29th June 2010, 09:29 PM

Difference between B.Tech and B.Tech (hons) Honors?

what is the difference between b tech and b tech(hons)?
and which one is better option to opt b tech or b tech(hons) in computer science and engineering

30th June 2010, 02:39 AM
Mrs_Praveen_Gola

Default Re: Difference between B.Tech and B.Tech (hons) Honors?

btech(hons) is better option as it specialises in a particular field in computer science and engineering moreover there is a rebate in the % of marks also when go for higher studies.
30th June 2010, 12:30 PM

In B.tech, you have to study all the engineering subjects, But if you opt B.tech Hons. then you have to study only one of the engineering subjects in more depth.

So, in B.tech you have to study all the subjects given by colleges. But in B.tech Hons.
you have to study only one subjects which you like the most and you get specilization
only in one subjects.............
30th June 2010, 12:31 PM

In B.tech, you have to study all the engineering subjects, But if you opt B.tech Hons. then you have to study only one of the engineering subjects in more depth.

So, in B.tech you have to study all the subjects given by colleges. But in B.tech Hons.
you have to study only one subjects which you like the most and you get specilization
only in one subjects.

So, according to me, B.tech Hons. is the best option, In now a days there are very great demand of Hons. degree. So, please do B.tech hons..........
10th July 2010, 10:04 PM

What is the difference in BSc engineering and B tech in Pakistan or any country? and it is observe mostly that a BSc is preferred on b tech degree holder,why?
17th July 2010, 09:29 PM

What is the difference between Bsc(Hons) Biotech and Bsc in biotech

Rajan Ambala
28th July 2010, 01:11 AM

in hons can we do two enng. courses
30th July 2010, 11:38 AM

Smile Re: Difference between B.Tech and B.Tech (hons) Honors?

and which one is better option to opt b tech or b tech(hons) in computer science and engineering
well in our college (sastra university) normally students are admitted for b.tech degree. However we were provided option to pursue b.tech(hons) degree by interest. In case you pursue b.tech(hons) the eligibility criteria is the cgpa of 7.5 till 4th semester. You will be given to choose the subject from other departments and even the subject from own dept provided he/she should not have that subject before or even after in further forcoming semesters. Everything is self study only the syllabus materials will be provided. For each semester need to choose one subject and should clear with D grade or above (ie) 50 and above out of 100..have to continue the same each semesters till the end final eight semester. Atlast you will be entitled with B.tech(Hons) degree...
2nd August 2010, 08:17 PM

Which is better & why
B Tech Computer Science or BSc(H) Computer Science for a better future & well paid jobs ?????????
8th August 2010, 03:02 PM
prathamesh22

in btech you can do all subject study

whereas in btech honors you can study one subject study deeply

best of lucks
10th August 2010, 01:21 AM

Its one and the same thing. Some college have this like BITS Pilani for example. But i heard in BTech Hons you will have more of theory and its a better course. But at the end there is a negligible difference in both ..

So chose whichever you wont it doesnt matter
10th August 2010, 02:02 AM
adityabhushan

dear.........
there is no more difference in b.tech and b.tech honours except b.tech honours gives the graduation degree with speciallisation in that particular branch as you are in computer science means you will get speciallisation with that subject.
b.tech honours degree is given to that student whoo got above 80% aggregate.
so work hard.
all the best. aditya
10th August 2010, 12:56 PM
rohit_k

b.tech honors is better than simple b.tech because in honors field have studying higher field for honors candidate and it is also tough as simple b.tech so its scope is better than simple b.tech so university can be provided b.tech honors like lovely professional university punjab more details as www.lpu.in
16th August 2010, 02:05 AM

in the pakistan b.tech 4-year regular program in mechanical i passed but regestration of pakistan engg:council is not given to us therefor i did not take admission in m.tech/ms engg: and by financialy we are week to take admission abroad plz hel us.
wajid ali khan <[email protected]>
19th August 2010, 03:28 PM

Hello Friend!
B-TECH and B-TECH(hon) are the same degrees,the difference is only in the name as of BITS-PILANI Vs IITs...........
4th November 2010, 10:06 PM

