MAT Eligibility Criteria

The Management Aptitude Test (MAT) is carried out for the admission of students into the Master of Business Administration (MBA) course. The scores of this exam can be used in other postgraduate management courses too. The exam is held by the Centre for Management Services, which is a unit of the All India Management Association (AIMA). This is a State level test.

Basic Eligibility for MAT

The requirements for MAT are cited below:

• Candidates need to have a graduate degree in any discipline. The certification must be from an institution that has an approval from the HRD Ministry, Government of India.
  • Students who are at waiting for their results are eligible to apply for the MAT too.
  • Aspirants can apply for this exam as many times as they wish. No restrictions are there for the number of time of participation.

Age Qualification for MAT

There is no age limit for a person to write the MAT exam. The aspirants must not be less than 21 years when they apply.

Application forms for the MAT exam

Aspirants can obtain the MAT admission form from any branch of the Bank of Baroda and the counter of the AIMA. The price of the form is Rs 1200/-. An alternative available for the students is to register online by way of the official website of the AIMA - www.aima-ind.org/matsep10. Before they do so, they will have to procure a DD of Rs 1050/-. This must be taken in the name of the All India Management Association. The third option available for aspirants is to register online through www.aima-ind.org. The fees can be paid by credit card.

Exam pattern

The MAT exam will have 200 questions with several choices. The exam has a duration of 2 ½ hours. The questions will be asked from topics like:

• Data Analysis and Sufficiency-40 questions
  • Indian and Global Environment-40 questions
  • Intelligence and Critical Reasoning-40 questions
  • Language Comprehension-40 questions
  • Mathematical Skills-40 questions

Eligibility for the Foreign Nationals/NRI/PIO for MAT

Aspirants of foreign origin can apply for the MAT exam too. They will require a valid passport in addition to a student visa. By fulfilling all the qualification requirements, students can appear for the exam.

48 Responses to “MAT Eligibility Criteria”

1. 48
    Gaurav pathak:

I passed my b com(pass) with 43% and I want do MBA can I able to give MAT exam ?

2. 47
    shabir:

Dear sir if i hv good parcentile in mat but may graduation % in below 50. Can i apply for mba

3. 46
    prajakta umakant joshi:

i have got 48% in 12th so can i apply for c mat

4. 45
    anita:

i have scored 48% mark in graduation.can i apply for mat?

5. 44
    jasprit:

Sir I have tree year gap in my graduation so I gave mat exam

6. 43
    Abhimanyu Singh:

sir, i have completed my b.com from smu with 60% marks am i eligible for cat/mat exams.i will be thankful to u for your guidance.

7. 42
    satabdee das:

sir, i want to knw what is the eligibility score for mat xam to get admission in du?

8. 41
    vivek jaiswal:

sir,i have scored 45% in b.sc. by taking economics .Is i am eligible for MAT.

9. 40
    Lokenath Mukherjee:

i am a persuing bba student from sikkim manipal university.i have completed my 10+2 in the year 2007,then i have joined my family business.in 2010 i have taken admission in bba,now i’m in 3rd year.65% till now i achived.i am 23years old.am i elligible for cat/mat?i will be glad if you send guide me.

10. 39
    swetha:

can an diploma in electronics and communication candidate is eligibile for mat exam…???

11. 38
    prakash singh:

can i apply for mat / cat exam 2012 after completing graduation with 46 % ?

12. 37
    siddhartha:

anyone not acheiving 40% in graduation can apply for MAT?

13. 36
    Tanmoy:

Hi i am Tanmoy. I wantd 2 appear for the MAT exam in the year 2012. So when should i register for the same. I am thinking for appearing in the may exam.

14. 35
    Dinesh kumar:

Sir,i scored 48% in graduation b.com and i want to join mba by loan finance..so am i eligible for the course?

15. 34
    girdhar baiswade:

i am doing BCA final year.am i eligible 2 appear the MAT Exam.
    sir plz plz rply.

16. 33
    sathish:

i completed B.C.A 2 yrs ( i studied diploma) . . . as i am eligible for MAT exam

17. 32
    uttam kumar sahu:

i am doing a correspondence course BBA final year.am i eligible 2 appear the MAT Exam.

18. 31
    spverma:

Ihave got 256 marks in mat exam.2011. what is the possiblity of addmition.

19. 30
    Pinky:

i have scored 49% in b.com, am i eligible for MAT exam which is held in May ??????????

