24th January 2011, 08:52 PM
hydroxy.lesnar

TCS or Infosys: Better company to work with?

placed in TCS recently
many say that you cant learn quickly in TCS and there is no hike in the salary even after 2 years of experience is it so? and which is best infosys or TCS

1. Job type after joining companies like Infosys, TCS etc after B.Tech?
  2. Is it possible for me to get the job in Infosys or TCS after completion of B.Tech Mechanical Engineering? -- [New]
  3. Am i eligible for Infosys and TCS with one year gap between Diploma and Degree?
  4. Need complete details about IT software companies? How does a Software company work?
  5. What is the qualification needed to work in TCS company?
  6. Is it possible to get placed in TCS, CTS or Infosys before completion of my mechanical engineering course?
  7. Can I get a job in Infosys, TCS, Wipro or any other IT company?
  8. Qualification required to work in TCS?
  9. When will I get the joining letter for TCS? Should I apply for another company like Infosys, Syntel and HCL?
  10. Eligibility to attend interview of TCS, Accenture and Infosys for a candidate who has 3 years of work experience in Virtusa?
  11. Should I look for other companies if selected in TCS? What will be my salary in any other company after 2 years of worked experience in TCS?
  12. Should I quite my job for TCS? Currently I am working in a small company and now I having TCS offer
  13. When I will get the joining letter from TCS after off-campus placement? Should I join TCS instead of looking for job in Infosys, Syntel and HCL?
  14. Is it beneficial to join Infosys if selected, being an employee of TCS?
  15. Should I join TCS or join other companies?
  16. Can I get job in TCS, Wipro Infotech, L&T Infotech, Accenture, IBM and Infosys if having 4 years of work experience in Syntel?
  17. What kind of job is offered in TCS to B.Tech fresher? Company profile of TCS?
  18. When will TCS call for the job?
25th January 2011, 11:58 AM
Salil_Sharma

Default Re: TCS or Infosys: Better company to work with?

It's better to not compare these two firms.
But answer regarding to your question would be Infosys is a much better option.
As after working with them you will learn a lot & your reputation is likely to increase by time in Infosys itself as well as Outside in Open-Market too.
TCS is a nice IT firm but still a lots needs to improve by it.
25th January 2011, 05:45 PM
Gaurav Pruthi

Wink Re: TCS or Infosys: Better company to work with?

Originally Posted by hydroxy.lesnar View Post
placed in TCS recently
many say that you cant learn quickly in TCS and there is no hike in the salary even after 2 years of experience is it so? and which is best infosys or TCS
If you want to continue in IT sector for more than 2 years Infi is a best option else TCS is the best(You will get enough time to prepare for smthing else you want to go for)
25th January 2011, 07:03 PM
maddusajj

hi...
both are very similar kind of companies and have almost the same market value,
but there are some changes in the work environment,
in the infosys the training is very tough and there is constant monitoring on the performance of the employees,were as in tcs the employees are not put to such strict monitoring,
also the pay of infosys is slightly higher than the tcs,
but when it comes to doing projects and other things both the companies are almost on equal footings
25th January 2011, 10:08 PM
deep_4

Post Re: TCS or Infosys: Better company to work with?

Tata Consultancy Services Vs Infosys.

See from my point of view Infy has good score if you take it into consideration From Training Point of View Infosys is miles apart from TCS.

Lets see some more points on Employee life's , renumeration and Also Infrastructure.

The first and foremost thing an employee looks for is work pressure. In this point you will rarely see people slogging in TCS i.e hard working in TCS.But You will find Infy without Slogging. No matter what facilities a company provides, if the workload is high, your life will be miserable. So, think twice or Thrice before joining some Company.

From Reenumeration point of view Infy have a well defined compensation policy. They have increments every year Or every Half year.But there is no processes as such in TCS. One good thing about TCS is their Variable pay is less compared to infy i.e. TCS gives what they promises but Infy may not. Infosys is a company that loves to make Employees pay tax. In a way, Infy is more patriotic. TCS is more practical and loves to be in the side of employees.

Well Come to Infrastructure point, Both are good in this field.
27th January 2011, 01:17 AM
edgeineervinay

Originally Posted by hydroxy.lesnar View Post
placed in TCS recently
not compareable
both are wonderful company.
both have developed a lot .
doing job in any of these would be a better option
31st January 2011, 11:48 PM
akshay101

Just Consider TCS has Least Attrition rate(employee leaving the company) whereas Infosys has highest attrition rate
2nd February 2011, 06:52 AM

Please dont join Infosys.
Attrition is at its PEAK...
Worst Policy ..its no more employeee oriented.
4th February 2011, 11:04 PM

i got placed in tcs.... in what way i can improve myself for the company and how is the training period in tcs..
4th February 2011, 11:10 PM

i got placed in tcs.. what kind of things i want to prepare for the training and how the training will be...? they had mentioned IS in my selection process after the apptitude round ..what it mean...?
8th February 2011, 12:36 AM

which company is better TCS or Intergraph?
8th February 2011, 09:50 AM

hi i think infy is a better option with the most renowned training.
8th February 2011, 08:49 PM

