30th July 2016, 07:44 PM
Unregistered

Can I appear in Indian Forest Service exam after B.Sc Forestry? Other subjects should I study for Indian Forest Service exam?

Hello sir, I am studying B.Sc Forestry and after completion of my graduation I want to apply for Indian Forest Service exam because my course is related to forestry. Please provide me full detail about IFS exam and which extra subjects should I study?

Related Questions:
31st July 2016, 03:40 PM
shrivastava_aman
Senior Member+++

Default Re: Can I appear in Indian Forest Service exam after B.Sc Forestry? Other subjects should I study for Indian Forest Service exam?

The posts of IFoS are filled up through the civil services examination conducted by the UPSC.

According to the eligibility criteria released by the UPSC :

* The candidate should be a citizen of India.

* The candidate should have completed graduation through any stream under the scheme of 10+2+3 at least form a recognized university.

* The candidate should be of 21 years at least at the time of application.

* The candidate should be physically and medically fit.

So, no matter which graduation degree you pursue, you will be eligible for the CSE.

Being a Forestry Student, you will have a great benefit in the interview. And also you will find it easy in choosing the optional subjects. You have to choose 2 optional subjects for the mains exam one of which may be Forestry for you.
31st July 2016, 09:02 PM
Effort Never Dies
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: Can I appear in Indian Forest Service exam after B.Sc Forestry? Other subjects should I study for Indian Forest Service exam?

Yes, you are eligible to appear in Indian Forest Service Examination.

Eligibility Criteria for Indian Forest Service Exam:

>> Candidates who have completed Graduation in following streams are eligible to apply for IFS Exam.
** Forestry
** Agriculture
** Engineering
** Animal Husbandry
** Veterinary Science
** Botany
** Chemistry
** Zoology
** Geology