Government Colleges in Daman District, Diu & Daman


Daman district is one of the two districts in the union territory of the union territory of Daman and Diu the other being Diu District. The district is surrounded by the Arabian Sea to the West and by the Valsad District of the state of Gujarat on the southern, eastern and northern sides. The district is spread over an area of 72 square kilometers. The district is popular for it churches, Portuguese colonial architecture, beach and scenic beauty of twin cities of Moti-Daman and Nani-Daman. These twin cities lie in opposite directions across the Daman Ganga river and the district itself lies at the mouth of this river.

The chief occupation in this district is fishing and the city of Surat lies to the north of Daman District and the city of Mumbai is located at a distance of approximately 160 kms south of the district. The district of Daman has only a single Tehsil and the territory of the district is part of Diu and Daman Lok Sabha Constituency. The administrative district of Daman District is the city of Daman and it has 8 panchayats, 21 villages and a municipal constituency, which is common for Diu and Daman.

Education in the district of Daman:

When it comes to education in the district of Daman, it has 69 educational institutions, which includes primary, secondary and higher secondary schools. As far as higher education in this district is concerned, there are B. Ed college, Polytechnic College and Arts and science college in the district. Of these colleges, one arts, science and commerce college and one polytechnic college is functioning under the control of Government of Goa and the names and details regarding these colleges are given below:

Arts, Science & Commerce College:

Government College, Daman

Polytechnic College:

Government Polytechnic, Daman

Arts, Science & Commerce College:

Government College, Daman came into existence in the year 1966 and the college is affiliated to the Veer Narmad South Gujarat University located in Surat. This university granted temporary affiliation to the institution in the year 1966 and permanent affiliation in the year 1988. It also earned approval under sections 2 (f) and 12(b) of the UGC Act in the year 1966. The list of courses offered by the college is given below:

Bachelor of Arts

Bachelor of Commerce

Bachelor of Science

Science degree is offered in subjects like chemistry and mathematics, while arts is offered in principal subjects of English, Gujarati, Hindi, Political Science and Economics. Admission of students to these courses is based on the past merit secured by the students in the higher secondary examination.

Polytechnic College:

Government Polytechnic, Daman was established in the year 1989, it offers diploma course in various streams, and they are:

Diploma in Civil Engineering

Diploma in Information Technology

Diploma in Mechanical Engineering

These two government colleges in the district of Daman are functioning effectively in such a way that not only students from the UT of Diu and Daman, but also students from the nearby state of Gujarat can be benefitted from the best quality education.



Do you have any question? Please ask:

Questions will be answered on our Forum section