28th August 2010, 12:09 PM
chhabraji

Last Name not written on the passport, can I go study abroad?

hello to all...
actually my lastname is not written in lastname column of my passport, but in given name column,my full name(piyush chhabra) is mentioned....so i want to ask that am i eligible to go to abroad for study purpose with this passport ,as i have taken ielts exam from that passport only???please guide me sir that what should i do???as i am mainly interested in going to canada,australia,newzealand,u.k for study purpose...so plz guide me sir....???

1. What type of job I can get abroad if I don't have the passport yet? Can I get a job directly if I study there?
  2. How can I prepare to crack GRE to study PhD Abroad? Syllabus of GRE for PhD? Can I appear in GRE without having passport? -- [New]
  3. How to study B.Sc in abroad without having enough money? Exams needed to be written to get scholarship to study abroad?
  4. Exams to be written to study MS in abroad? Criteria of getting scholarship to study abroad?
  5. Which exam needs to be written with 12th exam in order to study in abroad?
  6. Should I study in Abroad after completing 10th to pursue B.Arch in future? Procedure to study in Abroad?
  7. Details of entrance exams to study MBBS in Abroad?
  8. Is it difficult to study in Abroad for girl candidates? What is the procedure followed to study in abroad?
  9. How to study in abroad after doing D pharmacy?
  10. Am I eligible to study abroad after completing FYBCom?
  11. What are the scholarships given by government to study in abroad? What are the exams to be written for them?
  12. Which is beneficial to study among MS and MBA in Abroad for B.E.(ECE) graduate? Which one is easier to study?
  13. Ways to join B.Sc in agriculture in abroad? What are the entrance exams required to be written to get admission outside India?
  14. Chances to study in Abroad for F.Y.B.Com graduate?
  15. Chances to study in Abroad for F.Y.B.Com graduate?
  16. Can I study and get job in Abroad after completing B.Com?
  17. What is the procedure for taking up student visa to go abroad for doing higher studies?
  18. Is it easy to study MS in Abroad for B.E. Civil student? Procedure to study in Abroad?
28th August 2010, 01:13 PM
robart

Default Re: Last Name not written on the passport, can I go study abroad?

don't worry.i think you are not going to face any problem.

but you should go with your identity proof.because the rules ans regulation of immigration are very tough due to latest terror threats.

no country is going to take any type of risk.they won't allow if you haven't your identity proof.from now you shouldn't do such type of faults.

28th August 2010, 01:27 PM
vyshnavi sai

there will be no problem about ur last name in the passport.please consult ur near most passport officer.dont be tensed u had still opportunity in going to abroad.
gud luck
28th August 2010, 01:38 PM
compaq123

no friend you have no written on the pasport so you should not go aboad for a higher studying.so you have clear your written name so you have to go for aboard
28th August 2010, 01:38 PM

no
28th August 2010, 03:13 PM
Saikiran M

There can be a little mess at verification process, so why take risk??

File a affidavit refering your problem to the passport office and you will get a replacement passport for free.

I wish your problem gets resolved soon.

MASK
28th August 2010, 05:08 PM
maddusajj

i think you should not take risk and immediately contact the passport office and ask them to rectify the problem,
your passport number and anything else will not change
going with an mistake to foreign countries can lead you into some big troubles,
28th August 2010, 05:40 PM
subhash5687

Originally Posted by chhabraji View Post
hello to all...
actually my lastname is not written in lastname column of my passport, but in given name column,my full name(piyush chhabra) is mentioned....so i want to ask that am i eligible to go to abroad for study purpose with this passport ,as i have taken ielts exam from that passport only???please guide me sir that what should i do???as i am mainly interested in going to canada,australia,newzealand,u.k for study purpose...so plz guide me sir....???
no you can not go they check each and every thing sorry dear
28th August 2010, 07:51 PM
Raj333

there is no problem with your name . yon are elibible to go for study abroad.passport will give your identity in abroad and your qualification will give your identity for admission in different college in abroad . but if you have a time then you will for correction ......that will better for you . because at a time you will represent two different people due to different name in two important certificate............

best of luck for study in abroad................................
28th August 2010, 09:28 PM
shipra saxena

no u have to make the corrections done by passport co.
28th August 2010, 10:03 PM

yes ofcourse you can...but you can get it corrected by contacting to the passport office ..they will help you out surely
28th August 2010, 10:09 PM

dear friends,

really this is matter of very serious problem,

as you are going for the aboard so every thing will be carefully checked or

watched.as there is mistake in the last names,that will creates a problem,so

change it before going to aboard.
28th August 2010, 11:13 PM
rushi adhia

As you said that in the column of the NAME you have your full name on your passport, so i don't think there would be any trouble.
-All the best
28th August 2010, 11:24 PM
Adarshxxx

dear friend..........

as you mentioned that ,there is a mistake in your pastport..

you can go for study if your visa will come.......

but you will face many problem like...

1.when your document verification will be happened...

2.if the same mistake will be in your visa then there will less problem...

3.you should go to pass portoffice for the correction.

4.they will rectify the mistake at the same time.....

best of luck.......
28th August 2010, 11:42 PM
poplu13

No its not possible as the authorities have become extremely strict about your Granting the VISA to go abroad...So there is provision if you want to edit your passport...make sure everything written on your passport is absolutely clear and correct..
28th August 2010, 11:46 PM
charli

don't worry.you can go abroad.

but you have to go with your identity proof.because all country has beefed its immigration laws due to current threat of attack by underworld.

so feel free.already you have mentioned your full name.don't worry.

29th August 2010, 03:02 AM

Hello Friend
I don't think whether you will get any problem for that but remeber one thing there should not be any fault in your Passport,it is considered one of the very important documents for the person..

So now you can go for the abroad study but i would suggest you to get it corrected as soon as possible..

all the best..
31st August 2010, 08:08 PM
August

Friend

I am very sorry to say that you can't go to abroad through this passport.

You should submit your passport for rectification.

31st August 2010, 08:57 PM
August

friend

i am sorry to say that you cannot go to abroad through this passport as there is

error in your passport. you should submit your passport for rectification.

3rd February 2011, 08:39 PM

How much time this type of rectification takes?
15th February 2012, 09:41 PM
ranjeet250490

Arrow Re: Last Name not written on the passport, can I go study abroad?

A passport is a National Identity Proof which the government of every nation issues one to each of its citizens so that if they are to travel to some other country, they would have a default and world recognized ID Proof.

This is the main purpose of a passport.

Now as you say, that your passport doesn't have your full name, I wonder how was it made?

During the time of applying for a passport, the Government of India is usually v v strict and so I do not understand how can you get a passport without your full name.

The surname of anybody basically implies which caste he belongs to. So in a way, its necessary.

The other countries may reject visa when they find your name incomplete in your passport.

I would suggest you to contact the passport authorities, and get that edited. Or you may also have to get it cancelled and then apply for a new one.

It would be much better for you, and consider it to be compulsory that your passport must have all your details complete.

Hope this helps

#RJ#
8th January 2013, 09:25 PM

MY SURNAME is not written on the passport, can I go abroad in job
9th January 2013, 03:22 AM
end of query

Last name on the passport as indicated on your all the other documents is equally important for you to go to abroad because even the minute problem can cause you inconvenience.
But you don't have to get tensed for this, in order to rectify your name, you have to write the application to the passport office requesting to put on the last name and then you'll have to take the time for it and as the date decided or scheduled by the passport office,your passport will be having your last name on it.
13th March 2013, 10:30 PM

Hello sir, In my study documents surname not available but in my passport shows my name & surname.Is there create any problem to go abroad for study please guide me