23rd July 2015, 01:51 AM
Unregistered

What is the eligibility criteria asked for IES exam and in government sector jobs?

hey...

I did my graduation with 56% aggregate in mechanical engineering and want to start preparing for I.e.s exam..I am a general category student..just having some goosebumps about the % of marks I am carrying...will it effect me in future if I crack I.e.s exam?or if I need job in any government companies?however my last semester results is not out yet...is it necessary to get 1st class in last year? if I am applying in government sector or in I.e.s exam?what are the criteria?do I have any future in government sector or after I.e.s exam?

23rd July 2015, 06:21 PM
ajayrocks007
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: What is the eligibility criteria asked for IES exam and in government sector jobs?

For UPSC engineering services exam there is no such percentage criteria and you just need a degree to become eligible for this exam. You have mechanical engineering degree which is fine for this exam. Just make sure that you have done it from a recognized institute.

Also, age should be between 19 to 30 years if you are general category candidate. The selection is purely based on the marks obtained in the written exam interview.
23rd July 2015, 07:04 PM
jagrity7
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: What is the eligibility criteria asked for IES exam and in government sector jobs?

Yes,you are eligible to apply for IES exam . There is no restriction regarding percentage of marks to be secured in Bachelor's degree to apply for IES exam .

IES stands for Indian Engineering Services.

UPSC(Union Public Service Commission) conducts IES exam every year.

The eligibility criteria to apply for the IES exam are following:-

-The candidate must be an Indian.

-The candidate must have completed a Bachelor's degree in Engineering(B.E./B.Tech) from a recognized university or equivalent.