.
Since you have scored less than 55%, you won't be eligible for the test, however, if you belong to Sc/St category, you will be considered eligible because for candidates belonging to Sc/St category, the minimum marks required is 50%.
For further information,refer to the official website of UGC NET.
12th October 2011, 06:33 PM
neha bh

a) The candidates must have Master's Degree from an institution recognized by U.G.C.

b) The candidates other than SC/ST category who have secured atleast 55% marks (without grace) in Master's Degree or equivalent examination, are eligible for this test. SC/ST/PH/VH (PH-Physically Handicapped. VH-Visually Handicapped i.e. Blind) category candidates who have secured atleast 50% marks(without grace) in Master's Degree or equivalent examination are eligible for this test.

c) Those candidates who have secured even 54.99% marks or below (even 49.99% Marks or below for SC/ST/PH/VH candidates) in Master's Degree examination are NOT eligible for this test.

d) Candidates who have appeared OR will be appearing at the qualifying master's degree examination and whose result is still awaited OR candidates whose examinations have been delayed may also apply for this Test. However, such candidates will be admitted provisionally and shall be considered eligible to apply for Lectureship only after they have passed their Master's Degree examination or equivalent examination with atleast 55% marks (50% in case of SC/ST/PH/VH category candidates) These candidates must submit their P.G. Marksheet within two years from the date of declaration of result of the SET examination.

e) Those candidates who are studying in the first year of two years course or in first two semesters of a four semesters course of Master's Degree cannot appear for this test.

f) M.C.M. students are not allowed to appear for SET Examination.

g) Candidates who have completed Ph.D. and had passed Master's Degree prior to 19th September, 1991 with at least 50% marks (without grace marks as explained above) are also eligible to appear for SET examination.

h) Candidates have to appear for SET in the subject of their Post Graduation only.

i) Candidates should note that their candidature is provisional. Their candidature will be deemed final upon verification of eligibility condition with reference to the documents enclosed with their application or as may be called for.

j) There is no upper age limit.

j) The candidates who have passed M.Sc.( by Research) are not eligible to appear for the SET Exam. As per the U.G.C. Rules.

l) The SET agency will not issue any marksheet to qualified/not-qualified candidate. Also no revaluations of papers are allowed for SET Examination. The SET agency will issue certificate to qualifying candidates only.

EXEMPTION (ELIGIBILITY FOR LECTURESHIP)

(a) Exemption from SET will be as per decisions taken by the UGC and State Government from time to time.

(b) The candidates who have passed the UGC/CSIR, JRF examination prior to 1989 or have cleared the State level Eligibility Test of any state accredited by the UGC for lectureship prior to 1st June, 2002 are exempted.

(c) SET shall remain the minimum eligibility condition for recruitment and appointment of lecturers in Universities/Colleges/Institutions. Provided, however, that candidates, who are or have been awarded Ph.D. Degree in compliance of the “University Grants Commission (minimum standards and procedure for award of Ph.D. Degree) , regulation 2009, shall be exempted from the requirement of the minimum eligibility condition of SET for recruitment and appointment of Assistant Professor or equivalent positions in Universities/Colleges/Institutions”.

NET

National Eligibility Test (NET) Exam
University Grants Commission (UGC) conducts National Eligibility Test (NET) every year. It is conducted to determine eligibility of entrants for lectureship or to award Junior Research Fellowship (JRF). The candidates can also appear for both at the same time. Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) conducts UGC-CSIR NET for certain Science subjects like Life Sciences, Physical Sciences, and Chemical Sciences etc.

The real aim of conducting NET exam is to ensure that only qualified professionals with minimum standards are getting into teaching profession and research. It is conducted twice a year i. e; during the month of June and December. The notification regarding the exam will be published through leading newspapers during March and September respectively.

Qualification Criteria for NET exam
The candidates must have completed Post Graduation in the desired subject. They must have secured Master’s Degree with a minimum of 55% from any reputed college under UGC recognition. The candidates appearing for last semester exam can even attend NET exam. Thirty Five years is the maximum age limit. There is relaxation of 3 years OBC and 5 years for SC/ST candidates.

