21st August 2012, 12:17 PM

What are the Physical Requirements to become an IPS Officer?

what are the physical requirement for become an ips officer

21st August 2012, 02:32 PM
kumarsaibhanu

Default Re: What are the Physical Requirements to become an IPS Officer?

hii dude,required physical qualities for IPS officer are:height must be above 5"6', no eyesight and health problems, physical fitness for running, trecking and other tests(shotput,javvellin throw).he must show better performance during trainning session ,i wishh u all the best for ur bright future.

21st August 2012, 03:14 PM
sunilpati

Hi dear................

Eligibility Criteria :---

Age limit

21 years must be completed on 1st August of the year, which a candidate is appearing. Maximum 30 for general category, 33 for OBCs and 35 for SCs/STs .

Number of Attempts

Four attempts for open, seven for OBCs and no limit for SCs/STs. If a person appears in the Preliminary Examination or even one paper is counted as an attempt.

Education details

The candidates should be a graduate in any discipline from a recognize university.

Minimum Physical Standard :--

Height – Male 165 cm Pahari Male (general also) & ST (not the SC/ OBC) – 160 cm

Female 150 cm Pahari Female (general also) & ST (not SC/ OBC)- 145 cm

Chest – Male Minimum 84 cm. Expansion 5 cm.

Female Min 79 cm expansion 5 cm.

The exam pattern :--

The optional subjects which you can choose are as follows........

For more details visit website.
http://www.upsc.gov.in

Good luck...........

21st August 2012, 04:26 PM
sherleytwain

To become Indian Police Service (IPS) officer you are required to appear in Civil Service Examination. The Civil Service Examination is conducted by the Union Public Service Commission every year to recruit not only IPS but IAS and IFS officers as well.

Eligibility

Educational Requirement:

The candidate should hold a graduation degree in any stream from a recognised university to appear in Civil Service Examination.

Age Criteria:

The minimum age to appear for IPS Exam is 21 years as on August 1 of examination year.

Maximum age limit for IPS Officer Exam is 30 years.

The upper age limit is 33 for OBC.

For SC/ST it is 35 years.

Physical Requirements:

Height:

Male - 165 cm

Female - 150 cm

For ST candidates (it does not include SC and OBC)

Male - 160 cm

Female - 145 cm

Eye Sight:

6/6 or 6/9 distant vision for good eye

6/12 or 6/9 for worst eye

No color blindness or night blindness

Chest:

Male Minimum 84 cm. Expansion 5 cm

Female Min 79 cm expansion 5 cm

Nasal:

Candidate should not stammer while speaking.

21st August 2012, 05:53 PM
drjeet

Hello...
IPS is the Indian Police Service.

Physical Requirements to Become an IPS Officer are::::

Height -
Male 165 cm
ST (not the SC/ OBC) - 160 cm
Female 150 cm
ST (not SC/ OBC)- 145 cm

Chest -
Male Minimum 84 cm. Expansion 5 cm.

Eye sight - 6/6 or 6/9 distant vision for good eye.
6/12 or 6/9 for worst eye.
Near vision J 1 for good eye.
J2 for worst eye.
The correction is by lenses only. High standard for the Colour-blind test.
No inherent night blindness.
Vision should stereoscopic.
Blood pressure (High) - Age 23 - 123,
age 24 - 124,
age 25 -122,
age 28 - 124,
age 30 -125,
age 32 - 126,
age 34 - 127.
Ladies should not be pregnant at the time of Medical Test.

Ear- good listening & normal ear cavity. 1000 to 4000 frequency hearing impairment shd not be more than 30 decibels.

Nasal- candidate should not stammer while speaking.

21st August 2012, 09:33 PM
guri kaur

hi....!!!!

-->The Indian Police Service simply known as Indian Police or IPS, is one of the three All India Services civil services of the Government of India.

-->In 1948, a year after India gained independence from Britain, the Imperial Police (IP) was replaced by the Indian Police Service.

-->The IPS is not a law enforcement agency; rather it is a civil service in which officers are selected on the basis of professional merit as proven by competitive examinations, and to which all senior police officers are professionally identified.

