29th July 2010, 12:55 AM
feny

Positions or Job Posts one gets after cracking IES Exam?

1.hello sir i am hemender right now iam doing b.tech from nit jalandhar
i want to crack ies at any cost ,its my dream to crack the ies.
sir plz tell me the steps which i should follow during ies preparation.
and also tell me the book for gk.

2.what are the posts given at first after cracking ies.

plz sir reply soon.its my keen request to u.

thank u sir.

29th July 2010, 11:22 AM
subhash5687

Thumbs up Re: Positions or Job Posts one gets after cracking IES Exam?

Originally Posted by feny View Post
1.hello sir i am hemender right now iam doing b.tech from nit jalandhar
i want to crack ies at any cost ,its my dream to crack the ies.
sir plz tell me the steps which i should follow during ies preparation.
and also tell me the book for gk.

2.what are the posts given at first after cracking ies.

plz sir reply soon.its my keen request to u.

thank u sir.
for cracking ies you should make your all basic consepts must be clear
mke strong your syllabus subjects,it is more better toyou if you buy material available for ies from old delhi it will cost arrond 2000-3000.you go through the material you will easily crack it by hard works good luck to you.
29th July 2010, 03:40 PM
maddusajj

Default Re: Positions or Job Posts one gets after cracking IES Exam?

first think,
the ies exam is conducted only for the four branches which are civil.mechanical,electrical and mechanical,
its one of the most toughest exams in india and also you have to really prepare hard for it
29th July 2010, 04:50 PM
mini rani

Hi!

You can get the complete list of posts for the 4 categories of engineering services namely
Civil Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Electrical Engineering & Electronics & telecommunication Engineering from the following links:
http://www.coachingindians.com/upsc-exam/ies-exam.html
www.upsc.gov.in

To know about the book for gk & tips for cracking IES the following links are useful:
http://examcrazy.com/Engineering/IES/Preparation-Tips-things-to-remember-IES.asp
www.threeauthors.com
www.upscportal.com
29th July 2010, 07:03 PM
kalyan333

Thumbs up Re: Positions or Job Posts one gets after cracking IES Exam?

positions or job posts are depending on your marks.
during your preparation you must study atleast 10 hours per a day.
29th July 2010, 07:17 PM

The steps for preparing for IES is nothing but get the syllabus and start covering it up with full sincerity.
The following websites contain syllabus for the same http://www.threeauthors.com/upsc-exams/syllabus-iees.asp.
You can also find the list of reference books here.

The various posts that an IES qualified student gets are
* Indian Railway Service of Mechanical Engineers (IRSME)
* Indian Railway Stores Service (IRSS)
* Central Water Engineering Service (mechanical engineering posts)
* Central Power Engineering Service (mechanical engineering posts) ajeet siddharth
* Indian Ordnance Factories Service (Engineering Branch) (mechanical engineering posts)ajeet siddharth
* Indian Naval Armament Service (mechanical engineering posts)
* Military Engineer Services (IDSE - Electrical and Mechanical Cadre) (mechanical engineering posts)
* Central Electrical & Mechanical Engineering Service (mechanical engineering posts)
* Assistant Executive Engineer (Electrical and Mechanical) (mechanical engineering posts)
* Border Roads Engineering Service, Group - A
* Drilling Engineer (Junior) Group - A in Geological Survey of India
* Central Engineering Service (Roads), Group - A, (ml engineering posts)
* Engineering Service (Electrical Engineering posts)
* Indian Ordinance Factories Service (Engineering Branch) (Electrical Engineering posts)
* Indian Naval Armament Service (Electrical Engineering posts)
* Cenngineer Group - A (electrical engineering posts) in the Corps of E.M.E., Ministry of Indian Defence (India)

29th July 2010, 09:59 PM
Somesh Goenka

You may find the required details attached as under.

Also, The following is applicable:

CATEGORY I - CIVIL ENGINEERING

Group A Services/Posts

(i) Indian Railway Service of Engineers.

(ii) Indian Railway Stores Service (Civil Engineering Posts).

(iii) Central Engineering Service.

(iv) Military Engineer Service (IDSE— Building and Roads Cadre).

(v) Central Water Engineering Service (Civil Engineering Posts).

(vi) Central Engineering Service (Roads) Group-A (Civil Engineering Posts).

(vii) Assistant Executive Engineer (Civil) in the Border Roads Engineering Service.

CATEGORY II - MECHANICAL ENGINEERING

Group A Services/Posts

(i) Indian Railway Service of MECHANICAL Engineers.

(ii) Indian Railway Stores Service (Mechanical Engineering Posts).

(iii) Central Water Engineering Service (Mechanical Engineering Posts).