CAN I KNOW THE PACKAGE IN TATA MOTORS FOR FRESHERS????????????????
9th February 2011, 10:46 AM
ratalalavanya

I think INFOSYS will be the better option than TCS.....that too it will be good for cse or IT students
9th February 2011, 06:47 PM
pops07

both are the top companies of India....
both are equally good...
you have placed recently in TCS...
dont believe what others are saying...
now you are experiencing it, give yourself some time to settle.
9th February 2011, 06:49 PM
pops07

I would suggest you to go for TCS...............
12th February 2011, 02:25 AM

Which is better infosys or tcs???
19th February 2011, 09:35 PM
nitingoplani88

Both are best but if you consider job security than you should TCS..but If you once completed training period of infosys than your value>TCS employee of same experience.
because in infosys you will learn a lot
14th April 2011, 07:16 PM
chiranjeev90

hii,
both of them are best companies in india.
but TCS has JOB security and a student would love to work in a company as a freshser where job security is provide.
but infosys recruits many people on an initial basis but selects students on the basis of performance,u you perform good then only u can stay else u are fired.
so JOB security is not provided by INFOSYS.
7th May 2011, 10:26 PM

hi myself working in tcs in my point of view tcs is better and it depends on project what you are placed in.BUt in tcs work pressure is very low and you can have lots of time for your personal and carrer things and you can plan alot and it takes atleast 6 months to start your work so in mean while you can get grip over technologies.
19th July 2011, 08:02 AM
saranya hemanth

i got placed in tcs.... in what way i can improve myself for the company and how is the training period in tcs
20th July 2011, 02:50 PM

hi myself working in tcs in my point of view tcs is better and it depends on project what you are placed in.BUt in tcs work pressure is very low and you can have lots of time for your personal and carrer things and you can plan alot and it takes atleast 6 months to start your work so in mean while you can get grip over technologies.
i have bin selected for ITIS vertical....how is this project domain
21st July 2011, 08:11 PM

TCS is the best in all the sense....
TCS rocks......
8th August 2011, 09:23 PM

TCS is the best
8th August 2011, 11:00 PM
sg1991

TCS and Infosys both are highly reputated IT companies of India. But according to me Infosys is better because it pays a high package to its workers. Also it gives a lot of work to its employees. This way employees come to learn more and more.

Also Infosys gives more global exposure than TCS. So Infosys is better.
9th August 2011, 01:17 AM
sgsharadgupta

in tata motors the package is around 4.2 l.p.a for freshers
18th August 2011, 08:01 PM

as an electronics student,should i join tcs or infi in campus recruitment..?package is around 3 to 3.5 lacs p.a.
28th August 2011, 09:41 PM

You should join TCS.
31st August 2011, 12:23 PM

Ofcourse tcs....dude...as Tcs is now Fast growing company and morever is ?No 1 now in asia....
3rd September 2011, 03:47 AM
belide

Both are of same kind
it depends up on our interest
both offer same type of environment and are same through the amount offered or package.
6th September 2011, 07:00 PM
teeks

if you have good knowledge of the software development then you should join the INFOSYS is has better working environment and high growth of salary every year which you can not see TCS .but problem with the INFOSYS is that it makes there employee out if they are not passing the training papers with good marks the training period of the INFOSYS is very tough as compare to the TCS .but good point with TCS is that it never make there employee out of the company.and about work load both are equal.

so depends on your skill you can choose the company.if you are good in IT then choose INFOSYS otherwise TCS is better,.
ok all the best.
7th September 2011, 08:01 PM

TCS is d best....a relaxed n free workin environment n also job security..wat else u want frm d NO.1 IT service provider of Asia ??!!!!!!!
but Infosys on d othr hand is a jail for d freshers...u ll b put under a lotta pressure...
Also checkout d ATTRITION RATE of both d companies....dat ll definitely show u a big diff between both these companies...
so choose ur career wisely...!!!!!!!!!!
22nd September 2011, 11:54 PM

Is it like dat there is no chance for self development in TCS?And is it like that tcs will give only labour type work for its employees other then computer field(i.e. an employee from Electronics field)?? is it btrue that there is know chance to learn new things and apply your logic in TCS for freshers(bcz they give only labour type work to freshers?)
23rd September 2011, 09:03 PM
belide

both are good..
TCS is leading company in india followed by Infosys..
difference is Infosys contains training separetely for 6 months
where as TCS combines it with work..
you are a fresher in any company till 2 years..
you can choose any one..
26th September 2011, 11:23 AM
nagamalleswararaoyaramasu

my dear friend
here no one said compare of two companies
because two companies are better because there is a lot of growth will be there
but if you observed present situation tcs is better
so if yiu have interest to join in tcs than join
but there is a tuff procedure ti join tcs
so make a practice all previous tcs papers
4th October 2011, 05:44 PM
gamble007

TCS(TATA CONSULTANCY SERVICE)

