Forestry, Career in Forestry

Forestry is an interdisciplinary profession which implements the science of managing, using and conserving forests and associated resources in a sustainable manner. The ultimate aim of forestry is to meet the desired goals, values and needs for human benefit and also to maintain environmental stability and restoring the ecological balance. Forest is one of the major natural resources which face the challenges of dwindling cover area due to overpopulation, farming and environmental factors.

Job profiles in Forestry

• Forester
  • Dendrologist
  • Entomologists
  • Silviculturist
  • Forest Range Officer
  • Zoo curators
  • Researcher
  • Lecturer
  • Geneticist
  • Forestry Technicians
  • Senior Forestry Consultant
  • Forest Officer
  • Forest Firefighters
  • Timber Development Forester
  • Operations and Development Leader
  • Administrator
  • Senior Forest Planning / Operations Supervisor
  • Operations Coordinator
  • Forest Professionals
  • Operations Forester
  • Forestry Staff
  • Practices Forester
  • Field Operations Supervisor
  • Natural Resource Technician
  • Natural Resource Professional
  • Forest Engineer
  • Land Use Specialist

Career opportunities in public sector

After the completion of various courses in forestry, the aspirants have various job opportunities in the public sector. They can work in zoological parks, wildlife ranges, corporate having their own plantations for timbering, wildlife research institutes, Indian Council of Forestry Research and Education (ICFRE) and its affiliated institutes, wildlife department, forest department, national parks & sanctuaries, forest nurseries, and so on. One can get into these jobs by writing various examinations conducted by UPSC, SSC and PSC. After getting into the job, the aspirants can also acquire promotion to higher posts by clearing several departmental exams.

Career opportunities in private sector

In addition to the various governmental organizations as cited above, the aspirants also have huge opportunities in various private sector firms. They have numerous job openings in many public organizations as mentioned below.

• Food and Agricultural Organizations
  • Zoos
  • Research and Development Institutes
  • Biotechnology firms
  • Educational Institutes
  • Timber and Plywood Manufacturing firms

The candidates can get into various job prospectuses in these firms depending on their qualification, experience and skill in the field.

Forestry Opportunities abroad

The candidates can also find numerous job openings in several foreign country firms after their completion of forestry courses. One can secure a job in various departments such as Office of Environment and Heritage, Department of Premier and Cabinet Environment Protection Authority, and so on in various countries abroad. The remunerations of aspirants in these foreign country firms will also be much higher than one gets from their home land.

Salary range

The pay scale in forestry sector will vary according to owns position and type of firm the candidates are working in. As a fresher, one may earn an average monthly income of about Rs. 10,000/-. After gaining experience, the candidates can get up to Rs. 50,000/- or more per month with in 3 to 4 years.

42 Responses to “Forestry, Career in Forestry”

1. 42
    kara:

Is there any entrance through which we can get admission in forestry aafter12th?

2. 41
    shubham:

sir/mam
    Iam student of +2 medical. I am very much interested in plants and also forest conservation so suggest me whether Bsc in forestry is good for me? and also suggest me how to get admission in this field .

3. 40
    Priya singh:

I m a student of PCB and want to get admission in INDIAN COUNCIL OF FORESRTY RESEARCH AND EDUCATION in Dehradun ……. for my bsc agriculture …. what is the criteria and steps to ge admission in this college …

4. 39
    Mahendra varma:

Actually I Like Forest Department… Iam very Interesting in
    save the Forest and Animals.., now I am working in medical college as a Photographer at Chitradurga.
    How to Get the forest Ranger or Photographer in Dept of Forestri…..!

5. 38
    damodar:

This is DAMODAR and i have problem to apply to the forest range officer in AP forest services 31-12-2011
    and notification no:52/2011. The problem is i have completed my degree in Bachelor of Business Management (BBM) after that i have completed MBA is i am eligible for
    apply for the post of forest range officer. There is one subject of computers in my degree and also MBA. pls give me suggestion

6. 37
    md.shadab hussain:

Hello hi I.am shadab hussain from bihar I want to be a foreestry ranger how can I get this types of jobs in forestry department plz tell me.now I am pursuing graduation

7. 36
    Shruthi m s:

Sir/madam, I have completed engineering in 2011(cse) Karnataka. I want to join wildlife & forestry as I am very much interested. Is there any possibility of doing any professional course in forestry & wildlife and as well serve?? I am also ready to do volunteering services in this field…

thankyou

8. 35
    satish Bhatt:

Sir, I have completed my graduation in forestry & wild life management as one of the subject in 2003.
    can you provide me details for government jobs & other options relating same.

9. 34
    pradeep:

Sir/madam ,I am completed my degree from BA (HEP) can I apply for ranger officer at Karnataka? When is the forest officer post is going to call?

10. 33
    raghu:

how to become a forester

11. 32
    Azim siddiqui:

I want to know that age limt for forest ranger in madhya pradesh is 28 year max. but they are giving the relaxation up to 40 years to govt. employee and also for samvida shikshak.

What will be the calculation age of 40 years. for govt. employee.

