30th June 2010, 11:12 PM
AYUSH CHAUHAN

Job opportunities after doing civil engineering

I want to know about job opportunities after doing civil engineering.

1. Job Opportunities after completion of Civil Engineering? Will there be more Job Opportunities for me after completion of Civil Engineering compared to Computer Science Engineering?
  2. Job opportunities for Civil engineers in the coming years? -- [Most Discussed]
  3. Job opportunities for Diploma Civil Engineer? List of distance colleges which offer B.Tech program?
  4. Job opportunities for Civil Engineering Diploma holder?
  5. Job opportunities with salary package for female Civil Engineer in Hyderabad?
  6. What are the job opportunities after completing MS? I am doing B.Tech in Civil Engineering
  7. Job opportunities for Civil Engineers in India in 2017
  8. Job opportunities in PSU for Diploma in Civil Engineering candidate?
  9. Job opportunities for Civil students in Abroad?
  10. What are the job opportunities for me in Civil Engineering?
  11. Role of Civil Engineering in building Nation? Job opportunities through Civil Engineering?
  12. Courses to study in Graduation for pursuing Civil Services exam? Job opportunities after failing to achieve in Civil Services?
  13. Can I do masters in Civil engineering abroad after completion of B.E in Civil?
  14. What are the career opportunities and future prospects available for civil engineering students in public sector? What's the selection procedure and eligibility criteria for the same?
  15. Job opportunities for B.Tech(Civil Engineering) 2nd year female candidate?
  16. How to make my career in banking sector after passing B.E civil engineering? -- [New]
  17. What are the job opportunities after doing M.Tech in civil Engineering?
  18. List of branches in diploma which are in demand?
1st July 2010, 12:27 AM
August

Default Re: Job opportunities after doing civil engineering

civil engineering is a ever green stream and is a core branch.

as we all know that india is very poor in infrastructure so in the upcoming years money in a large amount is going to be invested.

companies like DLF,JAYIPEE GROUP,TCL and many more companies are recruiting students in a large number.

u can also work in arabian countries bcoz there is a huge requirement of civil engineers.

this stream will provide u status,money and a chance to go around the world.

1st July 2010, 12:28 AM
sital

lots of job opportunities after doing civil engineering.
you can join big construction companies
you can work under big builders
civil engineers has lots of scope in thermal plant
1st July 2010, 12:34 AM
SJ.18

Originally Posted by AYUSH CHAUHAN View Post
Civil engineers will always be needed to maintain and repair existing facilities and structures.
Aftre civil engineering you may be employed in all the major construction projects carried out by the state or central government, the railways, private construction companies, military, engineering services, consultancy services etc.
You can also go in for research and take up teaching or they can open their own independent consultancy services.
there is a high demand for experienced civil engineers in developed countries.
Good luck
1st July 2010, 12:37 AM
prashantmeghalia

now a days, civil engineering is becoming the best trade of engineering. Civil engineer are being placed in private as well as public sector. So don,t worry. Civil engineering is having very good scope.
1st July 2010, 01:54 AM

Damn! there is so much scope in civil engineering. Lots of constructions projects are coming up and according to a survey there is a shortage of civil engineers.

So if you pass out from a college then you easily get absorbed into a company. So dont worry about the jobs. You will surely get it

Its a very interesting field. If you want to excel in it then you have to have deep interest in it.

Civil engg is an evergreen field and there is no end of it. The salaries of civil engg increases with experience. Dont see that a college provides 3 lakhs salary to civil engg students and 7 lakhs to computer students. Civil engineers can easily race the computer engg salary package after few years of experience.

So join civil engineering. You will enjoy it.
1st July 2010, 04:01 AM

Hai Aayush,

As per the present scenario, there is a huge demand for civil engineers.The rapid infrastructural development throughout India has influenced the demand for civil engineers.
Expansion in the field of railways, power sectors, malls etc. has increased the job opportunity for civil engineers in this country and the expansion will definitely continue for a longer period of time.
Along with it, the development policies of indian government has been providing employement to civil engineers since last few years and there is a scope of growth for the same. So, we can say that the golden period of civil engineers has already started.
1st July 2010, 09:18 AM
panuboy

doing a btech degree from civil is now a day is in full demand whether it is public sector or private
it is mainly related to construction department and believe me you have a bright future
ok good luck
1st July 2010, 11:07 AM

There are lots of jobs availiable for Civil Engineering. But it is true that when the economy is down, civil engineers get affected badly. This is because there is no
money to spend on the projects. But, actually it really depends on the individual. Someone who is potencial, hard working, innovative, diversified and successful will
stand out. So, dont worry there are too much scope in this field ans salary in this
field is outstanding. So, just go for this course...............

