26th August 2012, 12:50 PM

What are the steps to become an IPS officer?

What are the steps to become a i.p.s. Officer. What are the steps we have to do

26th August 2012, 02:57 PM
jayks

Default Re: What are the steps to become an IPS officer?

Hello Friend..

To become IPS officer,
you will need to apper in the civil service examination.
Civil Service examination is conducted every year by UPSC(union public service commission).

STEP-1 Eligibility
-The minimum educational qualification required to be eligible for this exam is a bachelor degree in any stream.
-The minimum eligible age for general candidate is 21 years and the maximum age limit is 30 years.
Relaxation of age for candidate belonging to OBC category is 3 years and for candidate belonging to SC/ST category is 5 years.

STEP-2 Candidate needs to face three phases of the examination.

1. Preliminary examination-conducted during the second half of may.
In the preliminary exam, you will have to write two papers.
-General studies
-Optional Paper

STEP-3 Select optional subject for the list of optional subject
Psychology,
Agriculture ,
Botany,
Commerce,
Economics,
Geography,
IndianHistory ,
Law,
Civil Engineering ,
Mathematics ,
Mechanical Engineering,
Medical Science,
Philosophy ,
Physics ,
Electrical Engineering ,
Political Science ,
Geology ,
Public Administration,
Sociology,
Animal Husbandry and Veterinary Science ,
Chemistry ,
Statistics .

After qualifying preliminary examination, you will need to appear for

STEP-4. Main examination- conducted during the month of oct/nov

In the main exam, you will have to appear for the following subjects

Modern Indian Language,
General English,
Essay,
General Studies and
optional subjects.

STEP-5. After successful performance in the main exam, you will be called for an interview.

All The Best..
26th August 2012, 03:39 PM
sherleytwain

To become IPS officer you would have to appear in the Civil Service Examination by the Union Public Service Comission (UPSC) which is held every year. In order to appear in IPS examination you are required to met certain requirements which I will be mentioning below.

First lets take a look at the responsibilities of Indian Police Service (IPS) officer. The responsibilities of IPS officer include maintaining law and order in his area of duty. He also gets the responsibility to provide security to VIP people including politicians, movie stars etc. IPS officer also plays a important rolein counter terrorism operations by leading or working with Border Security Force, CRPF etc.

Other areas of concerned for IPS officer include tackling trafficking of drugs, gold and humans. After gaining experience by working for several years IPS officers are also given option to work in security agencies like the NIA, R&AW, IB and CBI.

Eligibility

Firstly the candidate should be Indian citizen.

Education

You should have at least graduation degree in any stream from a recognised college to appear for the Civil Service Examination.

Age Criteria

The age limit is 21 to 30 years as on September 1 of examination year.

However upper age limit is extended by 3 years for OBC and 5 years for SC/ST.

Number of Attempts

General students get 4 attempts to clear the IPS exam.

OBC students have 7 chances.

There is no limit for SC/ST candidates.

Physical Requirements

Before applying for the IPS exam, make sure that you are meeting all the physical requirements for the IPS officer job.

Height:

Male - 165 cm for General and 160 cm for Schedule Tribe

Female - 150cm for General and 145cm for Schedule Tribe.

Please note that the relaxation in height is only for ST candidates. It does not include SC and OBC.

Chest

Male - Minimum 84 cm. Expansion 5 cm.

Female - Minimum 79 cm expansion 5 cm.

Eye sight

6/6 or 6/9 distant vision for good eye.

6/12 or 6/9 for worst eye.

You should have problems like color blindness and night blindness. Such candidates would be rejected.

Exam Patter

There are two stages of IPS Exam

1) Preliminary Exam

2) Main Examination
26th August 2012, 03:42 PM
incredibleshub

I think You are Interested to become IPS Officer and to become IPS Officer, you have to apply for the UPSC Civil services examination. This examination is conducted by UPSC Every year and the Notification of this examination will be Published in the employment Newspaper or in the UPSC Website in the month of February.

Procedure to become IPS Officer :

~~ To become IPS Officer, you have to complete your Graduate degree course in any discipline from a recognised University.

~~ Final year appearing candidates are also apply for this examination

~~ Your age should between 21 to 30 years, Upper age relaxation is applicable for SC/ST/OBC Candidates.