12. 31
    laxmikanta das:

which entrance we have to appear for assistant conservator of forest post in odisha of wildlife

13. 30
    job in forest department:

respected sir/mam which minimum qualification in forestry job.But I am continu the BCA first year

14. 29
    prakhar:

respected sir/mam, am graduate in b.c0m in june 2011… I’m to0 much interested in wildlife..am i eligible f0r d j0b der ? My c0ntact number:7828430570..plz l0ok s0mething which i seri0usly deserve..am 24*7 c0mf0rtable f0r helping nature and impr0ving wildlife…

15. 28
    anil patel:

I am anil kumar patel,i’ve done my graudition in BCA,and this time i am pursuing MBA in Marketing and HR,can i eligible in forest sector .

Humbly requested please give me suggestion,what i am do?

16. 27
    Pruthviraj:

how to be a marine engg after 12th?

17. 26
    Vikas Seth:

Sir/madam,i am doing b.s.c. Forestry from private college(Dolphin(pg) institute of biomedical and natural sciences,Dehra Dun) and i want to ask that what are job oppurtunities in this course and what i should do extra work to have a bright career.thankyou

18. 25
    Sagar Patankar:

Respected Sir/Madam, myself Sagar Patankar from Panvel ( Maharashtra ) i am in 12 th std. (SYJC) Science section.I am very intertested in wildlife section.Though i am in science section with PCM group still i want to make my career in forest department . In India only.Is there any course(s)? If yes then please reply me on my email ID.I am thankful to you

19. 24
    MadhuSudana reddy:

What is the crieteria of the physical fitness required for the job rfo, acf,ifs.

20. 23
    Md Shamsad Alam:

Sir, I will be finishing my graduation from commerce background this year. I want to join wildlife & forestry as I am keen intersted in this section. Is there any possibility of doing any proffesional course and gitting good job in forestry & wildlife. I am from kolkata from India. Sir, Please advice

21. 22
    Sagar hundekari:

R/ SIR, I am B.tech(Agri.Engg) in second year.would i elligible for forestry examinations?

22. 21
    anand thakur:

sir i have pursuring bsc forestry and i want to the details regarding the fee structure, admission procedure etc for Msc course(Forestry)in differant university

my cont. no 09713506152

23. 20
    amrita sarkar:

I have passed ICAR NET exam recently,2010,in Environmental science & forestry.Though my M. SC subject is environmental science & B.SC in Zoology .Am i capable for applying Ph.d from all ICAR/CSIR institute in India? plz. guide me about my carrier opportunity after passing ICAR NET exam? is this net equvalent with CSIR/UGC net?

24. 19
    Ankur chowdhary:

R/sir,
    I am pursuing B.sc. Forestry right now in Pvt. College (Dolphin) in Dehradun affilated to H.N.B Garhwal University,Srinagar UK
    After completing my B.sc. Forestry I want to be DFO in Palampur (My birth place) (H.P)
    What can i do ?
    Plz Reply

25. 18
    Amol dukre:

Hell sir i want to know about elligibility,syllabls&exam dates of mahastra forest offiser

26. 17
    jagmohan Singh:

Sir, I would like to admit my son for Bsc Forestry in patnagar collage of Agriculture.

Request assist.

Jagmohan Singh

27. 16
    chandra:

hai sir tell me the application dates for forestry jobs. my qualification is MSc bio-chem.

28. 15
    Shabana Hassan:

Respected Sir/Madam,
    I want to know the details regarding the fee structure, admission procedure etc for Msc course(Forestry)in FRI, Dehradun.

29. 14
    deepak:

hii can any 1 tell where can i get information about msc in forestry and eligibility requirements my number is 9900283062

30. 13
    kavya:

sir/madam,i am kavya, i studied bsc (bzp),i want to do msc in forestry,there any way to do this.and also know about the colleges in this field,and also about careers option,

31. 12
    ritika:

i am doing bsc forestry..[chm,bot,for]….
    what is the job scope aftr graduation in utranchal

32. 11
    deepanshu gohatre:

sir/madam, i just want to know that i am a B.E student.currently i am in final year. i want to go in forestry/wildlife field.is there any way to do higher education in those field.also which are the colleges which provide courses for this field.

33. 10
    Pushpendra:

I am joining in admission in bsc forestery i am doing what

34. 9
    sarba:

Right now i am in my BSC.[zoology] final year.i want to know what are the entrance exams that i can opt for,where are their centers.i would be greatful if i am provided wth the career options regarding this field.

35. 8
    rajni sharma:

what is the contact no of jawaharlal nehru krishi vishwavidhyalay jabalpur m.p.BSc forestry mai karne ke liye entrance exams kab hote hai,and m.p.mai kon se college hai.

36. 7
    amar jyoti nath:

is there any exm for range officer ?

37. 6
    sachin:

Hello

I am BE E&TC am i eligible for forest officer examination?

38. 5
    dushyant:

i want to know dates of exams of ranger officers nd which sllyabus i will chose botany ,zoology , chemistry.

39. 4
    ratnajit sen:

i want wild life job ,, plz help me

40. 3
    ratnajit sen:

i want to get this job. plzzzzzz help me

41. 2
    kiran:

want to know the exam date and details for range forest officer post( karnataka)year 2009 and also about state forest service?

42. 1
    Yeshwant Singh:

Sir/ Madam,
    Sir , I am pursuing MSC. in Biomedical Sciences from BU Jhansi. Sir I want to do Phd. from forestry line Suggest me how I can apply for it?