Btech (Hons) is, ofcourse far better than normal B.Tech. First of all, all the subjects dat u study in Btech will have to study in an advance mode in B.Tech (Hons) plus Btech (Hons) will study an engineering subject in its full depth as a specialization. The student will have the freedom to select this specialization. But remember dat very few coleges are conducting B.Tech hons. Because, the college will have to possess the fecility equal to research and the staff shoud be excellant. The students will have good capability to follow the subject. So genuine coleges make a very strenuous selection procedure to select the student for B.Tech (Hons). IITs of India and BITS are giving either well defined B.Tech (Hons) or B.E (Hons). You can see that their labs are valued for thousands of crores of rupees and they maintain it wid most modern equipments. You can understand the dufference if you go through their subjects depths.
10th November 2010, 11:31 PM

AOA
All Members Govt of Pakistan specially Water and power development authority
Sir, Your Kind attention is invited to B Tech Hons problems.

1- (i) 70% of the posts of Jr. Engineer shall be filled in by direct recruitment and..........
(ii) 05% of the available posts of Jr.Engineer (BPS-17) from the Upper Technical Subordinates (B Tech Hons) meeting the criteria of having 10 year experience in Wapda. Director Rules letter dt 16-05-05.
2- That the Fitter and Electrician appointed in (BPS-11) in 1994. B Tech Hons have been working for more than 15-17 years, in thermal Power may not allow to appear in Promotion Exam and training.
3- Wapda Authority ask that Fitter, Electrician and LS-II having qualification B Tech.... First get promotion of UTS (Foreman,Operator,LS-I) BPS-12 to 16. Then Eligible for Promotion Exam and Training.
4- Please enforced in all forums that those Persons having Service Experience and qualification B Tech (Hons) Directly promoted in BPS-17 on the basis of their qualification.
we are here also fully sport with that Govt. of Pakistan must be made "Pakistan Technology Council" in Pak as PEC

Thanks & Oblige
All B Tech (Hons)
23rd November 2010, 11:47 PM

helo friendz. i want to know that can i do b.tech (pass) from out of country after completing my b.tech (pass).
1st December 2010, 08:43 PM

i like ur information and Iam very thankful to u.
11th December 2010, 01:22 AM

I have done B-tech in Electrical & now i m opting for B-tech (Hons) electrical
here in pakistan B-tech is equivalent to Graduation a/c to HEC(Higher education commission)
& B-tech (Hons) as an equivalent to BE/BS but PEC (Pakistan engineering council) is reluctant to accept the B-tech(Hons) as equivalent to BE/BS
26th December 2010, 02:10 PM

B.TECH hons or honours is equal to B.E OR not and
7th January 2011, 01:11 AM

helo frnds
someone told me ki btech hons means there is no reappear in any semester.
is it really true or not?
upar ke answers padh kar to laga ki wo pagal tha or humein bana ke dekh raha tha.
13th January 2011, 04:18 AM

B_tech at ground realities good being 7 years continious technical studies but in pakistan this is life disaster because no registration no promotion no difination that for what they are eligible in every department for promotion and working abroad pec registration s must which is real and rich rival of b_tech my dear pakistns brothers plz dont take admission in this and dont try for impossible task of registration with pec try to make arrangements to close all b_tech colleges to save studants lives
17th February 2011, 09:09 AM

hello friend
some one told me What is the imortance of B tech pass after the DAE degree
27th February 2011, 07:25 PM
wagle

hiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii

b.tech honors is better than simple b.tech.
because in honors field have studying higher.
its scope is better than simple b.tech
so university can be provided b.tech honors like lovely professional university punjab .
it is superior.
29th May 2011, 09:22 PM

I would like to know whether lovely proffessional university's B-Tech (honors degree is eaqually valid as other reputed engineering collages in the country?
5th June 2011, 05:56 PM

b.tech agar mein preston uni say karon ga to muj ko banifit ho ga kya???????????
13th June 2011, 10:37 AM

Any indian university offering M.Tech degree in UAE or KSA
15th June 2011, 08:37 AM

sir. Itm university gwalior se b.tech civil kaisa rahega? Please rply
15th June 2011, 09:01 AM
shekharrai

only in one subjects.