(iv) Central Power Engineering Service (Mechanical Engineering Posts).

(v) Indian Ordnance Factories Service (Engineering Branch) (MECHANICAL Engineering Posts).

(vi) Indian Naval Armament Service (Mechanical Engineering Posts).

(vii) Military Engineer Service (IDSE— Electrical and Mechanical Cadre) (Mechanical Engineering Posts).

(viii) Assistant Executive Engineer Group 'A' (Mechanical Engineering Posts) in the Corps of EME, Ministry of Defence.

(ix) Assistant Naval Store officer Grade I (Mechanical Engineering Posts) in Indian Navy.

(x) Central Electrical & Mechanical Engineering Service (Mechanical Engineering Posts)

(xi) Assistant Executive Engineer (Electrical & Mechanical) (Mechanical Engineering Posts) in Boarder Roads Engineering Service, Group 'A'

(xii) Drilling Engineer (Junior) (Grade A) in the Geological Survey of India.

(xiii) Central Engineering Service (Roads) Gr "A" (Mechanical Engg. Posts)

CATEGORY III - ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING

Group A Services/Posts

(i) Indian Railway Service of Electrical Engineers.

(ii) Indian Railway Stores Service (Electrical Engineering Posts).

(iii) Central Electrical & Mechanical Engineering Service (Electrical Engineering Posts).

(iv) Indian Naval Armament Service (Electrical Engineering Posts).

(v) Central Power Engineering Service (Electrical Engineering Posts).

(vi) Military Engineering Service (IDSE) Electrical and MECHANICAL Cadre) (Electrical Engineering Posts).

(vii) Assistant Executive Engineer Group A (Electrical Engineering Posts) in the Corps of E.M.E, Ministry of Defence.

(viii) Assistant Naval Store officer Grade I (Electrical Engineering Posts) in Indian Navy.

CATEGORY IV - ELECTRONICS AND TELECOMMUNICATION ENGINEERING

Group A Services/Posts

(i) Indian Railway Service of Signal Engineers.

(ii) Indian Railway Stores Service (Tele-communication/Electronics Engineering Posts).

(iii) Indian Ordnance Factories Service (Engineering Branch) (Electronics Engineering Posts).

(iv) Indian Naval Armament Service (Electronics Engineering Posts).

(v) Central Power Engineering Service (Electronics & Telecommunications Engineering Posts).

(vi) Assistant Executive Engineer Group ‘A’ (Electronics Engineering Posts) in the Corps of E.M.E., Ministry of Defence.

(vii) Engineer Gr."A" in Wireless Planning and Coordination Wing/Monitoring Organisation; M/o Communication and Information Technology (D/o Telecommunication)

(viii) Assistant Naval Store officer Grade I (Electronics & Telecom Engineering Posts) in Indian Navy.

Good Luck!!
File Type: pdf allocation_IES_cadre.pdf(221.4 KB, 1819 views)
29th August 2010, 01:15 PM
Bishwajit Giri

in Engineering field Civil.Mechanical,Electrical and Electronics students can apply for IES exam.

IES is one of the toughest exam in educational field.

so study hard and clear the exam then there are so many options in front of you.
some important post after IES,

1:Indian Railway
2:Indian Ordnance Factories Service
3:Central Power Engineering Service
4:Indian Naval Armament Service etc....
for more http://www.coachingindians.com/upsc-exam/ies-exam.html

Good luck.
27th November 2010, 01:27 AM

Hello sir i m preparing for ies in delhi,my gk is very poor so plz tell me hw i can improve it.
5th December 2010, 05:35 PM

hello sir,i am puja from GEC ,my branch is electrical and electronics...so.in which field i should choose?plz guide me...........
21st December 2010, 01:32 PM

sir i have colour blindness...will it be a problem in ies
30th December 2010, 10:39 AM

I am a firt year stdent of btech(ece) , i am interested in a job which is not that hectic and tedious,most often iam told that doing job in mnc's is very laborious.
is that true?if yes , than should i opt for ies?
12th January 2011, 07:20 AM

I have completed my B.E degree from Information Technology and doing a job in a private company. I want to start my preparation for IES after a year. What will be the post or where will be my job if i can crack IES?
I am really confused.
31st January 2011, 10:45 AM

hello sir i m rahul 3rd student from oist bhopal my branch is electrical and electronics.i m placed in two companies but i m not satisfied . I want to start my prepetion for ies sothat which field is better electrical Or electronics.
2nd February 2011, 12:15 AM

how to improve gk
2nd February 2011, 09:54 AM

hello sir i m vatsal in 3rd ear mechanical engineering.what are the pay scales in the jobs after ies?
2nd February 2011, 09:58 AM

hello sir i m vatsal in 3rd year mechanical engineering.what are the pay scales in the jobs after ies?
2nd February 2011, 10:02 AM

hello sir i m vatsal in 3rd year mechanical engineering.what are the pay scales in the jobs after ies?
2nd April 2011, 01:10 PM

hello sir i am guruprabhat suffer with colurblindness and doingh prepration for crak indian engineering exam(I E S) .SO I whant to ask one question to u .can i apply for this
program.
12th April 2011, 11:43 AM
vijaypatel54

