IIST Admission Test 2012
IIST is the short form for Indian Institute of Space Science and Technology, Asia’s first Institute of space science offering a wide range of courses for undergraduate, post graduate and PhD programmes focusing on space Technology, the science concerned with it and the various applications of it specifically.
It has a wonderful campus situated in a serene location called Valyamala, which is about 20 kms from the heart of Trivandrum, capital of Kerala. It’s apparently the greatest reputation among other institutes. It is a UGC approved deemed University offering an attractive Btech degree course in futuristic disciplines like Avionics, Aerospace Engineering and Physical Science related to Space. It offers placement opportunities to the B.Tech Students, primarily in the Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO) hence rewarding them with a healthy and secure profession which will absolutely do a whole lot of good to their future. B.Tech in IIST will be an amazing experience in an exotic campus with world class infrastructures and facilities and outstanding faculty who are highly qualified and apt for their job providing the very best to each and every student.
Each year the IIST offers admission, to aspirants, to their Under graduate programmes (Mainly B.Tech) via an admission test – the IIST Admission Test which gives them an opportunity to earn a bright future.
Structure of ISAT
Basically an objective type test which involves questions from
- Physics
- Mathematics
- Chemistry
There would most likely be some modifications this year. There would be 1 mark deductions for each wrong answer and the questions with more than one answer marked in it will be considered wrong.
Syllabus for ISAT
PHYSICS
- Units and Measurement
- Description of Motion in Two and Three Dimensions
- Laws of Motion
- Work, Energy and Power
- Gravitation
- Solids and Fluids
- Oscillations
- Waves
- Heat and Thermodynamics
- Transference of Heat
- Rotational Motion and Moment of Inertia
- Electrostatics
- Current Electricity
- Thermal and Chemical Effects of Currents
- Magnetic Effects of Currents
- Magnetostatics
- Electromagnetic Induction and Alternating Currents
- Ray Optics
- Wave Optics
- Electromagnetic Waves
- Electron and Photons
- Atoms, Molecules and Nuclei
- Solids and Semi-Conductors Devices
CHEMISTRY
- Some Basic Concepts
- States of Matter
- Atomic Structure
- Solutions
- Chemical Energetics and Thermodynamics
- Chemical Equilibrium
- Redox Reactions and Electrochemistry
- Rates of Chemical Reactions and Chemical Kinetics
- Surface Chemistry
- Chemical Families Periodic Properties
- Chemical Bonding and Molecular Structure
- Chemistry of Non-Metals - 1
- Chemistry of Non-metals-II
- Chemistry of Lighter Metals
- Heavy Metals
- Chemistry of Representative Elements
- Transition Metals Including Lanthanides
- Coordination Chemistry and Organo
- Metallics
- Nuclear Chemistry
- Purification and Characterisation of Organic Compound
- Some Basic Principles
- Hydrocarbons
- Organic Compound Containing Halogens
- Organic Compounds Containing Oxygen
- Organic Compounds Containing Nitrogen
- Bio Molecules and Biological
- Processes
- Chemistry In Action
- Environmental Chemistry
MATHEMATICS
- Sets, Relations and Functions
- Complex Numbers
- Matrices and Determinants
- Quadratic Equations
- Permutations and Combinations
- Mathematical Induction and Its Application
- Binomial Theorem and Its Applications
- Sequences and Series
- Differential Calculus
- Integral Calculus
- Differential Equations
- Two Dimensional Geometry
- Three Dimensional Geometry
- Vector Algebra
- Measures of Central Tendency and
- Dispersion
- Probability
- Trigonometry
- Statistics
In order to attend the ISAT, the candidates have to be certified passed in Higher Secondary Board Exam in the Science stream with atleast 70% overall score (60% for SC/ST) and should have Indian nationality. Only 156 seats are there for admission in IIST at present with 59 and 58 seats for Aerospace engineering and avionics respectively and the rest for Physical Science discipline. The age of the applicants should not be more than 25 years as on the year of admission.
How to Apply?
Online registration is required by the candidates for enabling them to attend the ISAT. For registering online, the candidates are to visit any of the sites given below:
- www.iist.ac.in/isat
- http://iist.isac.gov.in/iist
After registration, the next step is to submit their details in the online application form, for which the details will be made available in the website immediately after registration. Then the challan form (Fee remittal form) is to be downloaded and printed. The necessary details are to be provided in the form and 2 Xerox copies of the same should be taken. Then by using the form, pay the charged amount for the ISAT in any SBI or PNB branches. Finally, the institute copy of the Challan is to be delivered to the exam authorities in ISAT office by Speed post.