So, according to me, B.tech Hons. is the best option, In now a days there are very great demand of Hons. degree. So, please do B.tech hons..........
19th June 2011, 11:26 AM

is the b.tech hons course much tougher dn the simple b.tech??
aftr reading the differences m flng kinda scared to opt for hons as it seems to be a lot tougher....
21st June 2011, 05:57 AM

b-tech and b-tech (honr) not eqwal to b-tech (honr)
2nd July 2011, 03:58 PM

can u please tell me the placements records in T S chanakya, meri mumbai.,.,.,.,and all other colleges of IMU??
4th July 2011, 05:15 PM

which one is good B.Tech or B.tech(hons)
12th July 2011, 12:50 PM

hi...
After reading these I am scared of taking B.tech hons. in cse,even when I have scored 80% above in my 2.......
will it be much more tuffr than that of B.tech............
plz suggest me vich 1 will be d bst in hons. degree....
1-network security
2-web technologies
3-software engnieering
4-database management system.................

plz reply as soon as possible.......
u can also mail me in--
28th July 2011, 09:55 AM

B.Tech(Hons) = B.Tech effort(you need to take all B.Tech subjects like normal B.Tech Students) additional study in a specialized field (and usually additional projects in this field)

Why is B.Tech (Hons) better:
1. You gain extra knowledge in a specialized field. You get better satisfaction from education, plus it looks great on your resume
2. It gives you a great edge and experience in doing some research work. You will find this experience useful if you plan to go for an MS or PhD later.
(It also makes an impact on the selection committee for you've shown an early interest in research or extra work)
3. You get an additional "(hons in XYZ)" degree in the same 4 year duration as a B.Tech(In indian universities)

Cons:
1. Need to work much harder than normal B.Tech students (but it's worth the effort)
2. Most colleges are highly selective in converting B.Tech students to B.Tech(Hons) students and give them more work. You need to be strong academically to even begin with so you can handle the extra load. Usually the brightest people in a batch go for it.

It is offered mostly in top universities like IITs and IIIT-H. (Where some B.Tech people choose to convert to B.Tech(Hons) in a special stream after their 2nd or 3rd year in B.Tech). If you have a B.Tech(Hons) from such colleges, you are definitely considered special and have gone that extra mile to pursue something you are interested in your engineering field.

There is no B.Tech (Hons) in BITS Pilani. They only have a B.E(Hons) which is given to ANY student (both a really diligent student and even a 24 hour gamer who manages to pass with a gpa just above the requirements.) so it may not create as much as an impression as B.Tech (Hons) degrees from other institutes since your recruiters or people from your MS/PhD selection committee will also obviously know about it.
28th July 2011, 09:58 AM
batman_abcdefp

B.Tech(Hons) = B.Tech effort(need to take all B.Tech subjects like normal B.Tech Students) + additional study in a specialized field (and usually additional projects in this field)

Why is B.Tech (Hons) better:
1. You gain extra knowledge in a specialized field. You get better satisfaction from education, plus it looks great on your resume
2. It gives you a great edge and experience in doing some research work. You will find this experience useful if you plan to go for an MS or PhD later.
(It also makes an impact on the selection committee for you've shown an early interest in research or extra work)
3. You get an additional "(hons in XYZ)" degree in the same 4 year duration as a B.Tech(In indian universities)

Cons:
1. Need to work much harder than normal B.Tech students (but it's worth the effort)
2. Most colleges are highly selective in converting B.Tech students to B.Tech(Hons) students and give them more work. You need to be strong academically to even begin with so you can handle the extra load. Usually the brightest people in a batch go for it.

It is offered mostly in top universities like IITs and IIIT-H. (Where some B.Tech people choose to convert to B.Tech(Hons) after their 2nd or 3rd year in B.Tech). If you have a B.Tech(Hons) from such colleges, you are definitely considered special and have gone that extra mile to pursue something you are interested in your engineering field.

There is no B.Tech (Hons) at BITS Pilani. They only have a B.E(Hons) which is given to ANY student (both a really diligent student and even a 24 hour gamer who manages to pass with a gpa just above the requirements.) so it may not create as much as an impression as B.Tech (Hons) degrees from other institutes since your recruiters and MS/PhD selection committee members will also know about it.
1st August 2011, 11:40 PM

Unhappy Re: Difference between B.Tech and B.Tech (hons) Honors?

well in our college (sastra university) normally students are admitted for b.tech degree. However we were provided option to pursue b.tech(hons) degree by interest. In case you pursue b.tech(hons) the eligibility criteria is the cgpa of 7.5 till 4th semester. You will be given to choose the subject from other departments and even the subject from own dept provided he/she should not have that subject before or even after in further forcoming semesters. Everything is self study only the syllabus materials will be provided. For each semester need to choose one subject and should clear with D grade or above (ie) 50 and above out of 100..have to continue the same each semesters till the end final eight semester. Atlast you will be entitled with B.tech(Hons) degree...
hey dude, even m in sastra univesity.. can u jus tell me in more detail bout b tech honours in satra university?? please
28th August 2011, 05:41 PM
tryecrot

