10th August 2017, 12:23 AM
Unregistered

What is the academic qualification required for being a district magistrate?

Dear Sir/Mam, My name is Riya and I am a student of class 12 and I have chosen the arts stream , my subjects are _English, Bengali, political science, economics, history and geography, my aim is to be a district magistrate but I don't know how I should proceed step by step towards my aim. What should I do after 12th exam, and graduation? On which subject should I do my graduation as well? can you plz give me the description of this procedure.

10th August 2017, 08:39 PM
Badtameez Dil
Senior Member++

Default Re: What is the academic qualification required for being a district magistrate?

District Magistrate is Indian Administrative Services officer. Students who clear Civil Services examination and are in top ranks of this exam is selected for Indian Administrative Services.

The academic qualification required for Civil Services examination is bachelor's degree in any stream from a recognized university. Candidates studying in final year of bachelor's degree can also apply for this exam.

After senior secondary board examination, you must pursue bachelor's degree to be eligible for this examination. You can choose any subject in bachelor's degree of your choice. The minimum age limit to apply for this exam is 21 years.
10th August 2017, 10:00 PM
Dadi Maa
Senior Member+

Default Re: What is the academic qualification required for being a district magistrate?

Who is called District Magistrate?

Any person who joins Indian Administrative Services become SDM after completion of training at LBSNAA. After 3-4 years of experience that candidate becomes District Magistrate in any district.

So to become District Magistrate, you should join Indian Administrative Service. To join IAS, you will need to appear for Civil Services examination and crack it.