Need for pursuing MBA in Hospital Management

Master of Business Administration in Hospital Management is a good choice for those who are interested to pursue a career in health care sector. This course primarily focuses on the latest developments in medical care, treatment techniques and diagnostic equipments. It also includes the study of government regulations and health insurance. On successful completion of this course, one can get into an administrator job profile in hospitals, clinics and rehabilitation centers.

Why prefer MBA in Hospital Management

While looking for a course which focuses on hospital administration, one can find several postgraduate courses like Master of Hospital Administration, Master in Hospital Management and Post Graduate Diploma in Hospital and Health Care Management. All these courses are intended for the candidates who have a strong desire to get into support functions in the health care field. But MBA in Hospital Management course is for the candidates having prior clinical experience in the field of health care industry. This course is very much suitable for experienced healthcare professionals looking for managerial positions.

With the development of health care industry, super speciality hospitals are becoming popular. Advantages of these hospitals is that it provide advanced treatment methods in various disciplines like  Plastic Surgery, Cardiology, Joint Replacement, Thoracic Surgery, Endocrinology, Radio Therapy, Advanced Gastroenterology, Urology, Paediatric Surgery and Oncology. It is a challenging task to manage such hospitals as there will be thousands of employees and several hundreds of patients.

To get into the managerial position in these hospitals, MBA in Hospital Management course is the best choice compared to other courses. By pursuing this MBA course, the aspirants can get a broad idea about how to manage, administer and control the human, financial and information resources of a hospital. Other courses in hospital administration and management provide only a general overview on how to manage the hospitals. They doesn’t go to the desired depth in multiple facets of general management.

Another benefit of doing MBA in Hospital Management is that the aspirants can start their own business in health care industry. Aspirants can get an opportunity to deal with real business problems by pursuing this MBA course. This hands-on experience can help them to become a successful entrepreneur later.

Opportunities after MBA in Hospital Management

After MBA in Hospital Management, one can look for job opportunities in hospitals, old age homes, multi facility nursing homes, clinics and drug-abuse rehabilitation centers. It is possible for them to find jobs in medical laboratories, medical equipment development firms and dental laboratories. Job profiles available after MBA in Hospital Management are given below.

• Health Administrator
  • Ambulatory Clinic Manager
  • General Manager
  • Internal Corporate Analyst
  • Chief Operating Officer
  • Health Insurance Managers

Aspirants can start their career as Assistant Hospital Administrator or Health Care Managers with a starting salary of Rs. 5 lakh to Rs. 8 lakh per annum. They can move up to the position of CEO with experience and earn a salary between Rs. 2 lakh and 5 lakh per month.

2 Responses to “Need for pursuing MBA in Hospital Management”

1. 2
    zoe:

hello sir/madam
    actually my brother had collected his b.sc nursing. now he wanted to pursue master degree. but he confused whether to do mba or m.sc nursing. would you please suggest me what shall my brother choose either mba or m.sc nursing. if mba then in which shall he opt for whether in Master of Hospital Administration, Master in Hospital Management or Post Graduate Diploma in Hospital and Health Care Management. please help me. i need your help
    thank you for reading my request

2. 1
    sachin:

sir i want to ask you all about MBA programe.
    because i want to do MBA with entertainment…& hospital mgmt.
    so pls guide me sir…
    what i can i do & what is better for me!!!

sachin rathi45