Government Colleges for Ph. D in Hospital Administration

Hospital Administration is the management of hospital and a business. The administration of hospital is done by health and medical service managers otherwise called as health care administrators and health care executives. Administrations range in size and the responsibilities of administrators depend on the size of administration.

Nowadays, the number of medical professionals going for a PG in hospital administration is increasing and many of them also wish to do their Ph. D after successful completion of their PG course in hospital administration after their MBBS. In India, Ph. D in Hospital Administration is being offered by only a single college and it is government college named:

All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi

About All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi:

All India Institute of Medical Sciences is shortly called as AIIMS and this is an autonomous institution that came into existence as an institution for medical education in the year 1956. The institution is currently working under the guidance of Health and Family Welfare ministry of Indian Government and many health care professionals have so far been produced by the institution.

Hospital Administration department in AIIMS:

Ph. D in Hospital Administration course is offered by the Department of Hospital Administration, which is the pioneering department to be the first to start a PG degree in hospital administration. The department was introduced by the AIIMS in the year 1962 and right from its inception, the department has been emerging as a centre of excellence in research, training and teaching in the field of hospital management and administration. This department of AIIMS offers a number of courses like:

Ph. D in Hospital Administration

Healthcare Executives Management Development Programme

Continuing Medical Education Programme

Training to Foreign Nationals and WHO Fellows

Long Term Training – 6 months to two years

Short Term Training – up to a period of six months

About Ph. D in Hospital Administration course:

The course begins immediately after registration by the candidate with AIIMS and ends only when he/she submits theses, however this period is subject to a maximum of five years. The course prepares the medical professionals in effective management of the overall administrative functions of the hospital.

Eligibility for seeking admission to Ph. D Course in Hospital Administration:

Candidates must possess any of the qualifications mentioned below for applying to the Ph. D Course in Hospital Administration with AIIMS:

At the first instant they must be MBBS degree holders

After completion of their MBBS course, they must have done their PG course in hospital administration

Admission to Ph. D in Hospital Administration:

Like other Ph. D courses offered by AIIMS, admission of students to the Ph. D in Hospital Administration is also done based on the merit secured by candidates in the Ph. D Entrance Examination conducted by the AIIMS, which is conducted for the purpose of judging the eligibility of candidates in taking up Ph. D course in appropriate subjects.

Future scope after Ph. D in Hospital Administration:

Hospital Administration courses are being offered in India not only for medical professionals, but also for non-medical candidates it is offered as a specialization in MBA course by many prominent institutions. It was introduced as a specialization in MBA course mainly because of the high demand for efficient administrators in the hospitals. As compared to general candidates, when this course is taken up by medical professionals, it can add value to their medical skills by introducing them with the administrative skills that will be of great use for them in not only offering medical care, but also in taking care of the whole administrative functioning of their own hospitals.

8 Responses to “Government Colleges for Ph. D in Hospital Administration”

1. 8
    divya singh:

i hav completed b.sc in biotechnology and the m.ba in healthcare services nw want to pursue P.HD in near future i want to know which subject is suitable to to p.hd which will help me to boost up my professional growth

2. 7
    karthikeyan.M:

Im completed MBA Hospital administration i will join Ph.d Hospital administration what is the procedure to join there when they conducting entrance exam

3. 6

when the entrance exam for phd on hospital adm takes place?
    as i have done my mha from wbut, am i eligible for that crourse ?
    and interested to know about the fee structure also?

4. 5
    Henna:

What are the prospects for MBA (healthcare/hospital management) or MHA students for doing Ph. D in hospital administration? Is an MBBS degree absolutely necessarily? If so, please identify future prospects for those who have MBA or MHA in this field.

5. 4
    dr santosh kathare:

respected sir i have completed my BAMS degree from RGUHS Bangalore ..& my MHA from ICFAI TRIPURA ..im interested in doing my phd in hospital administration ,,can i apply at ur university if nt ple guide me ..

6. 3
    ruchi baghel:

MBA Healthcare krne k bad kya hm healthcare se ph.d kr skte h kya nd kis college se krna better h pls tell me colleges name..Thank u

7. 2
    Dr. Chandrakiran L S:

Respected Sir/ Madam
    I am intrested to know about the PhD programme in hospital Administration offered by your institution.
    my education qualification details are as follows
    post graduated in Masters in hospital Administration from Rajhiv gandhi institute of health sciences Karnataka
    under graduated in bachelor of Dental Surgery from Rajhiv gandhi institute of health sciences Karnataka.
    i also interested in further upgrading the knowledge fron your institution through the the PhD programe. hence i here by request you to kindly suggest me with the option for further progress.
    with warm regards
    dr.c kiran

8. 1
    tamsil ansari:

i want the list of the colleges which conducting the p.hd progrmmes in hospital administration and their admission criteria and fee structure and duratiuon of p.hd as well…