~~ There is no Minimum percentage is required to apply for Civil Services examination.

The examination is Conducted in 2 stages : Preliminary examination and Main examination. Firstly you have to cracked the Preliminary examination and there are 2 papers in this examination and both are Objective and those who cracked this examination are eligible for Main examination. Main examination is Descriptive and you have to choose the Optional Subjects for Main examination on the basis of your Graduation.

The Notification of civil services examination will be Published in the month of February. For this year examination Notification was already Published and the last date of apply for the examination was already Over.

For this year examination will be conducted soon on 20/May/2012.

So, If you have completed your Graduation and your age should between 21 to 30 years, then you are eligible for Civil services examination.

So, please prepared well for this examination as per the pattern and syllabus, only then you will be able to cracked this examination. You have to cracked this examination within the given limits and if you have not cracked this examination within the given limits then you cant apply for this examination in future.

Number of Attempts :
----------------------

~~ For General candidates : 4 Attempts
~~ For OBC Candidates : 7 Attempts
~~ For SC/ST : No Limits

Preliminary Examination Pattern :
---------------------------------

26th August 2012, 04:04 PM
i am sure

To become IPS (Indian police service)

You need graduation degree in any stream from recognized university.

AGE limit

you should between 19 to 25 years.

candidate of india

ATTEMPS-

General candidate attempt for IPS 4 times obc 7 times $ SC/ST -no limit

For good preparing you can join coaching-

SRIRAM'S IAS
A-5, 2nd Floor, Raj Tower, Behind Batra Cinema, Mukherjee Nagar,
New Delhi
011 2582 5591

Chronicle IAS Coaching
2nd floor, 18/4, Old Rajendra Nagar, Near Karol Bagh Metro Station
New Delhi

CAAS
92 F, 3rd Floor, Hanuman Mandir Market, 110067
Munirka, New Delhi
011 26107750

Ujjwal IAS Academy
B-18, Top Floor, Satija House
Dr Mukherjee Nagar, New Delhi

Vision India IAS Study Circle
25/24, 2nd Floor
Old Rajender Nagar, New Delhi
011 45615533
26th August 2012, 05:21 PM
yogesh8955347778

To become IPS officer you would have to appear in the Civil Service Examination by the Union Public Service Comission (UPSC) which is held every year. In order to appear in IPS examination you are required to met certain requirements which I will be mentioning below.
First lets take a look at the responsibilities of Indian Police Service (IPS) officer. The responsibilities of IPS officer include maintaining law and order in his area of duty. He also gets the responsibility to provide security to VIP people including politicians, movie stars etc. IPS officer also plays a important rolein counter terrorism operations by leading or working with Border Security Force, CRPF etc.
Other areas of concerned for IPS officer include tackling trafficking of drugs, gold and humans. After gaining experience by working for several years IPS officers are also given option to work in security agencies like the NIA, R&AW, IB and CBI.
Eligibility
Firstly the candidate should be Indian citizen.
Education
You should have at least graduation degree in any stream from a recognised college to appear for the Civil Service Examination.
Age Criteria
The age limit is 21 to 30 years as on September 1 of examination year.
However upper age limit is extended by 3 years for OBC and 5 years for SC/ST.
Number of Attempts
General students get 4 attemts to clear the IPS exam.
Physical Requirements
Before applying for the IPS exam, make sure that you are meeting all the physical requirements for the IPS officer job.
Height:
Chest
Eye sight
You should have problems like color blindness and night blindness. Such candidates would be rejected.
Exam Patter
There are two stages of IPS Exam
1) Preliminary Exam
2) Main Examination
Reply With Quote Multi-Quote This Message Quick reply to this message
26th August 2012, 06:09 PM
sunilpati

Hi dear.............
As you are interested to became IPS officer for this you have to apply for Civil Service Exam which is held once in a year through UPSC .

Eligibility criteria for IPS officer:--

*The candidates should be a graduate in any discipline from a recognize university .
*The age limit is 21 - 30 yrs.
*There is a relaxation for age limit for SC/ST & OBC candidates.
*The candidates should be a citizen of India.
*The number of attempt .
General - 4 times .
SC/ST - Unlimited.
OBC - 7 times.

