13th September 2012, 03:12 PM

What shall I do to become an IAS Officer?

ma ias kaise ban sakti hu
ias banane ke liye kya kabiliyat chahiye hoti hai or ias ki full form kya hoti hai plz reply

13th September 2012, 06:36 PM
sherleytwain

Default Re: What shall I do to become an IAS Officer?

IAS stands for the Indian Administrative Service. To become an IAS officer, you would have to appear for entrance exam called Civil Service Examination. This exam is conducted on the yearly basis by the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC).

The Civil Service Examination is one of the most difficult exams to crack in India. Apart from IAS, this exam is also conducted to recruit IPS and IFS officers.

IAS officer is very important part of the Indian Bureaucracy. There are various responsibilities of the IAS officer depending on his/her rank. There are various ranks for the IAS officer suich as:

>> District Officer

>> Cabined Secretary

>> Additional Secretary

>> Director

Depending on the rank is determined the responsibility of IAS officer. But to give you some idea of what exactly IAS officer does I am pointing out some responsibilities.

IAS officer helps the government or a specific ministry draft a policy especially for this district on entire state.

Apart from drafting the policy, it is also the job of IAS officer to implement the government policy. IAS officer is required to travel to places where the policy is being implemented to check whether everything is going smoothly without any problems.

IAS officer also requires to ensure the public funds are utilized properly. In the situation of natural disaster like earthquake, floods or riots, drought, IAS officer becomes the eyes and ears of the government. The government policy would depend on great extend on the feedback given by the IAS officer.

Eligibility

1. Candidate should be Indian.

2. A graduation degree in any stream from a recognized university.

3. Age limit for Civil Service Exam is 21 to 30 years.

4. Age limit for OBC is 21 to 33 years.

5. For SC/ST - 21 to 35 years.

Number of Attempts

General - 4

OBC - 7

SC/ST - No Limit

Exam Pattern

1) Preliminary Exam

2) Main Exam

3) Interview
13th September 2012, 07:21 PM
tash1907

Hi Friend........

If you are interested in IAS Service

First you can crack the Civil Examinatin

Civil Examination is conducted by Union Public Service Commission

More Information about IAS : -

** IAS Stands for Indian Administrative Service

** Civil Examination is organized by UPSC in yearly ones

Educational Qualification for Civil Examination : -

** You must have a bachelor of degree in any stream from a recognized university

** Final year students also eligible for this examination

** Your age should between 21 to 28 years and age relaxation for SC/ST/OBC Canidates as under

for SC/ST 5 years

for OBC 3 years

Nationality : -

** You should be a citizen of India

Attempts : -

Maximum attempts for General Candidates 4

for OBC Candidates 7
13th September 2012, 10:07 PM
MOUSE92

dear,

ias officer

eligibility for ias exam:

education qualification:

--10th pass
--12th pass from any field wit at least 55%

--graduation from any field with at least 60%

AGE LIMIT:
general:21 to 30 yrs

sc/st:21 to 35 yrs

obc: 21 to 33 yrs

NUMBER OF ATTEMPTS:

general: 4

obc: 7

sc/st: no limit

for this you have to give civil services exam which is conducted upsc once every year

exam procedure:

written exam

main exam

interview

application procedure:

you can apply online by visiting

www.upsc.gov.in

PAPER ONE

current events

history of india

india and world geography

indian politics

economics and social development

general issues

general science

PAPER TWO

comprehension

logical reasoning

interpersonal skills

decision making problem solving

general mental ability

basic numeracy

13th September 2012, 10:41 PM
sunilpati

Hi dear..........
As you are interested to became a IAS officer for this to apply for Civil Service Exam.

The eligibility criteria for IAS exam :

Age Limit:

A general category candidate must have attained the age of 21 years and must not have attained the age of 30 years on 1st August 2012

(upper age limit relaxable for SCs, STs, OBCs).

Educational Qualification:

The candidate should be agraduate in any discipline , from a recognize university.

Number of attempts :

For General Category - 4

For OBC - 7

For SC & ST - No Limit

The exam pattern:

Optional subjects:

For more details visit official website of UPSC.
http://www.upsc.gov.in

Good luck..........
15th September 2012, 02:08 PM
Dharm27

Thumbs up Re: What shall I do to become an IAS Officer?

ias banane ke liye kya kabiliyat chahiye hoti hai or ias ki full form kya hoti hai plz reply

IAS stands for Indian Administrative Service
conducted by UPSC Every Year

ELIGIBILITY for IAS:

=> A candidate must have completed their graduation Degree in any Discipline (B.A, B.com, B.E ) with atlest 55% from recognise universities.Final year students are also applicable.

Age Limit:
  • General category student:- 21-30 years.
  • OBC relaxation in upper age +3 years.
  • SC/ST relaxation in upper age +5 years.