1st July 2010, 04:33 PM
Dkiran

hi dude,dont worry nowdays there are more government projects are releasing please apply for that all the best.
4th July 2010, 11:38 PM
Shagun Makin

Dear Ayush as you will see that there are lot of jobs in the Civil Engg. as there is great demand of engineers to improves India's infrastructure.

One of the best company is Jaypee and there are lot other companies.

SO there is a good opportunity in this field. Don't miss it apply for companies you will easily get one.

BEST OF LUCK!!!!
5th July 2010, 07:42 PM
Hitha Nanjappa

civil engineers have jobs as long as constructions exist in the world.. so i mean your job opportunities are infinity... dont worry..
15th July 2010, 04:43 AM

the chances of business is better in civil engineering than mechanical engineering?can they get more salary than a mechanical engineer?
16th July 2010, 12:23 AM
kshitijawadhiya

since we have so less space in our country so we have a great need of buildings and infrastructures also
there comes the need of civil engg.
you would be mostly involved in some construction kind of job for atleast next 10 years..........
it is having a bright future
10th August 2010, 06:11 PM
prathamesh22

Civil engg is an evergreen field
go to naukri.com
monster.com
yuvaindia.com
freshersworld.com
for various jobs available
11th August 2010, 01:45 PM
ravi k

dear frnd,

you can join construction companies just like L & T,IRCON,DLF,TCL, JAYPEE GROUP....etc...
you can also go in indian railway..

15th August 2010, 02:09 PM
parhitoshika

sure you can go for a lot of jobs .. for getting into good companies you need good preparation.
oppurtunities are in the field of :
construction
maintenance
repair

there are hence a lot of scope in civil.
27th August 2010, 12:16 AM

Well, dear AYUSH likewise Mechanical, Civil Engineering is also a ever green Engineering branch, with a promising career prospect in India and Gulf also.

Just by applying simple logic, we can explain why in following terms.

Population is increasing as a result demand for Residance are also increasing. Similarly its negetive effect creating Deforestation as a result new branch of civil engineering & Architechture that is Enviromental Engineering is also increasing.

Hundreds of Infrastrutural projects are going on while thausands are awaited for ther turn.

Priviously, only Kolkata has metro facility, then come delhi's turn now, other metropolitian cities are also moving towards it.

Roadways are getting much better from what it was 25 years before.

Township, Residencialship, IT parks, Malls, Gardening, Railways, etc. all has created plethora of oppurtunities for Civil Engineers India.

Being a Civil Engineer you can expect anything betweeen 15k-40k at starting level. Even IIT's have highest placement record of 1 lacs per month for a civil engineer, where as it has placement record in crores for other branches.

Where as in Gulf, nothing to say it about as every body knows. In UAE Civil Engineers find starting salary of about SR 3,000-4,000 (SR= Riyals, almost equivalent to Rs.12 INR).

I want to make you understand that Civil Engineering is a branch whose 1st priority is experiance and Analytical Bent of Mind. Experiance is the most powerful tool for Civil Engineers for creating a benchmark in career prospect.

So, there is nothing to worry about it, if you have decided to opt for Civil Engineering then just go for it.

Higher studies will always act as an Asset and a gaurantee for increased Employbility oppurtunities.

But not forget what I have said above that "Civil Engineering is a branch whose 1st priority is experiance and Analytical Bent of Mind".

Weather you will be a B.Tech holder or M.Tech holder you will face little problem in the begining and also can not expect very good pay, because Civil Engineering takes time to take off from career point of view.

So, before acting keep these Golden Words in Mind.