Physical details .....

For more details visit official website of UPSC.
http://www.upsc.gov.in

good luck..........
31st August 2012, 12:24 AM
prince raj1

hi..
To become IPS officer,
you will need to appear in the civil service examination.
Number of Attempts=
General students get 4 attempts to clear the IPS exam.
Your age should between 21 to 30 years, Upper age relaxation is applicable for SC/ST/OBC Candidates. There is no Minimum percentage is required to apply for Civil Services examination. you should between 19 to 25 years.
Candidate of India.
Height:
Chest
31st August 2012, 08:31 AM
sumitjha14u

hello dear,
to become an IPS officer you should have yo qualify graduation degree.
your age limit will be
for general 21-30 year and only 4 attemp
for obc 21-33 year and only 7 attemp
for sc/st 21-35 year and no limit of attemp

for physicall requriment

for Male - 165 cm
for Female - 150cm

Chest
Male - Minimum 84 cm.
Female - Minimum 79cm.

Eye sight

31st August 2012, 12:57 PM
tash1907

Hi Friend.........

** If you are interested in IPS Services,

** first you can appear the Civil Examination

** This Examination is conducted by Union Public Service Commission

Eligibility Criteria for IPS : -

Educational Qualification :

** You must have a bachelor of degree in any stream from a recognized university

Age Limit : -

** Your age between 21 to 30 years and age relaxation for SC/ST/OBC

For SC/ST's 5 years

For OBC 3 years

Nationality : -

Should be a citizen of india
31st August 2012, 02:55 PM
josh98

IPS stands for Indian Police Service. This exam conducted by the upsc once in a year.

SELECTION PROCEDURE:

Civil Service Aptitude Test

Preliminary Exam

Main Exam

Personal Interview

The candidate should be citizen of india.

Age limit is 21 to 30 years.

3 years age relaxation for obc and 5 years from sc/st candidates.

You should complete the graduation from any recognized university.

Both male and female candidates are eligible.

You should physically fit.

Optional Subjects for IPS exam:

Agriculture

Mechanical Engineering

Medical Science

physics

Chemistry

Mathematics

Statistics

Animal Husbandry and veterinary Science

political Science

Public Adminstration and International Relations

Geology

Geographic

Zoology

Botany

Commerce

Economics

Accountancy

Law

Psychology

Philosophy

Civil Engineering

Electrical Engineering

for more details visit the website

www.upsc.gov.in

31st August 2012, 04:06 PM
drjeet

Hello friend.

IPS stands for Indian Police service ..

>> To become IPS Officer you have to qualify Eligibility Criteria.

Eligibility Criteria :

>> You should be Graduate in any Discipline through recognized University of India.

>> You must be an Indian.

>> Age limit is 21 to 30 years.

>> there is relaxation for Reserved category:
  • for OBC 3 years.
  • For SC/ST 5 years.

>> total No. of Attempts are : 4 for Open Category.

>> 7 for OBC category .

>> No Limit for SC/ST category.

# 3 steps of Examination.

1. Preliminary examination

2. Mains Examination

3. Personal Interview.

It is a civil service of india and all steps are conducted by UPSC govt. of India.

For more details please visit: www.upsc.gov.in

31st August 2012, 09:11 PM
nellipudi.santhoshkumar

hai,

IPS (Indian Police Service)

*The Candidate should be citizen of India

*The Candidate should be complete the graduation from any recognized University

*The Candidate age should be between 21 to 30 years

*3 years age relaxation for OBC Candidates

*5 years age relaxation for SC/ST Candidates

*Male and Female Candidates are Eligible for this exam

Selection Process:

*Main Exam

*Personal Interview

*Preliminary Exam

Optional Subjects for IPS Exam:

*Mathematics

*Mechanical Engineering

*Statistics

*Political Science

*Public Administration and International Relations

*Agriculture

*Geology

*Geographic

*Civil Engineering

*Electrical Engineering

all the best..
9th January 2013, 02:24 PM

how many subject we have to chose in main exam?
20th April 2013, 09:21 PM
rch91

To become an IPS officer one has to follow the below given steps:

Step 1
As a first step the aspirant has to procure the Application form along with Information brochure from any of the Head post offices or Post offices spread throughout the country and sent the filled application form to:

The Secretary
Union Public Service commission
Dholpur House
New Delhi-110011

Step 2
In the month of may or june the aspirant have to take preliminary exam consisting of two papers.

