12th March 2015, 07:36 PM
Unregistered

How to crack IES in first attempt balancing academic studies?

How to plan for IES ? I am studying 3rd btech mechanical .how to crack IES in first attempt by equally balancing academic studies? please give a solution and plan .I am confused and worried .I still not yet started preparation for IES .i worried about becoming an IES officer in the first attempt.

20th March 2015, 08:14 AM
palugulavenumadhav
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: How to crack IES in first attempt balancing academic studies?

IES - Indian Engineering Service exam is conducted by Union Public Service Commission (UPSC).

PREPARATION TIPS :

* Refer to the General English books to get the clear concept on Words, Parts of Speech and Tenses.

* Develop the habit of reading Newspapers daily in order to increase the vocabulary.

* To prepare for General Knowledge, read Newspapers and Magazines to know the happenings in and around the world.

* Refer to GK books as many as possible.

* The preparation should be such that not a single topic is left out.

* Make a routine and stick to it.

* Refer to Previous question papers as it will give you a idea to expect the questions in exam.

* Practice more number of Mock test to improve Time management and to get idea about the pattern.

* Handwriting should be legible and it should be neat because there will be 5% marks for writing.

* As Negative marking is there, answer should be chosen carefully.

BOOKS :

* R S Agarwal - General Studies.

* Chronicles Magazine.

* GK publication.

* PK Nag, Cengel and Boles for Engineering subject.
20th March 2015, 11:30 PM
aashisranjan784
Senior Member+++++

IES stands for the Indian Engineering Services or Indian Economic Services. For both entrance exams are conducted by the Union Public Service Commission.

You have not clearly mentioned the exam in query. Here, I am giving you preparation strategy for considering Indian Engineering Services.