Best of Luck
27th August 2010, 12:32 AM
KHAN20

Thumbs up Re: Job opportunities after doing civil engineering

u can get jobs in construction sector.contractor,tender sector,power plant etc
27th August 2010, 02:02 AM
maddusajj

the chances of business is better in civil engineering than mechanical engineering?can they get more salary than a mechanical engineer?
in the initial stages of the career the civil engineers are surely paid more than the mechanical engineers,
also the chances of starting an own business is more for an civil engineer because of the more works being don in the field of civil engineering and also the initial investment is comparatively low,
27th August 2010, 07:40 AM
Adarshxxx

first of all civil engineering is evergreen branch and it is a core branch.so it has a great scope in present as well as future.we all know that India is a developing country and a lot of construction work is done all the time.so you have wide opportunities in India as well as in Arab countries where there is a great demand for civil engineers.some of the constructions companies that recruit are DLF,JAYPEE,TCL,Aditya Birla group.
Best of Luck!!!!
27th August 2010, 08:27 AM
cenaetion

India is a developing country, our country is developing day by day, the infrastructure is developing day by day, as a result lots of new construction companies are opening.. so there is huge scope for Civil engineers.....
after completion of your Btech you can get a job in good construction company.. there are the name of some construction companies,
1.JAIPEE GROUP

2.DLF

3.TCL

4. RAILWAYS

etc..

27th August 2010, 08:53 AM

now these days the civil engineering is one of the booming sector.

there is a lot of the job as well as good salary option.

the door of the private as well as the governement company is laways open.

so you can make your carrier in this fields.
27th August 2010, 03:22 PM
subhash5687

civil engineering have largest scope todays date
like in DMRC
malls bridges
etc
27th August 2010, 07:11 PM
vyshnavi sai

Hai friend,
civil engineers are next to GOD.because civil engineers is the only one who can create a new world with his ideas and innovative skills.today without civil engineers the life cannot imagine and the people cannot stay in any place.
In the upcoming years civil engineer has a bright future because in the upcoming years population is enormously increases and the needs of people can also increases so that civil enggineers have to construct buildings,dams,reserviour......,maintainance and repairs of buildings are increased to a great extent.
so dont fear about jobs gain subject.By the end of ur engg i can promise u have 2 jobs in ur hand.

gud luck
31st August 2010, 12:31 PM
princearyan

dear friends,

you can go for both government as well as the private job.

there is very good demand of the civil engineers.

specially in the development country like INDIA.
22nd September 2010, 10:32 PM

what is salary of an electrical engineering
23rd September 2010, 02:17 AM

Job opportunities for civil engineers is very good.

as you know core engg market are always stay in stable situation.

core engg field are not effected in the time of recession period.

core engg holders like civil engg, they can have good chance in govt sectors as well as in private sectors.

they can join in the given below govt sector

1.rail.

2.PWC.

3.NTPC.

4.DVC.

5.ONGC.

6.BHEL.

etc.

all the best..........
23rd September 2010, 02:06 PM
Mrs_Praveen_Gola

Make your own practice and be your own boss.otherwise a lot of civil engineers post are to be issued by DSSSB.keep in touch with time to time.
23rd September 2010, 09:01 PM
mohit brh

Currently there is very good scope of civil engineering in private sector or public sector and advantages of this branch is less number of student in india as compare to other branches.
you will get job in PSU like IOCL,BHEL,Railways,NTPC,PGDCL,HPCL.

23rd September 2010, 09:09 PM
saranyasaran

Smile Re: Job opportunities after doing civil engineering

dont worry about civil engineering its an evergreen department and can manage all work....
u have more opportunities in government, abroad, and also many core companies......
and also ther is vacancies in teaching line also in colleges, more civil engineers are now wanted....
the only thing is we should familiar with autocadd,staadpro and primeavera in software field.
and in surveying we should familiar with total station. and we should have good leadership qualities...
24th September 2010, 11:14 PM
subhash1206

you will have lotsof job appotunities dear
like BARC
1.rail.

2.PWC.

3.NTPC.

4.DVC.

5.ONGC.

6.BHEL.
BEST OF LUCK DEAR
25th September 2010, 02:07 PM
NITIN2

Now a days there are very large scope of job for civil engineers.In present

days,in all over india the construction work is going on, so you will get job

very easily.For civil engineer, there is job in both government sector as well

as private sector.