-->Police officers are employed by the police departments of respective states of India.

Details of IPS:-

Course Name:-

Implementing Cisco Intrusion Prevention Systems v5.0 (see IPS/HIPS)

Course Description:-

Course Fee: $2,795.00

Given an example of Cisco's defense in depth, the learner will explain how Cisco IPS protects network devices from attacks. Given an IPS sensor appliance, the learner will install the appliance in the network and initialize it. Use IDM to configure basic sensor settings. The learner will use IDM to configure built-in signatures to meet the requirements of a given security policy.

Associated Certification:-
CCSP

Number of Days:-
5 days,Classroom

Who should Attend:-
Channel Partner / Reseller
Customer
Employee

Course Content:-

Given an example of Cisco's defense in depth, the learner will explain how Cisco IPS protects network devices from attacks. Given an IPS sensor appliance, the learner will install the appliance in the network and initialize it. Use IDM to configure basic sensor settings. The learner will use IDM to configure built-in signatures to meet the requirements of a given security policy. The learner will describe the functions of signature engines and their parameters. The learner will use IDM to tune and create signatures to meet the requirements of a given security policy. Given a scenario, the learner will use IDM to tune a sensor to work optimally in the network. Given a scenario, the learner will use the Monitoring Center for Security and Cisco Threat Response to maximize alarm management efficiency. The learner will explain blocking concepts and use IDM to configure blocking for a given scenario. The learner will install the NM-CIDS in a router and initialize it. The learner will install the module in a Cisco Catalyst 6500 Switch and initialize it. The learner will use a Cisco Catalyst 6500 Switch to capture network traffic for intrusion prevention analysis. The learner will install and recover the sensor software image and perform service pack and signature updates. The learner will use the CLI and IDM to verify system configuration.

Prerequisites:-

Students who attend this advanced course must have experience in configuring Cisco IOS software and have met the following prerequisites: Certification as a CCNA or the equivalent knowledge. Basic knowledge of the Windows operating system Familiarity with the networking and security terms and concepts.

Couse Outline:-

Lesson 1 Course Introduction Lesson
Lesson 2 Security Fundamentals Lesson
Lesson 3 Intrusion Prevention Overview Lesson
Lesson 4 Getting Started with the IDS Command Line Interface Lesson
Lesson 5 Using IDM Lesson
Lesson 6 Basic Sensor Configuration Lesson
Lesson 7 Cisco Intrusion Detection System Alarms and Signatures Lesson
Lesson 8 Signature Engines Lesson
Lesson 9 Signature Configuration Lesson
Lesson 10 Sensor Tuning Lesson
Lesson 11 Alarm Monitoring and Management Lesson
Lesson 12 Blocking Configuration Lesson
Lesson 13 Cisco Intrusion Detection System Network Module Lesson
Lesson 14 Intrusion Detection System Module Configuration Lesson
Lesson 15 Capturing Network Traffic for Intrusion Detection Systems Lesson
Lesson 16 Sensor Maintenance Lesson
Lesson 17 Verifying System Configuration

Physical Requirements:-

-you should be physically fit.

-your eyesight should be 6/6.

-Chest:-
Male:-minimum 84 cm expansion
Female:-min 79 expansion

-Nasal:-
candidate should not stammer while speaking.

-no color blindness or night blindness should be there.

-Height:-
Male-165cm
Female:-150cm

-age limit is 21 years minimum.

-Relaxation is there for SC/OBC/ST.

Following are the books for IPS

-->for more information you can call on the following no.:-
Call for info: 949-477-2000

-->you can also visit:
-
www.upsc.gov.in

all the best....go ahead and work hard!!!

Guri Kaur

17th October 2012, 07:46 AM

How a student of sciene appear for CBI officer?

17th October 2012, 06:55 PM

IPS - Indian Police Service, to become an IPS officer one has to apply, appear and crack Civil Service Exam conducted by UPSC once every year.

To be eligible for IPS the candidate should have maintained a minimum physical requirement such as:-

HEIGHT:-

General Male candidate should be 165cm and Female 150cm while SC/ST Male candidate should be 160cm and Female 145cm.