You can get the complete list of posts for the 4 categories of engineering services namely
Civil Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Electrical Engineering & Electronics & telecommunication Engineering from the following links:
http://www.coachingindians.com/upsc-exam/ies-exam.html
www.upsc.gov.in

To know about the book for gk & tips for cracking IES the following links are useful:
http://examcrazy.com/Engineering/IES/Preparation-Tips-things-to-remember-IES.asp
www.threeauthors.com
www.upscportal.com
15th May 2011, 02:07 AM

Sir, can u tell me Best book to enhance general studies
11th June 2011, 12:32 AM
princearyan

IES ( indian engineering services) good aim friend but it is not easy ..
first of all focus your engineering and go through basic knowledge of your all engineering
papers and study hard ..MADE EASY print some guide buy it and prepare your self ..
If you crack IES then you will get good job offer in
INDIAN RAILWAY and many government sector a royal life
welcome you ..
so one main thing for IES study hard ..
27th June 2011, 10:02 PM

sir,i am an agricultural engineer .so,can we also apply for the IES
1st July 2011, 06:13 PM

what are the average packages in different jobs after ies ?plz give the details about it.
29th September 2011, 12:49 PM

what is salary for IES officer
4th October 2011, 10:16 AM

sir,i am 3rd year B-tech student, please tell me that there is no job for electronic & communication in ies..........,
11th October 2011, 01:22 PM

Sir/Madam,
I am anish kumar jha. i'm a first year student in b.tech electrical. i wish to crack ies exam as early as i could. so now in the coming year what should my strategy i want to know....
24th October 2011, 10:19 PM

AS A GROUP-A OFFICER, IES OFFICER ENJOYS WELL WITH HIS/HER POWERS.....
IT IS QUITE DIFFICULT TO CRACK ........ JOB WILL NOT BE THERE IN UNDERTAKINGS, BUT YOU WILL BE POSTED TO PURE GOVT. SECTOR,

MEANS.......ENJOYING FULL POWERS......WITH GREATEST RESPONSIBILITY.

EXAMPLE: AS AN OFFICIAL(DRM) IN IRSME, A SEPERATE 1ST CLASS A/C COACH WILL BE ARRANGED FOR YOUR TRAVELLING.......
YOU WILL BE SIGNING A TENDER NOTICE COSTS AROUND 100 CRORE
RAVITEJA M S
30th October 2011, 09:57 AM
dimple.simple

in Engineering field Civil.Mechanical,Electrical and Electronics students can apply for IES exam.

IES is one of the toughest exam in educational field.

so study hard and clear the exam then there are so many options in front of you.
some important post after IES,

1:Indian Railway
2:Indian Ordnance Factories Service
3:Central Power Engineering Service
4:Indian Naval Armament Service etc....
for more http://www.coachingindians.com/upsc-exam/ies-exam.html
24th December 2011, 11:24 PM

sir , i m doing job in a software industry in pune , i want to prepare for IES exam but not getting any coaching classes in pune for preparation . please guide me
11th February 2012, 12:18 PM

sir,i am BE third year student in electrical branch? I want to know it is necessary to take coaching for preparing IES exam
18th February 2012, 02:25 PM

Good afternoon sir,
How do i start preparing for IES? Please guide me.
18th February 2012, 05:13 PM
bishnu_g

as IES is the competeive exam conducted by upsc for engineering graduates,, 1 or 2 books will not be sufficient but keep reading newspaper, chronicle magazines.. after selection the candidates are trained for post of class A officer in indian railway
18th February 2012, 07:08 PM
priyanka_22

Smile Re: Positions or Job Posts one gets after cracking IES Exam?

Originally Posted by vike View Post
The steps for preparing for IES is nothing but get the syllabus and start covering it up with full sincerity.
The following websites contain syllabus for the same http://www.threeauthors.com/upsc-exams/syllabus-iees.asp.
You can also find the list of reference books here.