Job in private construction company

1. Tantia construction

2. Sahara India construction company

3.Bhagheeratha Engineering Ltd

4.BLG Construction Services

5.Consolan

Government job

1.You can join PWD

2.NTPC

3.Central coaliary

4. Railway

5.Defense services

6.Bharat Heavy Electricals Limited (BHEL)

6th October 2010, 01:56 PM

how to get a job in dlf company
31st October 2010, 08:03 PM
Sushant Roy

Many job option are there for a civil engineer, into which Quantity Surveying are skilled professionals are very much in demand both at home and abroad. But the demand is not sufficiently met. A QS is a professional who is well conversant with technical building and engineering aspects of construction as well as commercial aspects related to contracts. So we can say that he combines both the commercial as well as the technical aspects of construction which makes him extremely valuable.

A qualified surveyor performs a variety of jobs related to construction. He takes detailed measurements from the plan once it is approved by an architect. Before the construction goes on-line he calculates the cost of the works, prepares schedules to be priced by tenders for the purpose of valuation in lump-sum contracts. He assists in negotiations and obtaining quotations and administering the contract. He may also serve as an arbitrator when needed.
QS is in demand in both the public and private sectors. They are required by various government departments like the Military Engineering Services (M/o Defence), M/o Surface Transport, NPCC etc. and private corporate companies.
20th January 2011, 01:08 PM

hi friends....give me your suggestions...
which are the civil companies that encourage freshers ,to learn and get knowledge about civil engineering works.list some companies were freshers will get job and how can they approach.......say in tamil nadu and in bangalore
8th April 2011, 04:30 PM

there is lots of oppurtunity in civil engineering ........so my dear proud to be a civil engineer ........it is the first step of engineer .....firsrt we build the building then any branch get start their future in there ...
17th May 2011, 07:50 PM
Aravinth.s

Originally Posted by Hitha Nanjappa View Post
civil engineers have jobs as long as constructions exist in the world.. so i mean your job opportunities are infinity... dont worry..
thanks for your advice
16th June 2011, 09:21 PM
audreen

Hi ..am also doin civil and i too heard abt the damn opportunities awaitin dis trade..nothin bad wud happen if u chose CE ..ours is an immortal trade so be cool
16th June 2011, 09:24 PM

Hi..what s the scope of doin MBA after B TECH?
20th June 2011, 11:47 AM
amit gaur2065

Dear this branch is a evergreen branch so dont worry , you can apply for number of companies, like as
>DLF,
>JAYIPEE GROUP
>TCL,
>OMEX and many more companies are recruiting students in a large number
20th June 2011, 11:49 AM
amit gaur2065

Post Re: Job opportunities after doing civil engineering

Dear this branch is a evergreen branch so dont worry , you can apply for number of companies, like as
>DLF,
>JAYIPEE GROUP
>TCL,
>OMEX and many more companies are recruiting students in a large number
30th July 2011, 02:45 PM

i am civil engg in diploma holder (3 years) exp. In 1 years any requirment pls contact me .9797389206_9018840102 in j&k
8th August 2011, 11:52 PM

Will civil enginners get a job in IT field?
9th August 2011, 08:04 AM
ROHIT1THAKUR

There were many job opportunities both from the public and the private sector after completing B.Tech Civil Engineering.

* construction company such as L&T, Aditya brila, Relience infra, CCCL, SOMA, INDIAN Cements.

* you will get the surveying department of the government of India.

* You can layout the plots layout and earn from real estate market.

* you can go for the I.E.S entrance if you are eligible.

you should have good quality knowledge to grow this field then you found good job not in private even then govt. sectors. some private companies are:
NTPC
BHEL
ONGC
UTI
some private company are:
PWD
bridge corporation & other
9th August 2011, 09:47 AM
prashant.jha39

there are soooo many opportuniies after completing civil engg.

1. you can go for PSU's
2. you can go for masters and then nt teachng field
3. MBA
4. bank jobs
5. civil sercies
17th September 2011, 10:31 PM
it933

civil engs are related to doctors. many of their lives are hold by us during construction, operation and repair works
10th October 2011, 06:04 PM

how much do these people earn particularly those that have diploma in ce
3rd December 2011, 12:06 PM

i have completed B.Tech in civil engineering with 68.7% agg.but i don't have any job,their is less opportunities in civil,this is good for saying but their is scope in civil engineering.if their is job in civil engineering please send mail me on [email protected] or call on 9460680001
3rd December 2011, 12:10 PM
rahulbachu

i don't get any job after completed B.tech in civil engineering.if their is a lot of scope so where isit.