Tax Consultant - How to become a Tax Consultant?

Tax Consultants are experts who are proficient in the tax laws of a country. In order to become a tax consultant, aspirants have to study the existing and upcoming income tax laws, rules and regulations of the country. These professionals provide guidance to their clients about how to file their taxes to the Government. They also advice their clients about the prevailing tax laws, accuracy of their credentials and allied penalties. It is the prime responsibility of a Tax Consultant to assess the tax and co-ordinate with the tax authorities. They also guide their clients about the best practice when preparing and submitting documents to Internal Revenue Service.

Qualifying Exam

To become a Tax Consultant, aspirants have to study the post graduation course in Taxation. Otherwise, they should have done the Certified Public Accountant course offered by the CPA Council. On completion of the course, they have to undergo practical experience in the concerned areas so as to become a worthy Tax consultant. These professionals can search out for career in industries, companies, business establishments and so on. Most of the Tax Consultants carry out private practice, as it is more profitable. In their day-to-day affairs, these experts help their clients or companies to be aware of the state-run, local as well as global tax structures. Tax Consultants also assist them in their elementary tax planning.

Who is eligible to apply?

Graduates in Taxation or related disciplines can pursue the post graduation program in the concerned areas. Likewise, the eligibility criterion to apply for the CPA course is a pass in the Bachelors’ Degree in any disciplines. Students should have studied the course from a recognized University or institute.

Key Points in the process

• Complete the 12 years of Schooling.
  • Earn a graduation in Commerce, Finance, Taxation or related fields.
  • Study the post graduation course in the respective fields.
  • Otherwise, pursue the CPA program.
  • Gain on-the-job training in Taxation law and practice.
  • Search out for employments in public or private sector establishments.
  • Or else, carry out private practice.

Skills required for a Tax Consultant

Tax Consultants should have special skills, ability to think differently, good conversation and leadership skills in addition to their technical expertise. They should also have ample exposure about the taxation sector and the current market scenario.

30 Responses to “Tax Consultant - How to become a Tax Consultant?”

1. 30
    laxmi:

i have completed m.com i want to become tax consultant
    which course i hve to do and where can i get practical
    kwoledge to put private practice

2. 29
    Venkatesh:

Hai. I venkatesh. I completed my MBA(hr) Recently. I want to become tax consultant with out cpa exam. Please guide.

3. 28
    devendra:

i stay in kalyan
    i am graduate from commerce stream
    now studying law (1st year) (3yrs duration)
    please,
    guide me
    those (course) steps
    to become a TAX CONSULTANT.
    (also mention course institute and location)

4. 27
    sunil:

I have six months work experience in us tax filing with small company.But i want become a tax manger(cpa).But i don’t know the procedure,what are the requirements and whom to approach.
    Could please let me know?

5. 26
    RAVI:

NOW, i complete P.G.D.C.A .
    I want to start tax practice ..
    can you say me how to start ???

6. 25
    rakhi parab:

im complete post graduation so which course suitable for my qualification?

7. 24
    RUPNATH HALDER:

I am B.con(HONS) under Calcutta University and now I am pursuing MBA Finance in Sikkim Manipal University . My question is can I become a Tax Consultant without CPA exam ?

8. 23
    kalyan:

i am M com , LLB . HOW CAN I GET PRACTICAL TRAINING ON TAX

9. 22
    pronab gayen:

how i can get tax rebate on house repairing loan from BANGIYA GRAMIN VIKASH BANK?

10. 21
    pradeep kumar:

I am pradeep, I compleated B.Com in taxation proces &practice from rajasthan university, i wnt to know how to become an tax consultant.What is the qualification, how to apply th exam please guide me

11. 20
    ganesh:

I am passed 12th.what is the procedure become tax consultant.

12. 19
    lipy:

I am lipy, I compleated B.Com in accounts from calcutta university, i wnt to know how to become an tax consultant.What is the qualification, how to apply th exam please guide me

13. 18
    sanjib roy:

I want to know the institute for CPA

14. 17
    pallavi:

I want to know the institute for CPA

15. 16
    pinkesh shah:

i want to do cpa which is best institute for this course

16. 15
    kamal Jyoti Sarma:

I am become graduate, Age,34 Years. and now doing a contractual Service as an Accounts Manager Under NRHM, so please help me and i want tax cunsultant licence

17. 14
    Sujina.P:

I am Sujina, I compleated B.Com (HDC), i wnt to know how to become an tax consultant.What is the qualification, how to apply th exam please guide me

Thanking you.

18. 13
    mandar shelar:

whre get the tax counsultant exam which is the source
    and what is the procedure

19. 12
    madhusudhan:

i am bbm graduate and pursuing mba first sem, i wanted become an tax consultant , please guide me.

20. 11
    manjula:

I am B.com graduate - Bangalore University. Pl tell me how to apply for certify public account course

21. 10
    sanjay pachpor:

i want become tax consultant now i am under graduation so please help me and i want tax cunsultant licence

22. 9
    Brijesh PAtidar:

I am graduat with B.Com and also complete MBA (Finance) from Panjab Technical University and also 6 yr exp in MIS and Operation . I want to become tax consultant . what is the procedure … and what need of any other required degree for it. Pls suggest…

23. 8
    pradeep:

in detail i would like to know about how to become tax consultant & whats the procedure & where to apply

24. 7
    tushar mazire:

what is the procedure to apply/

25. 6
    Prashant:

I want to know about the tax consultant course so tell me in details regarding this Professional course,
    My Question are,
    1. What is the procedure to apply
    2.How much time it takes to finish the course
    3.Subject in the course

26. 5
    naveen:

iam a postgraduate in M.com., iam already in accountng sector in last ten years. i want to become a tax consultant. if required any training programme or certification course.

27. 4
    Rupak Modak:

After completing B Com how to become tax consultant & what is the procedure & what creiteria to be filled for the same .

28. 3
    abhishek mettray:

i am tax lawyer .i `have done junnior ship with a tax lawyer about 6 month .i have some knowledge and wants more knowledge

29. 2
    Sunil kumar:

What are the procedure to become a tax consultant and requirement of a ca or any other tax consultant is must for practice or not?

30. 1
    venkatesh:

how to get a job in the income tax department?