28th September 2010, 11:34 PM

IAS Subject Choosing Guide

may u suggest me how to prepare and what subjects i should choose. so please send me the whole process of exam,but i don't know anything about it that how to get application forms and examination form please guide me.i have done M.A, B.Ed

29th September 2010, 05:28 PM

Default Re: IAS Subject Choosing Guide

how can i prepare for civil job's
29th September 2010, 07:34 PM
maddusajj

these year the pattern of ias exam has changed,
from now on there will be two exams the first exam will be in the month of may and is known as CSAT,it consists of two papers general and aptitude,
the second exam is known as mains and on can only write it when you clear the CSAT,
in the mains exam you have to write three papers of which one is general and two subjects you have to select,
mostly people take one subject which is there own specialization and any other subject.
you can see the choice of subjects at www.upsc.gov.in
you can get the application forms from post office after the notification is out
29th September 2010, 10:32 PM
kool

Thumbs up Re: IAS Subject Choosing Guide

For being an IAS officer you have to appear in civil services exam conducted by UPSC.
I would like to inform you some fact about this exam.

In this exam there are three sections:
1: Prelims test- In which you have to face the questions of General
knowledge,Reasoning,Maths,English,current affairs etc(as per new pattern of UPSC
exam)

so for preparation of it, you have to read newspaper daily as well as solve so many reasoning ,maths & english questions from any reference book like R.S.Agrawal etc.
& you have to follow monthly magazine also like Pratiyogita darpan,CRS,Arihant monthly magazine etc.

2: for mains preparation you have to select any two paper as per your choice which may
be belong to your syllabus of your graduation course.

3: Interview: you have to well prepared for Interview after selection of mains.
For interview you have to be well knowledge about your subject as well as Indian
politics,Indian Economy etc. It depend upon Interviewer , which question he will ask
to you.

kindly start the preparation of prelims test at this time, it will helpful to you.
& for more information about this exam kindly visit:
www.upsc.gov.in

29th September 2010, 11:17 PM
robart

the advertisement for civil services exam 2011 will be published in employment news of November month.

you can get all details like subjects,how to fill up exam form,syllabus etc.

just go through it.you can also log on to www.upsc.gov.in.

30th September 2010, 12:06 AM

1: Prelims test- In which you have to face the questions of General
knowledge,Reasoning,Maths,English,current affairs etc(as per new pattern of UPSC
exam)

so for preparation of it, you have to read newspaper daily as well as solve so many reasoning ,maths & english questions from any reference book like R.S.Agrawal etc.
& you have to follow monthly magazine also like Pratiyogita darpan,CRS,Arihant monthly magazine etc.

2: for mains preparation you have to select any two paper as per your choice which may
be belong to your syllabus of your graduation course.
30th September 2010, 12:44 AM
babydoll

Hi!
For preparation of IAS exam you can take coaching from reputed institutions.
IAS exam conducted by the upsc,held every year.
The Civil Services Examination consists of two successive stages: (I) Civil Services Preliminary Examination; and (ii) Civil Services Main Exam(Written & Interview) for selection of candidates.

Subject options:
Part A ptional subjects
General Studies
Essay
Agriculture
Animal Husbandry and Veterinary Science
Botany
Chemistry
Civil Engineering
Commerce
Economics
Electrical Engineering
Geography
Geology
Indian History
Law
Mathematics
Mechanical Engineering
Medical Science
Philosophy
Physics
Political Science
Psychology
Public Administration
Sociology
Statistics
Zoology

Part B - UPSC Main Examination - Optional Subjects
General Studies
Essay
English Qualifying
Indian Languages
Mathematics
Agriculture
Botany
Chemistry
Civil Engineering
Commerce
Economics
Electrical Engineering
Geography
Geology
Indian History
Law
Mathematics
Management
Mechanical Engineering
Medical Science
Philosophy
Physics
Political Science
Psychology
Public Administration
Sociology
Statistics
Zoology
Anthropology
Arabic
Assamese
Bengali
Bodo
Chinese
Dogri
English
French
German
Gujarati
Hindi
Kannada
Kashmiri
Konkani
Maithili
Malayalam
Manipuri
Marathi
Nepali
Oriya
Pali
Persian
Punjabi
Russian
Sanskrit
Santali
Sindhi
Tamil
Telugu
Urdu
30th September 2010, 06:45 AM
yogeshkumarsoni

these year the pattern of ias exam has changed,
from now on there will be two exams the first exam will be in the month of may and is known as CSAT,it consists of two papers general and aptitude,
the second exam is known as mains and on can only write it when you clear the CSAT,
in the mains exam you have to write three papers of which one is general and two subjects you have to select,
mostly people take one subject which is there own specialization and any other subject.
you can see the choice of subjects at www.upsc.gov.in
you can get the application forms from post office after the notification is out
30th September 2010, 12:39 PM
teeks

you should go the site
www.upsc.gov.in
here you will get tips to break ias and papers to read
30th September 2010, 09:29 PM
c.vijay

please, you give the ias/ips modal question paper in tamil language
19th October 2010, 10:53 AM

