Astronomy, Career in Astronomy

Astronomy is a branch of natural science which is concerned with the study of celestial objects and phenomenon that originate outside the earth’s atmosphere. This specialized field of science mainly deals with the evolution, physics, meteorology, motion of celestial objects, formation and development of the universe, and so on. Astronomers use the principles of physics to study space and the bodies within it.

Job profiles in Astronomy

• Researcher
  • Astronomer
  • Observational Astronomer
  • Theoretical Astrophysicist
  • Stellar Astronomer
  • Solar Astronomer
  • Technician
  • Research Assistant
  • Scientist
  • Lecturer
  • Astronauts
  • Meteorologists
  • Physicists
  • Astrophysicist
  • Optical Astronomer
  • Satellite Technicians
  • Galactic Astronomer
  • Robotic technicians
  • Radar technicians
  • Quality assurance specialists
  • Laser technicians
  • Amateur astronomer
  • Planetary astronomer
  • Radio Astronomer
  • Extragalactic astronomy

Career opportunities in public sector

After the completion of various astronomical courses, the aspirants can easily find a well paying career in the various government firms. After the Doctor of Philosophy course in Astronomy, one can join various research institutes in public sector such as the ones mentioned below as scientist / researcher / astronomer / astrophysicist.

• Satish Dhawan Space Centre
  • Liquid Propulsion Systems Centre
  • Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre
  • Antrix Corporation Limited
  • Jharkhand Space Applications Center
  • Indian Space Research Organization
  • TIFR (Tata Institute of fundamental Research)
  • National Centre for Nuclear Science and Mathematics
  • National Centre for Radio Astrophysics
  • Indian Institute of Science
  • Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics
  • Physical Research Laboratory (PRL)
  • UP State Observatory
  • Indian Institute of Astrophysics
  • Astronomical Society of India
  • Udaipur Solar Observatory
  • CSIR (Council of Scientific and Industrial Research)

For getting into these organizations, the candidates need to clear various exams conducted by the governmental departments such as UPSC, SSC, PSC, etc. One can also get promotion to higher posts in these organizations by writing various departmental exams.

Career opportunities in private sector

Apart from the various public sector organizations, the astronomers also have ample opportunities in private sector. They can work in several areas such as

• Planetariums
  • Observatories
  • Laboratories
  • Defense and Space Research Organizations

Astronomy Opportunities abroad

There are various astrological organizations in foreign countries such as National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA), German Aerospace Center providing numerous job openings for the aspirants in astronomical field. The remunerations in these firms will be much higher than that in India.

Salary range

Salaries vary according to the qualification, experience, and the type of firm one is working in. As a fresher, one may earn an annual salary of around Rs. 1,50,000/-. With experience and skill, the remuneration may reach in the range of Rs. 3,00,000/- to Rs. 4,00,000/- annually within 2-3 years.

38 Responses to “Astronomy, Career in Astronomy”

1. 38
    Hasmina Laskar:

I am studying in 10th std. and I want to become a NASA astronaut.
    What should I study after SSC?

2. 37
    poorva:

i m in class 12th na i hav pcm ……and i am interested in astronomy…..what is scope in it…….what is needed and…what about entrance exams….plz guide me

3. 36
    snigdha:

I recently passed std X (SSC) exam and am interested in astronomy. which subjects should iIchoose in std XI? which entrance exam is necessary for Astronomy after 12th ??

4. 35
    anna:

I am a B.Sc physics student..I am interested to study M.Sc astrophysics . What can i DO for that?

5. 34
    priyanshi:

i am in class 9th i am interested in astronomy in future which type of course i can do related to astronomy in less money?

6. 33
    haritarane:

can i have a prosporous career in space science after hsc do this field have institutes in pune

7. 32
    ajoop:

i completed my graduation from higher secondary in 2011 from kerala.can i write entrance exam for astronomy

8. 31
    Abhishek:

I completed my graduation from B.Sc in Computer science in 2010 from Mumbai University. I am interested in Space science field. Shall i take a admission for this? if yes then what i will do first to go for astronomy field.means I want to start from beginning of the subject . How I will start it ? And Important is shall i do this education from Mumbai only. Because I have no financial capacity to study in rest of mumbai,please give me some Information that from when and what I will Start Firstly?
    I read that this field having the degree with Physics subject .
    But I have the Physics only upto F.Y.B.Sc after that we has all Computer Subject. Then On this Basis Can I take Admission For Space Science ? Please send me the answer for this all question because I will start it Immediately otherwise give me contact number of the person who will give me this information at free of cost

9. 30
    udita:

hey…
    i am udita..studing in class 11…and i have a keen interest in studing astronomy…so wat shuld i do to get into ths field? and how much year will it take to be a astronomer? and wat abut salary package?..
    plz suggest….