The various posts that an IES qualified student gets are
* Indian Railway Service of Mechanical Engineers (IRSME)
* Indian Railway Stores Service (IRSS)
* Central Water Engineering Service (mechanical engineering posts)
* Central Power Engineering Service (mechanical engineering posts) ajeet siddharth
* Indian Ordnance Factories Service (Engineering Branch) (mechanical engineering posts)ajeet siddharth
* Indian Naval Armament Service (mechanical engineering posts)
* Military Engineer Services (IDSE - Electrical and Mechanical Cadre) (mechanical engineering posts)
* Central Electrical & Mechanical Engineering Service (mechanical engineering posts)
* Assistant Executive Engineer (Electrical and Mechanical) (mechanical engineering posts)
* Border Roads Engineering Service, Group - A
* Drilling Engineer (Junior) Group - A in Geological Survey of India
* Central Engineering Service (Roads), Group - A, (ml engineering posts)
* Engineering Service (Electrical Engineering posts)
* Indian Ordinance Factories Service (Engineering Branch) (Electrical Engineering posts)
* Indian Naval Armament Service (Electrical Engineering posts)
* Cenngineer Group - A (electrical engineering posts) in the Corps of E.M.E., Ministry of Indian Defence (India)

The union public service commission will hold the engineering services Examination.There are a lot positions depending on the vacancy in specific year they take intake on them not all positions are always available but you should study hard and score well in above ranks.PI is main part of such exams.

Best Luck
11th March 2012, 01:09 AM

currently i m working in hpcl which is a psu and my working profile is sales i have done b.tech. in mechanical engg. i want to go in core field so is ies better for me and is there any salary difference between psu and ies .
12th March 2012, 05:10 PM
masuka123

Hi dude,

IES stands for Indian Engineering Services.

IES exam is conducted by UPSC.

UPSC stands for Union Public Service Commission.

To apply for this exam you nee to complete your graduation in engineering !

You need to be citizen of India .

You can also apply for this exam if you are in the final year of your engineering graduation.

Your age need to be between 21 to 30 year`s.

Age relaxation is only for reservation category students.

You need to be mentally and physically fit .

For notifications visit the official website :- http://upsc.gov.in/exams/exams.htm#Notifications-Past

For more information regarding this exam visit the official web site of UPSC :-www.upsc.gov.in

ALL THE BEST !!!
12th March 2012, 05:18 PM
masuka123

IES stands Indian Engineering Service.This exam is conducted by Union Public Service Commission every year once to take qualified student into different engineering post in government sector.

To eligible for IES exam,you should have completed or in final year of B.Tech course from any one branch mentioned below.
>>Mechanical Engineering
>>Electronic and Telecommunication Engineering
>>Electrical Engineering
>>Civil Engineering
And your age should be between 21 to 30 years.

If you fulfill with this criteria,then you can appear for IES exam.IES exam notification release on 24th Feb 2012,closes on 25th Feb 2012 and exam will held on 15th June 2012.

See this attachment for more information about IES exam.

Visit official website for more details.
http://www.upsc.gov.in
12th June 2012, 01:20 AM

Hell sir,
I am Ruchi gupta. I have completed my B.Tech. with mechanical engineering.
my qutions is this,
Milittery engineering service post will be good for a girl or not.
4th September 2012, 11:46 AM

hello.. i have completed B.E. in INSTRUMENTATION AND CONTROL discipline. am i eligible for ies?? reply soon
29th April 2013, 11:42 AM

which is best cader in ies for mechanical engg which related to infrastructure line because i am doing job in that line and also preparing for ies
24th June 2013, 12:38 PM

what is the post in Central Engineerin Service after cracking IES exam?
25th November 2013, 11:01 AM

My eye power is -5. Am i eligible for Indian railway service in EE?
22nd March 2014, 05:22 PM

I'm a civil engg student.. I have passed out..i would like to study in own preparation..so i want to some details about study materials like g.k and my subject oriented..so proper books available for Where?
12th April 2014, 07:57 PM

An ex-service man of 52 year of age having B-tech degree in elec engg can appear IES exam
27th June 2014, 10:31 AM

Hello, I am Lakshmi, I have done by B.E. in (EEE) , After cracking IES can i be posted in my hometown(Chennai) and will there be any frequent transfers for IES engineers
14th July 2014, 12:02 PM

First prepare well for the exam...it is not so easy as u think...then got select ...afterwards think of position and posting...understood
27th September 2014, 10:10 AM

I am niraj;I want to get a vehicle with red light in lies job after cracking lies exam;is it possible of red light in lies or not
7th May 2015, 03:56 PM

Sir ,please suggest some important textbooks for ies Ece stream 2015 and to write exam in 2016
23rd August 2015, 04:11 PM

Hello sir im varsha from amravati now im a 3rd yr. Student in electronisc & telecommunication my que. is ies job is safe for girls or not & if it is then in which field & after how many yrs the transfers are their from one place to other