No. Attempt:
  • General - max. 4
  • OBC - max. 7.
  • SC/ST - No limit.

Exam Pattern:
  1. Preliminary Exam.
  2. Main Exam
  3. Interview

~~~:::: Books to be refer ::::~~~

All the Best
22nd February 2013, 05:11 PM
kshreyaa

the process involved in becoming an IAS or (Indian Administrative Services) officer!

Please Note: Becoming an:

IAS (Indian Administrative Services) officer
IPS (Indian Police Services) officer etc…

Is all done though the same “UPSC held Civil Services” examination! This guide is written from the point of view of becoming an IAS officer. However, the procedure to become an IPS etc. officer is also the same!

If you are interested in becoming an IAS officer, you probably know what the IAS is all about and why becoming an IAS officer is a very good career option. However, just incase you do not know, let us give you some quick information on IAS!

If you become an IAS officer, you become part of the Indian Administrative Service. You will be part of the Govt. You can work from “the inside” and change “the system”!!

If you have a dream for India, or if you, like us, believe that India will soon be a “super-power”. If you want to be part of the process of making India a great nation, IAS is for you! Being an IAS officer, there is a lot more power and control you have so that you can be part of Emerging India!

Besides that, IAS is a great career option! You get many “perks of the job” when you are an IAS officer. You will have “job security”, “discount on Govt. services”, “Govt. provided transportation” and many more things... Even though the monthly salary provided by the IAS career is not too high, the “perks” make up for the less salary!

However, getting into the IAS is not that easy! There is a very competitive “one year long” exam! To get into the IAS, you probably will have to try more than once before you succeed. And even if you clear the exam, then you have to get a very good score to qualify for the IAS! So, basically getting into the IAS is not that easy. However, here on indiahowto.com, we will try to show you “how to..” get in.

To get into the IAS, you will have to give the “UPSC held Civil Services Examination”. It is a common exam for getting into the IAS, IPS etc. To succeed in the “Civil Services Examination” you first need to understand how the examination is conducted or the “examination format”! But, before we understand that, let get some "Frequently Asked Questions" out of the way….
22nd February 2013, 09:59 PM
bhawnarattan

IAS full form is Indian Administrative Services and the exam for it is conducted by the upsc every year and to be eligible for it here is criteria:
1.Candidate hold graduation degree in any srream from recognized university.
2.Age limit is
1.For general 21-30 yrs
2.For obc 21-33 yrs
3.For sc/st 21-35 yrs.
22nd February 2013, 10:01 PM
bhawnarattan

IAS full form is Indian Administrative Services and the exam for it is conducted by the upsc every year and to be eligible for it here is criteria:
1.Candidate hold graduation degree in any srream from recognized university.
2.Age limit is
1.For general 21-30 yrs
2.For obc 21-33 yrs
3.For sc/st 21-35 yrs.
For more you can chk on www.upsc.gov.in
5th May 2013, 12:14 PM

subject for arts side se ias
6th May 2013, 01:27 AM
martha.anjaneyulu

Hi!
If you want to Become I.A.S officer then you have to pass graduation with any stream from recognized university.

After passing diploma you are not eligible for I.A.S.

For I.A.S. you have to qualify the Civil Services exam.

Civil Services exam exam is conducted by U.P.S.C once in a year.

Civil Services exam is conducted for many post like:-
> Indian Administrative services
> Indian Police Services
> Indian Foreign Services
> Indian Revenue Services

Age should be in between 21-30 year.
For ST/SC candidate age should be in between 21-33 year.

You can apply online or offline.
The Form cost is just 20 Rs.
For more detail log on to www.upsc.gov.in

ALL THE BEST!
28th May 2013, 01:32 AM

mere 12th me 50% the.aur ab mera graduation complete hone vala hai.kya mein 12th me 50% hone ke baavjud exam de skti hu.plz reply
20th July 2013, 11:31 PM

i have not scored more that 50 % in my 10 n puc .... can i writte the exam
22nd July 2013, 09:32 AM
deepthi777...

To be an IAS officer,
You have to crack UPSC exam.
Eligibility criteria is :-

Age limit :-

General category :- 21-30 years.

OBC :- 21-33 years

SC/ST :- 21-35 years.

Education eligibility :-

10 pass, 12 pass with 55% and graduation with 60%

Only Indian Citizens are eligible for the test .

Number of Attempts

1)General category -4

2)OBC - 7

3)SC/ST - no limitation for the number of attempt.

Details of online form and registration , results are available in the website :-

www.upsc.gov.in
22nd July 2013, 03:34 PM
Panchal007

IAS stands for the Indian Administrative Service. To become an IAS officer, you would have to appear for entrance exam called Civil Service Examination. This exam is conducted on the yearly basis by the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC).

This exam is the one of the toughest exam so prepare & planning very well for crack this exam.

