26th September 2011, 10:28 AM
Unregistered

Can MS or M.Tech candidates be eligible for IES Exam?

hi i'm an electronics and communication engineer, after completion of my b.tech i want go for further studies to get a good knowledge in particular subject by doing m.s or m.tech. are candidates of m.s or m.tech eligible for this ies exam? if not can you please inform me, about any other gov. posts for M.tech or M.S students

PLEASE KINDLY REPLY THANK U

26th September 2011, 09:41 PM
vike
Senior Member+++++

Default Re: Can MS or M.Tech candidates be eligible for IES Exam?

Dear Friend

As far as academic qualification is concerned you will remain eligible for IES examination
even if you go for Masters or Ph.D.

The eligibility criteria of IES exam states that one should have at least a B.Tech. or
equivalent degree. So, if your qualification is less than B.Tech. then you are not eligible
but if you are more qualified then that is not an issue.

However, there is no relaxation for M.Tech. or higher degree holders, in age limit or
other eligibility criteria. Therefore you must fulfill the Age limit and other common criterion.
Age Limit is;
21-30 years (GEN category)
21-33 years (OBC category)
21-35 years (SC/ST/PH category)

Visit: www.upsc.gov.in
26th September 2011, 10:30 PM
solution
Senior Member++++

hello dear

see, after completing of your B.tech in ECE, you will be eligable for the IES exam.

no need to do MS or M.Tech COURSES.

if you will do MS or M.Tech, then also you will be eligiable to sit the IES exam.

as the eligibility criteria for the IES exam is

>>minimum degree engineering in four engineering discipline(ME,EC,EE,CE).

>>Age limit is 21-30 years for general candidate.

all the best........
26th September 2011, 10:40 PM
ashok880
Senior Member++++

M.Tech students can also apply for IES exam,if he/she finished his/her graduation degree course in B.Tech in Mechanical/Civil/Electronic stream.And their age should be between 21 to 30 years.