CHEST:-

The Male candidate should be 85cm while Female 79cm expandablr to 5cm in both the cases.

Apart from this the candidate must be an Indian National having either appear for the final Graduation Degree exam or pass in any stream from a recognised University within the age of 21 to 30 years with upper age relaxation for reserved candidate.

For more information you may log on to http://www.upsc.gov.in

17th October 2012, 07:08 PM
mahhiads

Physical Qualification :

Height:

Male Candidate : 165cm (In Case Of SC/ST/OBC : 160cm)

Female Candidate : 150cm (In Case Of SC/ST/OBC : 145cm)

Chest:

Male Candidate : 84cm

Female Candidate : 79cm

Note : They Should Be Able To Expand The Chest For 5cm For Male And Female Both

Eye sight:

6/12 Or 6/9 Distant Vision For Worse Eye And 6/6 Or 6/9 Distant Vision For Good Eye. Near Vision For Worse Eye Is J2 And For Good Eye Is J1.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Education Qualification :

Graduation In Any Discipline From Recognized University

Age Limit :

General : 21 to 30 Years
OBC : 21 to 33 Years
SC/ST : 21 to 35 Years

Selection Process:

1. Preliminary Exam
2. Mains Exam
3. Interview

All The Best!!!!!!!!!!!!

21st February 2013, 09:12 PM

My eyesight are very weak..i cannot be an IPS if i try ? Please Suggest me..

22nd February 2013, 12:29 AM
royal@m

Dear Friend;
Its good that you want to become an IPS officer and want to make the country Crime free. For becoming an IPS officer a candidate must be physically as well as Mentally fit. The recruitment for the post of IPS (Indian Police Service) is made by the Union Public Service Commission everyyear in the month of February.
The minimum eligibility criteria requires for applying is as follows :-
a) Must be a citizen of India
b) Age limit should be 21-30 years
Must has passed out Graduation in any discipline from a recognized university which comes under UGC.
Physical Fitness requires is as follows :-
Chest :- 82cms
Height :- 170cms
Weight :- Equivalent to Height as per standard measures.
Relaxation in terms of age and number of attempts is applicable to the backward category candidates, the following is as follows :-
General :-
Age Relaxation :- No
Number of attempts :- Four
OBC :-
Age Relaxation :- 3 years.
Number of attempts :- Four + Three = Seven
SC/ST :-
Age Relaxation :- 5 years
Number of attempts :- No. limit
Selection pattern followed is as follows :-
PRELIMINARY EXAM
MAINS EXAM
INTERVIEW
MERIT

Best book for Civil services Exam:-
#.CSAT: Interpersonal, Communication, Problem Solving and Decision Making Skills (Paper 2)
by
Shalini Verma
Publisher: Pearson

#.UPSC Portal CSAT Comprehensive Manual: IAS Preliminary Examination 2013 (Paper - 2)
by
Sachchida Nand Jha
Publisher: UPSC Portal

#.UPSC Portal CSAT General Studies Manual: IAS Preliminary Examination 2013 (Paper - 1)
by
Jha, Jha
Publisher: UPSC Portal

IMPORTANT DATES
Prelims exams will be held on 19th May 2013
Mains will held on
08-11-2013

for Previous Years Question Papers you can refer www.upsc.gov.in
You can fill the online application form fromthe official website www.upsconline.nic.in

HOPE THIS ABOVE INFORMATION IS USEFUL TO YOU
ALL THE BEST

22nd February 2013, 10:50 AM
aashisranjan784

Dear Friend

IPS stands for the Indian Police services.It is one of the most respectable services of Indian Government.

UPSC that is Union Public service commission organises every year Civil services examinations for getting entry into this services.

In a nutshell ,I would like to provide you the educational and age limitations for this exam.

You should have bachelor's degree in any discipline from a recognized university.Your age should be between 21-30 years .Relaxation of three year and five years is provided to obc and sc/st respectively.