Paper 1:
Paper 1 includes the following subjects:
  • Current events of national and international importance
  • History of India and Indian national movement
  • Indian and World Geography- physical, social, economic geography of India
and the world.
  • indian polity and governance- constitution, political system, panchayati raj,
public policy etc.
  • General science
  • General issues on environmental ecology, bio-diversity and climate change
that do not require subject specialization.

Paper 2
Paper 2 includes following:
  • Comprehension
  • interpersonal skills including communication skills
  • Logical reasoning and analytical ability
  • Decision making and problem solving
  • General mental ability
  • Basic numeracy , Data interpretation.
  • English language comprehension.

The optional subject for the second paper may be chosen from the following given subjects:
  1. Agriculture
  2. Animal Husbandry and veterinary
  3. Botany
  4. Chemistry
  5. Civil engineering
  6. Commerce
  7. Economics
  8. Electrical engineering
  9. Geography
  10. Geology
  11. Indian history
  12. Law
  13. Mathematics
  14. Mechanical engineering
  15. Philosophy
  16. Physics
  17. Political science
  18. Phsychology
  19. Public administration
  20. Sociology
  21. Statistics
  22. Zoology

Both paper 1 and paper 2 constitute 200 marks each.

Step 3

Those candidates who are declared qualified in pre-eliminary exam are supposed to take the final exam held in month of October having following papers:

• 1 essay type indian language qualifying paper of 300 marks
  • 1 english qualifying paper of 300 marks
  • 1 general essay type paper of 200 marks
  • 2 general studies papers of 300 marks
  • 4 optional subjects papers of 300 marks

Step 4

Final stage after exam is interveiw.The aspirants are grilled in interview to test their personality and mental ability.

Hope my answer would have provide you relevant information
Thankyou.
27th June 2013, 02:40 PM
Vamshi.Kothari

STEP-1 Eligibility
-The minimum educational qualification required to be eligible for this exam is a bachelor degree in any stream.
-The minimum eligible age for general candidate is 21 years and the maximum age limit is 30 years.
Relaxation of age for candidate belonging to OBC category is 3 years and for candidate belonging to SC/ST category is 5 years.

STEP-2 Candidate needs to face three phases of the examination.

1. Preliminary examination-conducted during the second half of may.
-General studies
-Optional Paper

After qualifying preliminary examination, you will need to appear for

STEP-4. Main examination- conducted during the month of oct/nov

In the main exam, you will have to appear for the following subjects

Modern Indian Language,
General English,
Essay,
General Studies and
optional subjects.

STEP-5. After successful performance in the main exam, you will be called for an interview.

27th June 2013, 09:35 PM
saswat1989

As you are interested to became IPS officer for this you have to apply for Civil Service Exam which is held once in a year through UPSC .

*The candidates should be a graduate in any discipline from a recognize university .
*The number of attempt .
General - 4 times .
SC/ST - Unlimited.
OBC - 7 times.
27th June 2013, 09:37 PM
saswat1989

*The number of attempt .
General - 4 times .
SC/ST - Unlimited.
OBC - 7 times.
27th June 2013, 09:39 PM
saswat1989

*The number of attempt .
General - 4 times .
SC/ST - Unlimited.
OBC - 7 times.

27th June 2013, 11:13 PM
intex23

Some are the steps to become an IPS officer,

1.You must have graduate in any discipline from a recognize university
2.Your age should be 21 to 30 yrs
3.5 years age relaxation for SC/ST Candidates
4.You should be a citizen of India.

Best of luck....
28th June 2013, 01:56 AM
saswat1989

Firstly, you have to appear in the Civil Service Examination by the Union Public Service Comission (UPSC) which is held every year. In order to appear in IPS examination you are required to met certain requirements which I will be mentioning below.

Preliminary examination-conducted during the second half of may.
-General studies
-Optional Paper

After qualifying preliminary examination, you will need to appear for the main exam.

