Newsreader - How to become a Newsreader?

A newsreader is someone who presents news announcements in television or the radio. The position of a news-reader/anchor is considered to be a high profile one because it is the anchor that is the face of the station he/she works. The candidates can pursue a diploma program in news anchoring and reading; which is of one year duration, from any acknowledged institute. This may vary in different institutions.

Candidates can find jobs as editor, assignment editor, photographer, reporter, producer, etc. The aspirants will get promoted based on their skills and experience. There are institutes in the country which provide short term and long term course in this area. Institutes like Mudra Institute of Communication which located in Ahmedabad is know to provide courses in this area. Editworks School of Mass Communication another institute located in Delhi provides a course in this area, the duration of which is for one year.

Qualifying Exam

Candidates who wish to become news readers must have degree in journalism. Diploma in the News Anchoring and TV Journalism course is also acceptable. They can go for this course after the completion of their graduation.

Who is eligible to apply?

The candidate must be an Indian citizen. He/she must have completed the diploma in Mass communication and journalism. Candidates must possess a good knowledge about the things around them and they must be familiar with the current state of affairs.

How to prepare for exam and interview?

Candidates who are applying for the newsreaders course must be well prepared for the written test paper and the interview which follows it. They must be well aware of the current as well as international occurrences. So, they should be well read. The most important quality required for the candidate is the ability to communicate well. They must also have a good knowledge in the field of science, literature and history and an enthusiasm to learn more. At the time of the interview, the candidates must speak to the point. He/she must be calm, confident, have a screen presence and a good voice.

39 Responses to “Newsreader - How to become a Newsreader?”

1. 39
    moneshea:

I am a humanities stream student from Delhi. I want my career to be in news reading…. Is it possible for a humanities student to do this course… If yes what are the procedures to be done after my 12th and which are the college available in Delhi……

2. 38
    vanshika:

i want to become a news reader kindly suggest me sopme academy for short term course and some good colleges for bachelor degree

3. 37
    cherukuri sai krishna:

Now i am studying b.tech final year after completion how to i become news reader or a journalist

4. 36
    nagarathna:

hi.. i’m pursuing 5th sem ba in journalism.. i;m very much passionated to work 4 media as a news reader.. i have more than 70 marks in journalism of all sem.. how would you suggest me to reach my goal

5. 35
    srilatha:

I want to become a news reader.i completed my b.sc but i am intrested in news reading how can i join???

6. 34
    sarita:

I want to become a news reader. i have complete my M-com, B-Ed from Delhi University. I want to know about the insitute name those are provide diploma in mass communication and journalism.could you tell me time duration and fee charges of this course

7. 33
    soumya:

i completed mca im intrested in news reading….so how could i join ??????????

8. 32
    Mohit:

if i doing only short term or 3 month course can i get the job

9. 31
    kirti:

after doing mass comm from DU IP college how can i becum a news reader???can i get dat position directly or its neccessary to becum a reporter first ???

10. 30
    Saikiran:

I hve compleatd my 12 standard nd running in de feild of enginnerng bt my passion towards english readng wanna me to persuvie my carrer as english news reader.can i become english news reader? Note:i didnt complete my degree

11. 29
    PAURUSH CHAUDHARY:

which is better for bjmc du or ip

12. 28
    sarojini:

sir my frnd was completed inter,but now she intersted join for news reader short term courses in hyd . she is elegible for that courses .pls tell me sir.

13. 27
    Hitesh karira:

I am student of commerce feild having maths as my additional subject
    I want to become a newsreader, what educational and other qualification should i have?

14. 26
    medhavi verma:

hello sir i want to become a news reader plz tell me sir how can i get this job if yes then how

15. 25
    hari:

Hello sir
    i m doing B.sc and i want to become a news reader plz tell me sir how can i get this job. plz sir suggest me what i have to do and most imp thing i want to become news reader from Ahmedabad.

Hari yadav

16. 24
    Manish Sharma:

Respecte Sir,
    I m a graduated person and now doing printing designing work, but I wanna be a News reader plz guide me. What is the requirement for this course?

THANKING YOU
    MANISH SHARMA

17. 23
    BHUPESH:

my name is bhupesh kumar sharma.
    I have completed my b.tech in electronics and communication with aggregate 79%.Now i want to become a news reader so can i eligible for that i yes so please suggest me how can i apply for same?
    please give me reply as fast as possible on my mail id.
    BHUPESH KUMAR SHARMA

18. 22
    parvati chetry:

hi, i hv completed my MBA in HR & Finance in 2012… nw im working at Aviation co. as a Councilor but i want to become Newsreader…. kindly suggest me for that, what I hv to do?
    Thanking you..