Structure and Pattern of NET exam
For both lectureship and JRF same question paper is prepared by UGC. It constitutes subjects as follows;
Paper I -Objective Type- General Knowledge, Current Affairs, Reasoning Ability and Quantitative Methods (50 questions) – 100 Marks
Paper II- Objective Type – Core Subject (50 questions)- 100 Marks
Paper III- Descriptive Type – Core Subject – will have four sections. Section 1- 5x5= 25 marks (30 words), Section 2 –15x5=75 marks (30 words), Section 3- 5x12= 60 marks (200 words) and Section 4- 1x40= 40 marks(1000 words)
Grand Total = 400 marks

Paper I & II constitutes the first half. It is conducted during day time. Paper III, the next half is conducted afternoon. There is no negative marking for objective questions. Previous years question papers of all the subjects are given in the official website of UGC.

neha
File Type: pdf set syllabus.pdf(43.2 KB, 786 views)
File Type: pdf net.pdf(936.4 KB, 548 views)
18th October 2011, 09:07 PM

Who are in reserved category in Net/Set Exam?
8th November 2011, 04:37 PM

MA(Public Admin) student also eligible
8th November 2011, 04:39 PM

ma students are also eligible for net
15th December 2011, 04:05 PM

i have completed my MBA with 54.9%. i wish to appear for net exam .is it possible ?
15th December 2011, 04:15 PM

i hav completed my MBA with 54.9%.can i appear for net exam
15th December 2011, 04:16 PM

I hav completad my MBA with 54.9% . Can i appear for net exam?
30th December 2011, 03:50 PM

I have completed M.C.M. and B.sc. (computer) should I eligiable for NET exam?
4th January 2012, 10:30 PM

im completed my MCA with 62% but with grace in Ist sem. im eligible or not
1st February 2012, 04:11 PM

I have completed M.A with 51% marks. Can I appear for NET exam?
1st February 2012, 04:15 PM

I have completed M.A with 51% marks. can I appear for NET exam? I am in OBC category.
12th March 2012, 08:05 PM

i'm m.com. 3 sem student my 1 & 2 sem agrigate marks 59.00 %, b.com. taxation 56.00 %, cast sc. m i appiar for NET exam & what i do for NET, SET exam & what is good for me. email- [email protected]
9th April 2012, 02:01 AM

if i did post graduation through distance learning proggrame then am i eligible for net examination?
28th April 2012, 01:27 AM

How many attempt is eligable for net set exam?
2nd May 2012, 11:30 AM

can MCM students apply for the NET exam?
8th May 2012, 09:20 PM

I have passed PGDM in MARKETING from a UGC and AICTE approved college and I have scored 65% in that and my age is 32 years. I belong to a general category. Am I eligible for NET.....
25th May 2012, 12:55 PM

I appeared several times but wont be able to clear the exam.Kindly help me while suggesting the books and reference material.
27th May 2012, 09:14 PM

recently passed 12th std so am i eligible for set net examination?
1st June 2012, 07:58 PM

i have completed my mba (banking & finance )specialisation.so can i appear for net & set exam with the banking n finance specialisation?
6th June 2012, 02:06 AM

sir may I know the date to apply for kerala SET exam ? AND ALSO THE DETAILS
16th June 2012, 09:55 AM

i have completed mba with 60%.can i appear for net?what is the syllabus?
1st July 2012, 10:12 PM

i have completed B.E CAN I APPEAR FOR NET-SET.PLZ INFORM
2nd July 2012, 12:56 PM
Shaenma

For giving UGC NET u need to have a master Degree with minimum 55% of marks.

You can choose any subject from your master degree.UGC NET consists of three papers
>General studies
>Your optional paper-objective questions
>Your optional paper-subjective questions

Age limit:-

For junior research fellowship the maximum age should be 28 years.
For lectureship there is no upper age limit.

For more information you can log onto this website:- www.ugcnetonline.in

NET exam pattern:-

UGC New Net exam pattern:-

UGC Net Paper I:-

The first paper is teacher/research aptitude which will have 60 questions out of which you have to attempt 50 questions.
Each question carries two marks each.
This paper will test your comprehensive skills and reasoning ability.
Time duration:- 1.25 hours.

UGC NET Paper II:-

The second paper is of subject knowledge.
There will be total 50 questions and all of them are compulsory questions.
Each question carries 2 marks each.
You will get questions from subject you have chosen.
Time duration:- 1.25 hours.

UGC NET Paper III:-

The third paper is of subject knowledge.
All total there will be 75 questions. All of them are compulsory questions.
Each question carries 2 marks.
You will get questions from subjects you have chosen.
Time duration:- 2 and 1/2 hours.

For more information log onto this website:- www.ugcnetonline.in
3rd July 2012, 09:39 AM

I got 54.5% in pg and i am an OBC .am i eligible for appearing NET orSET
4th July 2012, 10:35 AM

Ca mca student passed out from IGNOU is eligible for SET exams?
4th July 2012, 10:38 AM

can mca passed out strundt from IGNOU is eligible for SET exams
8th July 2012, 05:15 PM

I have completed my BA(English Litt) and i have completed my MBA(HR) via distance education mode.Then i have done my B.Ed(English).
Am i eligible to apply for NET.
Pls answer.