Hope this is helpful.
28th June 2013, 12:16 PM
SK@S

To become an IPS officer, you have to appear in the UPSC Civil Services Exams

UPSC Civil Services Exams are held in three stages:
Prelims
MAINS
Interview

You have to clear all the three stages

Minimum eligibilty to apply for the UPSC Civil Services exams is:

Education: Graduation pass in any stream from a recognized university
No minimum percentage of marks is required in Graduation

Age- Minimum 21 years
Maximum 30 years
OBC can apply till 33 years
SC/ST can apply till 35 years

Attempts/Chances: UPSC has also fixed number of attempts
General- 4 times
OBC-7 times
SC/ST-No Restrictions
19th August 2013, 11:10 AM
infoysis

To become a IPS Officer then you have to participate in IPS Entrance Examination which is organized by Union Public Service Commission for every Once in a year.

IPS stands for Indian Police Service and It's under the Civil Service Examination.

Notification and Information regarding this Entrance Examination released in Official website of UPSC and also Published in Employment news paper.

You may apply for this Entrance Examination in Online Mode by Visiting the official website of UPSC.

You can participate in IPS Entrance Examination by Complete graduation course in any discipline from recognized university.

So, If you have completed graduation then you're eligible to apply for IPS Entrance Examination.

No Percentage of marks required for this Entrance Examination. The Applicant who got Cleared all subjects with pass marks are eligible to apply for this Entrance Examination.

Age of the applicant should be minimum 21 years and Maximum 30 years and upper age relaxation will be given for sc/st candidates and obc candidates.

Physical Standard is very mandatory to apply for IPS Officer Entrance Examination. So, you should be Physically as well as mentally fit to appear in this Entrance Examination.

So, I suggest you to appearing Civil Service Entrance Examination to become a IPS Officer.
20th August 2013, 12:44 PM
Shaenma

IPS Exam Eligibility Criteria:-

One of the most prestigious civil service exam of India is IPS. Its full form is Indian Police Service. This examination is conducted by the Union Public Service Commission. You will be allotted to the IPS depending on your preferences and the rank you secure.

The selection procedure of IPS along with other civil service exam like IAS and IFS are also equal. There are two stages basically which one needs to cross. They are the Preliminary Stage and the Main Examination.

The preliminary stage or the qualifying exam is basically a written test which consists of two compulsory papers and 400 marks have been allotted for this exam. This exam is mainly conducted to filter candidates for the Main Examination.

The Main Examination consists of two sub stages:- Written Examination and Interview Session. The final decision will be purely on the basis of the marks you score in these two stages. To the final score the marks of prelim exam wont be added.

In order to give the exam not only you have to be a citizen of India but along with that you also need to be a graduate in any discipline of your choice from a recognized university. This exam is also open to the final year candidates.

When applying for this exam your age should not be less than 21 years as that is the lower age limit for giving this exam. On the other hand the age should not exceed the upper age limit of 30 years also. There is however age relaxation available for the reserved category candidates.

Physical Requirements:-
  • Minimum height of 165 cm for Men and 150 cm for Women.
  • In the case of candidates belonging to ST and to races such as Gorkhas, Garhwalias etc the height can be relaxed by both 5 cm.
  • Min Chest girth fully expanded: 84 cm for Men and 79 cm for Women.
  • Total amount of Myopia should not exceed minus 4.00 D and total amount of Hypermetropia should not exceed plus 4.00 D.
Hope this helps :-> :->
21st August 2013, 04:49 PM
anshu85277

ips stands for indian police service, its exam is conducted under civil services by upsc ,

eligibility for ips :

must be a citizen of india
must hold a graduation degree from a recognized college
final year students can also apply for it
age limit should be between 21 to 30 years
3 years relaxation for obc candidates
5 year relaxation for sc/st students

no of attempts allowed:
general- 4 attempt
obc- 7 attempt
sc/st- unlimited

physical standards

height for male is 165 cm and female is 150 cm
relaxation for reserved as per govt rules
chest for male is 84 and for women is 79 (expanded)

selection procedure:
prelims
mains
interview

12th July 2015, 08:31 PM

without graduation and pass 12th class student ips examination are clear yes and no
17th March 2019, 12:07 PM

Sar my name is M.saikumar sar how many marks need to qualified in ips (prilmes, main exams marks how many marks need Plz replay with me