2nd March 2018, 01:23 AM
Unregistered

Steps to join PhD in Oceanography for 12th Science student?

Hello, I am studying in 12th standard with Science. I have already planned about my future. In future I want to do research on Oceanography. So, for this I want to join PhD course in Oceanography. So, from now you help me to show the path for achieving my aim. Kindly tell me the steps.

15th March 2018, 05:10 PM
Ishaquekhan
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: Steps to join PhD in Oceanography for 12th Science student?

In order to do Research in Oceanography after the completion of class 12th, you must have to opt for B.Tech degree course in Marine Engineering. Then go for Masters degree either in Marine Engineering or in Oceanography.
Once you complete your M.Tech or M.E in the above mentioned fields with a minimum of 55% of marks in it, you can very much apply for the Ph.D course in Oceanography.
15th March 2018, 06:24 PM
shahi jee
Senior Member+++++

After completion of 12th, you have to do Bachelor's degree in relevant field with at least 50% marks. After that you have to do Master's degree with at least 50% marks then you will be eligible for pursuing PhD in Oceanography.

All the Bachelor's degree and Master's degree are from any recognized university/institute.
15th March 2018, 06:32 PM
Doctor Tom
Senior Member+++++

Just after passing your 12th with science you are not eligible to pursue PhD in oceanography because to pursue PhD you must have to complete your degree and then post graduation. After passing your post graduation in the same field you can apply for PhD course but for that you have to qualify the entrance test.
15th March 2018, 07:01 PM
ajayrocks007
Senior Member+++++

You need to first have a masters degree in the concerned stream with at least 55% marks, to become eligible for Ph.D admission. At present you have class 12th qualification, which is not enough.