16th August 2012, 10:10 AM

hi .i am a mcom graduate with 54%.do girls get any grace ,in terms of minimum eligibility percentage.i have completed my mcom in 1993.
21st August 2012, 03:36 PM

hello... i am completed my post graduation with 53.87 %
I am belong in OBC category, as an OBC student m i eligible for set exam..?
31st August 2012, 08:22 AM

I am completed my post graduation with 50 %. i got 44 % in graduation. I belong in sc category, am I eligible for set/net exam?
31st August 2012, 11:21 PM
itsme.abhishek2012

Sorry, To informed you that, you are Not eligible to apply for NET/SET Examination because to apply for Both these examination, you need to complete your Master degree course with minimum 55% marks (If you are Belong to general Category).

NET : National Eligiblity Test
SET : State Eligiblity Test.

NET Examination was conducted by UPSC Every year Two times, the examination was held in June and December Every year. The June 2011 NET Examination was already over and the Notification of December NET Examination was already updated in the UGC Official website.

The registration process was already started and the last date of apply for this examination was 25/Oct/2011.

So, You have scored only 53% marks in your Post graduation, so you are Not eligible for NET/SET examination.

If you are Belong to Other reserved category then you have to scored minimum 50% marks in your Post graduation. Final year Post graduate candidates are also eligible for NET Examination.

Those who are eligible May fill the application form Online By visit the UGC Website. You have to choose the subjects in NET as per your Post graduate subjects.

And If you are Belong to General Category, then you are not eligible for NET Examination and for More Information check the official website -

http://ugcnetonline.in
12th September 2012, 10:10 AM

I am Msc-IT (Ptu university).Am i eligible for NET exam?i request for syllabus related to my subject.
17th September 2012, 02:23 PM

sir,i have cleared M.A Final but yet to clear 1st year but i m very much interested for becoming a lecturer, can i apply for net/set!? i will clear 1st year in forth coming winter 2012. I want to face the net exam held on december 2012 can do it? Plz reply
1st November 2012, 01:29 PM

I am completed my post graduation with 50% i got 50% in graduation. I belong in OBC category, can I eligible for set/net exam?
10th November 2012, 03:29 PM

I have completed my MBA(finance) with 70.60% . I want to appear for NET/SET , can i appear for that and how ??
please tell me the sylabi for the same .....
31st December 2012, 01:00 AM

I HAVE COMPLETED M.COM EXTERNAL COMPUTER APPLICATION IN BHARAT POST GRADUATION COLLEGE?SO CAN I ATTENDE FOR THIS EXAM?THEN WHAT IS SYLLABUS?
8th February 2013, 11:38 AM

I HAVE COMPLETED M.SC. AGROCHEMISTRY IN SHIVAJI UNIVERSITY?SO CAN I ATTENDE FOR THIS EXAM?THEN WHAT IS SYLLABUS?WHAT IS CRITERIA?
28th March 2013, 10:32 PM

I have completed MSc in Zoology in the year 2000 and secured 54.50%, but the university gave me 5 marks grace to round it up to 55.00%.

Am I eligible for the CSIR-NET for lecturer?

Please help !!!!!!!!

reply at: [email protected]
25th April 2013, 04:37 PM

i have completed my Msc IN ENVIRONMENTAL BIOTECHNOLOGY after BSc zoology.am i eligible for SET exam?
26th June 2013, 02:08 PM

I hav completed my CA Final with 54.625%. i do not hold any master's degree. M i eligible for net set? or do i need to go for post graduation?
29th July 2013, 08:20 PM

how to fill form of set exam?
23rd September 2013, 10:56 PM

apearing students can apply or not ????
24th September 2013, 04:00 AM
rehan.978

Thumbs down Re: Eligibility criteria for SET and NET exam? What is the syllabus of it?

Originally Posted by Halai sarfaraz I. View Post

1] Elegibility
3] What The Portion
set net exam paturn
27th November 2013, 04:37 PM

Sir i had completed my B.pharma with 61 percentage can i able to appear for Net set exam ?
18th December 2013, 03:26 PM

I JUST WANT TO KNOW HOW MANY PAPER I CAN CHOSE IN PAPER 3 AND PAPER 2
19th January 2014, 11:33 PM

I have completed post-graduate in english with 53% number.am i eligible for n.e.t or s.e.t exam?