Correspondence Courses in India: Things that you should know

Correspondence courses have been a growing phenomenon in the present scenario. Nowadays more and more individuals are undertaking the correspondence due to various reasons. While earlier also, there existed the correspondence learning programs but in the recent times the pattern of study has changed. Correspondence courses are opted by those individuals who have insufficient time in attending the regular programs.

In the recent times the number of students who are opting for the correspondence courses have increased a lot. The individuals take not only the graduation courses but also the post graduation level courses too as correspondence courses. The correspondence courses can be completed by the student in the same pace as that of the normal courses. There is no difference between the course structure and curriculum regarding the correspondence course from that of a regular course. Only difference being that there is no classroom like atmosphere in these studies. The level of exposure also in terms of these courses is also comparatively very less from that of the regular courses.

Things that you should know while selecting a Correspondence course

The quality of education is the most crucial part. The candidates should only select an institute or university which is reputed for a course. The level of education that the institute provides in is a point that needs to be focused. The candidate should compare with other institutes regarding the programs that they offer and always choose the best one only. The course curriculum is of utmost importance which should be equal in all terms with respect to the regular programs which are offered. The distance programs that one has undertaken should help the candidates to adjust with the time schedule also. Usually this is a major problem which restricts the candidates from taking a full time course. Only after careful scrutiny the candidates should select an institute.

Demand for Correspondence programs

There are many correspondence programs that are being offered by many institutions and universities. Some of the important correspondence degree both at the graduate and post graduate level that are being offered are –

• B.Sc in Physics, Chemistry, Botany, Zoology, Mathematics, Geography
  • B.Com in Accounts, Finance, Trading etc.
  • B.BA( Bachelor’s of Business Administration )
  • BCA( Bachelor’s of Computer application )
  • B.Lib( Bachelor’s of library science )
  • MBA( Master’s in Business Administration )
  • MCA( Master’s in Computer Application )
  • M.Sc( Master’s of Science )
  • M.Com( Master’s of Commerce )

The correspondence programs are offered at the graduate level, post graduate level etc. Nowadays the doctorate degrees are also offered as part time or in the correspondence mode. The candidates also opt for the diploma courses as a correspondence course.

25 Responses to “Correspondence Courses in India: Things that you should know”

1. 25
    Mr.Eldho Thomas:

I am a Bsc nurse. I am working in Dubai and i wanted to know that if i study Msc Nursing as corrspondence while i am working here in Dubai, would i be facing any problem in future?

2. 24
    sonam:

will correspondence course make any difference in job???

3. 23
    Swapna:

Sir. I have completed m.com correspondance course from mangalore university. But now the problem is that in kerala no one university is giving equivalent certificate to my m.com. Why it is so?

4. 22
    anjali:

what is d difference between regular and corresspondence cource of bca? Is there better scope after completing bca in corresspondence from ignou?

5. 21
    Swaralipi Das:

Is there any value difference between corresponding M.Sc and regular M.Sc?Can I seat for SLET after doing M.Sc in corresponding course?

6. 20
    SWETA GUPTA:

Sir, from 2012 i have joined a school and also i took admission in M.sc physics from madurai kamraj university…now in may i’ll be having my exams,,but i didn’t get much time for the preparation…so i want to give my exams in nov 2013…So please sir tell me if a candidate has right to choose when he/she wants to give exam???

7. 19
    Antima Rai:

I Want Full Information Of M.Com. Because I Will take Addmission in M.com But i don,t know what should i do Regular or Correspondence what about good for me can you help me please & what should i do please advice to me its very important for my future.

8. 18
    BHAVANI:

after finishing b.com can i write IAS exam?

9. 17
    Krishna Kasar:

Respected sir, i m a non science student.can i do correspondence course in civil engineering. I m working in construction company.

10. 16
    nikita arora:

is there any6 difference in the quality and certificate of bcom regular n bcom correspondence??????
    plzzzzzzzz replyyy fasttt

11. 15
    kirti:

Is there any difference certificate of bcom regular and certificate of bcom correspondence? Plz reply fast

12. 14
    vindhya pai:

Is it possible to do M.Com correspondence for 2nd year? After completing 1st year M.Com regular classes at mangalore university..?

13. 13
    dineshd:

i am currently pursuing b-tech degree in chennai full time…….. can i do pg courses(ME) in computer science and engineering through correspondance? suggest me university offering correspondance course in chennai

14. 12
    Dr prasad chavan:

respected sir, i am going fo gp so guide me what can i do now about related cource pls reply me on 8421437363

15. 11
    v lakshmi:

i am doing regular B E from deemed university. i am interested to pursue B A history by correspondence . can u tell me from which university in india i can get this oppurtunity

16. 10
    amardeep kumar:

can i join ncc through corresponding course.

17. 9
    vijaykumar:

I have passed sslc from kerala in 1978.Now I wish to study Bcom direct through correspondance course ,Please help me

18. 8
    PARTHA PRATIM JANA:

hi sir i ve completed B.E (ece)…and iam working now can i able to do M-Tech in corrrespondence

19. 7
    karthi:

hi sir i ve completed B.E (cse)…and iam working now can i able to do M.S in corrrespondence

20. 6
    Arjun:

I want to know that can we do hotel managemwnt course with b.com as i m doing b.com from correspondance and o also want to make career in hotel managwment(pusa) plz give me your valuable advice

21. 5
    narayan sahu:

i would like to know that i am doing B.tech(mech.) from JRN Rajsthan vidyapeeth university through correspodance.And sir could u tell me one thing that can i apply civil services exam like IAS,IPS AND IFS.
    Please tell me right thing for me

22. 4
    Deepika Rawat:

I will be completing my 12th in this academic session in Vocational Studies.Please tell me the scope of Correspondence course in Liberary and information science as well as the names of the institutes providing study and training in the same. Also tell me the subjects and study materials which include the Bacholar’s degree of the course. Pls tell me about the nature of job one can do after its Bachor’s degree.

23. 3
    Sneha:

I am studing in 4thSEM BCA and after completion of my course I would like to join the job which enriches my knowledge based on computer’s and I would like to work in company which should be situated in Mangalore or mysore or else in any places in Dakshina kannada and meanwhile I want to do M.sc(Computer science) in correpondance….,it will take 2yrs then I want to do M.tech in aerospance… ,,Is this possible?Please can you give more details about this?

24. 2
    swati mittal:

i’ve done my pg in 2006 did a job for 1.5 years. but now i want to change my field but can’t attend regular classes and its also not possible for me to shift to some other place. i’m planning to do some course in interior designing through correspondence. I just want to know that after doing the course will i get a good paying job or will i face some difficulty since my degree will that be of a correspondence course.

25. 1
    sandeep:

whre should i get correspondaence course for I.T.
    Please guide me.