10. 29
    Arpita:

I’m in 3rd year mechanical.. preparing for GRE to study abroad. I’m Interested in astronomy and looking for a project or internship that i can do during my UG course. Please suggest.

11. 28
    parmbir:

what is the study process to be an astronaut in NASA.

12. 27
    chakthi:

which job shall be goto study to astronomy?

13. 26
    Dikshita Dilip Kadam:

Hi, sir/madam i am dikshita, i am 20 years old living in india, i hv done 12th in science with PCM & hv done Bsc.I.T. plz tell me wht is my future role in astronomy. is it any requirement to take more knowledge in astronomy plz guide me for my future.

14. 25
    shubham:

i want to make my career is astronomy .i want to be an astronaute, i have done bsc final with PCM stream , now i want to know that what should do i to be an physicists. please tell me. thank you

15. 24
    iram:

tell me about jobs in astronomy after graduation in india

16. 23
    Janhavi Kulkarni:

Namaskar, I am the student of BCS 2nd year.I want to become an Astronomer. What should I do for it? I’ve complited my 12th in PCM group.Please tell me How would I become an astronomer?

17. 22
    Paras:

i m studying in india i m in 8 std i want to become a space scientist what should i do

18. 21
    shaina mehta:

i m doing btech in electronics and communication.
    i want to join space related research programs of india.
    what should i do for it

19. 20

i am in 12th and i want to become an astronomer what can i do?

20. 19
    swati soni:

i am in 12th now and iwant become an astronomer iam going to apper in aieee examination 2011.have i taken right way to become an astronomer.and give some suggestion for my career.thankyou.

21. 18
    spandan gupta:

Sir/Madam
    I am a student of class 11(pure science)and very much interested to pursue astronomy further.i would like to know the pocedure,eligibility,streams and colleges in india.
    thanking You

22. 17
    Akshay Shinde:

I am 15 years old and i am interested in astronomy.i have an ambition to become a space astronaut.please help me with my future plans.thank u

23. 16
    smriti:

where r d institutes for physics research r situated in india And is there any scope of physics in abroad please
    mention the name of the places

24. 15
    Shashi:

HHi i am a student of 12 std and have opted for biology any career in astronomy

25. 14
    Iam bsc physics student.want to know about colleges for msc phy at banglore.&fee.:

Pls,give ans

26. 13
    pranjala roy:

i hav done B.SC I.T,what is my carrer in astronomy? plz tel me m very passionate about astronomy.

27. 12
    vicky:

i have opted for CSE in engg.. can i study astronomy? if yes which branch of astronomy?

28. 11
    vipul sharma:

give the latest schedule of exams

29. 10
    himanshu sahu:

I want to become theoretical physicist in india. I have passed S.S.C exam. So what should i have to study after 12th?

30. 9
    shivam agrawal:

i have opted for EC in engg. What i must do after it to be a theoritical astronomer

31. 8
    D.balashivashree:

i want to be an astronomer but i dont no how it is? because
    now i am studing bsc (computer science).then after what i want to do it ? please guide me.

32. 7
    anushakrishna:

i am a science student.now in intermediate 2nd yr.i want to study BIOASTRONOMY. HOW CAN I READ THAT. WHAT ARE THE COURSES? WHAT IS THE STREAM OF IT. I AM IN ANDHRA PRADESH.IN INDIA. is bioastronomy available in andhrapradesh?

33. 6
    dhruthi:

what is the eligiblity percentage of degree to enter in to master of science in astronomy

34. 5
    kennedy:

can a person studying astronomy and astrophysics have opportunities in aviation sector.i.e i wish to be a pilot one day and am taking astronomy is my career in order.

35. 4
    vibhushit:

Which branch should I study in B.Tech for carrer in astromomy?

36. 3
    Harshal.s:

what are the jobs that get to a m.s.c physics candidate?

37. 2
    sameer:

top deckcadet training institute in india &fee structure

38. 1
    vrushali:

i am doing MSc part II physics(electronic communications)
    i have also done project on nuclear astrophysics. i would like to know about the further options after masters for job opportunities.