Default opportunity to RSS

Yes there should realize the opportunity to RSS commentary, quite simply, CMS is another on the blog.
22nd September 2011, 10:18 PM

i want to know that have admission possible in b.tech (hons) or any other subject after completing simple b.tech ?
9th December 2011, 09:13 PM

Can i go for b tech after completing bsc with statistics honours
15th December 2011, 02:48 PM

what is difference between b-tech (honour) and b-tech (pass)
14th March 2012, 11:40 AM

what a person can do after passing the examinations of B Tech?
14th March 2012, 05:50 PM
nkrjn17

Hi friend
The Bachelor of Technology (commonly abbreviated as B.Tech. or B.Tech.(Hons)) is an undergraduate academic degree conferred after completion of a three or four year program of studies at an accredited university or accredited university-level institution. These two are same , there is no difference between these two.
but the basic diffrence is that
B Tech(hons.) if your credit percentage is above 75 or 80 at the end
with no supplies or you can say back depend upon the university pattern.
14th March 2012, 06:41 PM

Hai,.
B. tech (Hons) is the top
most in these three
degrees. Honours degree
is done by electing a
subject of your choice.
With the selection, there are some additional
subjects you have to study
in order to get the degree.
Honours is an in-depth
study of the selected
subject and it carries more weight when going for
higher studies.
All the best..
11th May 2012, 04:53 PM

My dear friend

Friends plz tell me about b.tach ?
ya kon c university & college krvaty han marit kitna hota ha?
zeeshan ali
11th May 2012, 07:25 PM
tash1991

Btech (Hons) is, ofcourse far better than normal B.Tech. First of all,
all the subjects dat u study in Btech will have to study in an advance
mode in B.Tech (Hons) plus Btech (Hons) will study an engineering
subject in its full depth as a specialization. The student will have the
freedom to select this specialization. But remember dat very few
coleges are conducting B.Tech hons. Because, the college will have to
possess the fecility equal to research and the staff shoud be excellant.
The students will have good capability to follow the subject. So
genuine coleges make a very strenuous selection procedure to select the
student for B.Tech (Hons). IITs of India and BITS are giving either well
defined B.Tech (Hons) or B.E (Hons). You can see that their labs are
valued for thousands of crores of rupees and they maintain it wid most
modern equipments. You can understand the dufference if you go through
their subjects depths.

Thanking you sir,
11th May 2012, 07:53 PM
a444

While studying B.Tech you study all engineering subjects till you finish your graduation. While studying B.Tech(Hons), however, you have an option of studying one of the engineering subjects in more depth. Since you will studying one of the subjects in more depth you have an option of doing that at the cost of the other engineering subject.
Atleast this is what it holds for B.Sc and B.Sc(Hons) or B.A and B.A(Hons)
For eg: If I am doing B.Sc(Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics), I have to study all these subjects for all three years or until I complete my graduation.
But if I am doing B.Sc(Hons-Chemistry), I would be studying Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics for 1st year, Physics and Chemistry for 2nd and ONLY CHEMISTRY for 3rd year.
That's how it is! Same might be true for B.Tech too!
11th May 2012, 07:58 PM
a444

While studying B.Tech you study all engineering subjects till you finish your graduation. While studying B.Tech(Hons), however, you have an option of studying one of the engineering subjects in more depth. Since you will studying one of the subjects in more depth you have an option of doing that at the cost of the other engineering subject.
Atleast this is what it holds for B.Sc and B.Sc(Hons) or B.A and B.A(Hons)
For eg: If I am doing B.Sc(Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics), I have to study all these subjects for all three years or until I complete my graduation.
But if I am doing B.Sc(Hons-Chemistry), I would be studying Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics for 1st year, Physics and Chemistry for 2nd and ONLY CHEMISTRY for 3rd year.
That's how it is! Same might be true for B.Tech too!
11th May 2012, 09:32 PM
kinnarnara

In b.tech(hons),
You can study one subject with depth information.
In simple b.tech,
You can study all the subject.
Or you can study engineering in all branch.
Therefore,
B.tech(hons) is the best option for you.
Good luck