26th July 2012, 12:04 AM

Which stream I have to take to become an IPS office

sir i am having a problem in choosing a stream .i dont understand that which stream i have to take to become an ips officer in future .

26th July 2012, 06:55 AM

Default Re: Which stream I have to take to become an IPS officer?

You can take up any stream that interests you. There is no restrictions as candidates from any area of specialisation can take up a career in this field. As long as the candidate has pursued graduation from a recognised institute they can apply for this post. You should be prepared for the various stages of the selection procedure. This includes CSAT, mains and interview round. For the mains prepare for two subjects from the list provided in the UPSC site.
26th July 2012, 08:14 AM
sherleytwain

IPS stands for Indian Police Service. To become an IPS officer you will have to appear in the Civil Services Examination which is conducted every year by the Union Public Service Comission (UPSC).

The IPS exam is considered to be tough and very competitive. Lakhs of students appear in the IPS exam where only few hundreds get selected. Therefore you should start the preparation in advance for the exam. In regard to your question regarding stream, there is no such requirement for IPS exam. All you need is a graduation degree. I will explain all the details below in this answer.

The Civil Service Examination conducted by the Union Public Service Comission (UPSC) is not only to be IPS offcer. You can join various fields:

IFS

IAS

IRS etc.

Since you have shown interest in IPS exam. I am writing down eligibility and some tips for you.

Nationality:

Only Indian citizens are allowed to appear for IPS exam.

Age criteria:

The General category candidate should be between 21 to 30 years.

Candidates from Other Backward Classes (OBC) get 3 years relaxation in upper age limit.

While the SC/ST candidates get 5 years relaxation in the upper age limit.

Qualification:

Candidates who have completed graduation in any stream can appear for IPS exam.

Those who are in final year of graduation course may also appear in the exam.

The IPS Exam is divided into 3 parts:

The preliminary exam

The Main exam

Interview

PRELIMINARY EXAM:-

There are two objective type papers in the preliminary exam. One paper belongs to General Studies while other paper below to General Aptitude.

Only the candidates who clear the preliminary exam would be called to appear in the main exam.

MAIN EXAM:-

There are total of 9 papers in the main exam.

Paper 1. Indian Language - You will have to choose one language out of 22 given.

Paper 2. English Language

Paper 3. Essay in your preferred language

Paper 4 and Paper 5 are of general studies

For the remaining 4 papers you will have to choose 2 subjects on which you will have to give 2 papers per subject.

The List of Subjects Are:

Agriculture
Animal Husbandry and Veterinary Science
Botany
Chemistry
Civil Engineering
Commerce
Economics
Electrical Engineering
Geography
Geology
Indian History
Law
Mathematics
Mechanical Engineering
Medical Science
Philosophy
Physics
Political Science
Psychology
Public Administration
Sociology
Statistics
Zoology
26th July 2012, 11:04 AM
EDEPHIC

The Civil Service Examination conducted by the Union Public Service Comission (UPSC) is not only to be IPS offcer. You can join various fields:

IFS

IAS

IRS etc.

Since you have shown interest in IPS exam. I am writing down eligibility and some tips for you.

Nationality:

Only Indian citizens are allowed to appear for IPS exam.

Age criteria:

The General category candidate should be between 21 to 30 years.

Candidates from Other Backward Classes (OBC) get 3 years relaxation in upper age limit.

While the SC/ST candidates get 5 years relaxation in the upper age limit.

Qualification:

Candidates who have completed graduation in any stream can appear for IPS exam.

Those who are in final year of graduation course may also appear in the exam.

The IPS Exam is divided into 3 parts:

The preliminary exam

The Main exam

Interview

PRELIMINARY EXAM:-

There are two objective type papers in the preliminary exam. One paper belongs to General Studies while other paper below to General Aptitude.

Only the candidates who clear the preliminary exam would be called to appear in the main exam.

MAIN EXAM:-

There are total of 9 papers in the main exam.

Paper 1. Indian Language - You will have to choose one language out of 22 given.