You must be an Indian Citizen.If you are from general category then you will get four attempts,obc get seven and sc/st has no limit in no of attempts .

The physical requirements for this service is as below:

The examination consists of three stages :

First one is the preliminary test.Second stage is main examination and third stage is personal interview.

For any further details ,you may visit www.upsc.gov.in

Hope the information helps you.

aashisranjan784

22nd February 2013, 04:00 PM
nitz90

Smile Re: What are the Physical Requirements to become an IPS Officer?

what are the physical requirement for become an ips officer

Physical Requirements to Become IPS Officer

The candidates who dream to become IPS Officers have to first clear the Civil Services Exam conducted by UPSC every year..

The minimum eligibility requirement which all the candidates should satisfy for appearing for the Civil Services Exam are as follows :-

>> should have completed graduation from a recognized institute/University in any stream..

>> should be more than 21 years of age..

>> upper age limit for different categories is as follows :-
> General - 30 years
> OBC - 33 years
> SC/ST - 35 years

>> maximum number of attempts for general candidates is 4,for OBC its 7 and for SC/ST there is no limit..

Following rounds are to be cleared in the process of becoming an IPS officer :-

>> Preliminary Round
>> Mains
>> Personal Interview
>> Physical Examination

The forms for the Preliminary Round are available from 2nd February,2013 to 4th March,2013

The Prelims is going to be conducted on 19th May,2013 and the Mains on 8th November,2013

The recommended books for the preparations of the Prelims exam are as follows :-

Go to http://upsc.gov.in for more details about the Civil Services..

Also go through the syllabus and the past papers which I have provided..

all the best..

With Warm Regards
Nitz
File Type: docx IPS Physical Eligibility.docx(10.8 KB, 250 views)
File Type: docx IAS CSAT Syllabus.docx(12.5 KB, 187 views)
File Type: pdf IAS ENGLISH_COMPULSORY 2010.pdf(167.8 KB, 201 views)
File Type: docx IAS general studies syllabus.docx(13.4 KB, 178 views)
File Type: doc IAS-Prelims-Paper-I-Solved-2011.doc(86.0 KB, 165 views)
File Type: pdf IAS Prelims_PAPER_II.pdf(1.32 MB, 215 views)
File Type: txt IAS Exam Paper Pattern.txt(552 Bytes, 247 views)

4th March 2013, 07:23 PM

My mark matrick exam is 65persentage can i appier to ips?

5th March 2013, 12:14 PM
SK@S

My mark matrick exam is 65persentage can i appier to ips?
Just after passing matric or class 10th, you cannot appear in the UPSC Civil Services exams.

UPSC civil services exams are conducted to fill the post of IPS along with 23 other departments like IAS, IFS, IRS etc

Eligibilty to apply for the UPSC Civil services exams is:

Education:Graduation pass in any Stream

AGE- Minimum 21 years
Maximum 30 years
Candidates belonging to OBC gets 3 years and SC/ST gets 5 years age relaxations

Attempts- General candidates- 4 times
OBC- 7 times
SC/ST- No such restriction

7th March 2013, 10:29 PM

sir i belong to obc cast and my height is 162 cm. can i apply for this post.????

19th March 2013, 01:57 AM

i m doing b.com and i m belonged to a poor family can i become a I A S officer.

13th June 2013, 12:02 PM

Good morning sir i have compelted my 12th and interested in IPS so which group is better for me in degree

27th June 2013, 06:38 AM

good morning sir, i am gurpreet kaur from new delhi now i am in twelth so after bcom what can i do which is used in ips just tell me the course

18th August 2013, 04:54 AM

any physical demand of an IAS officer?

8th September 2013, 04:32 PM

sir m doing b.tech in electrical engg. kya m IPS officer bn skta hu.agar haan to kaise sir.plz tell me

8th September 2013, 08:08 PM
sohangoriya

Dear friend for apply IPS exam the minimum Education qualification is Graduation degree in any stream from a recognized University.

IPS stands for Indian Police Service.

IPS exam is conducted by UPSC under Civil Services exam in every year.

Eligibility criteria:-

Candidate should be an Indian citizen.