How to fill the Form?
The online registration is very simple but the candidates have to see to it that they haven’t made any mistakes or invalid entries in the form after they fill it and before they submit it. A rapid spell check should help the candidates rectify spelling mistakes if any. Then observe all your entries to see if all the necessary details are there in the form and no entry field is left unfilled. After making sure that everything in the form is how it should be and referring the instructions in the site, the candidates can submit the form. After that, the challan form which is very important is to be filled after printing it. There wouldn’t be much to fill up in this form and it should be easy. But be careful and attentive while filling it is a good idea though.
Important Dates (Tentative)
These dates should be of concern to the applicants.
Online Registration begins from: 2nd week of November, 2011
Last date of Online Registration: End of December, 2011
Last date for Fee Remittance : 1st week of January, 2012
Last date of receipt of Institute copy of Challan: Mid January, 2012
Date of ISAT :3rd week of April, 2012
Mind that the dates are tentative and are subject to change.
List of ISAT centers
The test centers will be in the following centers.
- Ahmedabad
- Banglore
- Bhubaneshwar
- Bhopal
- Calicut
- Chandigarh
- Chennai
- Dehra Dun
- Delhi
- Dispur
- Hyderabad
- Jaipur
- Jodhpur
- Kolkatta
- Lucknow
- Mumbai
- Nagpur
- Patna
- Port Blair
- Ranchi
- Trivandrum
- Varanasi
- Vishakhapatnam
Contact Address for the ISAT
- ISAT 2011 Office, The Chairman, ISAT, Indian Institute of Space Science and Technology, Valiamala PO, Thiruvananthapuram- 695547, Kerala.
- Helpline: 0471- 2568477, 2568478, and 2568479
- Fax: 0471-2568480
- Home Page: www.iist.ac.in
- Email: [email protected]
Colleges Accepting the ISAT score
Indian Institute of Space Science and Technology
Reference Books for ISAT
Use the following books wisely:
- Advanced Level Physics by Nelkon and Parker
- Concepts of Physics Vol I and II by H.C. Verma
- Problems in Physics by A.A Pinsky
- Aptitude Test Problems in Physics by S.S Krotov
- A collection of questions and Problems in Physics by L.A. Sena
- Elements of Dynamics Part I & II
- Dynamics of a Particle & of Rigid Bodies by S.L.Loney
- Physical Chemistry by P.Bahadur
- Organic Chemistry by Arihant Prakashan
- IIT Chemistry by O.P. Agarwal
- General Chemistry by Ebbing
- Physical Chemistry by P.W. Atkins
- Maths XI & XII by R.S. Agarwal
- Plane Trigonometry Part I and Co-ordinate Geometry by S.L.Loney
- Higher Algebra by Hall & Knight
- Co-ordinate Geometry by Dr. Gorakh Prasad
- Higher Algebra by Bernard & Child
- Algebra Made Easy by K.P. Basu
- A Problem Book in Mathematical Analysis by G.N. Berman
Coaching Centers for ISAT
- Brilliant Tutorials Pvt. Ltd.
- Excellent Institute
- T.I.M.E
- Zephyr
- Brilliant Study Centre
- Classic Academy
- FIITJEE
- Aakash Institute
- Base
- Resonance
- Career forum
- Engineers Study Circle
Study Plan
A good strategy devised to help make use of time efficiently and cover the syllabus completely will help the candidates have an edge in the exam. A lot of time should be spent training as preparation for the ISAT. It’ll be competitive. So having a rigorous practice is also a good idea. Besides, there are coaching centres that will help the candidates attain a higher level. But most of all, a calm, confident and dedicated mindset would be the greatest asset in such exams.
How and Where To Get the Results?
Look for the results here :http://www.iist.ac.in
Score Validity
ISAT scores will accepted for only a year.
- Indian Institute of Space Science and Technology (IIST)
- ISAT (IIST Admission Test) Eligibility Criterion
- Assistant Professor, Scientist/ Engineer ‘SE’, Computer System Administrator-Cum-manger and Reader (on Contract), Indian Institute of Space Science and Technology
- Courses and Admission procedure in IIST
- Courses and Admission Process in IIST
- Indian Institute of Space Science and Technology, Thiruvananthapuram
- Assistant Professor, Indian Institute of Space Science & Technology
- Assistant Professor, Reader, Indian Institute of Space Science & Technology
- MBA Colleges in Indore
- How to Prepare for ISAT?