19. 21
    raja:

tomorrow…interview on etv2…..can u help me reguarding dis…..like….hw to prepr….

20. 20
    Irfan patel 24:

Hello,sir,
    i m completed in m.a. Hindi,and i reading very impressebl news.so my carrear start with news reader,pls inform me how to apply this course & which center are wery best in gujarat.????

21. 19
    yamini:

i m an comp Engg final yr student, i always wish 2 join mass media field n more inclined 2ward news reader, but cant be possible but nw i want 2 pursue my PG in dis field so can u help me out n i m nt that aware about d depth of disfield.

22. 18
    Anita:

Hi sir,
    I am a married woman with two kids my age is 35, i m graduate in art side and i hv dne Mass Communication PG diploma, but due to marriage and kids i cudnt work in this field, i had work experience but as a secretry or customer care executive, now i want to start my career again, but i m confuse how to start and where to start, either i hv to go for mass comm. field or i hv to choose other field, pls reply, thx and regards

23. 17
    shivam choudhary:

main ye janna chhata hu ki mujhe news reader banna hai aur isse mayray 10th result ka koi connection to nahi aur mujhe newsreader banne k liye 11th main kya subject choose karne hoge

24. 16
    RAJARAM:

Sir i had 2yr experience in tamil news reading in local TV network,, now i want to join in another TV channels, how i apply to that and how i know the vaccancies available

25. 15
    SONALI RANE:

I AM SONALI RANE , I AM FROM MUMBAI RIGHT NOW I M APPEARING FOR T.Y.FINANCIAL MARKET AND I WANT TO GO FOR MEDIA LINE I AM INTRESTED IN NEWS READING SO CAN U HELP ME OUT BY TELLING WHAT SHOULD BE MY NEXT STEP TO BECOME A NEWS READER OR TO WORK WITH NEWS CHANNEL.
    WAITING FOR UR REPLY

26. 14
    Ankita Jaiswal:

i m Ankita jaiswal and i hav completed my graduation.i want to built my career in english news reading.but i do not hav any diploma in mass comm .is it possible to becom news reader without this course as i have a good voice quality and also good communication skill.

waiting for your response

27. 13
    shalini:

i have completed graduation and i have interest to become a telugu newsreader.
    plz suggest me.

28. 12
    yamuna:

i have completed b.sc biotechnology…i have interest to become a telugu newsreader….plz suggest me how to approach

29. 11
    jhansi rani:

myself jhansi.i hav completed post graduation in Biotechnology..i am very much interested to become newsreader.
    am i eligible to become newsreader?
    how can i approach?
    please suggest me

Thank you…

30. 10
    manisha:

hello…im a graduate ,i did my graduation in pharma ,,but now i want to become a news reader,,,i have good communication skills n good voice quality too…please tell me wherther m i eligible for persuing a news reader course.

31. 9
    rajni:

hi this is Rajni 35yrs old. i have done M.A in pol science from panjab univ. and pg diploma in mass comunication throgh correspondence from panjab university. i have good communication skills and voice quality also worked on chandigarh doodarshan and all india radio for some time as casual news reader and announcer. can u suggest some short courses or other way to come in this line.mob- 9780932764

32. 8
    santosh Bhupathi:

hi sir/madam. This is santosh kumar bhupathi, completed Graduation in Computers. I would like become a news reader in TV Channel.. so Please tell me the needed things which are sufficent to become a news reader..
    Thanking You sir

33. 7
    shweta:

i am persuing my T.Y. B.com and would like to further persue Mass Communication as my Masters degree suggest me the best collages for Mass Communication.???

34. 6
    Gayatri Behera:

after degree in any technical branch can we do degree in journalism .

35. 5
    purvimodh:

i’m 31 years young lady. i want to b a newsreader.how can i? curentlly i live in UAE.

36. 4
    richa jha:

i m pursuing b.tech. 2-3 months are left for its completion but i want to become news reader or news anchor. i have good communication skills. i have cracked two interviews on the basis of my communication skills . do i have any opportunity to become a news anchor or news reader?

37. 3
    gautham:

dear sir, i just complete my graduation(B.sc) in2009. then the question is can how to i settle as a news reader?
    this is my life ambition. please reply me…………………………………

38. 2
    Srishti:

I am doing Master in Mass Communication.Kindly suggest me some good institutes in Chandigarh providing courses like Diploma in News Reading, Anchoring and also for Writer?

39. 1
    Sayan:

what are the pros and cons of law as a career option?