AND

if you have good knowledge of the software development then you should join the INFOSYS is has better working environment and high growth of salary every year which you can not see TCS . IMFOSYS IS TOUGHER THAN tcs EXAMINATION.in the infosys the training is very tough and there is constant monitoring on the performance of the employees,were as in tcs the employees are not put to such strict monitoring,

so, INFOSYS is the better one...
8th October 2011, 01:20 AM

tcs is the best in buisness......
8th October 2011, 10:34 PM

infosys is better when come to learning aspect and salary.but in tcs there is no regular hike in salary eventhough experienced.
11th October 2011, 04:17 PM

tcs or siemens better company to work with .
12th October 2011, 05:20 PM

i have done my MBA in HR and currently have 9 months experience in IBM Bangalore earning 223000 PA. how much can i ask for in Infosys Mangalore interview?
29th October 2011, 06:54 AM

infosys is better when come to learning aspect and salary.but in tcs there is no regular hike in salary eventhough experienced.
I was placed in bothe the companies during my campus interviews but had decided to join Infy as it's joining date was before TCS. But finally cancelled my tickets and joined TCS as money was a constraint for me and I wanted to stay in my hometown ( Kolkata)
Now coming to the comparison.. both are equally good and bda. we can talk about reputation and all, but you should remember, TCS is still Asia's largest company-which Infy is not, n they have slipping for the last few years as far as their revenue growth is cocnerned.
And lastly, probably in Infy, merit is given more importance whereas in TCS, random allocations are made to projects after training. It might be that you barely scrapped through your ILP but still manage to get onsite within a year and also you might top it, and get a non technical project with no onsite whatsoever. Here Infy probably might score ahead of TCS. May be someone who actually had joined infy can throw more light on this.

But TCS has a very transparent slalry incrment policy contrary to what has been said here. The appraisal process might be a bit old fashioned and murky, but compensation structure is transparent and in the long run-the hikes are way more than that of Infy.
Finally it's your decision where you want to go. Don't go by others-as some will say TCS is good/bad, some will say Infy.
7th November 2011, 06:40 PM
VegaSridhar

Taking your question into account, we need to think from different directions.

1. Would you like to remain in software industry?

If you are going to be in software , then Infosys would be a better choice as it gives a lot of scope to learn things. The training period is very fruitful for freshers in Infosys. You can expect a very good career path from Infosys. even in future ifyou want o shift, the knowledge and experience you carry are better compared to TCS experince.

2. Would like to go fro higher studies like MBA or MS?

Again, if you are expecting yourself to go and study MS or MBA, you can join any company. Then I prefer TCS because the work load and pressure are less here compared to Infosys. You can have some cool period in TCS (Not completely).

3.Which company is giving joining date early?

In this case ,join the company which gives you early joining date so that you can start learning.

So I would like to say that think from different perspectives an take a decision.

All The Best

Vega Sridhar
15th November 2011, 08:21 PM

I am placed in INFOSYS n going to join next month...I jst wanted to know where i can see myself in two yrs after joining INFY n what is the salary that an infy guy must be having after 2 yrs in general....Training in INFY n den working for 1yr n den switching to other what package can i expect???
13th December 2011, 02:24 PM

How much salary for Senior project manager in ibm bangalore?
13th December 2011, 06:43 PM
neo-rocks

both are very similar kind of companies and have almost the same market value,
but there are some changes in the work environment,
in the infosys the training is very tough and there is constant monitoring on the performance of the employees,were as in tcs the employees are not put to such strict monitoring,
but when it comes to doing projects and other things both the companies are almost on equal footings

14th December 2011, 05:07 PM
pradosh998

hello friend..
If u want a comfort job then go for TCS....
If u want to learn then go for infosys........
15th December 2011, 08:21 PM
neo-rocks

From Reenumeration point of view Infy have a well defined compensation policy. They have increments every year Or every Half year.But there is no processes as such in TCS. One good thing about TCS is their Variable pay is less compared to infy i.e. TCS gives what they promises but Infy may not. Infosys is a company that loves to make Employees pay tax. In a way, Infy is more patriotic. TCS is more practical and loves to be in the side of employees.

16th December 2011, 12:24 AM
jacobs

TCS is always better

REASONS :

1.good salary
2.nice working environment
3.bearable work load
4.job security
5.job satisfaction

But you must have these eligibility criteria :

1.You must have minimum 60% marks
2.There should not be any pending backlogs
3.Maximum 2 years of study gap is allowed here
2nd January 2012, 07:40 AM
senthilkumarvm

Both are leading, big IT company and also providing good salary.

TCS is ranked at first place of indian IT company
infosys is next position
this position based on the company values in the market.

TCS take some government projects like passport process fully controlled by tcs
infosys now currently providing unique identification numbers to the indian people

so based on your area's of interest you can choose better company
25th January 2012, 12:30 AM

Hello,I joined as a fresher in TCS and completede 7 years,its not like a Government , but like a Bull..no one take any action if you need justice!
Everyone knows TCS takes cheap projects but Infosys always maintain Quality! In TCS..all animals are running together but in Infosys, all kinds of animal runs with their particular skill only.I mean,TCS doesnot take care of your skill but Infosys takes care.Because.Kauwa kabhi Hans nahi ban sakta!!!

You can Talk to me if you still need real time example!