7th December 2011, 09:51 AM
Kuamrt

How to become an IPS Officer being a candidate having completed 10+2 with Science stream?

Sir I am Tarkeshwar i passed 10+2 with science stream. I am a middle student (not intellegent). I am I want ot become an IPS officer. My Date of Birth is 07/01/1987. Please guide me.

Thanks

7th December 2011, 12:54 PM
lvnareshsunrise
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: How to become an IPS Officer being a candidate having completed 10+2 with Science stream?

In order to become IPS Officer, you have to crack the civil services examination being conducted by UPSC (Union Public Service Commission) every year.

Here is the selection procedure to become an IPS Officer.
-CSAT (Civil Services Aptitude Test)
-Civil Services Main Examination
-Interview

Academic Qualification :
-One should have completed Graduation with any of the stream from a recognzied university.
-Candidates who have appeared for final year exams of Graduation and waiting for the results can also apply for this exam. But they should be able to submit the proof of passing Graduation in Interview.

Age criteria :
-One should be in the age group of 21-30 years to be eligible for this exam.
-Relaxation is there in upper age limit upto 3 years for the candidates of OBC cateogry and upto 5 years for the candidates of SC/ST category.

Number of attempts :
-The maximum number of attempts for the candidates of General category are 4.
-For the candidates of General categroy, the maximum number of attempts are 7.
-There is no limit on the number of attempts for this exam for the candidates of SC/ST category.

Being a candidate of 10+2 with Science stream, you are not eligible to apply for this exam now. But, you can appear for this exam in the final year of your Graduation.

So, I suggest you to choose the specialization whichever you are interested in your Graduation course and crack it well.