I want to know about CSAT. What type of questions will be asked? and for mains I want to opt English Literature. From where can I get best guidance?
9th November 2010, 11:51 PM

how much hours study is required in a day for qualifying the ias?
14th December 2010, 08:31 PM

sir,i want to prepare for civil service exam of optional electrical engineering subject pleaz infrom me how many hours i have to work out per a day
28th December 2010, 02:06 AM

SIR, I AM A COMMERCE GRADUATE AND MY 1st OTIONAL IS ECONOMICS. WHICH SUBJECT SHOULD I CHOOSE FOR MY 2nd OPTIONAL ?
28th December 2010, 10:42 PM
ashish@

I have selected Public Administration as my first optional paper. Among Geography and Sociology, which will be the best option for me to opt for 2nd Paper.
I am from Engineering background and also worked for 2.5 yrs in reputed software company. Please guide me accordingly.

Thanks&Reagrds
Ashish
26th August 2011, 11:41 PM

I have not been able to find any French sample papers and performance score
9th July 2012, 07:13 PM

want to know which subject will go better with history as second optional
29th October 2012, 09:07 PM

how many subjects are needed to be chosen for both the prelims and the main exams individually ???
30th October 2012, 06:53 AM
Chirag17

>> Friend which subject choosing is totaly depends you. your favoutite subject choose because you are intrest in subject ,so you
easyly study.

I will given some subjectlist and book list. it is help to preparing IAS exam.

> Subject list

- Mechanical Engineering

- Electrical Engineering

- Civil Engineering

- Chemistry

- General Studies

- Mathematics

- Agriculture

- Geology

-Geography

> Book list

1)

2)

3)

4)

Good luck
31st October 2012, 03:54 PM
Dharm27

may u suggest me how to prepare and what subjects i should choose. so please send me the whole process of exam,but i don't know anything about it that how to get application forms and examination form please guide me.i have done M.A, B.Ed

>> A candidate who have completed their Graduation Degree in any Discipline are Eligible for applying IAS Exam......

>> Age of candidate should be between 21 to 30 years, Relaxation is available for Reserved category.....

IAS Subjects:

1. Botany
  2. Chemistry
  3. Civil Engineering
  4. Commerce & Accountancy
  5. Economics
  6. Electrical Engineering
  7. Geography
  8. Geology
  9. History
  10. Law
  11. Arabic
  12. Assamese
  13. Bengali
  14. Agriculture
  15. Animal Husbandry and Veterinary Science
  16. Anthropology
30th January 2013, 07:52 AM
purvi52

I will given some subjectlist and book list. it is help to preparing IAS exam.

Subject list

Mechanical Engineering
Electrical Engineering

Civil Engineering

Chemistry

General Studies

Mathematics

Agriculture

Geology

Geography

Book list

Subject options:
Part A subjectsElectrical Engineering
Geography
Medical Science
Philosophy
Physics
Political Science
Psychology
Public Administration
General Studies
Essay
Agriculture
Mathematics
Mechanical Engineering
Chemistry
Civil Engineering
CommerceAnimal Husbandry and Veterinary Science
Botany
Geology
Indian History
Law
Economics
Sociology
Statistics
Zoology

Part B - UPSC Main Examination - Optional Subjects
General Studies
Essay
English Qualifying
Indian Languages
Mathematics
Agriculture
Botany
Chemistry
Civil Engineering
Commerce
Economics
Electrical Engineering
Geography
Geology
Indian History
Law
Mathematics
Management
Mechanical Engineering
Medical Science
Philosophy
Physics
Political Science
Psychology
Public Administration
Sociology
Statistics
Zoology
Anthropology
English
French
German
Gujarati
Hindi
Pali
Russian
SanskritKannada
Kashmiri
KonkaniPersian
Punjabi
Maithili
Malayalam
Manipuri
Marathi
Nepali
OriyaArabic
Assamese
Bengali
Bodo
Chinese
Dogri
Santali
Sindhi
Tamil
Telugu
Urdu
23rd June 2013, 08:18 PM

I have done bsc(Bio) in graduation and MBA in post graduation. Can in choose the two subjects( management and political science) in optional subjects for IAS exam