20. 29
    Prashant:

I have scored 43.5% in Graduation, I just want to know if I am eligible for the MAT entrance exam.

Awaiting your response.

21. 28
    shaurav rawat:

hi, i have done 3 year diploma in hotel management am i eligible for mat exam

22. 27
    Vinoth:

sir send the next MAT exam date??????

23. 26
    ABINAYA:

hi, i am completed my btech degree with 6.6. cgpa. i scored 586 in sep mat 2011.. i belongs to St category.. wich college i get seat in tamilnadu colleges

24. 25
    Raj:

Sir i am completed my degree in distance education in andhra univercity.date of birth 15-6-1990.
    I am eligible to mat and cat or not? I want to join hospital management.

25. 24
    Kalyan Ghoshal:

I am in 6th sem of BBA.My final result will be declared by July, 2012. Can I appear in Feb, 2012 MAT?

26. 23
    meghna singh:

i have scored 42% in b.com in both 1st and 2nd year..will i be able to give the MAT exam?

27. 22
    UJJWAL MISHRA:

HOW MANY CUT OFF PERCENTAGE MUST TO APEAR IN MAT

28. 21
    jyotirmoy:

i have obtained 40%in B.A. am i eligible for MAT EXAM?

29. 20
    Rohit:

I am waiting for 5th semester supply result..!! m i eligible for MAT?

30. 19
    Moomin khan:

I have got 48% marks in B.A, Tell me am i eligible for MAT Test

31. 18
    Shikha:

I have finished my Bsc (hons) in hotel and restaurant management. my degree is not ugc recognized and is from Oxford Brookes University. I am eligible to appear for MAT.

32. 17
    riyaz:

I have appeared in B.sc can i apply for mat entrance

33. 16
    shweta singh:

i want to know about the minimum and maximum age required for appearing in mat. Please specify the age criteria only.

34. 15
    ekta:

i am 23 years old..graduated in arts stream..
    i have decided to give MAT exam..isn’t it too late?I have studied maths till 10th..
    and is it really tough for stundents form arts background to crack MAT?

35. 14
    shweta singh:

is there any age qualification for mat? at present i am of 19 yrs so am i eligible for mat 2011, december attempt or not?

36. 13
    Neeraj:

What is the eligibility criteria for mat. even the percentage of Graduation is calculated or just the degree is??

37. 12
    CHANDANI DATTANI:

I WANT TO KNOW THAT WHEN THIS EXAMINATION REGISTRATION WILL START N THE DATE OF EXAM
    THANK YOU
    I M WAITING FOR UR REPLY

38. 11
    SHRADDHA JAIN:

MY date of birth is 30-12-1990. Whether i am applicable for december mat?

39. 10
    Mo sarwar:

Sir my ggradutation is only 43.5,can i apply for mat

40. 9
    shudhanshu verma:

i got 48.50% in graduation so can i apply MAT & can i take admission in mat colleges

41. 8
    shweta kale:

I, Shweta Kale, completed my B.Com in March 2011 with 45.85% and belong to Nomadic Tribe category – (C ) class.Will I be eligible to take mat 11?Awaiting for your reply at the earliest so that I can book in the slots to take up mat exam.I request you to please look in to the above matter and do the needful at the earliest and oblige.

42. 7
    Vandana:

I hav passed my b.sc with 48%. Can i apply for MAT.

43. 6
    rohit:

what’s the age of candidate who can participate in maT EXAM

44. 5
    shashank:

please tell me whts the % eligibility in graduation for general category students

45. 4
    devender saini:

i have passed b.a from delhi university ( school of open learning) with 43%, i want know, can i apply to take a mat exam

46. 3
    DILIP KUMAR:

I am completed correspondance degree in B.E.(IICHE).am i ellageble for this exam.

47. 2
    pravin:

I have done PGDBM from Symbiosis College of Distance Learning in HR with First Div. Also, MSc in Telecommunication from CUSAT (Cochin University of Science & Technology) Distinction 75%.
    I want to do PhD in Management. I have experience of over 25 years in Management. Also, I’ve been in industry as Director & GM.
    Can you please guide me?
    Pravin

48. 1
    uzair khan:

i have an aggregate of 55% in B.Sc life sciences frm Delhi university. Am i eligible for CAT nd MAT..?? nd what are the other ntrance xams for admission in MBA ?