Candidate should be completed Graduation degree in any stream from a recognized University.

Age should be between 21 years to 30 years for General category candidates.

Age relaxation for OBC category candidates 3 years

And SC/ST category candidates 5 years.

Number of Attempts:-

General category candidates - 4 time

OBC category Candidates - 7 time

SC/ST category candidates - No limit.

Physical requirement :-

Height: –

Male 165 cm Pahari Male (general also) & ST (not the SC/ OBC) – 160 cm

Female 150 cm Pahari Female (general also) & ST (not SC/ OBC)- 145 cm

Chest :–

Male Minimum 84 cm. Expansion 5 cm.

Eye Sight:-

6/6 or 6/9 distant vision for good eye

6/12 or 6/9 for worst eye

No color blindness or night blindness

Selection procedure :-

- Preliminary entrance exam

- Main entrance exam

- Interview

All the best..........

8th September 2013, 08:16 PM
chandpasha7867

Physical measurement-

• Height minimum 70cms.

• Chest from 8 to 85 cms.

• A candidate whose height is 78 cms or more shall be given bonus marks, to be added in the total marks while determining the merit list.

• The candidates should be of sound health, free from defect/deformity/disease Both eyes should have a vision 6/ (without glasses) No relaxation is allowed to any category of candidates on this count.

8th September 2013, 10:07 PM
venkat fias

IPS Requirements :
IPS ---- Indian Police Service.
This exam conducted by UPSC Service.
every year conduct this exam, 3 stages on this exam.
Eligibility :
candidates must be complete any one degree on recognized university.
candidates should be an Indian Citizen.
age between on 21----30 years.
3 years relaxation on BC/MBCs.
5 years relaxation on SC/STs.
10 years relaxation on physical ability candidates.
heights required on 170 cm for male candidates.
155 cm heights required on female candidates.
chest required on 80 cm and 5cm expansion.

13th September 2013, 09:31 PM

HI, I'm Naveen, my dream & my aim is to become an IPS officer..
My Height is 169.50 cm, is this height is ok for attend the physical exam..? This is a major doubt what i have in my entire life.. some 1 pls ansr.. M waiting.

15th October 2013, 11:08 PM

[QUOTE=Unregistered;2591064]what are the physical requirement for become an ips officer.

18th October 2013, 06:04 PM

hello sir i m still in bcom 1st year and after grajuation i want to become an ips officer wts the procedure about it plz send me in my email adress [email protected]

19th February 2014, 06:01 PM

Is there any other physical requirements like running, long jump,etc.for i.p.s selection?

7th March 2014, 02:49 PM

thank you for give us this informetion.

27th March 2014, 01:03 AM

MY EYE IS WEAK AND MY SPECTACLE POWER IS-1 FOR RIGHT EYE AND -1.25 FOR LEFT EYE.IS MY EYES APPLICABLE TO BECOME A I.P.S?

23rd November 2014, 01:14 PM

He my name is himadri tyagi an i become a ips officer but my eye side is week an i have one child a opration so i can doing pripration the ips.

1st July 2015, 09:16 PM

What are the present physical conditions and qualification for Becoming a ips officer?

2nd July 2015, 08:24 PM
matamanju

Hello Friend

The following physical requirements is require for the IPS officer.

Height for male 165 cm and reserve category candidates 160 cm.

Height for Female 150 cm and reserve category candidates 145 cm

chest for male minimum 84 cm. and expansion must 5 cm.

Female min 79 cm expansion 5 cm.

Eye sight is 6/6 or 6/9 distant vision for good eye.

6/12 or 6/9 for worst eye.

near vision j 1 for good eye. J 2 for worst eye.

The examination consists of 2 parts

preliminary

mains

The preliminary exam consists of 2 papers.

General studies

English language (for 10 th standard).

25th July 2015, 03:41 PM

I am student of bcom from delhi university I. Am duing correspondence can I appear for ips exam

3rd July 2016, 10:37 PM

I'm Rubul Islam Chowdhury. I have completed my graduation in English. I want to be an DGP. How can I ?