IAS officer is very important part of the Indian Bureaucracy. There are various responsibilities of the IAS officer depending on his/her rank. There are various ranks for the IAS officer suich as:

>> District Officer

>> Cabined Secretary

>> Additional Secretary

>> Director

Depending on the rank is determined the responsibility of IAS officer. But to give you some idea of what exactly IAS officer does I am pointing out some responsibilities.

IAS officer helps the government or a specific ministry draft a policy especially for this district on entire state.

Apart from drafting the policy, it is also the job of IAS officer to implement the government policy. IAS officer is required to travel to places where the policy is being implemented to check whether everything is going smoothly without any problems.

IAS officer also requires to ensure the public funds are utilized properly. In the situation of natural disaster like earthquake, floods or riots, drought, IAS officer becomes the eyes and ears of the government. The government policy would depend on great extend on the feedback given by the IAS officer.

Eligibility for exam:-

Number of Attempts for exam:-

General - 4

OBC - 7

SC/ST - No Limit

Mainly there are three types of exam you should clear for IAS:-

1) Preliminary Exam

2) Main Exam

3) Interview
19th August 2013, 11:47 AM

If in graduation degree i have 58% marks then i can apply in IAS exm.
19th August 2013, 11:45 PM
maruthidevi

The Civil Service Examination is one of the most difficult exams to crack in India. Apart from IAS, this exam is also conducted to recruit IPS and IFS officers.

>> District Officer

>> Cabined Secretary

>> Additional Secretary

>> Director

Eligibility

Number of Attempts

General - 4

OBC - 7

SC/ST - No Limit

Exam Pattern

1) Preliminary Exam

2) Main Exam

3) Interview
23rd September 2013, 09:49 AM

Sir my education
10th with 54%,
12th with 56%,
& degree with 61%.
Please tell me sir
I can apply for I.A.S. exam.
28th September 2013, 11:58 PM
shah.meet92

IAS stands for the Indian Administrative Service. you become IAS officer, you would have to
appear for entrance exam called Civil Service
Examination. This exam is conducted on the
yearly basis by the Union Public Service
Commission (UPSC).if you want more details than you go to official website...
30th September 2013, 01:13 AM
vaibhav joshte

First you have to complete your graduation from any government recognised stream . Then you can give mpsc and upsc conducting civil exams for become ips,ias,psi

Eligibility for exam:-
Number of Attempts for exam:-
General - 4
OBC - 7
SC/ST - No Limit
Mainly there are three types of exam you should clear for IAS:-
1) Preliminary Exam
2) Main Exam
3) Interview
30th September 2013, 04:11 PM
padmavathinallam567

hello friend,

IAS Officer:

Civil servant in the department of administration is known as Indian Administrative Service Officer. This post is one of the best posts to be in government administration sector.

An exam held by central government is given to be an IAS Officer and posting are made on the state level. Its norms and condition are governed by the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC).
Aspirants Interested in this paper can read How to become an IAS Officer? To crack this exam and get selected in one of the most honoured post of India.

How to Become an IAS Officer? :

One of the toughest papers in Indian system of recruitment could be broken with a certain amount of effective studies in the field provided below:

Preparation for preliminary exam:

This exam consists of two portions:-
General Studies
Optional Subjects
For General studies:
Consider the book on the topics of current affairs like pratiyogita darpan, competition success. Questions from the current topic are made relatively in the same manner.
Books on civics, history and economics from class 11th and 12th of N.C.E.R.T. should be read as they contain the main knowledge of this portion.
Read as many books as possible on general knowledge and try to solve the questions given in them without any help.
You can also read newspapers and watch news daily for the same reason.
For optional Subjects:
Optional subjects contain the portion of the subjects that you had done your graduation in.
A selected syllabus is provided separately for this portion, so accordingly prepare the part of your previous studies rather than going through every topic of the books.
Some might presume this portion to be the most important one but it is not so, general studies should be given more time as you already are familiar with this portion due to your academic qualifications.
Preparation for the Mains:
Explore writing abilities as this paper is based on essay and paper writing.
Two papers on English and Hindi language and 4 from your optional subjects should be prepared.
Try to increase your speed of writing as these papers are lengthy.
General essay are on the different topics like life of Mahatma Gandhi.
In English and Hindi essays there is comprehensive writing.
Rather than Hindi a language paper can be given for regional language test with same general or language based topics so be prepared for that portion.
Interview:

After qualifying through these two rounds next big step is interview part. Most of the aspirants are rejected in this portion due to lack of their presence of mind.
Be confident while giving any answer.
Be fluent in English.
Listen to each question very carefully.
Maintain your eye contact and sit properly with discussion being mutual try to remain calm.
Your technical skills will also help you here so be prepared to answer any technical question from your subject

We hope that this information will help you to clear your IAS exam, be prepared and best of luck for the Exam.
30th September 2013, 09:19 PM
ashok.more002

>> District Officer

>> Cabined Secretary

>> Additional Secretary

>> Director

Eligibility

Number of Attempts

General - 4

OBC - 7

SC/ST - No Limit

Exam Pattern

1) Preliminary Exam

2) Main Exam

3) Interview
30th September 2013, 09:21 PM
ashok.more002

District Officer

>> Cabined Secretary

>> Additional Secretary

>> Director

Eligibility

Number of Attempts

General - 4

OBC - 7

SC/ST - No Limit

Exam Pattern

1) Preliminary Exam

2) Main Exam

3) Interview
30th September 2013, 10:10 PM
vaibhav joshte

S stands for the Indian Administrative Service. To become an IAS officer, you would have to appear for entrance exam called Civil Service Examination. This exam is conducted on the yearly basis by the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC).
>> District Officer
>> Cabined Secretary
>> Additional Secretary
>> Director
30th September 2013, 10:11 PM
vaibhav joshte

If you are interested in IAS Service
First you can crack the Civil Examinatin
Civil Examination is conducted by Union Public Service Commission
More Information about IAS : -
** IAS Stands for Indian Administrative Service
** Civil Examination is organized by UPSC in yearly ones
Educational Qualification for Civil Examination : -
** You must have a bachelor of degree in any stream from a recognized university
** Final year students also eligible for this examination
** Your age should between 21 to 28 years and age relaxation for SC/ST/OBC Canidates as under
for SC/ST 5 years
for OBC 3 years
11th January 2014, 02:35 PM

sir i am khalid mahboob my 10 mark 38% and 12 mark 62% my BA in processes.. may i pass ias exam
email khalidmahboobkhn@gmail .com
15th January 2014, 03:35 PM

Sir I am now 7th std CBSC BOARD . So WHAT SHALL I DO TO BECOME AN IAS OFFICER IN MY FUTURE
28th March 2015, 12:40 AM

Hello sir my 10th in marks 52% and in 12 of 52% so I can aapply for IAS exam plzzzz sir tell me because I have very interested for making IAS officer plzzzz contact me my no. 8959456993 I am waiting for right guide
28th March 2015, 01:24 PM
haripriya1993

To become an IAS Officer you have to write civil service exam.

The civil service exam consists of two exams. 1st preliminary exam and second is main exam. You have to clear the preliminary to appear to main exam. There are around 24-26 departments in civil service exam. Once you clear the main exam based on your score you will be given the post.

Certain requirements for civil service exams are:

must have completed any degree with pass percentage.

must have a minimum age of 21yrs
28th March 2015, 04:07 PM
matamanju

Hello Friend

One who want to become an IAS officer must complete a degree of any of universities.

The minimum is 21 years and maximum is 29 years for the SC and ST candidates

28 years for the OBC candidates

Syllabus

General studies for IAS exam 200 marks
Comprehension and logical reasoning 200 marks
Eassy type Indian Language Qualifying paper 300 marks
English Qualifying paper 300 marks
General Essay type paper 200 marks
General studies papers 300 marks
Optional subject papers 300 marks.
21st September 2015, 09:54 PM

Sir, Mai IAS Officer Banna Chahta hun Mere Question given below:-
1. IAS BANNE KE LIYE KYA QUALIFICATION HONI CHAHIYE.
2. MAINE B.A. SOCIOLOGY, HISTORY AND ENGLISH SE KIYA HAI TOH KYA ISME SE KOI BHI SUBJECT CHUN SAKTA HOON.
3. IAS BANNE KE LIYE FIRST STEP KYA HAI AUR FIRST PAPER KIS TARAH KA HOTA HAI
4. IAS BANNE KE LIYE KAUN KAUN SE BOOK ZADA AACHHI HAI
17th March 2017, 04:48 PM

Respected sir i am Hardeep Kaur, please tell me what i can do to become IAS officer. My score in 10th class is 77 percent. I have just finished giving exams of 11th. I am stud.of non medical. Please suggest me which subjects should i take in B.A.
17th May 2018, 11:22 AM
Simrranias

IAS means Indian Administrative Service. An IAS officer is one of the most respectable positions in our society. Every year lakhs of students apply for the IAS-UPSC exam. IAS is classified as “Category A Service” because it is a very prestigious government job.
To become an IAS officer you must be graduated in any steam and your age should be more than 21 years.
There are 3 States to crack the IAS exam:
1. Preliminary Exam
2. Main Exam
3. Interview
15th September 2018, 10:51 PM
Meg24

Hello, IAS stands for Indian administrative Service .
To become an ias ,you need to appear for the Upsc conducted civil service examination.
CSE- is dividided into following three pattern of examination:
1) prelims
2) mains
3) interview
To be eligible to write this upsc exam ,you need to be at least 21 years old with graduate degree from. A recognised University.
Good luck