- How to fill GATE forms?
- IIST Ph.D in Aerospace Engineering Entrance Exam 2012
- Prospects after doing B.Sc in Electronics
543 Responses to “IIST Admission Test 2012”
sir, i want to join as a scientist in ISRO and now i am studying 3r
b-tech ece what i have to do for is any need to do m tech
what exam to write and what branch to take in m-tech
i need previous year solved question papers and the scheme of question paper
Sir, from where I can get application form offline…..?? please reply me urgently….plz
sir, i am not able download the application form of IIST 2010, plz suggest me how to download application form.
sir, what is the minimum percentage required in XII class for iist
I just wanted to know about the last year’s paper
can u please help me
in whose faviour the iist form will be send…??????
how many questions will be there in ISAT-2010
While filling the application form,there is a column for application fee under the dd details.how much amount should be filled there??
sir,i am not able to apply online can you plz tell me the reason!
where the app. forms available. i m unable 2 apply the form by online.pls help me in my no. +918103521577
i want information broucher
may i get the site of iist
where iist regarding all information must b available
register
when is the last date for the registration?
i want to know is ISRO is conducting its own examination individually for 12th class students for admission in B.tech.
if yes or not please inform me immediately.
so i can take further steps.
sir,i have registered for isat entrance exam 2010. but i am not able to gain access to the main application form with the password you have sent me .
Sir, I have applied for registratin for ensuing entereance exam for under graduate cour4se.
For registration of application form I have yet not received pass word. please guide
is it impotant to qualify iit to give this examination(iist)?
how to submit iist form
My son has applied for JEE 2010.Is he able to take admission in IIST through JEE 2010 or he need to apply separately for IIST 2010.
is this the first time iist is conducting its own exam?
what is the cost of form of IISt,how much amount DD should i make
sir. I had cleard my 10+2 examination with 63% science stream in up bord 2009..Session…..m i eligible fr the iist entrance exam?
what is the last date to get form of entrance exam iist
i need previous year solved question papers and the scheme of question paper
iist entrance exam test 2010 application form site
I need previous question papers for iist
please send them to my email address
is there any entrance test other than IIT
I am appering 12th board exam in 2010. can i able to apper in IIST.
Sir i want to know that i m student of UP Board so may i join this course???
sir, I want to do career in theoretical physics so is i do study theoretical physics in there?please reply me …………… ……………………………..i waiting for answer thank you?????
i have got only 58% in 10 cbse board exam can write the entrance exam of iist in 2010
i have got only 58% in 10 cbse board exam can write the entrance exam of iist
what is the syllabus for IIST admission test ?
i am doing XII science kvs with Physics, Chemistry, Maths , english & computer.i will appear for IIT entrance exams this year. is i am eligible to apply for IIST B.E admission. Does your institute recognise kvs . Please Reply.
I need previous question papers for iist
Nidhin
last year question papers?
how many college of iist ?& where ?
what are the modes of payment of fee for ISAT-2010?
i’m in appearing student of std-12.i want to know how to take admissionin iist,isro 2010.
i’m in appearing student of std-12.i want to know how to take admission iist,isro.
Sir please tell me the whole syllbus for the exam iist
What profit would we get by IIST Exam?
PREVIOUS YEAR QUESTION PAPER OF IIST ENTRANCE
is it important 2 write iit to appear in iist?
what is the syllabus for the entance exam this year being conducted by iist
where in dehradun are the forms for iist available?
what is the criteria of filling the forms ?
how forms can be downloded or getting the forms ?
is it important to appear in IIT-JEE ? Iam only appearing in AIEEE ?
what is the syllabus for entrance examination ?
when will the application forms for iist entrance realise
?
How much annual fee is required (admission & hostel)?
How many branch are available in iist for B.Tech ?
Is it compulsory to pass IIT-JEE?
Upto what rank candidates of IIT-JEE were selected in IIST?
sir i am himanshu, i would like to know about eligbility critiera for examination how much marks we need to have in 10th and 12th.please reply
when will the admission forms come in the market?are the forms filled only online or else can be posted also? plz tell me the important dates regarding the admission.
what is the normal cut off criterion for iist obc’s candidates?
when the new form for 2010 will come and what will be the cost of the form
what is the minimum percentage or rank needed in ISAT 2010 to get admission in IIST.I am appearing for AIEEE.Is it compulsory to write IIT-JEE?
when the new form for 2010 will come and what will be the cost of the form.
where can i get the form .
pleasetell the course that will come in the examination.
where this examination will be held.