Paper 2. English Language

Paper 3. Essay in your preferred language

Paper 4 and Paper 5 are of general studies

For the remaining 4 papers you will have to choose 2 subjects on which you will have to give 2 papers per subject.
26th July 2012, 12:11 PM
roknits

Default Re: Which stream I have to take to become an IPS office

sir i am having a problem in choosing a stream .i dont understand that which stream i have to take to become an ips officer in future .
Which stream to choose for C.S.A.T ?
Most of the students or graduates seeking to make it through to crack civil services examination faces this problem which is very common for any student wishing to prepare for CSAT .Since this is the toughest Entrance exam in India as it is for the recruitment of Administrative officers like:
>>Indian Administrative services
>>Indian Foreign services
>>Indian police services

>>other top administrative positions too...

General perception while choosing subjects

Generally students think that one needs to take stream like Arts as it contains lots of subjects similr to the subjects in CSAT,and those ones are right to some extent.But I think that there are a lot of candidates (infact most of them are Engineering graduates) so,this seems to be wrong.so take the subjects in graduation depending on your interest But if you really want to become IPS officer one thing is that you need to have subjects of your interest .

subject combination

Generally the candidates are required to have 2 optional subjects for CSAT.But apart from that the subjects of graduation do helps a lot if you have interest in them .Also it is not necessary that you are required to choose graduation subjects as they will help you.NO there is nothing like that.The important thing to notice is that you need to choose subjects you think you can give better shot in CSAT with them..

so choose as per your interest.However i ha ve provided the list of optional subjects below...

The List of optional Subjects Are:

Agriculture
Animal Husbandry and Veterinary Science
Botany
Chemistry
Civil Engineering
Commerce
Economics
Electrical Engineering
Geography
Geology
Indian History
Law
Mathematics
Mechanical Engineering
Medical Science
Philosophy
Physics
Political Science
Psychology
Public Administration
Sociology
Statistics
Zoology

for any other information visit the official website of UPSC By CLICKING HERE

hope this helped

with regards
roknits
26th July 2012, 07:49 PM
gamble007

Friend,
you want to serve the nation, which is really appreciable,.
I would like to inform you, you can choose any stream as your interest.

The minimum educational requirement for appear in this UPSC exam is a graduation degree in any stream.
You must have to clear this civil service examination, conducted by the UPSC (UNION PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION), to become a IPS [INDIAN POLICE SERVICE], officer.

This civil service examination has three stages to be clear, in order to become a IPS officer,.
1. CSAT (CIVIL SERVICE ATTITUDE TEST)
2. MAINS
3. INTERVIEW ..

Exam pattern for CSAT-

Optional subjects for CSAT-

The age limit fore this examination is 21-30 years,.
There are 5 & 3 years of the age relaxations are applicable for the SC\ST & OBC CANDIDATES..

No. of attempts for CSAT-

4 for the GENERAL candidates,
7 for the OBC candidates,
No such restriction for the SC\ST candidates..

Thank you!!!
~gamble~
15th January 2017, 12:56 PM

Sir.. i just want to know i qualified 10th exams with percentage of 75% ..i decided to take arts stream so plxxx tell me which subjects i will choose in class 11th to vrack civil services...i want to be an ips officer
28th February 2017, 06:41 PM

Which subjects should I take up as an optional in the UPSC exam after completing my class 12 from commerce stream. Presently, I am studying in class 9 and I am aiming to be an IPS officer !!!!
15th December 2019, 02:29 PM

At present l am studying in 10th Std and it's my aim and dream to be an IPS so please guide me LG l take commerce stream which subject will help me for getting knowledge for IPS exam
15th January 2020, 02:46 PM

Which stream I choice in the 11class please tell me
5th February 2020, 06:40 PM

What percentage should I get to be a ips officer
1st March 2020, 09:52 PM

How long it will to become an ips officer in general?
14th October 2020, 11:09 AM

i have took pcmb after scoring 96% in 10 is it helpful to become ips officer