last date of submission.
please tell as sooon as possible
does the institute provide any courses for student intrested in electronics & communication ??..plz let me know..
what is eligiblity for writing exam isat2010
what is the syllabus
about entrance exam
is it same as iit exams or different
model question papers
Among the provided 3 B-tech courses , which would be most suitable for females students ???
from 2010 will the admissions be only through the iist exam or both iist and iit jee exam . What was the iit jee rank of the students admitted in iist 2009 . Will be helpful if it is on the web somewhere .
sir, from where shall i get iist entrace exam form and last date for sending application
IS THERE ANY OTHER WAY BY WHICH I CAN APPEAR FOR IIST EXAM OTHER THAN APPEARING FOR IIT JEE 2010??
application form of p.hd adv no.iist/18/11/09 dated 8/12/09 is not opening ,ihave done the D.D,please sir guide me
sir,what is the syllabus for iist.
what is thge registration fees of the application form of iist 2010?
Check this blog for latest update.
isat-iist.blogspot.com/
without appear in iit exam can I get admission in iist?
When is the entrance exam is being conducted for iist admission
where the iist form is avaibale in hydrebad
As i heard that there is a test for students who have completed intermediate by this academic year and a chance to study in isro and the total cost of study born by organisation and the student paid stiphend too.Is it correct or not, i want to know .
how much does it cost for the applicatoin?
i want to take admission in entrance exam 2010,what is the procedure for admission,last date and eligibility criyeria?
what is the procedure & syllabus for iist exam?
please give information about iist admission process whow can my doughter can take admission in entrance exam 2010
Can i know the age limit to appear for IIST entrance exam? I’m interested in doing B.Tech Physical Sciences. Please let me know the eligibility, age limit, score needed. Thank you.
sir. I had cleard my 10+2 examination with science stream in 2007..Session…..m i eligible fr the iist entrance exam?
i am appearing for IITJEE in 2010. do i have to write a separate entrance test for IIST? if so, can you please give me the necessary details?
today is dec 3rd and i am interested to give isat 2010.how should i apply?where will i get a form for applying to give the entrance exam?is it necessary to get atleast a rank in iit after giving iitjee?or is it just that we have to only give iitjee?
wgen and where is the test for admission to iist 2010 will be held.
what is the syllabus for the test. kindly furnish all the details
for seeking admission to the institute for my son who is writing
his 12th standard board exams under isc syllabus to be held
during march 2010
when will be the iist exam will be held?have they given any information about applications forms?
I want to have admission in IIST.I am trying my best to clear IIT-JEE exam.Now my question is that if i get selected in IIT-JEE extended list than there will be atleast 50000 more students who are also selected in IIT-JEE extented merit list than how will you select 150 students from 50000 student?Will there be any test from you also?If I get rank in IIT-JEE exam main list then shall I get direct admission in IIST?
Mt daughter is appearing for IIT Jee in 2010, how do I seek admission for her in IIST/BE in the year 2010, what the min. qualifications, admission calendar and criteria.
Pls help me in understanding that.
regards.
Is it correct that IIST is going to conduct its own entrance test.
sir i am preparing for class XII and i want to know that how much rank in iit jee is necessary for admission in iist for the jone of aerospace engineering.
sir/madem………
please tell the date of JRF examination;
I gave my higher secondary this year. I got 55% in PCM group but only 31% in maths . I am preparing for iit-jee next year. If i get selected in the main list am i eligibile to get admission for aerospace engineering in iist ?
this year iam doing my XI.i took comuter science group,includes(maths physics chemistry and computer science).i like to do B.E. aerospace engineering in your institute . what are the qualifications do you want.Is there any need to write IITJEE? or any other entance examination……..
I am presently persuing B.Tech in Aerospace Engg from University of Petroleum n Energy Studies Dehradun UK India, in 3rd year. I want to make my career in Space Applications field. So is there any course for post graduation in IIST which I can join after my B.tech n what are the requirements?? Please reply.
I saw in Hindu news paper that from 2010 onwards separate entrance exams will be conducted to join IIST. Is it true or not?
I am thinking to study BSC and MSC physics in IIST is it necessary to appear IIT entrance test for this course also. Is there any further additional options to study the course of BSC and MSC without appearing the entrance test.
what type of work in iist
My daughter is doing XII science from NIOS with Physics, Chemistry, Maths , english & computer. She will be appearing for IIT entrance exams this year. Is she eligible to apply for IIST B.E admission. Does your institute recognise NIOS Senior secondary exams. Please Reply.